Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Elizabeth, oh FH likes to do that. If we meet his family or go out with his friends, they would start the conversations by talking in English and then slowly they started talking in rapid Swedish. Lol. They would stopped when they see that I'm all confused and apologised for doing that. Now FH doesn't even bother to translate for me - when I was in Sweden, he would translate lines from tv shows and the movies for me but now he wants me to really try hard at understanding the language. I think, in a way, it's good lor - jump off the deep end and see if I can float. Hahaha.

Yes, yes - he'll be here in slightly more than a week's time. I'm so excited. He sounds so happy on the phone nowadays - makes me happy too. He's already told me to send him a shopping list for all the things I need from Stockholm so he can bring them over. I wonder if he can bring over a vegetarian burger from Max's. Lol.

Ya ya! I can understand how your FH feels. My FH is also like that! They look like small kids! hee hee! Getting very excited and happy when the days draw nearer for the meet up! He will be so chirpy like a bird! Ha ha ha...

Maybe a airtight packing will do? Not sure! I almost wanted to bring home the freshly homemade bread we baked to Singapore but didn't in the end. Figure it will not be fresh after all! LOL!

Elizabeth, I'll save my craving for when I'm in Stockholm again. Nothing beats having the burger in the restaurant (it's the only Max's restaurant in Stockholm) and seeing people walk by. Maybe I'll bring my parents next time and show them around ... should be fun.

Ladies, I am quite perplexed about something. I have read how your parents have reacted to news of you marrying a foreigner, and then perhaps moving away. But I was wondering - how come my parents react differently?

They are rather keen for me to move away, instead of living here. Whereas FH wants to move here so that I can be closer to them (so sweet of him to think of us in this way). My mom keeps telling me, why you want to stay here? Go there la. Hmmm .. like she wants to get rid of me. Lol. I know that's not what she meant though.

That's what worries me sometimes. Like my relationship with FH, from when we started corresponding till now that we're engaged and later on the wedding, it seems like everything is going too smoothly. It's not that I want to find fault and hope that FH will have a huge argument with me or something like that, but it worries me that sooner or later, this bubble will burst and open up a pandora's box or something.

Hi Cucul,

As long as both of u already have open communication, don't worry about it. As long as you didn't sweep anything under the carpet, it's ok. I've issues to deal with myself lah and personality differences, so have to iron out a bit. My mum told me to control my temper. Hee hee! He is such a sweet gentle man, and I'm a loud, tough gal! Ha ha ha! Don't build the negative thoughts inside your head. Very dangerous! I didn't really have big arguments like a huge fight, it's more a silent deadly weapon. He hates it. But I learn not to do that. I will tell him when I'm upset, feeling moody, not too well like PMS. He will make sure he won't say anything to make me angry.
I'm also learning lor! But after the three months and coming back here, our relationship has progressed very much. We both learn how to relate to one another better. He is so used to be a single all his life lah! Enjoy what you have and apprecaite it. Don't put any negative thoughts into your head, ya gal!

Perhaps it's the Chinese mentality, maybe Malays are not like Chinese?

You are right, Elizabeth. It's dangerous to have these thoughts in mind cos it will slowly start to poison the happier thoughts and then nothing will ever be right again.

I am trying, believe me. I am one who likes to keep my frustrations to myself but with FH, I have learnt that I need to communicate more with him so he knows how I feel, my opinions and such.

That's why FH says that I can't be left on my own for long periods of time... cos I will start having these thoughts in mind. Lol. But really, I just want everything to be right and perfect.

Yes, negative can erode the postive thoughts when we are not careful. That's why both of us know the importance of it and keep positive thoughts.

In life, there is no perfect. We strive to be perfect. Sometimes, in life there're ups and downs, it depends how we handle the matter and resolve it and each problem in fact can either draws us closer or break it. There are always a learning process and what both of u believe and hold. Both have to share the same vision and work towards the common goal. There's this book entitled Love Talk, a very interesting way of how to talk to one another. We are going to do the book. Books have help us a lot in our relationships. Like the one he read which I got for him, capture her heart. After he read it, you see a change the way he approaches me. He understands women better and what we need.

Elizabeth, yes yes there is no 'perfect' one out there - someone who has no flaws and is, well perfect in every sense of the word.

But FH, to me, is the perfect person for me. I wouldn't want someone else, nor do I want him to change who he is for me. I love him, just as he is. Like what you said, it's about acceptance.

Yup! I can share your sentiment. Hard to have someone who is a good man and loves us and pampers us like princess! LOL! To enhance our communication, both plays a part. I feel that marriage can be as exciting as courtship if we learn to be creative at all times, making an effort to surprise one another. We love to do that!

Sorry for 'disappearing'!

I have really missed out a lot. I am now busy reading all your messages. I have been extremely busy at work lately and was not able to logon. When at home, my FH hogs on to the PC. sigh...

thanks for the suggestions Deluxe and Cuclainne on wedding venues. I shall definitely check them out.

Hello cuclainne

I do go online but this week has been quite bad for me. I am 6 hours behind Spore time.

Are you gals all on MSN?

I have added you gals to my MSN. Cuclainne, what's yr email address?

My email is [email protected]. Hope to chat with you ladies soon.

Angeline, are you intending to bring your pet to Germany? Is it a dog? Sorry I don't know much abt migrating of pets. However I know that in France its rather tricky, needs to produce tons of certification and perhaps you even need to get these papers translated...

Sorry for the silence.. internet at FH¡¦s place is still down. It¡¦s been a month!! The IT guys are obviously sleeping on the job!

I keep having to catch up on the posts¡K.

Elizabeth Yes, I¡¦m in S¡¦pore right now. I do have biz trips sometimes (which can also be quite last min). Suppose we can work this out somehow. My office is opposite the ABC market¡K so not too far from the central.

Fully understand ur ¡§freedom from parents¡¨ sentiments.. used to feel the same way too! Guess I¡¦m a little more grown up now after having lived overseas for a while. Recently been feeling like it¡¦s time for me to live up to my responsibilities here. Can¡¦t help wondering what I would do if my parents get ill in future and I¡¦m living overseas¡K

cuclainne Maybe your parents are more open minded than the rest of ours? My colleague¡¦s been dating an American and she says her parents are more than happy to have her out of the house. Guess it really depends on the individuals and their background although I suppose in the Chinese culture, most parents have the thinking that kids will support them in their old age and the thought of not having that security scares them? It would be the rare handful that think otherwise¡K. I agree with Elizabeth that if you¡¦ve had open communication there shouldn¡¦t be pandora¡¦s boxes in the future.

I¡¦m trying to persuade FH to read ¡§Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus¡¨ to no avail.. hmmm¡K now trying to figure how to persuade him that marriage prep courses will most likely help us build a better marriage. He¡¦s so stubborn and keeps saying that these would cater only to the local context blah blah blah¡K

cuclainne & elizabeth Are u guys planning to hear pitter-patter soon after ur marriage? That¡¦s gonna be cool¡K Think my future in laws are just so relaxed abt everything¡K maybe cuz he¡¦s been here for so long, they don¡¦t feel the need to ¡§kick¡¨ him out of the house¡K but FH and I had a chat recently and he expressed his wish to have kids soon cuz he claims he¡¦s getting old. I was like wat?!?!, can we wait at least a year¡K I think I need time to adjust to married life...

denise good to see u again¡K. Let me know if u need any more help with the venues¡K. If you can give me an idea of the style that you¡¦re looking at e.g. ballroom formal, outdoor, etc.. I would be in a position to make better suggestions.

It¡¦s true that Villa Bali only allows one caterer (Creative Catering). The other alternative would be to use hotel caterers (which are the only other ones that they allow) tho this would be a lot more pricey.

For Burkill, if you have abt 80 pax, you wouldn¡¦t need to split your guests up on 2 levels. You can use the lawn for the solemnization, downstairs for a cocktail followed by dinner upstairs which can sit up to 80 pax without a stage. As it¡¦s a very intimate setting, it feels kind of like hosting a dinner at your own home (albeit a very nice colonial home).

cuclainne sorry missed ur earlier post..
my FH is not from Berlin. Think it's Angeline's.. mine is from a little village called Flintbek. The nearest big city is Hamburg n the nearest town is Kiel - which would most likely be known by the Norwegians n Swedish cuz there are direct ferries from Kiel to some of their ports...

Angeline, I will try to email you the photos of the rings today. Work has been so crazy lately, I didn't even get to rest on the weekends. Hopefully I should be able to breathe easier this week.

de_luxe, just a few days ago my mom was telling me that I should be going back to Stockholm. She said she understands how my MIL will feel, if her eldest son were to move away from her. So I asked, doesn't she need me too? She said there's always the phone, internet - she could even go there for a holiday but my MIL is scared of flying so that's why she said I should go there. Wah - like trying to get rid of me, right? Lol. Just kidding la, FH has a good job, an apartment there and if he comes here, he would have to start from scratch. I didn't want that but since he's made up his mind to move here, then I'm just going along with it.

Oh yah, my FH was like, what!!! when I told him about marriage prep course which is mandatory for Muslims. He did try to coax me to get married in Stockholm but I explained to him why we should do this (also out of respect to my parents) and now he's more agreeable.

Well, me and my FH both like kids but we would like to settle everything first, before we plan for that. But of course if I happen to get pregnant very soon after, we would be happy too. FH only wants one kid but says he's open to negotiations if I want more. Lol. Secretly, I think he does want more than one because lately he's been using the words, our children. Hahaha.

I think I've heard of Kiel. Need to refresh my memory on that though. Oh oh I have an uncle who lives in Hamburg - he's lived there for many years now and he's married to a German lady, Aunt Gabby. I think their eldest child is 18 and the youngest is about 9. I am thinking of visiting him someday.

Denise, there's no harm in checking out places before you decide on them but perhaps you might want to choose a theme first cos that would make it easier perhaps. I've spent hundreds of dollars on magazines and I think I'm in trouble because I like EVERYTHING! Lol. Too many ideas now .. will have to start filtering through slowly.

I'm so happy. FH will be here next Monday and we're going to check out some venues and BS together. Yup yup, everything is slowly falling into place.

Hope everyone had a good weekend. Weather's been really sunny and quite like Spore over the weekend here in France, it was good!

Deluxe - Sorry I missed out on your earlier post to me. In fact, I am currently working in 9 arrondisement which I felt is really a very convenient area, lots of shops and walking distance to Opera.I kinda like this area, quite lively but just that my office will be moving soon to the 17th arrondisement which is totally different, very quiet. sigh :-(

So you studied Hotel Management in Nimes. Heard that its a nice place. Do you have sunny weather most of the time since its in the south? Are you also working in the hotel industry now? I studied hotel management too but i didn't do my studies overseas. I was working in the hospitality industry too while I was in Spore. Coincidence again!

My FH told me too that people from the south are very superficial and those from the north are 'cold' but they are more sincere after they really got to know you. I have travelled mainly in Northern France but I've never been to south of France. You must have travelled alot when you were studying here?

I totally agree with you that Paris is a nice city to visit as a tourist, but its not really a very nice place to live for long though. That's why my FH and I are thinking of moving to somewhere else, and most probably we might even go back to Spore as he really liked working & living in Spore.

Thanks a lot for your offer to help me out with more sugguestions on the venue. Preferably, I would love to have a cocktail held outdoors, and the dinner indoors. I read that Burkill Hill should be a nice destination for such a theme. Have you visited the place? Did you like it? Will it be troublesome for the changing of gowns etc? I was worried that it might be more expensive in the end, since we need to book the place plus getting a caterer etc. What is your views?

alternatively, I thought of Beaufort but my mum is not very supportive of the idea as she felt its quite troublesome for my relatives to get there...

Headache headache...

What about you? Have you decided on your venue already or are you still looking around?

Hi Cuclainne

Good to hear that you FH will be arriving next Monday! I am sure you must be counting down to his arrival. Will he still be going back to Stockholm first or he is coming to Spore for good this time?

Its very thoughtful and nice that your FH wants to move to Spore. I felt it is very good that you both could be in Spore first whereby you could have some more time with your family and get yourself really mentally prepared if you guys intend to move back to Stockholm at a later stage.

So did you have a long shopping list from Stockholm? Enjoy your time with your FH!

By the way, what's your email address? I shall add you to my MSN.

Hope to catch everyone online soon!

Hi denise Yes, Nimes is nice and sunny most of the time¡K winter is not too cold either. The only horrible thing is the north wind called mistral¡K it¡¦s really strong and cold. Once it starts, it will last for a minimum of 3 days¡K Nothing¡¦s perfect, eh?

I traveled mostly ard the areas where I have been living. Wasn¡¦t as much as I hope to do due to budget constraints¡K poor student lifestyle, u know? The furthest up north I went was Bordeaux¡K didn¡¦t get any chance to go very much further

Burkill will be great for ur type of concept. Changing is not an issue cuz one of the rooms is dedicated for couple¡¦s use. Quite big with attached shower and washroom. Also furnished with comfy sofas¡K

Agree that their rental is on the high side, but if you were to go for a normal caterer, i.e. not from hotel, it kind of balances out in the end.

For Sentosa venues, the hotels usually arrange for shuttle and provide comp entry and parking for those who drive. Up to you how convenient you want it to be for your guests. Just bear in mind that you can never please everybody.

You might want to check out ACM (Asian Civilisation Musemum) at Empress Place or Art House (Old Parliament House). Another place is Bacchus near to One Fullerton. Or the East India Rooms at Raffles Hotel ¡V allows u to have the cocktail outdoors around the fountain. The rooms are not that big so should be ok for yours. Chjimes is of course beautiful but pricey.

You can also check out Republic of S¡¦pore Yacht Club (RSYC). If u wanna be adventurous, you can try having on cruise boats: IndoFalcon and one more at Sentosa ¡V can¡¦t remember the name now. Will let u know if I can think of others.

Most likely I¡¦ll be using Oriental poolside if things go well. My mom¡¦s complaining abt no air-con, so hot, make up will melt¡K blah blah blah¡K but I can¡¦t be bothered cuz I know we dun want a boring ballroom do. Oh, in fact you may want to check out their Garden Suite ¡V haven¡¦t seen it yet but it sounds nice. Think it has a terrace or something.

I¡¦m now looking around for bridal studios. Anyone has any recommendations?

Denise, yes we are both counting down the days till he arrives. Unfortunately this trip is not a permanent one, though he has several interviews to attend. We're keeping our fingers crossed.

I am actually prepared to move to Stockholm but red tape is preventing me from doing that at the moment. So that's why we've decided that it's probably best for us to set up home here in Singapore first and then move in a few years' time. We're going to put the apartment in Stockholm up for rent so we'll still have a place to call home when we go back.

Hahahah - I haven't thought of my shopping list yet. Hmmm, I really must sit down and think of that.

Thanks, I'll be sure to have a good time. We're already planning trips to KL and HK while he's here, and of course we'll be checking out some dinner venues and BS too.

I've added you to my messenger. It's [email protected]

Hi Hi Denise, I'm a bit confused. Are you in Singapore or overseas?

hi deluxe, FH loves to have kids but we agree to after a year as to adjust to married life and my study and financial. But if it comes, we will accept it.

Hi Cul, Great ya! Next Mon! WOW! Reunion again!

Ladies, will write again. Busy, got to go out. Cheers!

hi cul, I've been busy, tired and pretty stressed up. Now it's better, but still busy. So many things to do. And talking till late is very tiring. He has not been sleeping early either to prepare the documents for the visa. It's done and sent. We just sit around and wait. After two weeks, there's no news, he is going to call and check. Sometimes, we only have very little time t otalk as I need to teach very early the next day and he is held up at meeting, traffic jams. SIGH!!! Getting so tough especially when we only talk for a while. He is so sad but I have to sleep or else I can't focus or concentrate the next day. SIGH!!! Got to get back to my work lah. Got deadline. Till later! Take care!

Don't be so stressed up, like me la. Always falling sick now and that is not good. But I hope that with FH being here, I will be able to forget all my worries and enjoy myself la.

Hi Deluxe (Or should I call you Corinne? ;-))

Thanks for your suggestions and ideas. I will def check them out.

I called Raffles but their package are beyond our budget unfortunately. Its at least S$1069+++ for those with min 8 tables. If I have min 20 tables, then the price will be cheaper, it will be S$899+++. Its a bit too pricy...even though I am sure it will be a nice destination.

By the way, will you be having your entire wedding banquet there at the poolside of Oriental? Sounds nice! Their pool area is big enough to accomodate all your guests?

Do you know if their Garden Suite comes with also a min requirement of maybe 15 tables or so?

Maybe you can check out the Bridal studio where Elizabeth bought her gown. Its called Allure Charix. She looked so good in her gown and not too ex too!

Chat to you soon!

cuclainne - Can I just ask where did your FH seach for his jobs in which he managed to get several interviews? Is there any websites/companies in particular or head hunters who are rather effective and open to hiring foreigners?

Reason I asked was that, both my FH and I have intentions to come back to Singapore either soon, or in the near future. We are both getting a bit frustrated in France, thought of moving! So for my FH, he will have to look for a job too.

Elizabeth, I am in France. Sorry to have confused you. I've been in France for 2 years already. But both of us are intending to go back to Spore as my FH really enjoyed his previous working in Spore and wants to come back again.

By the way, are you a teacher? What are you teaching?

Wow there are so many new ladies in this thread. :-) Hello all! I'm an old bride but i do surf singaporebrides and other sg sites on and off to keep in touch with things happening in sg.

I am married to a Frenchman and just celebrated our second anniversary.

Denise, I actually wrote to you after reading your post in this thread. Not sure if you got my email. I've been living with DH in toronto for the last 2 years and we're moving to Paris in 3 weeks time. Just thought it'll be nice to "know" someone from singapore when I'm a stranger there.

Good luck to all you ladies for your preparation. It's a very fun and yet frustrating time. ;-) I do miss it sometimes.

Denise, FH sent in many, many applications to a lot of companies who posted ads on sites like monster and jobstreet, etc. Unfortunately, almost 95% never even bother to reply. The ones that do typically would like to employ him on local terms, which is a bit of a stretch for us if he does take it cos it's higher taxes for them, you see.

So FH has taken to sending unsolicited mails to Swedish companies in Singapore. And he's got a reply - he's going for an interview at their Stockholm office today. So happy for him! And he's got another interview planned for when he is here.

It takes a lot of patience, Denise but eventually something will turn up. If you don't mind me asking, what does your FH do? My FH is in the IT industry so that's why it's been quite difficult for him to get a job because it's quite a competitive industry.

So tell him to start sending emails out as soon as you guys decide on your next move, and you should also get word out to your friends/ ex-colleagues etc. I did that at some party I attended - I met a girl who told me that the company her fiance's working for is looking for people like FH and she passed me his email address. The interview that FH has planned in Singapore, is for that company. So you see ... it does work! Lol.

Sannie, welcome back to thread then and congrats on passing the two-year mark.

Hi Denise,

No problem at all! Getting old, can't remember a lot of things nowadays! ha ha ha...

Hi Sannie,

Welcome back! What's DH? I heard a lof about Toronto. People tell me it's a nice place. How do you like living there? Why are you moving back to Paris? My FH and I plan to visit Paris sometime with another friend maybe in Dec. She is going there to meet her BF. Probably will be great to catch up. Dennis, when will you be there until? We can all meet up. Great ya!

hi Cucul,

Must take care of yourself! Your FH is coming! Rest well!

Hi Cuclainne

Thanks for the advice. Keeping our fingers crossed that he'll find something soon so that we could move back to Spore.

My FH is in the telecommunications industry. Not sure if the telco industry is improving now in Spore? Yeah last time we used to sent many CVs on similar websites also no news. We shall try perhaps mailing to french companies in Spore to try our luck.

I hope your FH's interviews will go well and that he'll get the job! Enjoy your holidays too!

Sannie, I replied to your email. Hope we can meet up when you are well settled down after your move. Will be great to know another fellow Singaporean in this foreign land!

Elizabeth - I am not sure how long more I will be in Paris. But so far, I am still stuck here for the time being ;-p Please do drop me a line if you really can hop by to Paris!It will be nice to meet up!

Elizabeth, I fell ill after the crayfish party on Friday night. I forgot that I am allergic to shellfish and had eaten plenty of the stuff. So weak yesterday but feeling much much better now. Poor FH - he told me not to come and pick him up at the airport, that he'll take a cab to my place. So sad! But now I think I can come and fetch him ...

Denise, I wish you and your FH all the best in the job applications. Telco, you say? There's no harm in sending emails to the French companies ...

Hi Nisa, what did you mean abt the higher taxes for your FH if he¡¦s on local terms here? As far as I know, if he works here, he doesn¡¦t need to pay Swedish taxes. He¡¦s only liable for local S¡¦pore taxes ¡V which we all know ¡V are really low compared to theirs. He will also be able to park his funds in offshore accts if he is not living in the EU. That will help to avoid EU taxes. Also while he¡¦s here, if he wants to avoid paying so much local taxes, he can open an SRS account. The only catch is that he can only withdraw from SRS accounts after a certain number of years (can¡¦t remember how long). However, he can with the funds in the SRS acct to invest in bonds and other funds.

It¡¦s true that if he were to apply direct to companies here, it will be on local terms. However, nowadays, expat packages are not so generous anymore. Usually local housing allowance is the max given, with little or no other incentives like annual trips home, intl schools for the kids. Furthermore, there are already many expats here who do change jobs so companies have more to choose from.

Hi Denise, you might need to try the French Business Association in S¡¦pore to get contacts for your FH. Also, European companies, esp Swiss-French are quite likely to be receptive. Dunno much abt the tele-comm industry here. You know it¡¦s not my field. I guess in general things are picking up however, the recent disaster in US might have an effect on us.

I¡¦m having 150-160 pax for the dinner. Oriental poolside can fit up to 200 without any dance area. I¡¦m planning to have a dance area so comfortably, so 160pax is just abt right. They will provide a back-up room in case of bad weather ¡V which I hope we wouldn¡¦t need to use! The min for poolside and Garden Suite is 100 pax so shouldn¡¦t be a problem for you. Min for Atrium Suite is 150 pax but it¡¦s not as nice as the Garden Suite. I¡¦m getting the Atrium Suite for my back-up though. We will be having the solemnization before cocktail, followed by dinner. I need to see the place again to determine the time to start the solemnization as I would like to have it at sunset. The view is very nice (harbour view) and unblocked. As the backdrop of the stage is half height railings which I don¡¦t like, I intend to use creepers (prob artifical ones) to hide it and add a more garden atmosphere. We¡¦re going for a fusion East meets West theme. So the food will be along that line too (not Chinese 9-course). I plan to use the big red chillies for the table centerpiece and some Asian spices to decorate the table (they¡¦re cheaper than flowers!!). As they can¡¦t put a red carpet at the poolside, I think I¡¦ll use small plants or flowers to line the aisle. Use of candles are rather limited because of the wind.

I¡¦ve checked out Dang Bridal ¡V quite nice but service a little cold. Will be going to more next Sat.

de_luxe, yes I know that the taxes he'll be paying here is less that what he does back home (50% in Sweden, cap of 15-22% here) but if he's earning way less here (we're talking about a 50% pay cut, AND the taxes after that), then it will be a stretch for us... particularly if we have to factor in monthly rent, utilities, handphone bills, household items, etc. The taxes might be high but then again, they don't have to pay for a lot of things like medical and such.

Though he might not have to pay Swedish taxes for the job in Singapore (if he gets one), he still has to pay taxes for the apartment (which will be for rent) and a business which he runs with some friends.

Elizabeth, well I'm feeling much better now though I should remember that I am allergic to shellfish and not get caught up in the moment. Lol.

Hahahaha. That's what the girls at the other thread were saying, to not forget them. Aiyah! Ah Boy might be here but I still have time to check in here once in a while mah. Hehehehe.

Sorry to hear that you are still not well. I understand what u mean. He was sick when I was there also. Just cannot do a lot of things but taking care of him instead.

How did the interview for him go?

He has two interviews set for next week. One is on Monday so we're going shopping for 'interview' clothes ... lol. He wants to look his best cos this is a huge step - finally getting to meet the employer face-to-face. We're keeping our fingers crossed that he will get it and if it does, that means I might have to go shopping for an apartment to rent while he goes home and ties up all the loose ends before settling here.

I was in 'MIA' mode cos I was buried in work. I finally had some breathing space now.

Cuclainne - Really hope your FH will get the job. Good luck! Oh yeah, hope you have fully recovered too.

Deluxe - Thanks for the info on Garden Suite. I contacted them, and it is available on the date that I wanted. I roughly managed to see a pix on their website. Looks quite nice. I had requested for some other pixs from the coordinator but have not heard from her at all. Sounds cool for your wedding at the Oriental poolside! The ambience would be really nice!

Elizabeth - how's your preparations coming along? are you getting all set? :-) By the way, any news regarding your visa? hope its been approved...