Any big-sized brides with good boutiques to recommend?

mudpie

Hi snowball,

Please feel free to look at my pictures online:

http://www.geocities.com/mudpieoinkie/JVweddgpics.html

You don't need to stress yourself out by trying to lose 20 kgs or what, but based on experience at least eat healthily (no deep fried stuffs etc) if only for the sake of good skin! It also helps to do simple exercise to tone up arm and legs; it will make you feel more energetic! Running around to plan weddings made me lose sleep and feel tired; a big no-no for brides to be.

To look slimmer, you need the advice of your designer as to what cut, style, fabric, and colours that will bring out the best in you! It's all about playing tricks on people's eyes so you look slimmer hehe...any photographer worth his/her salt will know all the camera tricks to hide flaws like my double chins and flabby arms!

hopefull

Dear Mudpie,

You are really an encouragement for me.

I have just started preparing for my wedding and I am sooooooooooooooooooooo worried about getting wedding gowns etc etc etc .... was feeling down...

After seeing your pics, I begin to believe that there is hope for bigger size brides-to-be like me.

i think i will lose weight for health reasons.... coz i plan to get pregnant 6-12 months after my wedding. thus in order to have a healthy baby, i think i shd lose weight lor....

mudpie

Hello Hopeful,

You are right! The 1st step towards starting a healthy family is to be healthy yourself! A pregnant woman (or young mother) needs alot of stamina so losing weight is a wise decision. I support you all the way! Don't get too stressed, just go with what makes YOU and fiance happy cos it's ur day afterall.

Good luck and all the best to you!

motivation

Hi Mudpie,

Really thanks to you for sharing with us your pics and your bridal boutique.Jawn happy ever after.

After hearing all the positive comments about them, I had pay them a visit and I should say I was really impressed by them and their professionalism.

They are unlike some boutiques taht I went to that actually make me so embarassed by my size and I should say they offer very good tips and advices. And their designing skills are really something.

Apart from JLC and Allure, any other places that you all would recommend for big girls like us? So far after visiting a few, I was really impressed by jawn but was thinking of shortlisting the final few befor concluding.

Thanks in advance for all your help and keep this thread going for big girls like us.

big ger

Hi Motivation,

How is your preparation for your wedding so far. When is your big day?

icute

I'm also a big size bride. I took my wedding photos at JB - New York Classic Bridal. You can look for the thread under this bridal boutique for details.

As I'm quick big size, I need to be careful when I pose for my wedding photos. Use some shadows to help you look slimmer. My photos have very little touch up as the photographer was quite experience and know which angle makes me look slimmer.

Click the link below if you're interested to see my wedding album just taken recently:

http://photos.yahoo.com/icute1974

qq_bear

Hi icute,

Ur photo very nice leh...than u look very slim! Where got big size?! I took my wedding photos at JB also...Graceful Creation Wedding Plaza at Johor Jaya. I'm the big size bride lah, than i always stress the Photographer...slim okie slim!
Lucky the outcome very good...
When is your wedding date, my one next 2 weeks...will going home soon (KL/M'sia)!
Stress leh, alamak!

Anyway nice to meet u!

If u interested to see my wedding album, pls click to the following link:-
http://qqbear.multiply.com

icute

Hi babycarrot H,

You look really sweet in your photo. I'm curious, how did your husband did his tie in the photo? Did he used the normal tie and tied it another way or was it a special scarf?

All the best for your big day!

icute

Hi bleue,

I've seen quite a few nice floral printed dresses at Marks & Spencer, the outlet at Borders. These dresses look really sweet and femine, great for ROM and the sizes are up to 18. Robinsons also sell big size dresses. I bought a nice long dress from Arthur Yen at CK Tangs (which might still be under reno, no sure). You may want to check it out.

Just in case you're interested in getting fresh, nice and cheap flower bouquet:

I had my ROM bouquet, 24 fresh white roses with satin ribbons for only $25 in Feb 2002. I was very pleased with my ROM bouquet as it was really cheap. The florist at the ROM is selling 6 stalks of roses at $60 to $80 while my 24 stalks was only $25 including wrapping!

I went down on 02-08-2004 to check out the prices for my wedding bouquet and flowers for my parents as it's their wedding anniversary on my wedding day. Wedding bouquet- big cream white roses with satin at only $50! 3 stalks of white lilies with wrapping at $30 and 12 stalks of carnasians with wrapping at $30. Corsages - roses at $3 each and orchid at $2 each.

Yue Cheong Flowers & Gifts
Blk 269A Queen Street #01-232
Singapore 181269
Tel: 6337 2506 Fax: 6334 1690
Margaret Ting

icute

Hi babycarrot H,

Your outdoor photos are really very nice. Your traditional costumes photos are also very nice and sweet. Your outdoor photographer is very good. Where did you get your wedding package from?

qq_bear

Hi icute,

Thank you.....

Just sign up when i shopping at City Square-JB. That time didn't think so much just the lady very nice and the package also quite okie than okie...on loh. Anyway this bridal shop are very good!

You know "Graceful Creation Wedding Plaza"?

icute

Hi babycarrot,

Glad that you've found a bridal studio that you like and the photos were great! All the best for your wedding preparation!

vivalution

Hi babycarrot n icute!
I'm Viva, new to tis forum. I'll be ROMing on 31st Dec, quite a big bride...
Come across tis forum n saw both ur pics.
Hope u dun mind.. I tink u gals look really great! Wher gt big size? Look so slim n nice.
Hmmm, can i join u gals in tis forum?

sandgirl72

Hi Viva
163476.gif

Congrats on your upcoming ROM!

U may wanna join us at the other thread "Size 18 Brides" under the same topic.. we also chat over at MSN during office hrs and nite time when we r back home.. if U have MSN, U can add me in [email protected]

we r planning a gathering on this coming Fri 24 Sept.. hope U can join us..

icute

Hi Viva,

Welcome! Congrats on your ROM! I'm sure you must be really excited. I'm actually not very active in this thread as my photoshot and wedding gown selections are already over, and I'm busy with work and getting my new home ready.

Do join the other gals on their coming gatherings. I'm sure you'll have a great time. I can't make it for the gatherings, so send my regards to them if you can make it. Have fun!

qq_bear

Hi Viva,

Sorry, just come back from Malaysia.
Welcome you. Congrats on your ROM.

Icute, very tired leh after the wedding, than i so mad abouut my mother in law. she really is a crazy woman. A lot of story cal tell you leh.

icute

Hi babycarrot,

so sorry to hear that you didn't manage to get along with your MIL. It's definitely not easy staying with someone who is of a diff generation and grew up in a totally diff environment.

I've just order my hand bouquet for my AD, but not fresh flower as what I initally have in mind, but something more uncommon locally - silk flowers. Silk flowers are very popular overseas in countries such as America. Preserve flowers are much nicer but very ex, around US$200-$300. The silk flowers that I've chosen are big fully bloom white roses with a tint of pink in the centre, so they're very romantic and sweet. They look real from a distance and unless someone really inspect my bouquet, I doubt anyone will even notice that they're not fresh flowers!

Luckily I have a very understanding and open-minded hubby who doesn't mind my unconventional ideas. He even help me to choose the fabric flowers and I'll collect them in mid nov and take a photo. I'll post the photo here then.

So, where did you go for your honeymoon? anything fun or interesting?

sereneli

Hi Jas,

you can try allure charix @ Amoy street. They have gowns up to Size 16.

for ROM kind of dress, you can also try Robinsons @ City Hall. I have seen their gowns in Size 18

justmint

Thanks Serene,
Will check out that place.
Do you have their contacts?

Hope to get a nice gown from bridal shops cos hubby-to-be prefers that..if I can't find any, then Marks & Spencer/Robinson will be my last choices... =(

Wish me luck!! ; )

sereneli

Hi Jas,

I dun have their contact. But Allure is at Amoy Street and Angelique is in Centrepoint....near Americaya.

sandgirl72

Hi Jasmine
I can reply on behalf of Serene.. (Serene, u wont mind rite)..

Allure Charix is located at 92 Amoy Street.. their Tel # is 63237868. You can look for either Annah/Dennes/Danial.. They are very friendly and helpful pple..

Hope you can find something U like from their OTR WG, EG and tea dress..

jas_thm

Esp Sandy and Serene!! Wow you guys have been up to lots of stuff. too bad i am still busy with the hamper business!! Mudpie, baby carrot and icute... you guys really look wonderful in your wedding photos. I will be doing mine in march!! hope is comes out just as good. Serene... when will you be doing yours?

sereneli

Hi Jas,

My gowns designs are already settled. Jawn is doing up my gown and I am due for my first fitting in Feb.
PS will be in late March/early April

sandgirl72

Hi Jas
Join us when the biz is more settled lor, we understand esp this 'peak season'.. so dont worry.. plenty of chances to join us in our gatherings..

jas_thm

Hello again guys,
Serene.. wow, i am only going for my gown appointment in Feb after new year... but using gown for AD only...
dunno lah maybe too rush

krisjon

Are there any good BS tat helps to make WG for big size bride???

Please advice... Thanks in advance.

yaoyao

hi gingercat u may try style bridal as my sister took their package and she was quite a big size too but they manage to make her pretty gown is was so nice and beautiful and their package is very affordable you may like to try. for information u can email me at [email protected]

von_teh_su_su

I am new to this thread...Er..may be planning for my ROM either year end or next year.... I am also a Big Bride to be (size 14 -16).... Can i ask u ladies for opinion, how do i choose my gown to avoid making me more BIG...Haha...really had a hard time searching for gown....

So glad to see that this thread really makes me feel that i am not alone in BIG... Haha.....

Saw comments on Fame Bridal. Yah they do cater to Big size brides....Cos i have a frend who is big took their package too....gown so so only, maybe she took from the rack and not tailor made...maybe can go there and have a look......

junebridetobe

I am new to this thread, I am also a plus size bride to be(14-16), now I am trouble about the design for my WG. can anyone share photos or advice me for a plus size cum full-size upper body bride like me.

susanfoo

I'm also a plus size 16 bride. I just sign up with J&M and going to MTM my gown. The lady tell me there had a lot of plus size gown in the shop but i'm worried it does not suit me therfore choose MTM. I'll be going down tomorrow to discuss with the designer on the gown and will update again on the findings.

dearris

I am plus size bride to be too.. thought mt AD is in 2007...

Btw, i also sign up with J&M.. but i sign up 3 or 4 years back.. hahaha so kS..

I am size 18...

Susan, how is the grown. I am pretty worry about their grown tho their photo look nice but i find their grown is so so only.

For plus size bride like us need those cutting very nice grown

Hope you could update me.

diowng

another + size bride-2-b here.

juz wondering if there is any MTM packages to recommend me?

i very tired to try the gowns & feel so demoralising cos cant fit. sigh..

Hope to hear some advice too.

susanfoo

Hi dearris

Saw your post today. Hope i'm not too late. My AD and evening gown is ready. Don't worried about the design, designer Elbson is very creative and he give a lot of ideas that can suprise you. My AD gown is a 2 pcs. Top is corset and botton is A-line. Simple and elegant. Cus my hip is heavy, i cannot wear one pcs gown or else everything will gather at the waist. They also got some big size OTR too. I advise you to make a trip down to check it out.

jengcc

Hi Ivy,
I'm a plus size with whitelink..
Pkg signed incl. MTM for WG & EG..
jus had my ROM and they do have ROM gowns OTR for plus-size..
u may like to check it out..
Jus my 3-cents cos i was afraid that i can't find BS cos of me being plus-size..

diowng

Thanks JL & ZZ

i've seen the website & seems they have celebrity signing up with them too. (scare they're expensive)

mind sharing your experience & package?