Amanda Lee Weddings

ollie27

Finally my wedding is over...I'll like to comment that both, Miah and Gin, did a great job, a lot of guests praised that my gowns and make-up are lovely. Oh! Redbox did a great job too, her service was superb, the corsages and flowers are beautiful and the car deco was beautifully decorated!! I'm asking my hubby to order flowers from her in future..hehe

kitty_princess

congratulation Ollie!! I simply luv admanda lee's wedding gowns.. is a love at first sight.. may i know roughly what's the package like? most importantly the price hee.. thx! can private message me..

kazataza

Hi Ollie,

congrats to you!
i agree with you Redbox is very good. I must say i was impressed with them. give very honest and cost savings tips.

cindy,
your AD pics is taken by Tommyleong? mine too!
care to share your pics?

saw Amanda just a few days ago...i'm surprised that she and Joe and actually remember my HB and I after 1 year+ dealing with us.

kifenkaino

Hi all, just check with you all.. is appointment compulsory before you can go down to see their gown? Cause that day when i was shopping at orchard and decided to go down to the delfi branch for a look and was rejected.

pongy

She is from Amanda Lee Weddings. There are two branches. You can refer to their website for more info. In addition, you can make appt with them to find out more abt their gowns and packages. Thumbs up for them!

glamourous2309

Hi ALL, Has anyone have any past experience to share on choosing betweeen Ted Wu, The Wedding Present and Amanda Lee? I can't decide between these 3...

cacky

Hi all, I am also an AL bride ... I simply love their stuff whenever I saw their designs in the magazine. I had Miah design my gown for me and I really loved how it turned out. I'll be assigned Jasmine as my MUA. Did anyone else have Jasmine and can you share pictures and experience?

Meow: I think they tie up with VividShots too. If I'm not wrong, cindy's pictures above are done by VividShots, I saw their portfolio in the Delphi Orchard branch.

Glamourous: Have you visited the 3 of them yet? Maybe you should and then sit down with their designers to discuss. I had a good feel with Miah in AL and that's what that made me decide to sign up with them (of coz' other than the fact that I am so in love with their designs!)

kzhi

Hi Meow, yes they tie up with vividshots and ray ong (photolanguage) as well. You may want to meet up with the photographers to see who you are more comfy with before you decide. That's what Amanda suggested me to do and I'm glad I did.

Hi Glamourous: I was contemplating between ted wu, wedding present and amanda too. Decided on amanda coz she gave me a real comfy feeling. I din really get to see ted wu coz only met the assistant. Averagely friendly, nothing fantastic but I know the price is super duper expensive. Din go to wedding present ultimately coz i fell in love with AL's designs.

pongy

Hi Glamourous, i went to ted wu before and was serve by the assistant (as what zhi mentioned). Ted wu will not meet you until the design gowns stage. The rest of the matters will be handled by the assistant. That is his style.

As for ALW, I'm also very comfortable with Miah. He's like someone who will go out for you to get you what you really like...ya..so in the end i signed up in the Orchard Branch.

My friend was with wedding present. This is what i heard from her..they have a couple of designers and cannot choose one, it was assigned. Another thing is that TWP is always very very crowed with couples so my friend feels that the service will not be personalized..

linaballerina

Hey everyone...AML gowns are so nice! My friend took her package when she got married 2 years back, and i am tempted to go to her too cos I fell in love with her dresses... actually I just got engaged so i don't know the procedure... shall i just make an appointment and go and see her? Is she at the cantoment branch? How to choose PG and PS? Sorry... I'm a newbie!!! =) What other designer BS are there and how much do they cost usually? I read that the all in-1 packages with PG cost about $3K... but the designer ones are much more than that I am sure?

cacky

Hi hi ballerina, congrats on your engagement and glad you came into this thread. If you're looking at designer gowns, gowns that make you look all sweet and pretty, into laces and embroidery, into bold colors to add on to your gowns, this is the place to be in. Okay, here's to answer your questions one by one:

1. Yes, you should make an appointment before you go over. This is to avoid going over and be disappointed if they can't sit down with you. In case you didn't realize, there are 2 branches, one is at Cantonment Road (which is the main boutique) and the other is at Delphi Orchard.

2. If I'm not wrong, Amanda's usually at the Cantonment road branch. To be double sure, call the cantonment road branch and make an appointment with Amanda herself.

3. As for PG and PS, ALW ties up with their affiliated photographers like those mentioned in their earlier posts. Or you can also go down and take a look at some of their portfolios. Alternatively, if there's nothing there that interests you, you can go 'ala carte' like what I did. If you would like to pick one of the photographers that ALW works with, be sure to discuss abt the pricing details when you work on your gown package details at the same time.

4. There are plenty of designer BS out there, browse around in this forum or pick up bridal magazines to get an idea. As for cost range, I am not in the position to advise you coz' I saw Amanda's designs from the magazine and just knew I wanted them to do my gown. :p

5. Yes, there are all-in-1 packages with PS that cost about 3K, but you gotta look around other studios. Not sure if ALW has that kinda price range.

6. Yeap, you are right, designer BS are usually priced higher, coz' you're really paying for the design costs. I know of some BS, they let you choose different gowns for your PS and even have a seperate MTM/OTR gown for your AD and offer at very cheap prices. But then again, it boils down to what is really important to you and what you truly want on your wedding day.

Don't worry about posing questions, we were all newbies once, right gals? Most importantly, enjoy the process. It can be a really exciting moment.

glamourous2309

Hi Cacky, Zhi and Pongy,

Thanks for sharing all your experiences.
In fact, I've met up with all that's why posted that query in forum.... ;P
It's true that Ted would not meet until the "design stage" (which is also after U've made the deposit), I managed to meet up with Ted before finalising my decision tho. I must say it was a really good experience, and Ted is really friendly, nice and funny! He is very experienced too. Depends really on your personal preference whether U like his designs, as his flair are still in embroidery. Of course, the chemistry you have with the designers as well.

At ALW, there are in house designers and AL herself. Both the package prices are different of course. Miah is at Cantonment, and charges a different rate as compared to AL too.

glamourous2309

Hi Cacky, Zhi and Pongy,

Thanks for sharing all your experiences.
In fact, I've met up with all that's why posted that query in forum.... ;P
It's true that Ted would not meet until the "design stage" (which is also after U've made the deposit), I managed to meet up with Ted before finalising my decision tho. I must say it was a really good experience, and Ted is really friendly, nice and funny! He is very experienced too. Depends really on your personal preference whether U like his designs, as his flair are still in embroidery. Of course, the chemistry you have with the designers as well.

At ALW, there are in house designers and AL herself. Both the package prices are different of course. Miah is at Cantonment, and charges a different rate as compared to AL too.

linaballerina

Hi Cacky!

Thanks so much for your advice!! So detailed too... =)

I will make an appointment soon... Miah is in Orchard right? Is he/she good? Everyone seems to sa y Ted Wu is good too... I think I will need to source around a little bit...

glamourous2309

Hi Cacky, I havent pay the deposit to Ted yet.... But I feel comfortable with him. If you like embroidery, should go for him. Otherwise, try see whether possible make appointment with him to see the chemistry between yourself and designer. It would be a fairer decision rather just base on their assistants. I mean opinions may differ as all these are personal. =)

cacky

ballerina: No worries, just doing my bit in sharing coz' we all go through that phase. Miah's in Delphi Orchard. Do make an appointment with him if you decide to go down. Whether he is good or not is subjective, seriously. To me, I think he's good. But someone else might not feel that way, so it is still best you make an appointment and get a feel of things.

Glamorous: Nah, I won't go see Ted, I'm already in the midst of my package with ALW already. Plus I'm not really into embroidery, more into lace. Just surprised that you got to meet him even without signing the package first. I thought there were people who mentioned that they won't get to see Ted himself until they sign on the package. =)

pongy

Hi gals, so u gals decided on which BS already? For me, before i sign up with ALW, i did went to Ted wu, Margret Brides and a couple of BS at tanjong pagar. Eventually, i had a hard time deciding b/w ALW and MB. But what made me choose AWL in the end, was that i am very comfortable with Miah. He is such a very very nice guy.. and he even goes all out to provide suggestions on how to choose hotels, slimming, etc. He is so willing to share his experiences of other brides with us. And of course, not forgetting the beautifiul gowns sketches that we drawn for me. Thumbs up for him!

So i tink its very individual when choosing a BS. As long as you are comfortable with the price, the gowns and the services then go all out for it!

cacky

pongy: I totally agree with you about Miah! Hhehhehe. After talking about my gown, we can go on and chat about other stuff. Being comfortable really is important in choosing your BS.

shice1

Would like to know most pple here in this thread is with Delfi (miah) or cantoment (AL)? heh.. abit confusing after reading on the archives.. :p

What kind of gowns is amanda lee good at? Their pkg can bargain (for more items or less price)??

Coz I shortlisted AL and Divine.. not sure which one to go to.. each seems to have it's own good pts..

cacky

Hi Shice,

I am with Miah in Delfi. To get a good feel of what ALW is good at, you really ought to go down and take a look. From what I've observed, it's mostly laces, embroidery and colors, yes ... colors. I even saw a gown with colored lace (ie. gold and silver). Miah told me that type of lace is pretty expensive. I can't really compare it with the others coz' like I mentioned before that I didn't exactly browse other BS coz' I kinda knew I wanted ALW to design my gown after seeing their works in the mags.

shice1

Ic.. how much is Miah's pkg at Delfi? Coz I've been to the one at Cantonment with Amanda Lee herself.. Just the gown alone, it's already out of my budget. But i do agree with you that their gowns are really very beautiful..

Could you kindly email me at [email protected]? Thanks!

pongy

Hi Shice,
Here's the package. But this pricing is last year (mid 07 pricing). Not sure if they had mark-up the prices recently.

Delfi Orchard $4580 (MTM package)
WG-MTM (rental), EG-MTM (keep), Groom Suit (jacket, pants)- MTM keep, 4 make-ups, 2 bouquets, corsages, bridal car deco + 2 entourage cars

Cantoment Road $4980 (MTM Package)
items same as above (note the price diff)

OTR package $3980
items all same except WG & EG OTR.

Hi cacky, your AD over liao? care to share the designs of your WG and EG?

shice1

Thanks pongy! The pricing at Cantonment Rd is still the same - no price mark up.

Guess Amanda Lee's pkg out of my budget le... =(

pongy

Hi Shice,
Dun give up hope. Try to sign them up at bridal shows for further discounts. Then that may suit your budget.

kitty_princess

thx pongy! maybe should wait until then to sign up.. think cheaper .. anyway still early cos my AD in sep 2009.. but really wish to pop by now to check out.. haa...can't wait !! :p

cacky

Whoa Meow ... still some time away leh, you can sign up first I guess and then decide on the design later? Coz trends change with different seasons too.

By the way, have any of you gals engaged ALW's florist to do your flowers and car decor? Just wanna hear your inputs or should I be engaging the florist elsewhere?

eunice_40

Hi cacky,

I'm one of ALW's brides, dont worry abt your flowers and car deco. All the florists which ALW tied up with are all very pro and good. I got redbox to do my solemnisation deco 2 years back. It was very nice!!

kitty_princess

cacky, yes it's still a long way to go.. can't wait to get married.. hope the day faster come hee..

sign up too early also got risk.. think i'll probably go down in may or june..for their wedding fair...

cacky

Meow ... can't wait to get married? Whoa!
But always remember, the wedding is just the process, a celebration of love, it's the marriage that really counts.

eunice_40

Cracky, i did not do any car deco for my solemnisation. Keeping that for my AD.

By the way, ALW best florist is Boenga. You can take a look of their work from their website. =)