Any big-sized brides with good boutiques to recommend?

naomi

Hi Seraphim1970,

Can I also take a look at ur gown?
me too need suggestions, a bit big size also. also trying to lose some weight.but controlling intake of food is very difficult cos i like to eat. pls email to [email protected]

mudpie

Hello beautiful ladies!

My wedding is in less than 3 weeks' time and i still have not bought any nice lingerie!!! May I know where can I buy some in S'pore other than Marks & Spencer?

Even though I'm big (UK Size 18) I am only a B cup, so very hard to buy from online stores ( usually 38 comes in C cup smallest).

Would appreciate any help at all! Thanks!

mudpie

Dear Abrinas,

I would love to view your wedding pictures too
Will be collecting my pictures soon, but no proofs so I wonder how did you all scan in from the album? The pics are big and album is heavy!!!

My e-mail is [email protected]

seraphim1970

---> cyn, the link has been sent to you.

---> Mudpie, shouldn't they be giving you the 3R size copies? Or was yours taken by digital camera?

mudpie

Dear Seraphim,

I will only get 3 poses in 3R, 6 pieces each pose. What about the bigger 12R that fill up the album? How to scan? I envy your patience, scanning in all those actual day pics! I will need to do it too cos many friends and overseas relatives are unable to attend our wedding. The only way to share is putting the pics online

Thanks ;)

cyn

Hi Seraphim,

Thks for sharing yr photo with me.
Saw your pics already. I think you look great in the blue gown. My mum say u look pretty.

: )Cyn

seraphim1970

Mudpie & Cyn, first of all, I wanna congratulate both of you on your coming big day!

---> Hey Mudpie, it took me ages to scan those photos cos I had soooooooooo many, buay tahan my photographer, he was camera trigger happy on both my wedding days. I was lucky to have all the album pics in 3R size so scanning was a breeze. Scanning all the hundreds of pictures made me look like panda for weeks ... ha ha.

---> Hi Cyn, thank you so much for the nice compliments and give your mommy a big huggle for me okie!

du66s

hi serephim,
can i have a look at your photos as well? thanks!
you can reach me at: [email protected]

my wedding in mid july but haven't got a gown get. everything's kind of rushed and i know i'd have problems finding gowns OTR. some boutiques i visited told me they can still rush to get MTM WG and EG. but not sure if they can handle big-sized designs well. any suggestions for bridal boutiques that i can visit? if you guys dun mind, can gimme rough estimate what your packages include and how much they cost?

i've tried scanning through the previous threads but i think i'm quite crossed-eyed already...

seraphim1970

Sorry ladies, due to some probs with MSN where I stored my wedding pictures, I won't be able to share anymore pictures till I get on another picture storage.

soupie

hi seraphim, i've seen your pics too. nice pics!
how's life in the US? hope u're having fun!

du66s, i've signed up with JLC.. maybe u would like to check them out.. they have beautiful OTR gowns for big size brides like me.. i've tried on a few and they all fit nicely too

seraphim1970

hi soupie, thanks for the nice compliments. Life is the US is ok, I am full-time housewife now and kinda enjoying it lah, well I also would love to go out to work but will be awhile before I do that lah.

Lucky you saw the pics earlier cos I already deleted all the pictures in MSN cos they stop letting people store pics for free which is no big deal with me cos I can always find a new pic to store and it should be coming along soon so I can show the other ladies who requested to see my pictures.

Cool that you found some OTR gowns, you can't be that big then.

soupie

seraphim, cool! i think it's kinda therapeutic when u change ur 'role' and then go back to work.. it's like having a good rest before u 'chiong' again
this is my own weird theory lah.. hehehe

actually i'm the very first few who's seen ur pics before u left for US i think
so glad i managed to catch the photos before they were deleted...

i couldn't find any OTR gowns in other bridal shops other than JLC.. went to a few but all dun have... happy with JLC not only becos their gowns fits me but also becos they are beautiful too!
anyways i'm between size 12 to 14... i'll still be taking MTM cos my wedding's gonna be next yr.. and i wouldn't know whether they have any nice ones then

seraphim1970

Hi ladies, there is a new thread,'38' Club for general chatting under Matters of the Heart. Do come join us and keep the thread on-going and strong.

girlfriend

Hello Mudpie,

I tried to go to your website but cant see your photos.

I am v interested to see the designs of Jawn Happy Ever aft hearing so many good comments abt them. hehehehe

dearie

Dear Mudpie,

You look great! The photos are well taken and you look beautiful in your gown.

Thank you for sharing your photos with us.

big-ger

Hi Mudpie,

You look very good, proving to us that big can be beautiful too.

I love the colour of your wedding gown with all the beautiful details on your train, so delicate. I suppose it is not white?

Thank you for sharing your photos with us.

mudpie

Hi girlfriend,

Sorry you could not view the album; Yahoo!Photos seem to be down today. I cannot access it myself the whole day too. Guess you will just have to keep trying!

Thank you Dearie and Big-ger for the compliments! Yep my gown is not white, but rather a magnolia shade. It's a delustred satin with white organza over it. My train could cover the whole king-sized bed like a comforter! Haha! Am really grateful to Susan and Euzart of Jawn for making me FEEL so beautiful
The 2 of them really cleared up all the misconceptions I've had, like big arms should be covered up with long sleeves etc!

I just hope Yahoo!Photos is more reliable; I might just have to manually do up webpages for each pic!

Keep in touch!

girlfriend

Mudpie...

I managed to view the photos already! Thanks!

You look gorgeous! I hope I can look like you on my big day!

Congrats on your "promotion" in status!

mudpie

Hello girlfriend,

Don't worry, I know you will look radiant and even more gorgeous on that day! Just psycho yourself not to worry so much and everything will turn out great!

lc

HI Mudpie,

Your church is beautiful. Catholic right? Which church is it?

mudpie

Hi LC,

It's not really a "church"; I am Anglican but didn't know SJI is a Catholic school! Haha! So the older relatives were shocked we held our wedding in a Catholic chapel!

It's the S'pore Art Museum, former SJI chapel hehe...I love the place too, and despite what people commented on the salmon-pink walls, I think the pictures turn out well too!

Thanks for the compliment!

destitonia

Hi mudpie,
THanx for sharing your pics. You look beautiful. Frankly i think, even though we need to look for size 14 and above when we do normal shopping, we are beautiful too!! And also, we are more unique hehehehe..i also went to choose my pics last week..they are really beautiful..can't believe that's actually me..

girlfriend

Err Mudpie you said you are UK size 20 in the other thread. In the photos, you really dont look like size 20. hehehe.. more like size 16.

Anyway you are a beautiful bride, who cares what others say of you!

seraphim1970

Hey ladies, always always know that BIG IS BEAUTIFUL!

In the US, plus-size gowns can be found OTR anytime, I went to David's Bridal in New York and tried on quite a few but in the end I only bought a cocktail dress and decided to take up MTM package in Singapore. If you think you are big, you've got to see the ladies here in New York! ... heh heh

When I scouted for my wedding package, I didn't even bother to ask to try anything OTR cos I know for sure they don't have anything in my size so I showed them designs which I spotted in magazines and together with my personal bridal consultant aka my mommmy ... hee hee.

Don't worry so much about your size, do not be shy, be confident!

lc

Mudpie,

My cousin also got married at the Art Museum but it's the Glass Hall. Frankly, the Glass Hall isn't as nice. The glass wasn't even polished or shiny at all! And I do not remember if they have chandeliers...didn't leave an impression.
How come you didn't get married in your church?

dearie

Dear Mudpie,

May I know the details of your wedding package with Jawn? How much isit and what did they give you?

sharon

Hi Seraphim1970,

I am pretty big sized too.
Can I have a look at yr gowns???

Thanks n have a great weekend

big bride

I am a big size bride myself. The only one in my family on the heavy side. Sometime, i feels so stressed out by my size. Everyone is tell me that I will be a fat bride.

As the day approached I feel so scared that I will not be petty enough for the rest to see. Especially when there are another 2 more couple in my department who are getting marry. Everyone is showing their wedding photo. And they are all waiting for mine. The pressure for my photo to turn out nice is great.

I am so worry that it will not be nice.

mudpie

Thanks for the compliments. I shall answer your qns here at one go, ok? Hehe!

I did not get married in my own church because my church "operates" out of a school and the sanctuary/reception room are not wheelchair accessible. My father-in-law is not very mobile so we had to go somewhere else. We had our 1st date at the SAM so that place always has a special spot in my heart

As for my pkg with Jawn, I signed up with them almost 1 year ago, so prices may have been revised. Better check with them ok? I do not have their no off-hand so kindly refer to Jawn's own thread in this forum. Many people have posted the details there!

Here's what I got:
1 WG MTM
1 EG MTM
1 suit MTM to keep
1 bouquet (officially for wedding day, but PS bouquet is complimentary)
Photography by Linn Kong
Make-up by Sam Ong (top up $100 because my dinner on another night so he could only do me; no such thing as 2 brides for him in 1 evening or morning!)

All in all I paid $3988+100=$4088 for my pkg.

Depending on which photographer you choose, the price of pkg differs.

Seraphim, I agree with you that we are very normal in western countries. In Astralia I feel so good because I had no problem buying clothes, and almost everyone is my height (1.7m) if not taller!
Lucky you, staying in the States now. Shopping must be wonderful eh? Hehe...

Big Bride, why do you care what others say, so long as your hubby loves you just the way you are? Every bride will be beautiful in her own way, so be confident and happy; believe me, when you are happy, you WILL LOOK GORGEOUS! BIG CAN BE BEAUTIFUL!

My hubby's cousin also got married FOUR days before us. The bride is petite and according to the relatives, wore sexy tube top gowns. But they all say she dun look very good. I think it is the certain X-factor that makes you look good, small or big. When you are happy and confident, and heck care what others say, then people will respect and even admire / be envious of you!

I am also the only 1 in my fam who's FAT. My sis can eat the whole day and won't get any bigger! So before my wedding, both she n mom kept telling me to make sure I "got sleeves to cover up flabby arms" and dun show any skin! Well I'm very proud of my complexion so I thought, if I can't show off my only good point, what's there left to show?

Thanks God for Susan and Euzart of Jawn; they have indeed brought out the best in me.

So Big bride, just be happy and dun ever let other people tell you otherwise and ruin the day for you!

I know you will be beautiful!

Take care and all the best!

seraphim1970

Hi mudpie, you got Sam Ong too?!!! He's great isn't he! I think he is fabulous! How come you had to top up extra? I had my wedding 2 days too and there weren't extra charges at all for anything but of course we gave him a bigger ang pow lah cos my mommy adores him ... ha ha. He is such a nice guy, the flowers for my hair si kiau kiau so I called him the 2nd day and told him, he went to get the flowers and brought them to the hotel, he is sooooooooo nice.

As for my wedding, I didn't go on any diet cos I didn't need additional stress as I was planning the whole event alone while my hubby was in the US. I went for sleeveless and still looked good. Yeps, me in US very easy to buy clothes especially now summertime, I buy like siow and I know I got to stop ... heh heh.

I have to agree with your advice to some of the girls, DO NOT LET OTHERS RUIN YOUR BIG DAY! IT IS YOUR DAY SO YOU ARE THE BOSS! ... hee hee

mudpie

Dear Seraphim,

Yep, Sam is such a dear! He's always offering advice on how to save my money; even told me bridesmaid, no need to do make-up! But topping up seems to be the usual practice leh...must complain now
I think he must like you and your mom more than me! Haha!

Geez, it's diccicult enough with 2 person planning and running errands, but you had to do it all alone! I too did not have any help until the last 2 weeks when hubby took time off work to drive me around.

So envious, can shop like mad! Haha!

Hi Soupie, thanks for the compliment! The EG was my fave too cos it's my fave colour green! It's very simple actually, just unique fabric (hand-painted flowers) and complementary cut for me

seraphim1970

Hey Mudpie ... ha ha, I think cos Sam was included in my package with Allure lah, anyway we asked him to do my flowergirl's hair last minute on both days and he didn't refuse us, of course my mommy again give dah hong bao but I dunno how much she gave lah ... heh heh.

On my wedding morning, I was very stressed out cos I didn't have enough sleep and also my mommy was giving my headache, Sam was really nice, he talked to me, he joked with me and that sure helped me calmed down, overall we had alot of fun even from the 1st time I met him at my trial make-up, we were talking and laughing like long-time friends ... ha ha.

Well, I had alot of headaches and heartaches doing the preparations alone lor, it could be frustrating at times but I thank the Good Lord for guiding me and blessing me, and also giving me the strength. Good thing Allure's boss & Holiday Inn Park View banquet staff were wonderful and helped me alot, that sure lessened my headaches, as for the church, I had alot alot of headaches but I worked hand in hand with other couples who got married on the same day as me and we managed to get everything done well. My hubby only needed to get suits for himself and his son from NYC and get himself to Singapore for the Photoshoot/Catholic Engaged Encounter in June 2002 and then the wedding in September 2002, so shiok right ... ha ha.

Here in NYC, some areas got nice and cheap clothings, those I like ... hee hee. Alot of the clothings are too big for me ah!!! ... hahahaha!!!!

mudpie

Dear Seraphim,

Glad things went well for you afterall the headaches and heartaches! The bridegrooms always seem to have a better deal eh? Maybe we should have learnt to be more laid back and enjoy the day! But the funny thing was, my hubby used to be the more paranoid control freak than I was, but when it came to the wedding, I wanted to be in charge of EVERY little detail!!! Asking for trouble eh? Haha! But once we settled the church venue, bridal boutique (yep, HE got the final say, and thank God I trust his taste) and hotel, the rest is up to me to decide lor. Had a hard time making wedding favours and invitation cards! Luckily we found out he could do the program better than me, so he did all the work! Phew!

I also had trouble buying clothes in Australia! The normal range sometimes too small, and i'm too small to go for the plus size ones! Thought I could shop for lingerie there too, but eventhough I'm big, the upper assets not so well endowed...so cannot buy too. What a joke!

snowball

Hi Seraphim, Mudpie n Abrinas,

Me is also on the bigger side. Going to be 2004's bride but not time to try for a slimer figure...hehe cos like to eat mah.
Anyway, Can you guys send me some of your photo shots for my reference? my email add is [email protected]

Any advice on how 2 look slimer on these wedding gowns...?

have a nice day