Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Ya! Good luck! Must dress up!

I still have a few things to do and confirm, some wait till he's here as he's very busy too and need to study and work, so don't want him to work too hard over the preparation. He will just do if I don't tell him to do it later. Work is taking a lot from him. Long distance is not easy at all when comes to preparing for either engagement or wedding. I'm sure it will work out somehow. Dinner time! Hungry!
Till later ladies!

Thanks Denise. I really hope he'll get a job here soon ... it's quite terrible to have to keep planning vacations, just to be able to spend time together.

Thanks for your wishes, Elizabeth. We'll need all the luck we can get.

Denise, thanks for replying. i'll contact you once I am settled down in early October. Will be taking 2 weeks vacation in the south of France the day after getting into Paris.

Elizabeth, Toronto is ok.... i DREAD the winters. It's way too cold. like -30 degrees! It's a hassle getting to work or even just going out. I'm really happy to get away from this coming winter.

Hi sannie, a friend who's dating a guy from Montreal mentioned that to me - how the winters can be so dreadful! My FH told me that I should experience winter at its worst at least once. Oh no! I went to Stockholm in late winter and stayed till early summer. Even then, I ended up getting rashes on my legs and arms. And they itch! I can't begin to imagine how dreadful mid-winter must be like.

Elizabeth, you'll get used to it after a while, I suppose. I didn't mind the itch after a while, especially since FH would take the time to apply the cream on my arms and legs, while I watch tv... so sayang. lol.

Hi Elizabeth, did you know they are screening a Dutch movie at Cathay Cineplex in Orchard? I might go and watch the Swedish movie they are currently screening there with FH this evening.

Hi everybody!
Got introduced to this place by elizabeth. Thanks girl! Well, to intro. my fiancee, (what's FH?) pai sei, new here. My FH is german and we're getting married in Feb 06. We met on student exchange in Canada and his family plus a number of our exchange frens are coming down to Singapore for the wedding. So far, there'd be german, french, Australians and Canadians possibly coming down for the wedding. Thing is, I wanted to have it East-meets-west kinna thing. But his whole family plus mine want to have it totally CHINESE.... His Mom actually said she wants the whole thing, chinese sit down, tea ceremony and all. When I suggested something more western like beachside BBQ (Rasa Sentosa), or Burkill, his mom was saying no need to have anything western. Its gonna be their first and only wedding dinner in singapore, so in singapore, they want everything chinese.... Yeah lah. I'm quite fine about it too, since my family wld love to have it chinese. So now, I'm still deciding on venue and probably gonna have my frens come up with live band / programs for the night kinna thing. Another thing is normally europeans have weddings til like 5am in the morning. When i told my FH that weddings in singapore last til 11 or 12pm...he was shocked. So, dunno wat to do after that also. We're considering grand copthorne waterfront hotel. So his frens can go Zouk to club after the wedding hahah.

Hi Priscilla! Welcome to this thread.

My FH (Future Husband) is Swedish. We're doing it the traditional Malay way (for the most bits) but we are also having a Western wedding dinner for his family and friends who will be flying in. Me and FH like the idea of partying with our guests till late - I'm sure we would have a lot of things to catch up on - so we're planning to have the dinner at a hotel and then moving on to a club for drinks after.

Cuclainne, yah, the winters in eastern Canada is very harsh. Montreal is slightly worse then Toronto. On some days, it goes at low as -40 degrees and even with LAYERS of clothes/thermal/coats etc it's still impossible to be out for more than 10 mins. As a singaporean who is used to the nice sunny HOT weather, it's quite unbearable.

Elizabeth, don't worry about the winters in Europe, it's pretty mild... probably lowest of -5 degrees but avg around 0 to 5 degrees. I am so looking forward to winters in Europe. :D However, if it's your first winter, do remember to MOISTURISE lots! every morning after shower and another time in the evening. Usually the rashes and itch is caused by the skin being too dry.

sannie, yup I have learnt my lesson now. Lol. I also didn't get used to wearing layers of clothing during the cold nights - FH mentioned that I looked like a meatball with legs. Lol.

Hi cuclainne I'm here! How's everything> When are u going for hols with yr FH?

Hi sannie ya bought two huge bottles of oil for the winter. Ha ha!

For those ladies who are not in the MSN, we have been chatting over MSN. Hope to see the rest! Come n join us! My MSN is [email protected]. Hear thee hear thee!

Hi Elizabeth, we might end up not getting the opportunity to go to Hong Kong after all. FH's interview at a company at Temasek Tower went well today and he's going to have a second interview probably next week. He's told me that he was informed that there will be a lot of travelling to be done on the job and that made me a little sad. He did ask if I want him to turn down the job but I can't let myself be selfish, right?

Hmmm.... glad to hear the good news but truly you really have to ask yourself whether can u accept the fact that he would be travelling very often in future? Better to be honest with your feeling rather than having to face it later. Have a good talk with him. I don't think it's selfish. It's more of the agreement both of u decide to take. Marriage involves two party no longer one. Think through about it and have a heart to heart talk with him about how you feel and what is the best possibility. It not, it will affect you and him later in your marriage.

As for me, I couldn't take it if my FH travels all the time. Some could. Now being apart I find it so tough and difficult. Perhaps it's my personality, I would always want someone who is always there for me even though I'm pretty independent. I just had a good cry yesterday talking to him over issues that happened back here. Just so upset and disappointed! He was so helpless to see me crying away. How I wish so much he was here with me. Not to worry, I'm ok just puffy eyes lor! Hee hee! I just pray hard lor that the visa approves and I can go home with him. Cannot tahan anymore lah!
I miss him and back home in Netherlands. So stressed up ever since I came back. SIGH!!!

sorry for the silence...
have been buried under tons of work again
Am heading of to Beijing now (m at the airport) for biz trip till end of the week

take care

Elizabeth, I have to trust him. I know it's easier said than done but if this will allow us to have a shot at actually having a life together (living under the same roof) rather than being on two separate continents for long periods of time, I am willing to put up with him having to travel for work.

My ex cheated on me, when he goes on overseas job assignments. The apprehension is still there, though the players has now changed and I can't be unfair to FH by comparing him with the ex and being suspicious of him when he's done nothing wrong so far.

A friend told me, a guy doesn't necessarily have to cheat when he's away - he could cheat, no matter where he is, if that was his intention. Actually my mother told me that too, when I called her to tell her about the outcome of the interview.

When will you be able to know if your visa has been approved?

de_luxe, take care and have a safe flight.

Right! I can understand your feelings. Yes, they are right. If they want to cheat, they would even it's here. You've to overcome that eventually. As long as you are comfortable with it, that will be alright. But do talk to him about how your feel and yr concern. at least he knows and he will take extra effort to assure you.

That's what I did with my FH, tells him whatever concern I have and he helps me by assuring me and it helps a lot. At one stage, I was even suspecting him staring at other ladies and got real upset but it was actually my problem and slowly I learn to overcome it with his help. I shared with him and we talked things out. He didn't stare at them at all. Ti was myown imagination.

Everytime I have issues, I will share with and we help one another to overcome it. Do talk to him even though you have made up your mind about him travelling. It's always good to let him know.

Ya! De-luxe, have a safe trip!

Well, he has an interview with another company tomorrow so we shall see. If both of them make an offer, I suppose then we would have the benefit of being picky.

I'm not too concerned about FH looking at other women, mainly because I look at other guys too. Lol. It's just looking, what! The other day, we met a friend of mine whom I haven't seen in years. This girl is a real beauty lor - she used to model when she was in school. While FH didn't really talk to her, he did point out that the label on her ultra tight pants was sticking out the back. It probably means that he was checking out her butt, but it didn't bother me because I was there la. I would have probably felt differently if I wasn't there and somehow found out about it.

Ya ! Good luck!

Haha! Coz my ex always looks at women, so get real pissed off! It's just not look lor but literally stare! It's nothing to look but not to the extent of lusting lor! u know how some guys are like. Thank GOd my FH is not like that! Phew!!! hee hee!

so entertaining reading all yr posts. Hardly come here, but try to catch up on the stuff that you all are saying. Wanna ask for those of you intending to settle abroad, have you all applied for your PR overseas? I was told that for Europe shd start applying now...cos apparently they don't allow you to work if you don't have a PR. And PR takes 3 years to approve! Plus, if you keep going back to visit (singapore), they will delay your PR even longer. *sighz* so frustrating.

Ya Pricisilla,

Depending on where you are residing. Netherlansd has 3 stages and I've to take exam. SIGH!!! I'm in my first stage now. Applying for temporary visa, valid only for 3 to 6 months and I can't step into Netherlands during the process. It takes 3 months to approve, still waiting. That's why I'm back in Singapore.

When do u plan to leave and where? What's yr email? Any MSN?

Lazy angie is back. Welcome Priscillia and Sannie to our thread.

Angie's bf is Harald from Berlin, Germany.
Angie is not only capable in loving him but also bullying him. So life for him i guess is not 100% hell...
:D

hi girls
elizabeth; I should be going to germany, sigh I think will all the red tape, I may not be able to move to Germany anytime sooner. Will ask my HTB to check it out. At the most, I'll sign up for a university course and apply for student visa so that I can stay for at least 3 years or so and in the meantime apply for PR...think its do-able??? Hee.

Yeah, I'm thinking of doing a discipleship course with my HTB after my wedding from Mar 06 to end August 06. Might move to Germany September 06. But thing is haven't started anything on visa applications yet. I can't really speak german yet either, so going to sign up for courses soon.

Yeah, have MSN, it is [email protected] Can add me? So I'll just authorize you and can have u on my MSN list. Will be able to chat during work also.

Angie: Are you staying in Germany now? R u a PR there? My HTB is from Stuttgart Germany, not exactly close to Berlin, but at least in the same country as yours.

Hi Priscilla,

I'm not sure about that. You've to get yr HTB to check. Very sieh the procedure! NOw waiting for them to approve. He called and they will give the answer by 14 Oct. HE will call them and cahse them every week to speed up. Ha ha ha... coz they've not look into it yet. So slow!

What's discipleship course? Some course in church. The term usually links to church.

You mean u are going to stay apart after wedding?

Have added u in. Hope to catch u online. Saw u but yr status is away. hmmm....

Elizabeth, my FH is fine. I haven't been online for a few days (his friends were in town so were busy, taking them around) and there were many posts to read. How is your application coming along?

Hi Priscilla, I guess it depends on which country in Europe. For Sweden (that's where my FH is from), the resident permit takes between 12 - 18 months to approve though it's a guaranteed approval if both parties have cohabited for some time before application. Once you have the resident permit and you are of working age, it is ok for you to apply for jobs (provided you get one - usually need to speak the language before you can get a job). After two years and if you are still together, then you will get the PR. It's best if you can find out what you need to get done, if you mean to relocate because these things take time.

I'm back from China! Trip got extended at the last minute... How's everyone?

Hi priscilla my FH is German too, from a village near Hamburg.. is your FH in Germany or Singapore? BTW, I've added u to my MSN.

He'll be going back this coming Monday. We're keeping our fingers crossed - he's had his interviews and they've seemed to have gone well enough. Let's hope the outcome is favourable.

Here here! Been busy! How are u? Yr FH left yesterday?

Want to check with u. yr FH calls u using skype on yr mobile? Do they charge to yr mobile or free?

Yes, he left for home yesterday night. Never felt this emotional before - I felt like crying each time he turned around to wave at me. He called when he got to Bangkok (transit) and I'm waiting for his call when he gets home.

Uh huh - he uses Skype to call me. I'm not sure if they charge me for the calls but so far, doesn't seem like it. I don't really keep track of my calls, you see. Are you being charged for it?

I know how it feels. He felt so lousy when I parted and turned back to wave at him. Take care! Hope to see u on MSN.

Not sure! He started to use that to call me when I'm out. Haven't received the bill for next month. Hopefully not. Hahaha! Have been talking for a long time, thinking it should not charge. On his side, it charges very minimum.

Yes, Skype is pretty cheap - was thinking of using it too but the computer at home is in the living room, so I don't want to risk having my parents hear me whisper sweet nothings to him.. you know, in case they gag. Lol.

Hi Everyone

I am back. I went on 'MIA' mode again! extremely busy at work too since we just shifted office. hence didnt managed to logon to MSN.

we were at Normandy over the weekend checking out on potential venues for our french wedding. Phew, we finally found a very nice place which we could even kinda book the whole place to ourselves. Very likely that we will go with this place as it comes with a garden too. It will be nice during summer when daylight is still about 10pm. At least if the venue is settled, its a big headache off our mind.

Cuclainne - Hope you are alright and not too sad. Really keep my fingers crossed that your FH could get the job in Spore. I know how you feel, you must be in tears! I remembered how it was like, extremely tough! Bear with it for the time being and I hope he will be able to join you for good soon!

Eliz & Cuclainne - Whats Skype? sorry to ask this question! A new technology for overseas calls? If the rates are interesting, maybe I could check it out too for calling Spore.

Seems like everyone disappeared...??

Hope to catch everyone soon on MSN or on the tread

Denise

Hey Denise, welcome back.

Wow! Your French wedding sounds so grand and dreamy ... I've seen photos of French weddings and they're so beautiful! You must be excited with the planning and such.

I'm dealing with it ... very badly. So much so that I even got a nightmare about it yesterday, just a day after FH left Singapore. I dreamt that he walked away from me, and when I finally caught up with him - I gave him back the engagement ring and he just accepted it, no questions asked. Eventually I regretted doing it and when I tried to get in touch with him, he wouldn't answer my calls. I got even more depressed over this. FH thinks that I'm delusional .. lol. He said I worry too much about him leaving me, and that I should relax cos he has no intention to do so.

Well, we do have some good news. He's been asked to come for a final interview in Paris next week. It's for a French company and he's attended two interviews and a test with them when he was here. We're keeping our fingers crossed .. who knows, he might be back here as early as Christmas!

Skype is an internet phone programme with cheap rates. If you have a headset and a microphone, you can make calls to any phone numbers. FH uses it to call me on my mobile or at home. It's not bad - the sound clarity is good. Why don't you check it out?

Hi hi Dennis,

Cuclainne explained it all!

Hi hi Cuclainne,

I've the same kind of dreams also. Of FH left me. It was so real, so scary! and I told him about it, he assured me that he won't. Sometimes, it's our sub-conscious mind of fear.

I've been so busy and tired this week. Busy! Busy! Busy!

I've done a trial make-up. Now can figure out what suits me and eben took photos.
Dun look like me at all! Hahaha! I even bought the fall Female Bride mag, very good tips on a lot of things and also there's a wedding planner at the end. Worth buying. Have a look! Now is to decide whether to take pre-wedding photos or not! So expensive!

Hi Maniac,

Weclome to our thread! You're holding a french wedding too?