A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

hi blessed..
i think they are of silk organza material..
day curtains is 'light'.. suppose to let some light in. to totally block out the sun, hv to use together with the night curtain.

hi edksd,
thks for the compliments !
my ID did a good job and i feel he is worth my recommendation. btw, are u an Interior designer ? i think u can be a good one

hi Yvonne,
I finally received all my furniture from FC liao. Sorry, just one more question to bother u -- i have the same dining table as u and mine is quite shaky.. when i pointed out to FC they told me "its like that one" and refuse to do anything about it.. same for my bedframe, also quite shaky and unstable... do u have the same problem??

hi sharon_joseph,
my dining table was quite shaky too. me and hubby then over turned the table to tighten the screws. it was better after that. till now, not shaky anymore.

i did not get the bedframe from them, so no comments on their bedframe. u can try tightening the screws to see any improvement..

hi Yvonne,

ooh your curtains showing are silk organza... hehe coz the ones i see r really translucent, urs look more textured
... I m using organza too, but variety is so wide i m spoilt for choice!

ya everyone's right, ur hse look very showflat, def worth the $ spend

Yvonne,
Thanks! the dining table is solid veneer and its so heavy! think me and hubby no strength to overturn it so we decided to live wi it, hopefully our glass top will stablize it.. as for the bedframe, lucky u din buy from them coz it seems to b tilting more and more towards us! we r sort of waiting for it to collapse then we solve the problem coz mattress is 15inches thick and damn heavy to move!

yeah.. the dining table v heavy..
my hubby is quite a big strong guy.. 1.9m tall..
and me quite a petite girl - 1.57m.. but me pretty strong cos i used to be a canoeist, dragonboater, biathlete, swimmer in my university and JC days.. but i hv lost all my muscles now..
but strength still there i think
so me and hubby lifted the table and flipped it upside down to tighten the screws
kekekee.. quite an adventure heh .. glad we did not lose control and dropped the table on the marble floor.. phew..

Yvonne,
wah! u very athletic leh! i m a 1.5m pianist! i dun even have the strength to shift the table against the wall, end up my hubby shift it alone! he go to the right side shift abit, go back to the left side shift abit... hahaa... he totally gave up on me!

edskd,

the sofa cant be placed under the pillar, as i was told we cant sit under a pillar, is not good for us, so there is no way we can push it further

yeah.. used to be v athletic..not anymore now esp with baby.. but strong enuf to carry baby ard.. dun really need stroller when shopping la
now carrying baby is my routine exercise.. no more swimming/ canoeing/ running..
kekekeke
hey.. but u and ur hubby really cute lei.. so while ur hubby shift the table by himself, u sit there and laugh at the sight right ?? next time , i will make my hubby shift the furniture by himself.. then i can watch the funnie sight too
kekekee

hi yuuri!! yah it's me haha
nice to see u here too! got pix of ur home?
my place is done by this place called ch*plin design (replace * with a), but they're more of a contractor (at least the one who handled my account) coz i gave all e ideas and told them wat i wanted... then they juz did it. no design input from them, not even the colours, so i was quite disappointed in them... everytime ask him to suggest the colours or design, he always throw the qn back at me and say, why dun u suggest? or wat do u like?

hi sweet, thanks! my sofa is from the barang barang warehouse sale... it's more of dark orange/red...
the pictures on the wall are taken by hubby and me haha we learnt photojournalism in school...

hi petals! i'll let u knoe the colours tomoro, coz i need to go home and check my other diary, dun haf the info here wif me.
but which room are u referring to? the mbr is the one with the single red armchair? (havn't buy bed yet haha)

Keiki,
My home not reno yet lah...will share when it's done

Your mbr is HUUUGE! where you stay? How much was your reno cost?

uh yuuri, mbr looks big only coz bed's not in yet lah!! hahaa once we get the bed not much walking space liao hahaa. i stay at cck crescent.
reno was on quite a tight budget... $18k.

Hi yvonne

May I know roughly how much do you spend on your renovation? I am planning now.. really like your house but not sure about the budget to such nice one..

Can you roughly advise me?

Keiki,
Yours is a new flat right? Wahh...then 18K very good price!! And most importantly, it looks like you spent more than that!

Hi Keiki,

I'm referring to the paint colours for the two rooms as shown in your posted pixs on Saturday, December 11, 2004 - 10:32 pm

Hi Yvone

what did you do for your house? $13.5K sound cheap for a so nice renovation.. Can you share what did u do for your house? flooring etc.. Do you still have quotation?

hi petals, sorry for the late reply, i dun go to my new home every day
here are the colours u wanted. the pix on the left is using natural cane, the right one is misty.

Hi keiki

Your home is very tastefully done up and really value for money. Is it a 4rm or 5rm? I just got a q no from the recent balloting. Going to choose an unit from Depot Road next mth.

Hope next time my place can look as good as yours

hi tancy, mine's 5rm, 110sqm... heh i had to do a lot of research, it helped that we were not in a hurry to move in and so could slowly source around for the cheapest materials... and bargain bargain bargain ahhaaa most of my furniture from barang barang warehouse sale... i like their stuff, but find their store items too pricey... so bought pieces each time there was the warehouse sale...

gd luck wif ur reno!! can always post qns here, ppl are really helpful!

Hi keiki

Thanks for your advice. Cos my wedding is next mth. My flat will be 4rm, so hopefully can get eveything done within 15k. Not sure whether this amount is realistic or not:P

Will have plenty of time to renovate, will heed ur advice.. and bargain, bargain, bargain.

I also love barang barang. Think will visit their warehouse. My gf told me can even bargain a little bit. Looking forward to share my views and hope to get more advice from you

hi yuuri, ladder's from bangkok! hahaa chatuchak... bought 3 of them... saw them at barang barang and liked them, but it costs more than $60 here... the long ones. so when we saw at chatuchak for S$8 each, had to grab!

hey tancy no probs, juz post, or u can email me [email protected] (in case we bore the rest haha) also, one tip, bulk of reno cost, apart from the wetworks like flooring, comes from carpentry. if u wanna keep costs low, reduce the amount of carpentry or built in stuff needed. apart from my kitchen and walk in wardrobe, other stuff are bought of the rack. much much cheaper, and u can cart them away with you when u shift in future... can always pass u other tips as we go along, not sure wat to advice u on now also hahaa...
of coz buying off the rack means u may not get it to fit exactly the size of your designated area (see the gap top and side for my shoe cabinet in the foyer - left picture on Saturday, December 11, 2004 - 10:32 pm) can't really see the side gap here but there is...

What kind of shop sells the ladder ah? I go there so many times, never see before..i think i must be blind!!:P

hi yuuri, i saw at least 2 stalls selling when i went there but that was in sept last year... (we were stocking up on home stuff even before reno was complete) the one where i got it from is in the row opposite the freight company TNT, it's diagonally opposite - sorry i can't describe it better than dat.

thing is they don't do wood treatment very well there, so there were creepy crawlies when we got it back home. but hubby used insecticide, and sunned it and then added a protective layer of lacquer that has some anti-insect properties so now it's as good as new hehee

yup, agreed with what keiki has mentioned, do some market survey if one is not in hurry, there will be sales on and off aroudn the year. I myself also grab the sales period to buy my items.

Thanks for all your advice

Btw, do you gers do up the guestroom? Do you think its' necessary to do a built-in wardrobe for that room?

Tks

hi tancy, i kinda did mine up coz hubby is eldest son and his mum expects to live with us in future... after his younger brother gets married... so better do it up to please her so she knoes she can come stay any time heh.
right now it's got a sofa bed (queen size when open) and three-door wardrobe. we bought off the rack, not built in. hubby's idea - coz he doesn't tink his mum will move in just yet so no point making smth permanent...

Hi keiki

Thanks for sharing you views. Your hubby's idea for the guest room is quite good. We also hope that our parents will stay with us too. So i guess maybe we won't be doing something that's too permanent.