A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

i engage Design Channel ID is michael. As for the cost breakdown, i do not have it now, But for the whole reno (carpentary, mansory works, plumping, painting..etc) is abt 23k. Air-Con mitsubushi starmax easy clean non-inverter cost $3250 its a 3+1 and electri point and power points is $1380...

LaNcerGuy
my is a 4rm.
i did not do a built in wardrobe for the other 2 rooms as 1 will be my study room and the other will leave it empty as no one will use so do already also waste money. as for my study room, i will be buying solid teak table, book shelf from outside...

once all furniture is up, i will post more of the photos..

my house reno is finally complete!

kitchen pics 1st... any comments are welcome.

405900.jpg

"built in microwave oven + built in multi-function oven + built in deep fryer"

405901.jpg

working space abit small... are you going to have another table for chopping things? personally, I would have do away with the top cabinets to make it looks more spacious.

Love me : that's the in-built deep fryer.. I wish i have one also :P remember it was quite expensive. :P and i cannot afford the tablespace :P

nas08, sorry sorry. I didnt know there's such built-in fryer. Hey come to think of it. It's such a cool stuff to have at home!

BTW, where's the sink?

405915.jpg

"teka scratch-resistant sink"
405916.jpg

cha alex - thks fr the comment. i finally made the solid veneers (at the background, to divide the balcony and living space)

we didnt use any ids, just ala carte fr everything. the kitchen wall tiles we added the dark brown tile fr highlight. we also inserted long aluminium strips in between the dark brown and light yellow tiles.

counter top is solid surface with non drip for both l-shape tops. for the sink counter top, it extends beyond the backsplash and capped the low wall so we have a "bar counter" top.

jgal - 02(built in oven/microwave/fryer) + 02(hood/hob) + 01(fridge) + 01(sink area) = 06

loveme - quite a bomb actually..... wl pm u the cost if u wanna. the sink is not smooth s/s surface, its got this raised lines on it.

i only did up the kitchen, the rest of the house, very plain plain one... paiseh to show the pics here lei.

yeah.. i can see there only 2 available slots.

Your kitchen has a nice layout
and I really like the open concept. We also have it.. but .. too bad.. it's no good for fengshui

Hi dreamer,
I like your renovation. Is yours a resale or new flat? it seems pretty big.

Do you mind to share the contact number of your ID?

Many thanks in advance.

Hi nas08,
Nice equipped kitchen! Guess now a lot of us is going for open-concept. Ours is also an open-concept kitchen.
Btw, will such built-in deep fryer make the kitchen smelly?

hi nas08,
I quite yr kitchen layout...
almost the same as us...
the big difference is U ve bigger space than us....
We nearly do the same design as yrs...a U shape kitchen....but cos my hb thinks of the water piping..saying it may clot in future...
cos the "turn on switch" is at the far corner end...if I was to do a U shape kitchen with basin "opposite" it, it will be too far for the water to run....
Its not gd for long term...
Asked a few IDs/contractors....all said not applicable. Therefore, didnt do it.

My kitchen layout is like yr 1st pic that U posted...except yr built in micorwave, fryer & oven is my basin area.
N tats the area I ve for my kitchen...
Super small....

Hi pauline han,

ID is michael from Design Channel...u can call him @ 94372946

my is a new flat 4rm. my living room and kitchen and masterbed room i personally feel is bigger the the current new 4rm flat. imagine i can do a WIW (19ft long) in my masterbed room without knocking down the other room..

jgal - well lucky for us, we dun believe in the fengshui stuff... hehe.

vnc - we dun do too much deep-frying... actually more fr esthetics... already kena scolding fm oc fr paying that kind of money to 'show off'. but then again, imho no amount of hood suction can take away the smell heavy cooking either rite?

hazel - i wanted the layout that way cos i want to maximise all the kitchen space. my mum staying with us.... so lotsa pots, pans and what have you... hehehe....
anyways, i asked my id abt it... shouldnt be a prob, unless u tend to flush a lot of bits and pieces into the sink... i hope mine dun choke lei... :P

*sigh...nas08,
Now I quite regret of not doing that design...
I run out of space now...
Imagine my whole kitchen space is the space shown on yr 1st kitchen pic...

I m quite curious abt yr deep fryer...Can it be removed to be washed?

hmmm...think I ve the smallest space..only 92sqm.

loveMe,
my 4rm is 97sqm...but my is a new flat...

urs is resale flat?

Anyone know where to get cheap and good mattress? want to get 1 queen size mattress for temp use coz havent customary...

dreamer17, mine is a resale. new flat is considered big for 97sqm!

I'm in the same situation as u. Thus, I bot vhive sofa bed to slp first.
sob.

dreamer.. you can try 4stars. Quite cheap.. inclusive of bed frame also. Can later use for guest room.

LoveMe .. count yourself luck.. alot of ppl fighting over 90sqm 4-rm cw flat

Loveme,
ya, thats wat I mean...
cos my "water source" is 1 end...So its best to put the sink & washing machine near the source...

If I put at the other end, I ve to run extra piping....

LoveMe .. orh.. i refering to the latest ballot for Redhill and CommonWealth a.k.a CW flats. Super oversubscribed. Lucky today is the last day. :P

Yeah.. the piping is a headache. My ID insisted that the piping be running off the ground behind the cabinet so that it can have a bigger gradient.

nas08.. you got a great unit
big kitchen and big mbr... your living and balcony area is not small also.. :P hmm.. wondering if it really 97sqm.. ha haha
mine is 100sqm.. think it still quite small :P

JGal, haha i agreed with you. My MBR can only house a 7ft built-in wardrobe.

Nas08, wonder if ur WIW is a L shape (combined length =19ft)..

almak, aircon ledge also count under 100sqm. hdb con my money.. :@ 1sqm is $30+k.. means my aicon ledge 0.1m x 0.25m = $750
argh

Just a pic of my simple MBR carpetry. Still need to put a black film on my glass backing for my built-in wardrobe. I guess glass tinted with black film shd looks better than now..

406006.jpg

406007.jpg

406008.jpg

the above pic is my TV console cum storage space. meant to hide the mess (such as DVDs, makeup kit...) Notice the round corner of the TV console? It's meant to 'break sharp corner' of the wall, as our bed will be placed opposite of the TV console. Fengshui purpose..

Hazel, jgal, u 2 so funny. I dun have aircon ledge. Understand new flats have aircon ledge, as for mine, I have my aircon compressor right outside my service balcony. No ledge. The compressor even blocks 3 of my bamboo space (erm.. if u know what I'm trying to say?

hahaha....
Now then U know our HDB charges so high? every pc of space counts...

Loveme,
yr wardrobe glass quite reflective...
ya, understand the round part...
My whole hse seems to be "round" if possible...
even my kitchen cabinet...
In the end, the water keeps flowing down to the bottom cabinet (though I had put a cloth there) when washing the dishes..
Really quite fed up. My hb said it also for preventive if kids are in the kitchen & knock onto their head...at least its ROUND
Makes my kitchen so "tu"...

Hazel, u r right. My hubby is the same. Even forbid me to have any frosted glass cabinets in the kitchen. Mentioned abt oil stains, and kids so on. My kitchen is also 'tu' lo. Haha.

Oh i get what u mean abt water flowing down to the bottom cabinet. :p As for me, I would think my solid top is not that sharp to cut my kids head in future bah. I really hope so.

haha ha .. sorry loveMe :P me just bitching :P

I've my flat.. i guess so does everyone here.. hee hee. we so love our flat that we post its pics here

I dun think it will be sharp enough to cut our skin...
maybe if its a sharp knock lor...
but I still think it wont be that bad.
N my solid top color is very awful...Initially, its to camoflauge if our kitchen is dirty
But now it looks dirty even if my kitchen is not dirty.
*really sian...
cos its supposed to be my fav pl..
but its so small & dirty looking

housework is nightmare
... i swept everyday.. and on alternate days i need to mop the flr..

Just cooked my first proper meal in the kitchen, the open concept is killing me.. i think i need to wipe after every meal.. everywhere seem sticky even after i set my hod to work full blast

Its beige with alot of dots..
Thats y I said its meant to camoflague.
Therefore even thought its not dirty...it still looks ugly..It will look modern if its sharp corners with beige only.
Rather than tu tu look.

JGal,
U r frying things,rt?
Try to use the cover...its faster to cook..N lesser oil being spatter ard.

love me/hazel - my sink drainage just underneath it so no long pipes running. the washing machine is in the balcony, the run off has been directed to the kitchen toilet drainage, so i guess no problems there.

hazel - yes. the whole thing can be removed to throw away the unwanted oil.

jgal - my house area abt 146sqm. i think its normal to have splatters when cooking. we do alot of heavy cooking, esp when relatives come over..... have to learn to close 1 or 2 eyes lei... summore i have to use my hands to cover my oc's eyes...

love me - no walk in wiw for us. just a built in at 8ft and all the way to ceiling height. same for the study room also 8 ft.

406058.jpg

erm, havent pack finish :P hehehe...

406059.jpg

/Users/angnicholas/Desktop/CIMG1286.JPG

This is my Open Kitchen. My hse is pretty sizable so I adopted a open concept for my kitchen. The sink, I created a wet area and re-locate the entire facility. Cleaning wise, I feel that its still alright. The hood you buy is very paramount if you decide to have a open kitchen and ventilation is not very great.

nas08, 146sqm is 5 room right? ur kitchen layout is simply cool! no need to have those long winding pipes..
Where's ur flat located?