6.5 or 7 kg front load washer, which model is good?

goodgal

Ridz, you are a treasure! Getting excited about getting a Miele. My husband thinks my obsession with washing machines is crazy!!!!!! He said, just get any machine and be done with it, its just a washing machine! But after using top loading Japanese/Korean washing machines all my life and getting very basic wash capacities, substandard cleaning and having all my clothes twisted inside the drum when washing is done, I am looking forward to having clean and excellent wash. Will post my comments on the machine after I have used it. Cheers and have a Good day!

ridhwan82

hi goodgal,

yeah i know sometimes people just dun understand the obsession right but its something that i must stand firm,having used continental washer almost all my life.. even a change to miele has brought the level higher.

clothes dun need to worry.. it wun tangle and you can even wash your undergarment without the need to use a laundry net etc.

and oh yeah after the exchange about a week later the executive called me up to check how is the machine doing has it been causing anymore trouble. that made my day hahah..

anywy before you wash you would need to do a full wash cycle before the electronic will allow you to choose any other cycle to wash. this is to wash the internals and also a good opportunity to take note of any plumbing or motor problem etc. so yeah.

and also please use low suds detergent like persil for example.

a full 6kg load will take about probably 1h30 to 1h45mins to wash so be patient okie.

and please also the delivery right make sure the place that you have is really stable and you are not going to move the machine. because of its superior quality and materials that it is made of, the washer weighs a hefty 100kg so please make sure you are not intending to move it to somewhere else later else difficult to move....

goodgal

Thanks Ridz,

Will certainly watch the videos and will be back to check with you on more tips about using the machine.

WELL.... HAVE FINALLY GONE DOWN TO TANGS TO PURCHASE THE MACHINE THIS AFTERNOON ********* The machine is a BEAUTY!!!! Although I am not very familiar with continental washer, the 526 looks good, even though its an entry level Miele. The machine looks sturdy and well made. Its even better when its in action: the salesperson demonstated the machine with a silk garment and set it to spin at the max rpm, it looks good in action!! !! Ok, before I sound silly, thanks for all your advice. I am certainly looking forward to using it.

erm..... sorry about that, if you want it cheap, then its never Miele.

If any potential buyer for a Continental washer does not want to foot such an amount, then you alway have ELECTROLUX, BRANDT or BOSCH to supplement. However, dont expect the same treatment and quality.

Miele is def a cut above the rest in terms of quality. Even their customer service is a thousand way above the rest.

ridhwan82

yeah though its not cheap but its worth the money and especially the w562 now at such a price of 1788 and its really cheap i must say and worth that price to just add that a few hundred more to get a better.

ridhwan82

goodgal,

well glad that you have seen the machine in action. even at high speed the noise level is relaly very minimum and not to mention the vibration of the machine is like barely you can feel it rcking.. its solid and the door you must give it a swing to let the latch catch. else it will not catch properly and it closes with an assuring tclank sound...

when are you taking delivery? tmr?
good luck with the first wash hope you will be satisfied!

post us your comments after first wash okie.

goodgal

Hi ridz, really glad I bought the Miele altho have not taken delivery yet. That's because I bought some other appliance (like fridge) of other brands and have taken delivery and are disappointed with the quality.... quite flimsy material, at least I have the Miele to look forward to. Cheers!

goodgal

Oh yes, any recommendation for microwave (may that type cum grill etc). I saw this brand Strattem (may have spell it wrongly). Is it good?

ridhwan82

hi goodgal,

well yeah usually its like that. but dun worry slowly lah like i did to change my things at home to better items one by one. just get one but make provision to change to a better and longer lasting one.

anyway for micriwve areyou looking for a built in or those stand alone.

Straaten NO NO NO.. its a NO NO brand. get others.

So built in or stand alone.

built ones are slightly more expensive but i guess it can be okie to u know.

goodgal

Hi, its for stand alone. I already have a built in oven and I need a microwave. Thought if I get a microwave which can also grill and bake will be good, so I don't need to use the large built in oven for small baking , toasting of bread etc.

effie

hi twt, if our washer is discon, when it comes to repair cases, will it be more difficult as in finding the replacement parts and such?

rumi78

How many of you have a city gas dryer mounted or stacked above your frontload washer?

The problem with my kitchen layout is if I were to put the dryer on top of the washer, one of my kitchen windows will be blocked. Since that window that will be blocked is a casement window which opens to the left, it will be hard for me to reach to close it once I open it. So maybe I have to keep that window permanently closed. But not sure if that affects the citygas dryer operation as I think it requires some ventiliation or some tube to expel hot air?

Anyone place the washer and dryer side by side and having them placed below the kitchen table top? i.e. The dryer and front load washer is below the kitchen table top and are beside each other.

Any also, i am wondering why you are all considering electric dryer if citygas gas dryer Rinnai RD-600 CG model suppose to save electricity bill? There are too few users to comment on that model vs electric dryer.

Any kind souls to advise please?

steventay

my neighbour has a city gas dryer mount on top of top load washer.

promotion going to over..

http://www.citygas.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=22&Itemid=60

as Clothes Dryer at S$568* ONLY! (UP: S$788)

* Terms & Conditions:

* Promotion is valid till 14 June 08.
* Price includes one-time installation fee of up to S$100 & GST.
* Product is applicable for use with town gas only.
* Promotion is not valid with any other offers, discount cards or vouchers.
* City Gas Pte Ltd (as Trustee) reserves the right to change, amend or cancel the Terms & Conditions without prior notice.
* All other City Gas Pte Ltd (as Trustee) terms and conditions apply.

xesthir,

The electricity bills for a gas dryer might not neccessary be cheaper then a electricity dryer. You might have to use the total power used to measure to see if it truely saves you electricity.

The gas dryer comes in only one capacity. This is one reason why it is not popular. Bulky and heavy items are not suitable.

Erm........

If a gas dryer uses 6.5kw as stated by the website, then how can it be cost savings??

A normal dryer only uses 3.2kw/hr at most. This specs is taken from a Elba dryer.

Cost effective???

It really puzzles me........

jasmine79

any advice on the brandt 8kg model or other comparison model ,budget anyway ard 1400++ for that.,nd to get a wm ist then other stuffs..

where to get a good deal?ppl say harvey norman but i dun like the shopping enviroment,i prefer best as its more transparent,unlike others.

Anyone care to share their experience?

rumi78

twt,where did you get the specs of the gas dryer as 6.5kw? I can't find. Are u implying that the calculation tauted by Citygas is inaccurate and misleading customers to believe that gas dryer is cheaper to operate than an electric dryer?

How to find the power usage of the other dryer models? I have the brochure of Brandt and Electroflux dryer, but I don't see any power usage?

steventay

cos gas dryer take 1hrs to dry which is 4.65kw

electric dryer take 2hrs...
Eg as normal dryer only uses 3.2kw/hr at most.
it is 3.2 x 2 = 6.4kw

gas dryer (1hr) vs electric dryer (2hrs)
Total usage: 4.65kw vs 6.4kw

what do you think?

Xesthir,

Typo error. Should be 4.65kw. Still at a high range if the specs from the gas calcuator is accurate.

I dont agree with the 1hr/2hr indicator. Different fabrics comes with diff drying time.

Brandt and Electrolux dryers brochure should come with the electricity usage.

The comparisons/specs really leaves much to be desired.

rihhana_taylor

theres this italian brand TURBO Italia.. i personally like it alot. i use their ovens, hood and hobs and washers. i think they're launching this front load washer cum dryer.. which will save space. and front load washers save 30% the amt of water used by top loads. so can save money too. its sold at audio house at liang court, but im not sure if its out yet. priced at $1200+, plus free removal, installation and maintenance.

rumi78

Hey folks,
Any feedback for Ariston
AQXXL 109 - 8kg 1000rpm
AQXXF 129 - 8kg 1200rpm

Or is
Electroflux EWF1090 - 8kg 1000rpm
or EWF1084 - 7kg 1000rpm

Also how do I decide if 7KG or 8KG is enough for a family of 2 now. Need to take into consideration future expanstion to the family

ridhwan82

well i would take away ariston as part of my consideration. i would however consider electrolux, brandt, bosch, and miele.

if you want things to last pretty long then miele is the way to go but pricey.

well for the load thats a bit tricky cos it depends on whether you would want to wash several times of just one load to settle it all? cos even with a big family a 5kg washer would suffice but wash more frequent.

However i would think that the most important question is that what is the SINGLE big piece of item you have to wash? like comforter? curtain etc. these are more important as you cannot cut the comforter into pieces unlike normal clothings where you can spread out the load.

rumi78

I would think at the moment I wash wash about twice a week.

Some quilt like silk quilt requires dry cleaning, so if I get that silk quilt, i will not need to use washer to wash.

So if I buy a 8kg washer and put in a 7kg load, does it use up more electricity than if i buy a 7kg washer and put in a 7kg load? How about if the load is about 4kg, which washer is more efficient?

As for curtains, I am really curious if pple normally send curtains to the laundary or wash themselves?

ridhwan82

hmmm..

here are my views yeah... silk quilt this i am not too sure yeah you probably need progessional cleaners.

well typically an 8kg washer will be more efficient. But then again so far the prices of the machines of 8kg is very high and the quality isnt as great. quality meaning its build and construction. washing quality isnt too bad lah of course.

of course if you wash a 4kg using an 8kg washer.. it will not be as efficient as fully loading it 8kg. but there are some exceptions like washing delicate items liike silk you cannot obviously load 8kg of silk into an 8kg washer it will spoil the clothes.

curtains usually i wash it at home unless the materials require dry cleaning which i used to do it at home using the HOME DIY dry cleaning kit. this is not as clean of course as sending to laundromat for dry cleaning but so far most of the materials that i have is machine washable.

ridhwan82

hi twt i agree with you that the gas dryer is efficient. by looking at specs it seems out of the world their comparison.

i didnt know that electric dryer takes 2 hours to complete. Even if i wash 5kg worth of bath towels and using a dryer to dry i will tkae at max 1h30 mins and the consumptions for say electrolux EDE429 is 2.2kwh so that works to be total usage of 3.3kw in total.. hmmm..isnt that better?

okie lah give it that it take 2 hour in electrolux dryer.. its 4.4kw.hmmm less than 4.65k... dont you think?

even the high range is 3.5kw in total to dry 8kg worth of cotton store dry setting. hmmm.. weird..where on earth they get the 6kw...

rumi78

Hey folks,

I am trying to understand the energy consumption of Miele condenser T 7644 C Tumble Dryer. Can someone help explain what's the differences between the 3 energy consumption?

Performance / Consumption data1)
Energy efficiency B Graded on a scale of A - G (A being the best)
Energy consumption1)(kWh) 3.8
Energy consumption2)(kWh) 3.3
Energy consumption / Prog. duration3)(kWh/min) 2.85 / 78

This condensor dryer cost $2200 and can only be purchased together with W 562 Prestige Plus washer at $1788. The Rinnai gas dryer is only $500+?! Is it too bad a comparison? Can I buy a Miele washer and match with other brands dryer?
I think I need a dryer as we will both be working and we will be staying at low level.

If I buy this Miele dryer along with the washer, many will say I am obsessed, that will set me back abt $4K. I told my fiancee about the Miele package deal and he almost fainted. Not sure how to convince him about the buy.

Anyway do I need to purchase the washer/dryer before my kitchen renovation. Can they be purchased and installed later? I am only moving into my new house in Dec. I heard that there might be another promo in Nov. Is that true?

Also can I purchase it from Tangs with the rebate and yet pay by 0% mthly instalment?

ridhwan82

these are really hard to decipher for you. well if you want a simplified one you can go to

http://www.miele.co.uk/customer/OperatingInstructions.aspx

then click on tumble dryer.. then after which you can find the model and the download the model. go to the pages at the end of the manual where it saya comsumption data.. that would give yo a better idea okie?

well the condenser dryer is really good that much i can vouch for you!

and the washer is indeed superb. well its the wash quality which a lot of people do not really appreciate that much because of the price. and at that price you also get a great build of a machine.

well you are not obsessessed trust me i am one of those who splurge on miele washer and dryer. and its worth it.

well its not that you cannot match miele washer with another dryer.. you could.. but then again..of course the drying quality is worlds apart from another brand dryer when compared to miele dryer. having used thomson dryer, electrolux dryer and a miele dryer the tops is still miele.

if you compare miele vs rinnai.. its similar to comparing a chevrolet with a volvo.

hmmm you could purchase and have them reserve that set and deliver later but then i am not too sure if they can hold that long.. typically about 3months or so.

hmmm well for promo in november.. thats hard to validate... cos even if yo call miele they canot confirm unless you have insider information.

for tangs rebate.. NO. payment by instalment will not let you earn the rebates.

for washer.. well a base i feel is better.. cos at least if you need to wash the kitchen or so... its elevated... and not go under the washer.. but you need to build it slightly bigger than the dimensions of the washer and dryer.

cons is it will cost you of course..

ridhwan82

oh yeah spending a total of 4k is not crazy. i think that time i spent more than that for both the washer and dryer. cos those days its more expensive...

ive known of one forumer who bought the W4446 thats about 4k plus just for the washer only.

and others who purchase the 4446 and the matching dryer.. setting them back by around...9k?

rumi78

wahh so rich... Some pple just think the purpose of a washer is just to wash,whether the output is clean or not, or maintaining its look is not impt. $300+ also can get 1 washer liao mah hahaha.

I am concern that the 6Kg front load Prestige is too small for a twice weekly wash.

ridhwan82

well,

i would say its not about bragging to people that you are rich. different people have different concerns.

6kg load is sufficient actually. just that the thing that i would be more worried about is not about how many times i can do the laundry in but more of the can it fit my single biggest item?

as i have mentioned before that if its clothes i can spread out the load to even 3-4 loads but if its a single piece like queen sized quilt or king sized quilt then that would be difficult as i cannot seperate it out into parts.

and a good washer will preserve the life of the clothes much longer. and the advantage is of course you can buy delicate items and not be worried about the washing bit.

like lycra, woolens, silk, etc.

and also some others also prefer to look at it like instead of buying cheaper machines and having to change once every 5 years they'd rather pay upfront more for a machine that lasts 20 years for example? yeah its like an initial investment.

rumi78

Hey...
can that Meile prestige wash cleanly and remove bacteria for undies...U know that particular part... tend to be yellowish..

My mum advised me to hand wash undies coz u can scrub that part cleanly. Put into washer will not be clean and will have bacteria lingering. Not sure if that is auntie's old time mentality.

Can that washer wash dirty undies without compromising the cleanliness and bacteria factor? I am trying to do away with hand wash... if possible unless is really stained.

If u do wash undies on the washer, do you wash together with the rest of ur clothes or separate?

ridhwan82

hi xesthir,

hmmm okie so far after using continental washers for more than 20 years. we usually get clothes that can be washed at 40 degrees. so typically washing at 40 degrees cotton, i have not used any form of bleaches for any of my shirts and pants nor any other clothes and there isnt any yellow stains whatsoever.

so i guess its clean.

as for that.. it depends on preference. usually for guys its together but then ladies... hmmm thats usually seperated.

dont worry as the machine will detect that there is lesser clothes and will adjust the washing time as well as the amount of water to cater exactly to the amount of laundry.

bacteria lingering would have been removed washing at 40 degrees. and of course if your clothes is suitable to be washed at 60 degrees and you wash it at 60 degrees, even dustmites would be deactivated washing at that temperature.

this is one of the advantages of continental washer as it has built in heater.

rumi78

wahh ahaha.
guy's undies can be washed together, ladies' undies usually washsed separatly,. haha WHY AH..

I think both should be wash separately. Ladies undies only 1 wash, Men undies only 1 wash. separate from all other washes.

rumi78

I am starting my renovation in Sept, Can I do my kitchen cabinet first and install my washer and dryer later? Is there any special pipings that may affect the installation of washer and dryer which are stacked up, after the kitchen cabinets have been installed?

Need to know if I can wait for another promo or have to book the set now.

babyk

Hi, I'm one of the few like rihhana who use and like Turbo Italia products. My old Turbo washer dryer got quite noisy after using it for about 8 years and decided to change to a new one instead of repairing it. I just went to Goh Ah Bee & bought a new Turbo Italia 8kg washer cum dryer, though I initially very tempted to get the 8kg washing machine only as its energy rating is A+.

The machine very quiet now! ...zzzzzzz....

babyk

Xesthir,
You just have to make sure you have a tap nearby and an outlet (usually a vertical pipe jutting out from the floor) for the water to flow out for the washing machine.

As for dryer, make sure it is not in an enclosed cabinet/room as the heat generated from the dryer will make the whole enclosed room/cabinet 'sweat'. Sure get moulded very fast.

weixiongy

Hi, I need advice and help as my 7yrs old Zanussi WM died of motor failure and now im WM-less with clothes piling up over the days so i need a WM fast.

What im looking for:
Boch:
Brandt: WFK1018A
LG: WD-10481TP (off budget i think)
Whirpool: one with PUB logo 7.5kg

Front Loader 7-8kg
Budget less than 1.2K

Any recommendations????
Thank you!!

babyk

Hi Wxyang,
I was contemplating between Turbo Incanto washing machine and washer cum dryer before I settled on the latter. I think their 8kg WM is about $1300+ but can try to see if you can get a good bargain at Goh Ah Bee. Alternatively, there's a no GST sale in Courts now. Can try your luck.

Their washing machine TW812 has A+ energy rating (that's why I was tempted to buy) but I still prefer to have a dryer in case of rainy days, that's why I bought the washer cum dryer instead. My old Turbo washer cum dryer lasted me about 8 years also. It was still working but got noisy, so I decided to change instead of repair.

You can check this out:
http://www.happiness.com.sg/main/product/ProductDetails.asp?ProductId=TW812#

jensze

hmmm miele is out of the budget for my case. looking for an front load WM 6kg or 7.5kg.
budget : less than 1K
any good recommendation??
BTW, i have heard of this shop by the name of GOh AH Bee. can i know where is it?

ridhwan82

can look at a few.. i think

Bosch WAE20260
Electrolux 984
brandt WFK 1018A

and there are a few others. which is about there lah 1k sorta budget.. you might be able to get from neighbourhood shop.