A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

me not yet buy e aircon yet, but e guy is going to my house this sat to discuss whether to get system 3 n a separate system 1 for living rm.
Think system 3 last quote is ($2300 plus)can't remember n system 1 is $1500. This aircon guy is recommended by my ID house so see what his advices n quote is 1st.
Wat abt u?? how much is yr aircon n u put 1 in yr living rm??
wat abt yr fridge? me not sure wat to buy.. n ve to decide by this weekend... sob... sob.. stress man!

chillipadi25

Jen - my quote for Panasonic system 3 cost about $1800/- not sure if to buy mitsubishi...but i think the latter is a much more trust worthy brand in the market. Dont intend to place an a/c in the living room...u may think that i anti old folks lar...but seriously i dont intend to place an a/c in the hall comfortably for them to play mahjong over the weekend...this place is not a gambling den for these old folks
and plus i live up in a non a/c environment...so w/o aircon i can still survive with a fan

Frige go for mitsubishi too...as mention cost saving in the long run....now best denki having quite good deals and having cost reduction for those older mitsubishi models, just saw it with HB last weekend in Bishan.. u may wish to take a look

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

get e quote from best denki then buy somewhere else can still get cheaper.
me getting my electrical stuffs at parissilk in holland village n their delivery is free n good too.

old folks play mahjong? u living with yr IL? if not then dun buy e table, see how they play. hehehehe

me can't survive with aircon. but me optional on in e living rm cos if we open e balcony door, very windy but FH scare when dry spell will be very hot.
see wat e guy say n his quote b4 making decisions.

mitsubishi fridge? which model? folio?
initially me liked e folio 6doors but think is too tough for FH to swallow ;p got a quote for $3.3K so down graded to toshiba (GRH45STV, less than 1k) but not sure lei. can tell me yr model n y this brand other than cost saving? thks!

chillipadi25

Jen - no lar not staying with my IL but last few weeks ago during the CNY season..they were talking over the mahjong table while playing with my HB that they intend to play mahjong in our house.....wah lao, u know how ridiculous they can be...they mentioned that they want to buy the mahjong table over to our house and buy the set for us as well!!!!!!!! How ridiculous can they get!

No the cheaper version of mitsubishi is not folio...difference is about 400 bucks. See the same model in HNorman in Suntec costs about 2200 plus in BDenki they are selling 400 less. Model not sure wor Jen...sorry never take note

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

u take note of the model no. so i can call e place in Holland Village for quote, see whether cheap or not.
me going down to BEST in taka to take a final look n decision n going to HV n buy on sat after e house dicussions.

can't wait liao.... stressful n renov not even start yet..

Wa!! they really very on hoh??? even if no aircon they also can come lah... fan also can u know?.. also siao right???...

soooo... did u do e other 2 rooms??? me only do flooring n keep this 2 rm bare not even a bed so both side also can't stay over...hehehehe ;p bad right?

but me told them... wat BB can't stay over full time...hehehehe (just joking with u)
my MIL already 'chop' my place for this year christmas n CNY celebrations... will be clean e place like siao after they finish... sob.. sob..
but if got BB... well, they can come over once in a while to stay is ok.
so u giving yr IL keys to yr place? me ve too cos MIL already ask liao.
but hinking dun want but dun know wat excuse to give

jen_bibi

Hi jingles

dun be mistaken dat i dun like my IL... just dat she quite old liao, so me dun want her to come over to do housechores... cos our house is near to FH's bro n she ve been going to his house to clean once in a while n she said dat if she go over she can come to ours n clean too. so i dun want anything to happen to her so me thinking to stop her from clean is to not give her e house keys. ;)

chillipadi25

Yo Jen....just came back
erm pardon me...but i dont understand what is BB leh....bb is as baby??

all righty will go take a look at the model is got past by this weekend ok? but this weekend will be busy looking at Ikea and Balestier area for lamp so may not be able to make it but will try.

No worries lar...my IL that side cant tolerate wo aircon plus they already got used to living in high rise (point block flats) so very windy area.. PG 21 is quite still compared to where they are living....haha so i doubt they can lar.

My the other 2 rooms- one of the room i knocked down the wall to join with my master to enlarge our own personal space. The other room my HB is using it as sound room - so there completely no space for anyone to live in
so be it if there is a baby in the future - can just shift all the tube M into the living room and convert to baby room....sama same no space for anyone to bunk in too

for giving keys to my in laws of cos not lar....wah lao u think our house is their part time hotel??????? hahaha i also dont wish to retain any favours from my IL so reno everything we came out from our own savings and from bank loan - though they offer to come out some $$ but i just dont wish to owe them anything to give them the excuse that they can bunk in anything and we will be pai seh to reject due to the loan from them....plus please we need some privacy in our life!

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

Ya... BB is baby...

my 2 rooms are empty at moment not sure wat to put in there yet but my IL dun really will inva our privacy. they very nice just i dun want MIL to hurt herself doing housework... feels very bad lai.

house reno, FH paying all himself also not taking their $$$ so they ve no say on e design or whether got grille or not. they can give suggestions but we ve e final say... :p

chillipadi25

wah Jen
u are really very nice to your MIL....me trying to be nice..but sometimes she can get really funky and gets on my nerves... u also very lucky thing FH paying everything himself...for us, we paying 50% each.

chillipadi25

wah Jen
u are really very nice to your MIL....me trying to be nice..but sometimes she can get really funky and gets on my nerves... u also very lucky thing FH paying everything himself...for us, we paying 50% each.

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

me no $$$, pay very low

he comes out $$$, i put in my time/ effort.. mah! :p

IL quite ok... at moment no problem but not sure later... this type of things hard to say. me keeping an open mind now. hehehehehe

my MIL nice to me so i nice to her loh. furthermore i easy to get along one ;p, she should not ve any trouble with me. hehehehe

u having trouble with yrs??

elfy

Hi Winterhakone, thanks for sharing your love nest. Very nice place, can tell that you have put in a lot of efforts (aka money) in there.

How much did you spend on renovation?

chillipadi25

Hi Jen... right now with MIL cordial relationship but sometimes she can get on my nerves and tried my best not to show. She can be nice at times but horrid when the mood swings...sometimes also can trap me and HB into difficult situation..u know that kind who act pathetic as if we are ganging against her.

Oh well my MIL stories is as long as a movie script ar!! but well i guessed this is not the right thread to discuss about this :x

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

ya correct!! this is not e correct thread.

either we can start a new thread abt our lifes or i'll see which thread u usually 'hangout' in n continue from there... ;p

chillipadi25

Jen - my aircon contractor requote again. Mitsubishi system 4 includes installation and commissioning cost $1,900 excluding GST. Since only 100+ difference from Panasonic, we will be installing Mitsubishi instead.

elfy

Hi Jingles
System 4 as in 4 aircon system or 3 aircon plus 1 inventer? I'm keen to get the same unit, where did you get it from?

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

dat's a good buy! but u sure?? cos the last time i checked system 3 already costing $2K plus.

me got a daikin system 4 for $2.9K includes install. 3 bedroom having e same HP while hall ve a bigger HP (horsepower)

furthermore mitsubushi's system 4 is a inventer, but like i said if u dun switch on e aircon 24hr 7 days a week, u won't fully untilise e inventer.

yippy!! excited?? we going to start renov tmr!!

chillipadi25

Hi Elfy,

Sorry ladies i think i type wrongly it is system 3. So apologies my mistake - however my quote is from this company call Air Venture.

Yo Jen - sorry hur never take pics of my house last weekend we are busily discussing the final phase on my reno. Whether to lay the tile diagonally or the other way, to buy which lamps for the house (hahaha now he is so worried that we will ruin his house design and wish to have a say in this) and if to shift electrical point.....

Excited oh! Finally house renovating.

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

system 3 so after GST should be almost $2.1K right?? mmm sound reasonable, me tot u really good to find such good deals...

me took pics of my 'raw house' b4 renov.
me too on sat we discussed from 11.30 to almost 5 plus. over materials, colors etc.
eyes almost cross just looking at all e colors. ;p

so how much is yr wiring? n u using back those HDB switches? me got a quote for $1890 for wiring of whole house (including additional points n using designer's switches, those big tab) but requesting for breakdowns to see how much e switch will cost.
maybe going balestier to see whether can get cheaper or not.

ya very excited, so wat time u starting e renov?

chillipadi25

Yo Jen....the good news is this company got no GST leh...so flat rate hahaha

wah so fortunate u still got budget to replace switches for me i try to retain what is original to save cost...i really love those big tab switches but ultimately i still wanna make my house presentable and save $$ to our europe honey moon hahaha...

erm i think they are renovating today...but dunno wat time.

chillipadi25

Hi Jen - just wanna check with you...how u feel if soap dispenser is placed at shower area.....just bump into these 3 compartment soap dispenser in IMM yesterday...do you think look like a public swimming pool?

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

soap dispenser??? eeeee dun lah... looks like a public place.
better forget e ideal man!!

my FH dropped by there yesterday to take a peek... he said all e walls which we wanted hack r all gone. heheheh luckily me got take pics

abt e switches, me ve to see e breakdown 1st. if e cost is very high then ve to forget it.
can u tell me again wat brand of fridge u using?
me thinking of either mit baby folio or folio 4 doors (loves e 4 doors but find very XX)

chillipadi25

Hi Jen - fridge we are looking at ordinary Mitsubishi, not folio. Model no. forget liao...anyway harvey norman at west mall having great sale - till tomorrow i think...if u interested should go down to check things out. Tonight going back to my place to have a look too

jen_bibi

Hi Newbbi79

I think u got e wrong person, mine is system 4 with 1 system having a bigger HP at $2.9K

think e person is 'jingles'

chillipadi25

argh jen - guessed wat...had a nasty surprise this evening. Contractor went to lock up our house wo our consent, claimed that he wish to protect our property (????!! without even first informing the house owners....) anyway quite disappointed after settling all the crap, went in to discover, he had yet to start anything at all!

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

wat u mean by "lock up our house wo our consent"?

i tot he will uses his lock n give u a key so u can access it on yr own (like during sun, when they not working)

huh??? not started??? they suppose to start on monday right?? (same day as me!) now u r 2 days late. Protect wat 'property'?? r house is EMPTY heh!!! who is he trying to kid man!!!
very bad!!!
hope u express displease at his behavior n services. so wat excuses did he give??

chillipadi25

Yo Jen....

yah lor...he should give me a copy of the keys...wah if not he thinks its his house
anyway he apologize and mentioned that it had slipped his mind to give us the numbers (its a number lock).

Anyway quite displease that he did not manage to do anything for the first 2 days....did not really make a din...we will just see and he progress. Forgive the small mistakes but once the mistakes are too plentiful, thou shall draw out the blood to shed blood...kekekee

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

wat kind of color can u n FH accept.
loud or soft color? or u can try another shade of grey but dun think is dat nice.

can i ask y this grey color?

chillipadi25

aei actually we can accept all kind of colours so long as the combination is not obiang. We ask for gray due to following reasons:

1) as tiles supplied by HDB is grey
2) dirt not so easy to see

jen_bibi

Hi Jingles

u can try e following color...

1. red
2. blue
3. light n shiny green (hope u know which freen i'm talking abt if not will be very eeeee)
4. pink also nice... but e pink color is those....eeee.... WOW!!! very hard to describe lei...

newbbi79

Dear Winter,
I only received the pics of your wedding.U look very pretty =D..Can I have a look at your lovenest? thanks alor...