$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

thats y ur floorplan is different from urs mah... we r at 62X

ohh ya... u gals with babu de..... wahh hey hey 62x de hor... where is it har?? near pioneer mall de har?? wait i go c... are we far from each other?

okie... okie... c le c le... oh ya... u floor plan different...yours dont have weird shape

i decide to hack cos of the weird shape lor... if not i also dont wan to hack anything..

btw yane, wat u mean by 'categorize it as Optional Item' ??

Devila, if I'm not wrong, the followig item in your quotation can be done free by HDB

5. to supply material & labour to cement screed four bedrroms flooring S$1000

ya... cement screeding can be done by hdb... but must wait for 2 weeks.... as i mention, wat i dont have is time... anyways, i most likely wont need to do it either cos doing all house homo tiles le...

meaning its not included in the contract but stated thats the rate they wil offer that rated to u.

our blk is near to pioneer mall. actually pioneer mall nt bad.. got 24hrs Mac, 7/11... got supermart, foodcourt. hee.. walking distance to pioneer mrt, sport complex..

i am a resident of 656D, the master bedroom has weird shape. my ID suggest to hack the wall between MRB and BR beside MBR.

devila mum,
since u also same fllor plan as me, wat u intend to do with MRB? has ur ID give you his sketch? mine will be 2 weeks later..maybe can exchange ideas?

Sorry for not coming online yesterday...
Been so busy rushing ard.

Opened the Big door of our home yesterday.
Very happy... But see the MBR, very turned off.. Speak to FH on hacking BR2, he say NO!!!

after we go into the hse, We start setting up the pray pray stuff and started praying to the 4 corners and the centre of the hse.
follow by FSM master telling us where to put what etc... then go burn the josspaper...after which gave us some numbers to buy lah... he will draw the floor plan on where to place wat then we can ask ID to do. me and hubby not hacking the service balcony but replacing the windows with cabinet as the the washing area will be there... need to put a fan in the kitchen when I need to cook, so that wont be stuffy... dunno wanna do foldable door for kitchen or swing door...

cynthia, yupe... definately changing the MBR n BR size & shape... c below post... i have posted some of my ideas n wat i'm going to do in earlier posts
wat do u think? any comments?

'post earlier ' --->
to make good the MBR wall, contractor quote me S$240. hacking wall n dismantle door n frame approx $300-350? (cos he give me lumpsum)

reinstall d 2 x timber door frame S$400
reinstall d 2 door S$60
remake the wall S$300 '

babu,
so now busy busy calculating, measuring n planing hor.... from wat u say, it seems like, planning on paper n planning on site quite abit different hor.... tat's wat i'm worried about too... (esp my kitchen layout so small n weird)

ya especailly if u got see FS...
the FSM surely need to visualise & use his special "compass" need to bring measuring tape there on weekend...need to check all the dimension too...
btw, today very quiet huh...
no ppl come in...

for me, there is no re-location of doors
only hacking one of the walls.

but final details not out yet.

do any one has a list of hidder cost list to share?

cynthia, tat hidden cost tread u read n post has a copy of the list in one of the archive....plus, u have to read the whole tread inorder to tabulate the whole actually list cos the list was given by everyone's post. u have to list down one by one (better if u list the hidden cost one by one against ur ID's quotation)..... at least tat's wat i did... it will be easlier later when u wan to ask u ID anything

Hidden Cost List Update
-----------------------

1. Charge for each additional electrical power point

*** Take note each additional electrical power point in the market nowadays is between $60-$70. Pls be ensure 2 way switch installation only costs $40 for lighting and pls ensure that the contractor has indicated everything clearly. This is what I have checked up before agreeing my electrician to go ahead with the work. My electrician did a good job and the price is reasonable.

*** Take note also each installation of new lighting point is between $30-$40, some contractor may quoted more than $50 per point. Also pls do not ask the contractor to disconnect the power point when it has been done, as this also incurred costs and losses.

2. Cost of aircon wiring, re-wiring

*** The cost of aircon wiring and rewiring is always inclusive together with the air con equipment depends on the model you buy. For instance, a standard LG model costs around $1600 with installation. Pls do not be happy with the free gift the contractor provided together with the air con as the free gift is also one of the hidden costs in it. Nothing is free, pls bear in mind.

3. Quotation at time of signing does not included detailed specs of all materials used eg. acceptable price range for floor tiles given budget

**** You must always ask your contractor to state everything as clear as possible. The dimension as well as the type of floor tiles given. This is important. My contractor did that for us and all are quote accordingly.

4. Cost of clearing of debris and haulage

**** As per conversation with HDB council, the standard cost for clearing of debris and haulage is always at the cost of $215 inclusive of GST. Do not be surprised when contractor quote you more than $500 and do not get convinced by them when they told you the reason why it is so expensive. Some contractor will tends to tell you that they have rented a lorry to collect debris, this is not true. The lorry is provided by HDB who will do the clearing up. The contractor only needs to pay them $215 and everything will be done properly. Reason: HDB pay outsiders to do the clearing and this is liaise with the contractor and the HDB third party, when only a single receipt will be given.

HDB bay contractors will tends to quote more in their hauluge fees, pls take note.

5. Renovation permit costs

*** Renovation permit costs is always provided free when the contractor apply to HDB. There is no costs at all. You may check with HDB itself. Last time HDB used to charge around $200 for permit fees but not now. Policy has changed.

6. Cost of chemical wash

*** Pls take note chemical wash also can be called acid wash is between the cost of $95-$150. This done once or twice depends between contractor and owner. This only done after painting and flooring has completed and before the completion of kitchen cabinet.

7. Remember to check all water hole for any cement or sand. Some contractors may just throw the cement onto the pipe, which in the long run will cause leakage. This is important.

8. Cost of gas piping.

The contractor will liaise with City gas contractor for work to be done and this only incurred the cost of $70 per trip. As for the connection of gas piping to the cooker hood will be done separately on another day. The billing of gas piping will be send to your house by the PUB people and not the contractor .

9. Cost of painting.

The cost of painting is between $1100 - $1600. It normally consists of 5 colors Nippon and colors can be selected and adjustable.
Type and brand of paint, no. of coats and no. of colors. ** Shall always make them state clearly what brand, how many coats, how many colour u are choose etc

10. Installation of bathroom accessories & electrical point.

*** This can be negotiable. You can discuss with the contractor to install these items free of charge at your house. When the contractors said they will bring you to the shop to buy bathroom items, do not agree and follow them. This is another way of hidden costs appearing, as contractors may earn commission from there. Take note. The same goes with the lighting points and bulb. Get these items yourself and ask the contractor to install for you.

For bathroom accessories and lighting, you may go to Jalan Besar or Geylang area to get it. Balestier can be considered but not all. Some places in Balestier tends to quote higher.

11. Low price for kitchen cabinets can mean no frills like stainless steel dish racks etc.

12. When hacking walls, make sure contractors include touching up with tiles i.e. on the area that is being left exposed by the wall that is being hacked off.... otherwise some will charge u separately for those tiles.

13. If you are installing instant heater or ceiling fan, contractor will charge you around $60 each. But can be negotiated and get it FOC.

HDB only collect debris fees on behalf of the town council cost won't be more than $250. you can get the print out copy by HDB from your contractor .
The haulage and buying of sand from the appointed contractor ( you can find their contact pasted at the lift lobby for new flats )should be paid by the contractor or the ID firm engaged .
Some contractor or so call " ID " firm will say the haulage fees is home owner should pay ( bout $ 800 or more )Don get CON . all these should be quote inside the contract under the tiling works .
Resale flats Town concil don't charge haulage fees as there is no more haulage contractor appointed by HDB station there .

this is just part of the list....

i haven check for my defects...
can only do it this weekend...
i'm only given 7 days to submit. By Monday, muz go submit liao if there is any.

devila mun n cynthia
u gals keeping the 2nd BR next to the MBR? Cos if u gals hack away the wall,etc.. the trunking of the air con will have higher chances of exposure liao.. I think the trunking wise could be a real headache..hope u gals got take note of it. I had some headache during the trunking wise of my air con... esp the study room so far from all 3 rooms...

to all at blk656X
it's confirmed. The empty big plot of land in front of Blk656A n 656D is going to be dorm for foreign workers. The bid for tender of the land was in feb. Still dun know which operator getting it. It's gonna be a big dorm wif indoor gym, mini marts n multi purpose courts. It's in today's straits times Home section.

hopefully with all the facilities they are getting, they will be self sufficient enough not to roam around outside of the dorm.

in the dorm sell stuff within their reach will sure be expensive too...
they still will come out lor and government can't lock them in. you will see them having picnic anywhere...
Poor residents of 656X

656 is within walking distance to 62X leh.. dunno if the workers will take tt route to pioneer mall cos if they do, they will sure 'discover' that plot of land beside the bball court and we at 62X also will hv workers loitering ard our area...

i chose 62X partly cos the workers at the kian teck dorm do not go there. the area qt peaceful.. alamak

latte,

they will move ard.
I have seen them always at my neighbourhood.
Bang*** still better than Tha*** they dun drink and make noisy... they just like to sit anywhere green.

Two new sites for foreign workers' dorms

- Straits Times March 21 2007

Two new sites in Jurong and Sembawang that will house several thousand foreign workers have been put up for tender. This is part of efforts to prepare for an expected in-flux of manpower.

The Building and Construction Authorithy (BCA) launched a tender to find a dormitory operator for an 18, 900-sq-m site in Cochrane Crescent, near Sembawang Shipyard, in December. However, the BCA did not award the tender as there were some changes in its conditions, and a re-tender is expected in April or May.

In February, the BCA put a 28,000-sq-m dormitory site in Soon Lee Road, in the Jurong Industrial area, up for tender. This dormitory can house up to 4,500 workers.

Under the conditions of the two original tenders, the operators have to provide facilities such as indoor gymnasium, multi-purpose courts and mini-marts.

The BCA is now evaluating bids for the Jurong dorm.

Dormitory operator JYC-NCL, which runs two facilities housing 6,000 workers in Soon Lee Road, is keen on both the Jurong and Sembawang sites.

But its managing director, Mr Yang Tse Pin, told the Straits Timesthat more space is needed to meet the housing and social needs of the workers.

These new sites will help ease the housing crunch facing the anticpated 50,000 workers who will come to Singapore over the next few years as construction activity ramps up.

According to the Manpower Ministry website, there are 31 commercially run workers dormitories here, as well as several temporary workers' quartersaround the island.

The Ministry of National Developmentsaid it was identifying and releasing other dormitory sites, but stressed that the Government would take into account the potential impact when choosing locations.

It denied an earlier report that suggested the Government was thinking of housing workers on an offshore island.

----------------------------------------------

hmm but they never mentioned its the 656 area??

The Ministry of National Developmentsaid it was identifying and releasing other dormitory sites, but stressed that the Government would take into account the potential impact when choosing locations

i really hope they take this para seriously..

those ppl who decide where to build the dorms are not the ppl who live near the dorms.

And they are alrdy building the park opp jurong pt. Now tt they want another dorm in jurong, i bet they will tell the residents not to worry too much bcos the park is there for the workers.

Like what Dumb said:
OMG welcome to the dark side..

Our fate is sealed. If they are still considering, it will not b in the papers. Also what better place to build a dorm than somewhere damn far from their own homes.

dumb
the Soon Lee road is the road that leads to the 'entrance' of the open space cuurently. It's bounded by Soon Lee road n the big monsoon drain.

frankly speaking, I'm ok wif them...just dun like the fact some of them litter the area... never bother to throw bottles away after drink etc... i'm just worried about the litters would be more... anyway, I guess some Singaporeans are guilty of littering too... :p

can we voice out? can we oppose? aghhhh..... *happiness plump down the drain....*
we have schools here..... kinegardens here!!!!! wahhhh............. got raily i can go shout bo???

c the map.... looks like flats blk 653, 655 are more likely afffected... if the dorm is as big as reported then mabe also effect us. it will depends where the entrance of the dorm is also..... haiz....
still.....

if the dorm's entrance is at soon lee road there without any 'backdoors' then mabe not as affected cos it's still a distance ba.... if so, will there be any backdoor with the big drain there? i dont know... anyone??? and there seems to already have a dorm in soon lee road call SCAL dormitory....

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia...5280.440012501&star=1&level=6?161,535

If really cant be help, can we request to have apolice NPC or NPP to be around our area for security measure? at least they would not dare to anyhow disturb our estate..

hey 656 neighbours, saw the dorm things which u all r discussing above.. is dorm sort of hostel for this "black black" workers? is there any confirmation which area of jurong west be built? alamak, its definately going to cause a stir by the residents. its quite worrying, imagine u hav kids schooling nearby.. really ALAMAK!!

my only concern is;

1) what if they got drunk and loiter at our void decks? (its already in such state now except the drunk part)

2) there's only one bus number serving from jurong point which is 254. those staying at 656X will be alighting with maybe 20-30 of them togther...and the industrial site bus stop is actually quite deserted at night.

i agree wif dumb.. these workers usually hav no place 2 go & in e end they will end up loiter ard neighbourhood areas, chit-chat, drink, etc. not being racist but indeed an worrying issue.

what to do now, just take extra care esp when walking home at night.

It will be more worrisome next time when kids come along.