Advice needed on F&E Honeymoon in USA for coming DEC 2011 **

super_kindaichi

Currently I'm starting to plan for my honeymoon trip to USA in Dec 2011 and I will need some advice. Which states are worth visiting and which are not? Temperature? Factory Outlets is really worthwhile? Which state have the most Factory Outlets?

Any other couple intend to go in Dec 2011 for honeymoon too? As going in 4 can be more cost saving in car rental and maybe flight?

*During the trip, think can be optional to travel in 2 or 4.

Just take a bus for factory outlet..
there's no difference in flight savings for 2pax or 4pax

Car rental for 2pax or 4pax also no difference. Use your head and think, 2pax will generate a full boot of shopping, if you have 4pax then where you put your stuff? On your roof?

Got money to go holiday then don't share lah. Just buy a ticket and go. How much is the ticket, less than 1k also have

How would you know if the other couple will not murder you on the way?

What if you and your husband like architecture and historical states, then the other couple likes nature?

Type alittle faster, google on travel in USA and wala you have everything at your finger tips. Shouldn't u be asking your husband and not someone else?

Super Kindaichi - why do you want to go to the US in December? That's usually peak for snow and if you head to the midwest, it'll snow so bad that flights and all may be cancelled.

In addition, as Americans want to get away from the wintery weather, airfare during this period is usually peak to places like LA, Florida and Hawaii since these places are warmer during that time of year.

I've been to the US both in March and August and those are great non peak periods to do your travels to.

If you're keen on outlet shopping, then go to LA cuz it's the best. One of the best I've been to is Desert Hills Premium Outlets at Cabazon. It's a close to 2 hour drive from Anaheim but the brands are gorgeous - Ralph Lauren, Diane Von Furstenberg, Rock n Republic, Banana Republic, Coach, Prada...

Actually Shaz. It really depends from state to state. I've been in the US in Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, April, May, June, July, Sep. Every month can be a good month but it really depends from state to state coz the weather varies alot.

Of coz California will always be the first place for every Asian to begin with. For a start, California is almost like Asia these days. Weather is pretty much consistent, no snow so its dry, cold, sunny pretty much like HK weather.

There's factory outlets everywhere. Desert Hills is soso, not really that big. I was there last week. Unless there's a public holiday in US, there's really not much sales. Some branded stuff like Ralph Lauren, CK can also be found at Marshall's, TJ Maxx etc. To be frank, angmo junk brands like Gap, Old Navy and similar is always treated like premium brands in Asia, maybe we still have the colonial instinct in us. Anything angmo is good.

Again, i met Yvonne (Singaporean auntie) who works at Coach Desert Hills this weekend, gave her some of my Bee Cheng Hiang bak kwa she was so happy. If you frequent outlets, you would also notice that the BIg big outlets for coach and katespade tend to only sell outlet styles to cater for PRC coz they are crazy, they like big monograms. The smaller factory outlets surprisingly have better selections.

Florida has good weather this winter. Surprisingly might be the only state without snow!

Actually i don't even think this Super Kindaichi knows what states are there in midwest. I think she just want info on popular states. People like them actually follow tours the best. Provide transport to factory outlets back to hotel, go disney etc etc which i'll consider are actually pretty value for money trips. I've actually seen Asians stuck at airport not sure where to rent car where to go, figure with maps and gps and winter is not a good season to drive with wet weather.

Hi Shaz - thank you for your recommendation.
Hi Eileen - yes, I am not sure of the places which i want to visit yet. Which is the reason I am trying to get more information from here (with other people experience, i can further check on the places rather than not really knowing where to start), travel guide (which may not be that accurate in certain thing) and google (to wide a range to start with). I am also not like you who can travel to the state regularly and it will be my first time there. Thank you.

step 1) go through newspaper and read the travel section
step 2) use scissors and cut out packages on USA east or west
Step 3) use highlighter and highlight the areas (states they bring you too)
step 4) research on wikipedia on those areas (tend to be popular for tourist) online
Step 5) print them onto pdf on your laptop and save to thumbdrive
step 6) go office and print out those that you have saved
step 7) ask your partner what kind of things he's interested to see? scenery/nature, museum/history, architecture, kiddy places (disney), pure shopping?
Step 8) go popular and buy notebook and different colors highlighter
step 9) use different color to highlight different category of attractions
step 10) nail down the final places you want to visit
step 11) ask yourself and partner how many days of leave both of you can take
step 12) research on airtickets. use airfare.com.sg (misa travel) or zuji for best guide on prices and remember to book 4months in advance. Note that natas fair will be good for buying air tickets ONLINE not going to natas fair unless you are goodie collector got tons of time to spare to queue.
step 13) cross reference with USA and SGP public holidays to save on leave and get the best sales in usa
step 14) research on hotels, use tripadvisor or expedia, quikbook
step 15) go to national library and borrow travel books for the final states you want to visit coz it's FREE

YOU DON"T HAVE TO BE RICH TO TRAVEL!

There's also this social thing call FACEBOOK where everyone post their vacation photos.

again, you don't have to be rich to experience the world....

school got teach about research what right? just recall and make better use of it with office supplies!

if you ask 10pax and 80% of them only been to west coast and they tell u SFO is the best place in USA then u believe meh? no right? how u know the 80% got same taste as you?

if this is your first time then just go east or west coast safest for tourist. or if u blur just join tourgroups like retirees all taken care for you. just bring camera clothes and money enough

Super Kindaichi : since u are planning for a honeymoon, then yr objectives are vastly different from other travellers.

I would think u shd focus on a leisurely pace rather than try to cover every attraction. Focus on capturing memorable moments, avoid situations where the stress of travel creates opportunities for arguments between the 2 of u. It wld be a bad idea if u plan a factory outlet raid, when the hubby dun quite like swipping the credit card.

Anyway, PM me if u wld like some ideas.

Super_Kindaichi >> I will also be doing for a F&E Honeymoon in USA in 3rd-4th quarter 2011 if I can get leave!

It will be my 2nd trip to USA. Since it is your first trip, I do suggest keeping to the "typical" locations first. Eileen's method actually will be useful, though it sounds somewhat condescending.

Also if you are doing F&E, highly recommended that you self-drive. Factory outlets, I think you can just chiong 1 big one... dun need to go to the state with most factory outlets.

Yes, do lots of research on the states,hotels,activities, etc before you go. That's really important,so start early..

hi, u might want to consider using priceline (name your price function) for booking hotels. it saved me a great deal when i visited nyc on free and easy early this year. there are several websites which collect history winning bids so that u have a rough guide how much to bid for. one of such website is betterbidding.com.

just to share, in case u r going to one of those wintery states. i went to nyc in jan this year when it was still winter. couple of my coaches were cancelled/delayed just because it snowed. be prepared to sit idle while waiting for transport to resume operation. make sure u don't have transits planned back to back in case one goes down and u end up missing them all.

Super_kindaichi: you like reading comics too?

How about decide where you wanna visit first and do some reading up on Lonely Planet? My HTB is bugging me to go USA for our HM in late Nov too. We went to Tokyo F&E more than 1 wk and somehow I managed to do my own itinerary even though it's my first trip there including the transport fees, time taken to travel and subway lines to take (really did lotsa research: books, forums & internet). Most importantly you must be comfy to drive throughout the whole journey if you're looking at self-drive HM

Airlines
Ensure all your connecting flights are under the same airline group.
Eg. United+Continental+SIA+ANA all under star alliance or
Eg. Delta+JAL?
This way even if flight cancel, they'll put you on other flights in the same carrier.

Airports
Be familiar with surrounding airports.
Eg. if you are going to NYC, original flight is to JFK from Dallas, but connecting flight to JFK is cancelled, ask if you can get connecting flights to Newark or La Guardia etc etc.
= you won't be stuck at airports in USA which will close all it's facilities (cafes, foodcourt etc etc) even if you are stuck in the airport. Their airport isn't 24/7.
My personal airport preference = Newawrk or LGA but never JFK. JFK tends to shutdown more frequently due to terrorist attacks etc etc.

Airport to city transfer
IF you pay in advance online and your flight is cancelled, they'll not refund you or reschedule if it's those shared shuttle bus..at your own risk.
Cab from Newark/JFK/LGA to NYC is about 80-100usd. Seriously $20 difference not much plus reach your doorstep faster.

Winter clothings
HANDCARRY in winter. If your baggage is lost or delayed etc.. you can still function with a good coat.
I normally pre-pack thermal wear in my handcarry and use my coat as blanket or pillow on the plane. If too hot then stuff it in the cabin.

Duration for NYC
In all my 5trips to NYC in the last 3years, i can never finish NYC. The city is always changing. 1week will be rush. 2weeks probably just nice. Note just for NYC, maybe take a train to Boston for 1-2days for heritage trail but i rather stay in the city (since i've done it 2x nothing special anymore).

Entertainment
Bring a good book, pack your laptop charger, handphone charger, travel adapter in your handcarry.

Fine Dining
Make reservations through the hotel. Sometimes i make reservation before departing Singapore...KS

Water
Save money then buy water in a gallon instead of small bottles then refill in smaller bottles. Makes a lot of $$ difference.

Summer
I only bring 3sets of clothes then i buy and wear there..makes more sense anyway no tax on clothes.

Luggage allowance
Make sure you check your limit even if you are under FF. Their customer service is very niow and will make you repack your luggage on site if it's overweight by 2-5lbs

Stupid things i like to buy
1)Le Cruset pots, BBQ pit
2)Bedsheets
3)Makeup
4)3M sponge..cheap gifts for family
5)Drugs and health supplements (GNC card from SGP can use)
6)Branded bags
7)Low price range watches (Guess, Fossil etc)
8)Sex toys and aids
9)Camera lens, accessories
10)Victoria secrets (only cheap if it's online)
11)Bath & Bodyworks lotions
12)Story books (Hard cover if you like to create a library at home)

Thanks for all the advice. I should start visiting the library to read about those travel guide. Maybe not going there for HM (maybe going for a short trip after wedding), but a long trip to US. Still thinking whether to travel in 4, as I might be the only one driving and maybe very taxing.

Hi, I just came back from US last week and since I got alot of pointers from this forum, so I would like to contribute mine in return. My husband and I had a F&E self drive, we fly into SF, and depart from LA. Spent a total of 10N (exclude flight time) there. We drive from SF - Monterey - Anaheim - LA - LV - Hoover dam - Grand Canyon - LV - LA.

Tips to share:

Try to book ur car rental from Natas fair, we booked ours from Avis, got a VW Jetta for only USD450 (includes a drop off charge USD300, eg pick up SF drop off LA) We brought along our own GPS and got e map rental from EastGear (1st 7 days free thereafter $1/day) so we actually save on GPS rental which can add up to USD20/day!

My personal opinion there is no need to top up for additional insurance (they will ask you over the counter when collect car) it is about USD15/day, just be careful while driving lor.

If budget allows, fly SQ and book the priority seats (front row) the 20hrs flight (transit 1hr in btw) is a killer and SQ has in flight entertainment which is better to occupy your time. (spend on air fare and cut on other expenses, thats my feel)

Hubby was the main driver thru out the trip and we clocked a total of >3000km ,rely alot on redbull but no issues.

Went to 3 premium outlets, Gilroy, Las V*gas North and Dessert Hills, took the advise here, register as member here

http://www.premiumoutlets.com/centers/index.asp

print out their coupon (offers better thn the small coupon book you get over there)

We bring along 5 sets of clothes (regret.. shld just bring 1 set cos the next day we go premium outlet liao, can save more space for luggages)

Agreed with decadence on the water, thru out the trip we only buy gallon put in car and trsf water into my water bottle.

Thats abt all I can think of now, if anyone here have anymore questions can email me at [email protected]

Hi, we r planning a F&E driving trip to US west coast this Oct-Nov, wanna take advantage of the Deepavali & Hari Raya Haji holidays & of coz the great exchange rates.

Jerlynn, how long did your hubby took to adapt to left-hand driving? If we were to bring our own GPS, could u share the maps with us?

Hi, I had booked my flight SIA for 10 dec 2011 to fly to new york. From there will fly to orlando and enjoy the theme parks first den 19 Dec 2011 fly to buffalo den after that back to new york . Will still think where can we go before settling down in new york for christmas...

Hi Min, if u got time, u can arrange a trip to Niagara Falls or to Ontario Canada but perhaps maybe too cold to see the Fall then

Yup, we are goin. 19th Dec will fly to buffalo to go Niagara falls and mayb go over Ontario. Will see how...

probably the Falls will be frozen by then coz when we were there in Oct, the ferry service already stopped.

watch the Falls from Skylon Tower, Canada, much better view than from US side. enjoy yur trip!

Hi Kindaichi,

Just to share my experience. Rather than stayin hotel, you might want to check out those apartments like Marriot Coutyard,Springhill Suites, Townplace Suites, Holiday Inn Express, etc. where these are the places I stay when I travel to US for buisness.

hey Jensen, you went on packaged tour or F&E? which states/cities you visited? I'll be driving from SF to Carmel to San Luis Obispo to Santa Barbara to San Diego to LV then LA. Anything a die die muz eat or do or see in those places? Please share photos too if you have
Thank you so much!

Hi Herman,
i went SFO / LA / San Diego / LV, self-drive... totally F&E.

Anything interesting in Carmel/San Luis Obispo/Santa Barbara?

SFO
Driving:
- STOP at all STOP line, their X junction practice first-stop-first-move off exit. Ask me if you cannot visualise.
- Either buy GPS in SG with USA map, or go US's best buy outlet buy a refurnished set. Cheaper than rent from Car rental.
- Buy gallon of water from supermarket than refill, rather than 500ml whenever you are thirsty. Save alot of $$$.

- Explore the city by public transport. They have good network of buses/tram/BART subway. Parking quite a headache at tourist locations, and they costs alot!!! USD32-58/day is no joke.

SFO: Go to a place called Crissy Field, for a nice picnic area with panaromic view of the Golden Gate bridge. I presumed you driving with GPS right?
37.807119,-122.46979 ( google map )

http://www.premiumoutlets.com/

I visited almost all the California premium outlets, no joke! They stock different things in different outlets, so i kiasu singaporean and plan my route to pass by all the outlets while from state to state.

Do as forummers recommend, register to be a member(FOC), print out the VIP coupon and shop till you drop. Do allocate AT LEAST 3-4hrs or more per outlets.

LA:
Can visit Beverly Hill, see all the atas houses owned by celebrity. You can even join celebrities tour bus, they will tell u who-live-here as they pass by the estate.

Hollywood Sign: Nice place to take pic of the hollywood sign, on top of a hill, panoramic view of LA city and hollywood bowl.
34.116355,-118.342765 ( google map )
7036 Mulholland Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90068

San Diego:

Interesting laid-back old town, alot of mexican influence.

I presumed you come here for Sea World? Not bad, you will like it, especially the huge Shamu show. Go see all the animal show if possible. Arrive early as per all theme parks. Buy 2park tickets if you are visiting Universal Studio Hollywood, cheaper save $.

Speaking of Universal Studio, must take the studio tour, very very nice! One tip: Sit on the left side of the tram, more chance to take pic.

LV

Glitzy showcase of neon lights! You definitely need at least 2 days.
There are roadside kiosk that sells discounted show performance/dinner buffet... interesting concepts.

Casino are EVERYWHERE, no joke. No security check, no xray machine... just walk straight in. Visit Planet hollywood casino, they have a special area where the casino ladies are *** ( go find out yourself =))

Hi Jensen, awesome tips, thanks so much!!

We dun want a long drive from SF to San Diego, that's why we opted for stopovers along the way. Carmel I think is popular for her seaside cliffs & laid back lifestyle, also there's a famous Hearst Castle in San Luis Obispo & also wineries & Santa Barbara also heard of it's beautiful sceneries.

We wun be driving during our stay in SF, we intended to get a day tour to Yosemite from there + Alcatraz tour

In LA, basically is sightseeing, to famous places like BH 90210, Melrose Place & Hell's Kitchen

Our shopping only starts in LV as the taxes in Nevada is lesser than in CA. In LV, we also looking for a helicopter ride to Grand Canyon.

In San Diego, our main will be the zoo, is the Sea World better than the zoo? The tics ain't cheap rite.

I'll be borrowing GPS from a fren who will be back from US, so shouldn't have a problem.

How long did you get used to left-hand driving?

Hi Herman,
Are you on honeymoon? Just a tip, you can inform the hotels + airlines beforehand if you are, and some will either give you:
Complimentary gift baskets
Room upgrade
breakfast
celebration cake

So are u collecting ur car in SFO, then go hotel park whole day? Remember to do ur research for free/cheap parking in SFO, else it will drain ur $$$... Amongst my 4 states, SFO parking is the most $$$! Fyi, my hotel valet allows parking for usd58/day, but the multi-storey opposite charges only usd32 across the street.

In LA, self-drive sight-seeing? I went BH & Rodeo drive ... dint go Melrose Place & Hell's Kitchen.

Shopping:
I have the same thought as u initially...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sales_taxes_in_the_United_States
But i was wrong! Despite the higher Cali tax, Nevada charge more, which i dun understand why. To make things worse, different stores seems to charge different sales tax, even if they are just beside each other.I can email you some of my receipts, let u have a look... do PM me your email if u want to see.
Also, there maybe chance that some merchandise u saw in Cali, are not avail in Nevada(LV). By then, you will regret... also, i enjoyed 25% disc for certain brands in premium outlets, which Nevada dun have.
My whole USA shopping loot are from premium outlets. Once you enjoy the cheaper disc, you WILL NOT want to ever touch LV retail outlets, trust me. Unless you are those that wants latest design, then bo bian. Else, i got my Levis for USD49 in outlet store, but selling usd100+ in LV stores. Hope you get my drift...

Lastly, buy Oakley! I got my RADAR frame for USD220, which retails for SGD485!

Personal opinion: Zoo more boring, Singapore also have. But Seaworld is something famous and have marine animals unique to the region.
http://seaworldparks.com/en/seaworld-sandiego/Book-Online/Tickets/SoCal-Resident/Multi-Park

Should buy multi-park tickets if you are a theme park fan... i got seaworld+ universal studio combo.

Left-hand drive: Just 1 day is enough... start slowly, dun tail-gate so that you can see how and which lane front car turn into. Fyi, the signal/wiper switch are in opposite place also, need to get used, unless u already driving a continental car in SG.

GPS: Once you get hold of the GPS, you may want to start keying in all the POI into it, to minimize time lost while there.

Hi Jensen, this will be our 2nd honeymoon, will be celebrating our 1st anniversary during the trip.

We only collect the car upon departing SF so wun be driving during our stay in SF.

Noted the difference in taxes, so you mean the items cost more in NV though the taxes there are lesser? so meaning things will cost lesser in CA instead despite their higher taxes??