4-room Resale Flat Renovation

audiobean

Can you guys share with me your quotation that you find them reasonably price and good quality? Me exhausted finding good id/contractor... Thanks.

zhu_nai

I am totally new here. I will be getting a resale 4 room flat in a few months time if everything goes well.

I have a rather stupid question. Is a renovation contractor the same as a ID? Or do we need to enagge separately both?

I don't know how to start my renovation.

Anyone please advise. Thanks

spizz

hi zhu nai,

i'm also new here.

for wat i understand is a renovation contractor does base on wat the owner require them to do,which means the owner hav a design concept in mind.

as for ID they help you to design, came up with ideas and detail drawing including bills of quantity. they will then look for contractors to quote for you. charge range from $3k to 4K....

but if you don't intend to enagge both, you can approach those design & contract company, that provide you with design of a layout plan 1st and once you confirm with it then they will draw out a full prespective view, upon signing the contract.

zhu_nai

Hi Spizz

thanks for your email. ya, your understanding is the same as mine.

but i think there is no need to engage a ID just to come up with the design right? cos that extra few k can be put to better use. I think most ple say that a contractor would normally work with a ID, or they sometimes have their own to help us come up with the design. of course, we need to have in mind a rough idea and theme that we like.

I have been asking around on this topic but don;t seem to get any headstart. I am now going through agazines to have arough idea of what we want before we start tallking to any contractors.

so, where is your flat? have you got any quotes so far?

Zhu Nai,

not only does it cost a few k, its one more layer of coordination meaning 1 more level for miscommunication and screw ups!

Going thr mag is a good start. Also, you should start shopping around the showrooms. Look at the tiles and furniture materials. Familiarise yourself with the terms and pricing. Know your alternatives in implementing a design. Some knowledge on carpetary and painting would be useful. And MOST IMPORTANTLY, employ a contractor that has a good reputation and strong recommendations from friends or relatives.

The renovation industry is very competitive. Everyone is trying to cut each other in terms of pricings. Often, the best price isn't the best. It will probably come with lousier workmanship, material and service.

So, do sufficient homework. Also, you must be comfortable with your contractor. You will be working very closely with him/her for the next few months.

No company has a full team of delicated workers. Most of these contractors are sub-cons, each specialising at a different part. It is therefore impt to view actual houses done by them.

Lastly, have a sharp pair of eyes to spot defects. It will be useful to catch the defects and get your contractor to rectify them before handover. I must say I'm a difficult customer for my contractor. Cos I have hands-on experiences in several parts of renovation and hence high level of expections. Whatever stuffs that they cannot deliver to my quality, I demo a portion and show it to my contractor and demand that he matches to it.

Nevertheless, his coordination has been good so far.

zhu_nai

Hi Miloice

Thanks for your information. Alot of people have been telling us about renovation and all things associated with that. We are now overwhelmed by all these information and confused about how and where to start.

I guess, I am like you. I ma a perfectionist and very often cannot tolerate imperfection. especially if it means that i'm going to spend a huge sum of money, i want the best i can get. I dun ask for fantastic design, but rather, simple, stylish and cosy. So i ask for good workmanship, quality and integrity.

Miloice, you still have the contact details for your contractor? Mind giving me?

zhu_nai

Hi Sprizzy

haven come in for a long time.... i am waiting for one contractor to give me a quote... probably will be out next week.... i have yet to look for others actually... been busy with some other work.... but i have one highly recommended by someone... saying that the contractor is very good and has a good team of workers.... so i will be getting quotes from him as well.... probably... next week then send him my floor plan..... what about you?

babysummer
do you mind giving me the details of your contractor? sounds not bad based on what you mentioned above... PM me if possible.

zhu_nai

Hi Sprizzy

ok sure, i will share the info with you once i get them. I think babysummer's contractor not bad. waiting for her to reply..

dawne

Hi BabySummer,

Do you mind sharing with me your contractor's contact and home quotation too?

Any feedback on the workmanship of your home.
Really wish to get a good contractor thru word of mouth.

If possible, do share with me your home pics.

Do email me at [email protected].

Thanks alot.

zhu_nai

Hi Dawne

I'm waiting for babysummer to reply too.

As I mentioned earlier, I have asked for one quotation from IMM and waiting for reply now. I have also asked another one, recommended by a few ple in my office. he evn did the reno for my office last time..... supposed to be very good, he is q nice. let's see how much he quotes and then share with you gals... he is the boss i think....

spizz

hi zhu nai & dawne,

understand ur r waiting for babysummer to reply, i have read her post at another topic forum.(20k for 4A Reno.. is it worth it??)

there she mentioned her reno is done but she is not satisfied with the result.

maybe ur can go read up.

zhu_nai

hi sprizzy

thanks for your message. I thought I saw her mentioned that hers was good when someone said that theirs was lousy. i remembered she say something like, not all at IMM are bad, hers is one that gives her no reason to go to another.

well, anyway, i did managed to get the name of that from anotehr topic. In any case, I have not let that hold up my progress. I just thought its another option. I guess I will give it a miss then.

hi Zhu Nai,

sorry for the late reply. Had been super busy with my marriage and honeymoon prep.

I'm unable msg my contracter contact cos u have not enable the receive of private messages.

zhu_nai

hi milo

i could receive PM at other thread. not sure y not at this thread? do i have to enable that for each thread????

anyway you can email me at [email protected]

thanks for remembering and look forward..

pinkberrycake

Hi, i plan to do the following works for my 4A resale unit, budget not more than 20K. Please advice on the price and whether is it possible. Thank you very much.

Living hall:
-remove existing laminated flooring
-homo tile(600mm x 600mm)floor for living area
-homo tile skitting for whole house
-supply and construct L-box
-1 set cornice arch
-build-in shoe rack abt 4-5 ft tall
-tv consol + feature wall

Main bedroom:
-homo tile(600mm x 600mm)flooring
-homo skitting
-construct 5ft high laminated build-in
wardrobe/ABS door finish
-plaster wall

Main bedroom toilet
-construct shower kerb
-connection of all piping works
-running of drainage piping works
-supply labour to install heater & accessories
-tampered glass for shower screen
-simple conice

2 Bedrooms
-homo tile(600mm x 600mm)flooring
-homo skitting
-plastering wall
-simple cornice

Common toilet
-construct shower kerb
-connection of all piping works
-supply labour to install heater & accessories

Kitchen
-kack existing sink top
-hack existing floor tiles and lay ceramic tiles
-re-run/or connections of all piping works
-construct L 20ft kitchen cabinet in laminate
-finishing with post form top/ABS door finish
-supply & install 3 nos.of frosted glass panel
-supply & install 1 set of stainless steel dish
drying rack
-1 no.of kitchen cutlery tray
-selected designer handles for all carpentry works
-installation of kitchen sink,hob & hood
-chemical washing for whole unit flooring
Whole unit:
-supply & install aluminium grilles for whole unit
-ICI/Nippon painting for whole house
(wall & ceiling)
-painting for all doors & frames
-replacing of 3 bedroom doors
-painting for gate & all pipings
-cutting of main gate
-chemical washing for whole unit
-haulage services & clearing of debris at job site

old_timer

If you are looking for a reliable ID look at mine , its lego house at city plaza, thier prices are generally cheaper then the rest, i've been to about 12. i am renovating a 4a re-sale flat at tampines, total cost will be at 25.5k, this is changing everything in the flat so that its all new and includes 32 ft of kit cabinets. my reno will finish around 9/12 and all who want to see thier workmanship please pm me for a view.i am very satisfied with the workmanship and speed of work, all done in about 3 weeks and on a tight budget. the boss is very responsible also as he goes down every other day to check on the job, they will call you for any clearification if needed, also the co name and boss name is on the HDB reno permit, many co use other names and if you have a problem later which co to look for. contact my id DEEN at 81984205 for a quote. he as just handed over a compleated house on sat, ask to see the house at pasir ris and see for yourself the workmanship standard or see my place later.ask him for a quote and be quite suprised at the pricing, i was quoted 10k less then darwin for the same job. but being cheap is not good enough, must have good workmanship also. so try them.

old_timer

Sorry after reno finished never visit the forum much. You can see my reno quote under lego house in this forum. Last week after staying in the new place for more then 4 months i dropped a heavy object on my homo tile and it had a small crack line in it. I called my id and he sent over his tiler 2 days later to replace the tile FOC. That is what you call after sale service as the ID is willing to do it much later without any hassel. As stated by me workmanship is very good and no hidden cost after reno, total cost came up to $25k, remember this is for a 4A re-sale flat of 115SM and i changed everything in the house including the windows. If you want good service and good workmanship you can always try my ID, his name is DEEN: 81984205 from lego house and tell him thomas recommended you, i assure you that you will not have any problems with the reno and it will come in at the price agreed. he is flexible to change things during the reno and my whole reno job was finished in 3 weeks as time was a major factor in my reno job.
Happy renovations and good luck.

old_timer

Check this forum under lego house and you can find my quote and link to my house blog. go to renotalk forum and see blogs of alot of houses there.

nichiyobi

House mover (house_mover) = ID / Contractor?
I see you posting everywhere in the whole reno forum. Your ID must be doing very big business.

doreamon

this is mine ..can check for me ... mine is a 5 yrs old resale flat ...

Living area
To supply and construct false ceiling with cove light effect 100sqft $ 850.00
To supply and lay selected 2ft x 2ft compress marble 255sqft $ 4,590.00

3 Bedroom
To supply and lay 8mm thick kronotex laminate flooring 132sqft $ 1700
To supply and install semi solid naytoh flush door $ 660
To design and install full height casement wardrobe in selected laminate finish (MBR)$ 1,380.00

Master toilet
To supply and install 1ft x 1ft selected homogenous floor tiles incl water proofing membrane $ 540
To supply and install 1ft x 1ft selected homogenous wall tiles $ 1,650.00
To design and install vanity cabinet in selected laminate finish L1500mm $ 650.00
To design and install solid surface top / naco bell glass panel L1500mm $ 400.00
To supply and install 10mm thick tempered clear glass shower screen $ 380.00
To supply and install full panel clear mirror $ 190.00

Common toilet
To supply and install 1ft x 1ft selected homogenous floor tiles incl water proofing membrane $ 540
To supply and install 1ft x 1ft selected homogenous wall tiles $ 1,650.00
To design and install storage cabinet in mirror finish L700mm $ 310.00

Kitchen
To supply and install 1ft x 1ft selected homogenous floor tiles incl water proofing membrane $ 1800
To supply and construct washing machine and fridge base in tiles finish $ 120.00
To design and install suspended bottom kitchen cabinet in selected laminate finish L4700 $ 1,920.00
To supply and install granite top (jet black) $ 1,600.00

Plumping work (base on exposed pipes)
To supply and install copper or stainless steel piping for kitchen ,install kitchen sink $ 1,300.00
To supply labour to debris removal and haulage charges inclusive of debris fee $ FOC
To supply labour to cover miscellaneous drilling for hanging of other items $ FOC

Others
Painting to whole unit using ICI/NIPPON emulsion paint $ 1,200.00
To wash whole unit using chemical acid FOC
To lay cardboard protector to floor FOC

thanks you very much ....

vvn

hey jonju,

since urs is a resale flat. Is the removal of existing fixtures and flooring and titles included? can cost abit these type of things!

doreamon

hi charly,

we decided not to use the ID firm that quote us this n used another contractor instead..much cheaper than this...ya lor, i asked abt the hacking part n the ID asked me cannot "overlay meh?" ..actually mine is practically an empty flat, other than the kitchen n toilet that are done up by HBD , they did not do anything to it ... even the flooring for the living n 3 bedroom are in cement oli... they actually never live in it .... there's no cupboard in the house too ...

vvn

ha that's good save ALOT of money. mu resale 4 rm is costs me almost 10k and abt 10% of the money is gone to hacking and removing stuff.