4-room Resale Flat Renovation

naddy

fancyfairy,

be specific about what you want. what my husband and i did was to list down every single thing that we needed, and we spent a few weekends going to more than 10 different contractors to ask for quotations. based on that, you'd be able to plan how much is needed.

it'll be a long and tiring affair.

good luck!

man

A good Agent is the best person to explain. Ask your agent.

There is a resale levy. It is only payable after your second flat is bought direct from HDB. If you dun want to pay, then next purchase, go for resale or private flats.

Hope that explains everything.

man

Dear ino,

The grant from government is to help singaporean to own a house. That is one of the fundamental principle of singapore government and not to cheat your money.

USe your grant. Each singaporean is entitled 1 grant only.

If you take the grant, the 10 years only applies when you buy your second flat from HDB directly. You can start selling after 5 yrs and then purchase your resale flat. Dun buy directly from HDB on your 2nd purchase to avoid other charges. That is where pple need agents. Many owners think that they can do it yourself and perhaps agents do only a bit of things. But a matter of fact, a lot of complex things are being done behind. We are like lawyers to advise our client and to solve problems in a professional way.

For more info, you can ask me.

carey99

Dear Friends,

read your previous posting on 4 room flat (resale) renovation contractors. Kindly email me their contact and your cost on what was done on your renovation. Thank you for your help.

JL

wynn_ng

hi all, email me ur contractors too leh.. i onli need to change my kitchen.. very minimal changes onli...

kelly_goh

I know a designer at ARANUS by the name LARRY is good and provide good services and advice.
check him out.............

jtn

Hi Kelly,
my designer is Larry too.......and mines at Jln Tenteram reno is done!very....successful.
I must agree with you that Larry is good DESIGNER and very technical person with experience......however, the prices he quoted me are much lower as the sub-contractors .

jtn

Hi Kelly,
my designer is Larry too.......and mines at Jln Tenteram reno is done!very....successful.
I must agree with you that Larry is good DESIGNER and very technical person with experience......however, the prices he quoted me are much lower as the sub-contractors .

maximum

I've juz bgt a 4rm resale @ whampoa. Can anyone recommend me a good & reliable contractor?
will need to do the following:
1. Kitchen
a. hack existing wall tiles & floor
b. Lay floor tiles
c. Kitchen cabinets
2. Hack 1 wall to extend bedroom
3. Chg flooring for entire house
4. Paint entire house
5. Change water piping
6. Change electrical wiring
7. Overhual of 1 toilet.

Been to 1 ID firm, got a quote of 25K!!!

me on a tight budget, hence need to source for cheaper alternative.

Thanks all.

yuni

Hi friends,
I met up one contractor to get my renovation quotation, I find the price quite reasonable and he is friendly.After a discussion with my hubby ,most probly will ask him to do our house renovation. I would like to share my quotation with u all.

annpet

I juz bought a 4rm flat @Yishun, thinking of doing some reno next year.
Things will be doing:
1) to hack and do everything in kitchen
2) Re-wiring (whole house)
3) to add 1 more heater
4) painting whole house
5) to change 1 toilet door
6) to change main door and gate
7) to hack cabinet in master-room
8) to supply & install air-con (for 3 bedrms)

Can anyone give me a est. pricing? Having a tight budget as I am planning my wedding & reno together.

Thks.

jan1399

AnnPet

Maybe you would like to call my contractor, Kelvin fr Inwerks to give you a quote. He can be contacted at 98383217.

I just did my maisonette and I find his work really neat. Also, his workers are very disciplined and they do not leave the mess lying around.

Suggest to get as many quotes as possible and then try to narrow down your choices. Hwr, do bear in mind the quality of work and materials used too. I find Kelvin's carpentry work very good.

Have fun renovating your place.....Jan.

lorrick

Seems like everyone got a good contractor.

I'm quite new here and is looking at renovating my new 4 room flat.

Looking at
1) Redoing the floor tiles of my whole flat,
2) redoing the toilets
3) hack and redo the kitchen cabinet and
4) paining whole house.

Pls email me your good contractor information.

simon_cyc

For those who has experience a nice, cheap n responsible id/contractor pls recommend to those who are currently trying to find a gd 1.

Im currently renovating my hse so i know it is a tiring process .....

My recommendation:
Firm: JGH Design & Contract Pte Ltd
Contractor: Mr. Stanley Fong
(Tell him that Simon from Buangkok recommend him to u guys, mayb got discount )

Hope this will help you guys.

Can refer to my previous thread 'Good Contractor to recommend ........... ' for more info.

marble

Just a word of caution..I used JGH for toilet renovation and ran into many problems as they used subcontractors and not their own workers. I'm now living with a toilet floor with ponding problem everytime i shower..so beware...

stars03

We juz renovated our flat and is very pleased with the overall process and satisfied with the end results. Many of my friends came to our hm already and all said that it is very nice and the workmanship is good..Most imptly it is cheaper than the rest of the ID that we have gotten quotations from. My contractor however dun have a website..but if anyone is interested pls drop me an email and i pass the contacts to u.

pinkdolphin

Hi stars,

May i have ur contractor's contact too?
Mind sharing ur quote and price?
Any pixs of ur home to share too?

Please PM me, Thanks in advance!

lizzy9981

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi stars,

May i have ur contractor's contact too?
Mind sharing ur quote and price?

u can reach me at [email protected]. but i wld b getting a 3 rm flat.

thanks!!!

babysummer

hi max,

Wow, I think your quotation is high compared to mine. I spent less than $21K to do the following:

1. Hack all floor and walls for my 107 sq m flat
2. Lay living, dining and 3 bedrooms with homogenous tiles (600 x 600) with skirting
3. Lay Kitchen floor and wall with ceremic tiles with PEBBLES STONES floor border
4. Lay floor and wall tiles in COMMON TOILET with ceremic tiles. Supply and install Toilet bowl, sink, water heater, 2- way tap, change to copper piping too.
5. Lay floor and wall tiles in MBR TOILET with homogenous slate tiles FOR RESORT STYLE DESIGN Supply and install Toilet bowl, water heater, 2- way tap, change to copper piping too. Vanity top (3 feet) using solid surface top with laminated louver carpetary cabinet below. One 3f x 3 f custom mirror with laminated trimming. Glass panel to block water, Pebble stones wall border.
6. One FULL HEIGHT custom made carpentary marine fish tank with all set up for me which means the tank, filter, corals, a few fish are included. Below the tank you can use it shoe cabinet. Many people grab this offer when they saw their roadshow at TOA PAYOH. There is also a power coat bi-fold door included.
7. Hack a door entrance to another room to make into a small area for walk WIW. No carpentary inside as I want to DIY. But they will use board to make the area with sand plaster glass in the middle so that light can throw in a bit.
8. Remove all the existing cabinets.
9. 20 F litchen cabinets with solid surface top. Sink & tap are not included

10. A few gypson boards in the house to cover some areas.
11. Whole house painting and oso paint the woonden beams I have on my ceilings.
12. Chemical wash
13. False ceilings in some areas.
14. Pebblestones with homo tiles entrance for my MBR

Cannot remember other details but basically I told my contractor all I want is to overhaul the WHOLE house, my MBR toilet in resort style.

cassie

could i check what your reno payment schedules were like? a contractor quoted me as follows:

30% upon materials arrival on site
50% upon works in progress
20% upon works completion

that's as good as saying i can end up having to pay as much as 80% the moment he starts work, which is $16K for a 20K reno! is this the norm?

babysummer

They are quite flxible with their payment. No worry
My contractor understand my worries so I can negotiate with him.

catty168

just shifted in my new home(5 room at Farrer Park). I spend only total of $39k on the reno. Everything done up by my designer, flooring marble, pebbles, homogenous & laminates. design ceiling with lights, paintings, carpentry at living, dinig, 03 bedrooms with bedframes, vanity 2 sets, glass & designer doors at rooms & bathroom entrance, starmax inv sys 4 air cons. etc..can't remember..a lot more. Can say all in, only need to buy a dining table, sofa, & 04 mattress to move in. Very good workmanship, reasonable price & good service. Highly recomended!! His contact 97860168-Mike...........by the way if you want to see my house, it's in their website www.baroquedesign.com. Cheers happy reno!!

babysummer

I think I have sent the wrong contact to some of you all...so sorry. My contractor is Desmond. He can be contacted at 91277808.

irenet

hi baby,
can't find id renovator using search engine.. is it id connect.. renovator?..
or do u know their website?
thanks..

Hi Yuni,baby,stars...

may i have a copy of your quotation (to compare with my quote..mine is 4 RM Resale Flat), very tired for sourcing good contractor/id....: (

u can mail to [email protected]

Thank you ! Happy New Year

Hi Yuni,baby,stars...

may i have a copy of your quotation (to compare with my quote..mine is 4 RM Resale Flat), very tired for sourcing good contractor/id....: (

u can mail to [email protected]

Thank you ! Happy New Year

lilo

Hi baby..
have u started ur hse renovation? How do u find the workmanship? Do u mind giving me a copy of ur quotation or pics for reference and ur name too..for recommendation. Thankz

babysummer

Today I will finish my tiles for the MBR and VOILA! All tiles for kitchen and toilets are done up. So far so good. My hacking started on 23/12/04. Got a few days delay after that because there was a pending case for hacking my walls and oso due to a few holidays. I hv mentioned a few that I am in the midst of packing my things so got no gagdets to upload my pics. Got to wait till I move into the house. Just tell that Carine introduced you. Cheers!

lavande

Hi all!!
I'm thinking of engaging Joo Guan Huat (JGH) for my reno. Read some reviews, one say they are good and the other 1 say not good, can anyone share more about this company?

Thanks a bunch!