A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

cherz

Hi Jean,

care to share with me yr hse pics...i am in the mist of coming up with the design of my hse...tinking of having a theme of black, red and white. like yr red kitchen.

lyn6305

Hi Lys,

Thanks! I cant remember how much is my kitchen oredi...but will be meeting my ID this sat then i will ask her hehe...and let u and the rest know how much it cost. Hee...

lyn6305

My kitchen cost ard 4K+ to 5K. My quotation is in lump sum one, so cant really give u all the exact pricing. ;)

irenep

Just to share some of my home pic... shifted in just b4 CNY this yr.

Living
384655.jpg

Dining
384656.jpg

Foyer
384657.jpg

kitchen
384658.jpg

MBR
384659.jpg

Photos taken during CNY.. so the place still looks neat.. after abt 4-5 mths.. place more messy now...

irenep

Hi Lyn,

Thanks. :) My hubby+some suggestions fm ID.

What I love most is the The TV panel in MBR & Living. They can be turned to face the other side..like MBR's tv can be turned to face my study & my living's tv can turned to face my dining.

lyn6305

Hi Irene,

Yup...can see tat. :p Is it exp?

My ID also proposed something like tat for me to put my lcd tv b/w my bed and wardrobe in my MBR. But i din make it cos got budget constraint at tat point in time.

But lucky i din do it cos recently we realise we could watch fireworks from tat particular spot! ;)

I am now doing our tv feature wall in our MBR, study tables plus some other carpentries. Hee...hope to show u all the picture by end of this week cos my ID is coming tomoro to do for us. :p

I think i will be very tired cos got to keep our things to minimise dust collecting on them tomoro when they drill holes etc.

lyn6305

Hi Irene,

Yup...can see tat. :p Is it exp?

My ID also proposed something like tat for me to put my lcd tv b/w my bed and wardrobe in my MBR. But i din make it cos got budget constraint at tat point in time.

But lucky i din do it cos recently we realise we could watch fireworks from tat particular spot! ;)

I am now doing our tv feature wall in our MBR, study tables plus some other carpentries. Hee...hope to show u all the picture by end of this week cos my ID is coming tomoro to do for us. :p

I think i will be very tired cos got to keep our things to minimise dust collecting on them tomoro when they drill holes etc.

irenep

Hi Lyn,

r u refering to the rotating tv panel ? ya.. it's not cheap as it requires a special mechanism to hold the TV & the panel. Think the mechanism itself cost abt $400.. (refering to the 1 in my living as it need to hold & turn my 40" LCD TV) if I remember correctly.

Hi Edna,

Thanks ! :)

I saw this rotating tv panel in 1 of the oversea magazine & get my ID to follow.. quite happy that he did a good job for me.

The cables are all inside the panel with a special mechanism...

lyn6305

Hi Irene,

Yes, i am referring to the rotating panel for ur LCD tv. I wanted to do something like yours but i wanna cut cost so din do despite the nice design of my ID.

Now we are gg to do tat but we dun need the rotating mechanism liao as we decided our feature wall for our tv will be on another side of the wall...not directly opposite us when we are sleeping.

irenep

Lyn,

Just saw yr kitchen.. it's nice ! :) Yrs also using glass backing... good hor.. I also using glass backing for the kitchen wall.. easier to maintain.

u did yrs without top cabinet.. Looks cool.. but I cant do without as I got so many things to pack in althou I seldom cook.

lyn6305

Hi Irene,

Thanks! Yes, glass backing is so much easier to maintain hehe...recommended by my ID. Color is my HB's favourite...hee

Actually, glass backing with the box up of my piping is as exp as having top hung cabinets lor. My glass panels are very big ones.

I dun like to keep things lor so i will always make sure if i dun use tat thing then i will give it away or keep in a big container and put inside our store room. Hehe...less things to clean is better. :p

acid

but if you live in a big family together with your parents or in law, or even next time have kids (store milk powder, etc), the extra top cabinets will comes in handy.

wonder how hard can the glass backing withstand from knocks?

kjn

Hi Jane,

I will be choosing red color for my bottom cabinet and white solid top too..(same as urs).
now still headache dunno which color to choose for my glass top n my top cabinet. i wanted to get black glass top but then my FH doesnt like black.. headache.

starris

Hey Irene, like the rotating concept. But just a bit concerned how will the mechanism affect the LCD wiring. Will it get twist and turn inside? Otherwise I like your home deco, the mirror at the dining room really enlarge the house. Is that a feature wall in the dining room? What material is it?

lyn6305

Hi Acid,

I dun think if i hv kids, i would put those stuff on top cabinets cos it will be hard to reach. I need to use a chair in order to reach the top cabinets leh. I would probably put in a more convenient and easier to reach places, ie the bottom cabinets. ;)

I saw my frens do the top cabinets for years but theirs are empty. They told me initially they used top cabinets but later they find it very troublesome as they need to climb up to get things...so they dun use liao...they put those unused things in one cabinet now. So the rest of them are empty. they said they regretted lor.

madeinjapan

Ur hse looks nice, I like the colour theme!
How much is the renov in whole?
I saw a set of plugs right at the far right (where you place your knifes etc)at your kitchen, is it suggest by your ID? if you need to plug something, the cable will run all the way to the other side of the kitchen top? Jus curious, cos i see you dont hav enough space beside the basin. Normally we need to put rice cooker, thermal..etc?

lyn6305

Hi Acid,

Yup, i think u hv to see if the cabinets height are ok for u or not. I think really up to individuals whether want to hv more storage space or not. Hehe...but for us is simplistic design and less maintenance cos we are lazy! ;)

acid

me? i am still looking for id/contractor ;p

but target total top and bottom to be about 40ft range (provided budget allows) ;)

lyn6305

Hi Acid,

Hehe...i tot u had oredi started ur renovation, finishing soon somemore... :p

So wat are the ID companies u had approached so far?

sharyenne

Hi Lyn,
i like the concept of your hall.
seems like u customised most of ur carpentry.
can i ask how much did ur reno cost u? does it include flooring?

acid

So far approached (some equote) quite a number like Chew, Queensway Homeway, Boroque, Home Sucess, Wei Ken, Lourve, Desprit,Hub Builder, Dzign Concept, etc just to name a few.

But some never get back to me for about 3 weeks already. Giving them a chance to get back to me ;p as i will only get my keys in about 3 months later.

still wondering to consider ID or not as I never do much capentry works or need their design ideas for my resale new flat.
but on other hand i afraid may not be able to co-ordinate properly all the works if i find separate capentry, contractor, electricity, etc
And scare delay too much time for i sold my current flat already which means my family need to shift out fast.

irenep

Hi Kim,

actually there r also some plugs at the end side of the cabinet.. just beside the fridge which u can see fm that angle... maybe I try to upload the other side of the pic by these 2 days & u'll b able to see.

My total reno "damaged" is 40++K.. I did some hacking, create another room (try to upload some pic soon) & also lots of carpentry works... + homo tiles for my dining/living & long strip parquet for all my bedrooms with platform in MBR... Most quotes I received r all over 45-50K... My id's quote is not the cheapest but I quite like his ideals & also find him sicere... happy that I make the right decision. :)

Hi starris,

my ID's carpenter did do some kind of lock point at the bottom to prevent LCD TV to make sure it wont turn 360'.. but even it twist accidently, we can actually open up the turning panel (there is a lock) to untwist it...

lyn6305

Hi Edna,

I spent 38K+. Did quite alot of stuff hehe...and i also din use HDB's floor tiles. I changed all of them lor...i even changed the doors except for main door that HDB gave us. :p

1. Homogeneous tiles for dining area, living room balcony, store room, kitchen,service balcony and 2 bathrooms (the latter 3 areas
include waterproofing). Laying of designed tiles in my foyer.

2. Raised platforms in living area and MBR. To
supply and lay long timber strips for 3 bedrooms and living area. (initially is parquet but supplier sent wrongly so we topped up abit to get long timber strips!)

3. Construct 50mm height kitchen cabinet base.

4. Construct 50mm height fridge base with tiles.

5. Construct 50mm height washer base with tiles.

6. Construct 50mm height shower kerb at 2
bathrooms.

7. Seal up existing toilet door entrance at service balcony & lay with wall tiles at one side of wall & plaster at the other side. A lourve window for common bathroom.

8. Replace copper piping for whole house.

9. Extend sink and washer in/outlet. Connect sink and washer in/outlet.

10. 10mm thick tempered glass shower screen, vanity top with suspended cabinets using laminates, wall to wall mirror and a light box and 10mm thick tempered glass (frosted) glass door at MBR bathroom.

11. 10mm tempered glass casement door, kitchen
cabinets using laminates, glass panel backing, light box above kitchen cabinets at kitchen.

12. Shoe cabinets with sitting bench at foyer.

13. Feature wall with tv console cum foyer partition (full height).

14. Install 32 no. of looping points for lights.

15. Extend SCV and double powerpoints and tel points at living and 2 bedrooms.

16. False ceiling at foyer, living, dining, bedroom passageway.

17. Recessed light holder at MBR and foyer.

18. Hacking of existing floor tiles at kitchen,
service balcony.

19. Whole house painting.

20. Changing of whole house powerpoint/light
switches and some rewiring work.

21. Install windows at service balcony.

22. DVD/VCD cabinet at living room.

23. Study tables (an F shaped with cpu holders) plus wall hung cabinets with external shelvings.

24. Feature wall cum tv console (the latter is foc).

25. One night table and one coffee table.

26. Changing of 3 bedrooms' doors and 1 store room's doors.

My ID absorbed some of the cost for us and also giving me one wall clock foc too. Usually, if she could absorb then she will absorb. Even the long timber strips, she did consider absorbing the topping up for us. But we tot maybe we shd just pay the $500...its also not fair for her to absorb :p So we paid and we really like them so much.

And the workmanship is very good! Hehe..alot of ppl came to my hse and said wow, our timber is very nicely done and very worth the money! Where to find so cheap! For 4 rooms leh...as u see our living room's raised platform is almost as big as one bedroom liao. So really lucky for us tat the supplier sent the goods wrongly hehe :p

lyn6305

Hi Acid,

I choose ID partly cos i need someone to coordinate the renovation for us. Both of us are working so dun hv time to oversee the things.

I hv a fren who did the coordination himself cos he is in building line and knows contractors and buying tiles and carpentries are at cost price. Plus he is running outside, not office bounded so its much easier for him to oversee his renovation.

But he is also very stressed. He confided tat doing other ppl's house is easy but doing his own, has alot of pressure. ;) He later added tat this is the last time he would be doing his own house. If ever they are going to renovate again, he will look for IDs. haha..

irenep

Lyn,

Quite surprised that u managed to get all these with abt 38+K fm Intra Design... I did approach them that time (recommended fm someone in this forum as well) but I was quoted very high... think maybe it's bcoz of diff ID we approached.

my reno is a major reno just like yrs.. but I lazy to type out all.. :)

lyn6305

Hi Irene,

Hmm...who did u approach?

I like the way IntraDesign works. So i engaged them. I had approached 4 other IDs and contractors but all of them came back with similar pricing and none of them designed as nice as IntraDesign and none of them propose doing glass backing in our kitchen like wat IntraDesign did. They lacked quite a bit of things leh...and so we chose IntraDesign as really hv more things than others. Plus the tiles we choose are mostly italian tiles lor. The rest of them only gave us china made tiles.

sharyenne

Hi Lyn,
i agree with Irene, dat seems like a lot of wk for just $38K+, with timber-strip flooring too.
u had a gd deal!

like Irene, i approached Intra Design too, and was attended by Angeline.
Intra was the 1st ID dat i approached, but the last to revert, n with the most ex. quotation.
i admit dat she had great ideas, n proposed lotsa carpentry, but we cldnt afford the frills.
imagine she quoted us $21K+ for just renovating the MBR with a WIW.
i darent imagine the cost for renovating the whole hse.

lyn6305

Hi Edna,

I see...hmmm...but did u tell her ur budget? I told her wat is my budget and i did my reno in 2 phase. First time, spent 33K and 2nd time 5K+.

She proposed alot of carpentries for ur MBR? Like wat huh? Cos my MBR not much carpentry except for wardrobe, tv feature wall and a night table, and a raised platform there.

Like i said, my timber flooring is a wrong delivery and i topped up $500 for long timber strips. My quotation is only parquet lor.

lyn6305

Hi Acid,

My flat is 5-room and is 120 sqm. Its new flat, bought direct from HDB but its oredi 7 yrs old when we bought it. The lease of commencement for my flat is 1998.

When we open the door, we only hv floor tiles in kitchen, service balcony and 2 bathroom. The rest all not done.

sharyenne

Hi Lyn,
yup, we gave her a budget of $18K max. this was to cover reno of MBR with WIW, n oso MBR toilet.

i cant rmb the exact design, as this was 1 yr ago. but i do rmb dat she proposed a v nice feature wall for the bedhead, with niche n cove lights, etc.

her design was great, but it wasnt within our budget, n we felt her turn-around time was a minus, as we had a time-constraint.
so ended up engaging another ID.

lyn6305

Hi Edna,

So u mean u only need to renovate ur MBR and not other areas?

My renovations with them was quite fast done. Took abt 1.5 months to complete for my first renovation with them last yr end.

My 2nd renovation for my MBR and study room and some other small carpentry like coffee table, counter top and DVD discs cabinet are done within 2 days, 2nd day is to touch up the things. Hehe...quite fast lor and she managed to come up with my design in ard 1 week time. Then the following week, her guys starts to install for us :p

I guess its the timing issue lor. I remember Angeline told me they would be especially busy during yr end and they will try to do as much as they can and same time they will hv to maintain good quality and workmanship. Hee...true lor. They dun want to compromise workmanship. :p

jgal

Yesterday, we bored so i took a few pic of my unfinished house using my phone. Here's a peek at the messy kitchen and bomb shelter area
Our theme is classic chic.

389102.jpg

389103.jpg