hi lavender_lover, you also hv this problem har? bad right the smell? my wife also complaining like want to puke... somehow it seems this problem like started only recently hor.. for you ok la, can cover the hole, for me, i considered that but sometime if want to wash the balcony, then a bit troublesome.
So i seriously dunno what is causing the smell.. there dun seem to hv any units under reno below, so dun thk contractors urinating at the balcony. As for dogs, i notice that when i pour water down the pipe, there will be a dog barking quite far below.. so far i only see that there is a dog roaming in the balcony in a unit in one of the lower floors.. strange is that even if tat dog pee-ed in the balcony, the smell can go up so high and so strong meh... my other suspect is that those contractors currently painting the block is urinating into the pipe from the rooftop, but then again, they are not there everyday...
mine not so bad yet, just hairline cracks, but the walls are cracking la.. my prev hse in the same lot, dun hv such prob leh..