A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

hiphip77

Saw Scient's house and it'very pretty!! Does anyone know where she buy her cushions on her platform in the living room? Seen quite a few but not nice. Anyone, doe she still comes in to chat now?

bearyhugs

Wow.. carine, nice hse you've got! Seems that you r living with your in-laws? All your bedrooms are being done up very nicely. Very mordern concept right..

Jus saw my fren's hse on the same website too. Hers is the one at cantonment close. Going to her hse next week for hse warming. Jus informed her abt it n she didn't even know that her hse had been featured. : >

yuuri

Keiki,
I also got some red furniture...and am at a loss on what colours to put on my wall...can advice which ones you used?

keiki

hi yuuri, i gotta go back and check the paint colours, but some of the more neutral ones i used are misty and natural cane.

wat kinda furniture is urs? and wat kinda red? is there a particular theme for your home?

yuuri

Hi Keiki,
We were going for a modern zen look cos' we are doing some platforms and using mainly walnut coloured fixtures...

Then we fell in love with a red-maroon sofa..kindda like L-shape, except at the long part, it's a big round thingy..

Then we also got this chilli-red, round dining table with same coloured chairs...

So basically the living space has 3 separate sections...
1. Cosy corner with platform, will paint 1 side of it red

2. Living room, sofa red

3. Dining room, table and chairs red....

Rest of fixtures like mirror frame, tv console will be in walnut...

Any Ideas?

ness

Hi Tancy,

Sorry ladies to interrupt your discussion, looking for tancy ;-) We post you some questions on fortune teller thread, pls. check it out if you have time....thanks a lot.

catty168

My house total cost was $39.5k after going for almost 20 odds IDs. Most ID's quote around S$42k to S$52K but finally cost with Mike at S$39.5K. Everything included with marble flooring. Only buys 4 mattress, sofa & dining table to move in. Those wants to ask for quote pls go to www.baroquedesign.com Very good workmanship, service & very reasonable price!! tell him carine from farrer park recomends for discounts...........Merry Xmas & Happy Reno.

zoeanne27

Hi Carine

I saw your house and it is very nice. Can i ask,
How much does ur ID quote u with your marble flooring cum polishing?

Cos i am also doing marble flooring too...wanna to know the standard cost for that.. Thanks

keiki

hi yuuri, sorry for late reply, been really busy at work... hmm ur house oredy sounds very vibrant and bright from ur description!
so maybe u shld consider doing most walls in neutral colour in order to set off ur red furniture.
having the red wall at the platform area sounds like a good idea... but i'm not sure ur platform is dark or light wood? my red wall is painted using salsa - or hot salsa, can't remember :p

hi see peng, rina, my home pix should be in the previous thread archive thru dec 14, check and see?

yuuri

Thanks Keiki,
In the end we chose a very vibrant red from the 3-in-1 (or is it all-in-one?) selection...forgot the name...and also 'copied' your misty colour :p

Hopefully will turn out well

bright_future

Hi Carine,

Tks_a_lot for sharing Mike's contact!! Finally found a IDs with Hbay at very reasonable prices. Mike shown me some of the houses he's renovating, good workmanship & good quality used at cheaper price...Hee, Hee...!! Thank-you again!

puay_kheng

For those who has not confirmed on the renovation, you really got to do your homework. You got to compare & compare, price & quality. If possible, ask to see their quality. Do bring along your floor plan if sourcing for contractors.

Me & my FH did not do our homework and got into a terrible mess. Those renovation firms in the exhibition will try to sell you their kitchen contract. Really got to read into detail before signing the contract. We signed the kitchen contract but to our horror, the total size of our kitchen cabinet way way exceeded what is quoted in the contract. The contract states Top & Bottom 20ft and the interior designer mentioned that most of the HDB flats now do not have such big kitchen and they will refund if your kitchen cabinet falls below the 20ft. So we thought our kitchen quite small, so will definitely fit into the 20ft. To our horror, when we gave them the floor plan after we had signed the contract, the cabinets add up to almost 40ft. The way they calculate is Top AND Bottom, so imagine only 10ft top & 10ft bottom=20ft, sure will exceed no matter how small your kitchen is unless you only want to do the bottom. We are also at fault as we did not read into detail. The contract did indicate Top AND Bottom but the Designer misled us in telling us that most kitchens are not so big. Sign....

Anyway, we only engaged this firm to do the bottom cabinets at the px of $5400!!! Very expensive but no choice. Imagine I got no choice but to let them kerk tok me. The contract px was $4500 including hook, sink & stove but we need to top up the extra on the table top since it exceeded 10ft. Just to share with you, this designer had quoted us $9000+ for the entire kitchen which I almost fell off my chair when he told us.

We also had very bad experience with this firm on the bottom kitchen cabinets. Quality is lousy, not sure if this is on purpose as they did not get the whole contract for the entire house. When I complained on the poor quality, I got scolding from one of their managers. Sign....Its really a very bad experience.

So, to all those out there, you really got to do your homework before signing the contract. Also, evey detail has to be listed and be very specific in the contract to avoid hidden cost.

magnum

hi phua kheng,
why dont you just forfeit the deposit and ask other contractor/renovation company to do for you? or you can ask them to wait for one or two years before installing (usually, the contract lasts for a year, after a year, the contract will be void), meanwhile ask another contractor to renovate your kitchen.

puay_kheng

Hi gotham

i wanted to forfeit the deposit but we r so silly to have paid $1000 as the deposit. My FH and the contractor (who happened to be his fren whom we later know dat he still does renovation) said not to waste the $1000 and to let them go ahead with the bottom cabinets. And how would we know dat the quality is so lousy despite the firm being ISO certified. Anyway, this is an expensive lesson dat we have learnt.

magnum

hi puay kheng,
that's very bad of that renovation company. hope that others can benefit from your experience.

kelvinrina

Wow Wow Wow!!!

Where's the beautiful pics of chan?

We are all waiting leh........

Neck long long liao.

Chan, pls reply.

babysummer

hi TPK,

Sorry to hear about ya plight. Most of the reno packages also promote 20 Feet kitchen cabinet, which means 10 F top and 10 F below or any ratio that totals 20 feet. There are definately cheaper kitchen cabinets packages in the market. You can refer to the newspaper too. For those SOLID FORM TOP, it is less than $1500 for a set and they are durable because I had the top done in my previous house.

For my new place, it costs only $2080 with 10 feet GRANITE OR SOLID SURFACE TOP. I have to buy my own hood n hod which cost abt $750 and sink $120. I went to other firms before n they oso have packages like mine too.

Oh yes, I have a few quotations from Expo too and decided not to engage them in the end becos it will cost me at least another $10K MORE to do the same things. Ridiculous right?

Happy hunting!

babysummer

maybe you can go to the tread I frequent "4 room flat renovation" or "$20K for 4 room flat" to know more
But I think my contractor is not the only firm with such package.

I think many of them called my contractor but did not mention my name so he is confused if they are my contacts. You can call Desmond @ 91277808. Tell him u r recommended by klarin. Cheerios!