Any comments on Sealy Mattress

stonesix

new here to this forum.
But now Im in the market hunting for a better mattress, naroow down to Sealy Jade and Serta Alabama. The Alabama is a little bit plush than Jade, but in long run. I think Jade may do the job well. Because after sometimes, the coil tends to sag and it would be better to suit your body contour and sleeping habit.
anyone using Sealy Jade and Serta Alabama?

Sealy IMM quate me $3300 for Jade with free PVC bedframe, and 2 pillows. so much exp than some of you bought, must go back ans ask for more freebies.

But Alabama for $2999 with microfibre bedframe and 2 pillow.

Can't really make up my mind...
need your advice expecially those with this 2 mattress...

thanks all

moondust

Hi Guys

Pls go to the Sealy sale at the Expo. Its cheaper there.

But still comtempleting bewteen Jade and Royal Monarch.

I tried king koil, used to like it very much last time, but after trying Sealy, I think it cant be compared.

The actual price for Jade is more than 5k.So its a good buy at the expo.After discount only about 2.4k

The saleslady showed us a catalogue and now decided to take a higher model one.Dunno where is this going to end
Price getting higher n higher

hobes11

hi meiru

I have checked with the sales office in singapore. The lady told me that black label is superior (made of super latex material)than mayfair & san marino. This black label is only sold exclusively at Ackerman (toa payoh).

I didnt know abt this black label cos only mayfair & san marino are commonly commented in this forum. But ultimately is own comfort thats matter not the comments in here

ashly

I just want to comment on San Marino mattress. After I started sleeping on it, I can't wake up until the clock strikes ten or eleven in the morning. I've always been an early riser, getting up at 7 am, latest 8, but now, even at 10am, I don't feel like getting off the bed. I think it's heavenly, even the bed in Regent bridal suite can't be compared to it. I'm only worried that I can't wake up in time when I need to go work again.

cottoncandy

hi ashley

i understood perfectly wat u meant!
i kept having problems getting up in the morning and end up late for work ;p San Marino is a great buy!

meiru

hi yin,

I personally saw Black Label yesterday. The look is good not to say the feel. I think overall its great.

Hi Ashly/cottoncandy,

I was at Furniture Mall Sealy gallery where the saleslady told mi that difficulty getting up in the morning is due to affected sleep in the middle of the nite. A perfect sleep will be waking up automatically even without an alarm clock. I tink ur have to relook into ur mattress again...haahaa (just joking *wink*)

ashly

Hi mei ru,

I would have to suspect that the saleslady doesn't endorse her own product becos apparently, she hasn't tried Sealy beds herself. I haven't had such perfect sleep for over twenty years. I've always gotten up really early, or "automatically", but it's never due to a good night's sleep. After I got Sealy, sleeping has never been so good. If I were you, I would ask her which bed she got for herself.

muffin_bear

today saw the san marino at robinson, king size 2600+, queen 2300+ after discount... issit cheaper at sealy showroom? coz a few of u bot less than 2k?

meiru

Ashley,

ya lor, maybe i shld drop by sealy gallery during tommorrow lunch break and post her tis question.

Muffin_bear, i tink u should try black label before u make the decision.

ashly

hi muffin bear,

I'm the unlucky one - I got mine for $2.7k with bedframe. O yes, it's a king size.

haha, mei ru,

You're a riot!

muffin_bear

robinson has black label? the $2600+ san marino there without bed, just mattress+pillow+protector! but sale coming on the 26th, will go n see... usually is it cheaper at sealy gallery or imm shops?

zoeanne27

I saw the robinson sale yesterday.. Buy bed above $1000, you get additional $200 discount, with the voucher.. So if you are robinson member.. go n buy at these 2 days...

I used to bought it at $2.2K with bedframe for queen size ..

I bought San Marino.. same as Ashley and Sweet, i cannot get out of bed on time.. kekek.. simply nice and my hubby still sleep now... hahaha

ashly

hi muffin bear,

Sealy carries different models or range at different places. That means you don't see san marino at any other places besides robinson. If black label is available at the gallery, that means it won't be at robinson.

muffin_bear

thanks for info, tomolo i'll try to go imm to check price and try more, then monday can decide to buy at robinson sale or not..
i like the feel of san marino, may buy something similar..

meiru

Ashly, haha...she told me she used a Sealy Mattress.

By the way, i don't see any black label at gallery. Think its only aavailable at Ackerman

muffin_bear

hi, went to imm, there isn't any black label, mayfair feels quite similae to san marino but 2100+only.. anyway bot the san marino at robinson sale, after discount 2343 less 5% rebate =2225.85 free 4 pillows+protector.. too lazy to do more research liao..

quan_gie

anybody looking at the current robinson sale for sealy/simmons bed at $2006? good deal? or is it better to get during mid-year GSS or other sales?

hobes11

the black label is only exclusive to ackerman. i personally like the comfort of the black label compared to san marino & mayfair. Cos there is no other places that carries this black label so there is no way i can compare the price at all. anyway i already place an order for this mattress and divan set to be delivered in sept next yr. But never mind la no comparison also good at least dun have to think so much. Afterall the bed is to be slept for 10 yrs, whatever price we are paying now per day usage is less than $1

count

Muffin_bear,
I see u here again! Such a coincidence! We also bought a San Marino on Boxing Day at the Robinsons sale! But we only got 2 pillows and protector... How did u manage to get 4 pillows?

Btw, we went down to visit Gary yesterday. FH simply adored his CS and me too! But his prices are so ex... Must see if i can neg with my BS to only do WG and get CS as EG from Gary. Argh! His creations are great! And he is so friendly!

angel19c

Hi Yin,

I am considering between the few models of Sealy mattress. How much you have paid for your black label mattress ? Queen or King Size ? I am also looking for delivery only around Sept 2006 where it is nearer to my customary .

Btw, where is ackerman located ?

hobes11

hi angel19c

Ackerman is located at Toa payoh central where it used to be the popular bookshop. I think you can find the address under ackerman thread in here. I paid close to 3k including the divan set, free 2 pillows and a mattress protector for my queen size bed.

Overall i am quite happy with the salesperson's service. His name is Jason. Moreover as there are no other shops that carries this black label there is no way i can compare prices so i just bought it based on the comfort of the mattress and the service they provide.

lyn6305

Anyone tried Sealy's Grande before? Like it very much but exp. After discount is $3799 and additional 5% disc if using Robinson card. So its would be ard $3609.

I also saw San Marino but the price after discount is $2439 plus another 5% disc so worked out to be ard $2317 with free 2 pillows and 1 mattress protector.

Any advise?

ashly

Wow Lyn,

That's a neat price for a San Marino. We got a king size at $2700 with the bed frame. Is the one you saw king size too?

lyn6305

Hi Ashley,

Yes, i am looking at King size one.

Where did u get your San Marino from?

Hmmm...looks like the San Marino is really worth it.

The other model which is the Grande is also very worth the money. Cos really comfortable too and u can feel the support on ur spine. San Marino is very plush so when we are lying on it, we feel like lying on cotton...so comfortable.

So now very hard to decide. Hehe...

schnauzie

Lyn,
i bought the grande..but havent got it delivered. Tried that and compared with the manchester..there is so much difference. The grande is really plush and so comfortable! Almost felt asleep on the spot. The price is pretty steep but guess its worth it!

lyn6305

Hi Schnauzie,

How much did you pay for your Grande? Where did u get it from?

We also tot tat Grande is good esp for my hubby who have back problem. When he sleep on it, he can feel the support and it has latex so firmer support.

San Marino do not hv latex but very comfortable when sleeping on it too. hehe...

schnauzie

i paid ard 3.6k plus 5% rebate. u can buy first then look out for the robinson promotion, they have best price guarantee policy so before delivery u can go back anytime when there is a better promotion to update ur price!

lyn6305

Hi Schnauzie,

Yours is King or Queen size?

They offer me 3799 plus another 5% discount using robinson card (King size). Tot quite worth it leh...

lyn6305

Hmmm...icic...
But i tried on few other ranges but they are either too hard or too soft.

So hard to get a balance and cheaper price.

schnauzie

lyn,
my is king. Try negotiating with them, ask them to give u abit more discount and try to get more freebie like extra mattress protector.

Would say u shld buy something that give both of you the best comfort if u can, it is an investment since u are using it for at least 8 to 12 hrs a day and at least for the next 10 odd yrs. Don't shortchange urself

lyn6305

Hi Schnauzie,

I know. Tats why my HB very conscious and insist must get ourselve good mattress.

We are now sleeping in our guest room using Dunlopillo. But he is not ok with it cos now when he wakes up each morning, he will complain of back pain. Headache for me ah...cos i got to message for him. Now my finger pain

schnauzie

Lyn,

Maybe you can try a few more mattress before deicidng. Best is to lie on it without looking at the price first. sometimes a cheaper one might be even better for your back. not sure if u get wat i am tryin to say

lyn6305

Schnauzie,

I understand wat u mean and this is wat i did too. We usually dun look at the price first. Wat we do is tell the sales person tat we are looking at those mattresses good for our back. Then they would bring us to try on those harder mattress. Then we'll try on each of them.

We will note down which one we like best and 2nd best so tat can narrow down. And then we'll ask for price.

Sealy's salesperson initially brought us to one of their good mattress which is only ard 1400. But we dun like it. We wanted something plush yet we can feel the support.

Although San Marino (2nd choice) is comfortable but cant really feel the support for our back while we can feel the comfort and support in Grande.

Sealy's Grande is equal to Simmons Ultimate Supreme...both i like. But Simmons Ultimate Supreme is more exp than Grande.

ashly

Lyn,

I got mine at Robinson's. Where did you see the cheaper San Marino at? My sister is also thinking of buying a Sealy bed, so I hope I can give her tips on places she could get it cheaper.

San Marino is really plush. I didn't use to be a big fan of sleeping, until it comes along. However, I think it's a shame that we can't sleep on the naked mattress itself because after you add on the mattress protector, the plushness seems to have reduced abit.

For price protection policy, honestly, I don't think it's authentic. There was this time when my husband received a member's discount mail from Robinson's. When we called the sales person who attended to us at Robinson's and enquired if we could get a better price for our mattress, she said the discount was to be calculated for the original price, and there's no way it could be cheaper than the price we already got. So no matter how we do our sums whenever there's a sale at Robinson's, the price will never be lower because whatever discount there is, is always based on the original. ... Come to think of it, it sounds dubious to me.

I've heard from a friend who actually saved $500 on Simmons though because she cut out some coupon and presented it at Robinson's for a mattress she's already paid for it, not delivered yet tho.

lyn6305

Hi Asley,

I saw San Marino at Robinson too. The price is quoted by them.

Hmmm...i think it depends on the promotion tat they are giving. Maybe for yours, the first time promotion is the best promotion that they hv.

schnauzie

i also tried the ultimate supreme...but i feel that the sealy grande is better for us..not to mention cheaper. ;p u tried at centrepoint?

lyn6305

Yes, we tried Grande at Centrepoint while Ultimate Supreme at Takashimaya. Centrepoint Simmons dun carry tat range.

charlesphoon

There are so many house brands around so where is the mattress actually made in ??Can anyone let me know??Having been around a few mattress shop i have seen mattresses that are exactly the same but using different name and the price is usually a few hundred dollars different,having spoke to several specialist about mattresses they told me that the price actually depends on the contents of the mattress for example latex or memory foam top.So why am i paying more just for a name??

lyn6305

Hi charles,

I think its the different materials tat are used in the mattress layers tat made them more exp. Not really the different name of each mattress...

cha_alex

the most expensive part of mattress is the spring system which they spent alota money to do research and development.............

lyn6305

Hi Wisely, i guess wherever u went to buy things, u still contribute to their rental fee. If not, they wont earn leh. hence, i am not surprised abt tat. Just like aircon, the buy-in price would be ard $600+++ for a system 2 but when sell to consumer, the retail price became $1000 and above. This is the norm.

Hi Cha_Alex, yup...i like their spring system. Able to convince me...hehe...

charlesphoon

Hi wisely since you are paying for their rental then why not you paid less by going to low rental areas?
Hi cha_alex you are right by saying that but that only applies to the past since the research was done a long time back.

reismion

we got our queen sized monte carlo from robinsons during the 125th anniversary promotion. this is used for our guest room. 've slept on it a few times. *thumbs up* provides 1 of the best support for aching backs and non-disturb feature is still not bad.