$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

fallingflakes

ya lor so troublesome wanna test the tv also cannot. that day the guy came n install the connection thingy so can watch, but it seems like some channels got double image, so got to use starhub cable instead then will be better cos they go underground.

swatdila

since we are on this topic, for those who subscribe to starhub, do they need to come physically to activate the tv points? currently my master bedroom has the starhub signal, but not my living room and another room.

anyone here got window frame defects?

apparently the guy who came to retify the defects that i have on the window frames..

There are many small tiny dents that got sharp edges , he merely smoothen the edges n i think he use marker pen to "dot' off the mark left by the dent.

annesep

swatdila,

think they need to install some point at your electrical box?

tannabee-wannabee,

they so unprofessional one ah?

olengjuz

Hi TW, I had the exact prob as you. THe defects were marked very claerly and noted with remarks on the door yah? I put that up as the defects in the defects list and the HDB got that rectified already. If HDB contractors gives excuses, complain to HDB office. They will settle for u.

annesep

do you guys all noticed that our walls an dceiling are so badly done. all slanted and uneven... even my ID also say very difficult to paste on naked wall, must have one board infront to paste feature...

fallingflakes

ya manz, if you notice along the way, u will realise the walls constructed by hdb are very slanted, some also not smooth. either have a board, or your contractor got to plaster smooth it.

ouchie

hi 656 neighbours!

ya indeed.. our MBR ceiling is so uneven. once we have the budget really must install a false ceiling to cover up everything. sigh.

now that everything is more or less settled in the new house... feel so sian to liaise with HDB to fix the uneven ceiling..

for those out there who hvn't moved ya things in yet.. better make HDB smoothen the ceilings! really jialat.

olengjuz

I have those uneveness in ceilings and walls mentioned in the defects list but many of the contractors told me that it's quite hard to plaster those areas and HDB contractors' skills also poor. Doubt they would do a nice job too.

Cos I be getting L box so think the uneveness would be that obvious. The HDB contractors did a satisfactory job only. Dun expect good standard delivered by them.

I also got them to re-hack my kitchen walls cos of the big "gaps" in joining the tiles. I got that complained to my HDB CSO, she investigated and soon the contractors rectified the prob for me. Gentle note, let the HDB CSO know our prob...no point "arguing" with the HDB contractors directly cos they will take longer time to complete your jobs and gives heaps of excuses.

annesep

fallingflakes,

mine not yet done. almost done, should be ready by this sat as there is some delay. so good, all done up liao... you have pic of your nicely done up home?

annesep

ouchie and SK,

L-box still not good enough, better to have flase ceiling, if not full at least half or 3/4. see the ceiling also sian.. my that stupid metal gate still cannot close properly despite told Vanice. then those lock (those affixed on the gate without the metal chain type) also cannot put the lock in place. it is too narrow and i have to push the lock strip to ensure the strip would not block the opening of the gate. anyone face the same problem as me? now i am wondering should i go and saw the gate to ensure it can be fully open... sigh...

fallingflakes

eh i dun have much problem with the metal gate leh. in fact yest we bought n installed the Durolock thingy and surprisingly the end result was quite good - the metal gate doesnt shake much when u pull and pull haha.

Anne i PM u

annesep

sorry andy,

my lock got problem.. no point sending to you also.. the officer will drop by this week... now even my wooden main door is faulty... vomit blood liao...

anyone here uses ID firms that come up with designs using computer not by hand drawn?

can share? I have some problems with my current ID (whos my fren)... she is taking very long to come back with a quote. SO i tinking of getting another ID.

Can Help?

annesep

workmanship is good. He is a friendly guy but need to remind him at times. He alway help to source for good yet reasonable price. i can show u my kitchen:

539344.jpg

<font color="0000ff">and my tv console where he is having a promotion at $688 TV feature wall cum console.
539345.jpg

<font color="0000ff">you must remember to quote my name for a good price cos he promised me to give my friend a better price.</font>

he did asked me who recommended him.... i told him its ANNE....

u are at 656C right?

how much did u reno your flat?

i wanna do a full Tv console with hidden cabinet leh....

annesep

hi tannabee,

oh you got mentioned my name ah? yup, you are right. my flat whole reno cost me ard 36k cos mine involved lotsa carpentry and hacking work.

Your is 656B right? where do you intend to your TV console?

naivesg

Hi, I am having a dilemma now. Was thinking of either doing laminate or homogenous for bedrooms. I know the pros and cons but still v much undecided. If I do laminate, it will be warmth and as what I have image b4 I had a flat. In future if we have kids, laminate might not be so suitable as the kids might spill water here and there. And of course, it will be much cheaper, by a $1000, comparing laminate vs homogenous. However, maintenance is a problem...might have scratches too.and for a lazy person like me....homogenous might be better.

So can I just take a poll, which one did your do for the flooring of your bedrooms?

Laminate or Homogenous???

annesep

hi Naivesg,

mine is laminate flooring. No worries abt spillage as long you clean it soon. now got a better selection-water resistance one.

Not advisable to have homogenous tile in ur bedroom cos in case you just bath and come out, very slippery and dangerous. Homogenous tiles can get scratched and stains quite easily too.. i woul dprefer warm touch in bedroom to promote cozy-feel.

annesep

HI naivesg,

you are welcome cos me like you previously dunno which one to take... scare laminate very difficult to maintain but now then i realised laminate is easier than homogenous.

This thread is getting quieter, might not get good response.

fallingflakes

hi Anne,
yeah u r right, this thread suddenly so quiet leh
i realise i got kinda fussy neightbours. got this neighbour come down to complain 2 times leh, last night was the latest one and she went back home feeling disappointed as the whatever DRILLING that she claim she hears everynight from 10pm onwards is not from us, lol
really crazy bat

annesep

hi fallingflakes,

I got myself a indian neighbours at the 5-room flat... they everyday dunno how many time burn that funny smell incense... cant stand it.... you move in already?

Hi cynthia,

wow, you very detailed ah. yes, it is white wallpaper.. not very obvious hor.. you also moved in already?

fallingflakes

Anne: yes, i moved in about 2 weeks ago... which blk are u staying at? count urself lucky u r not staying at 656B 4th floor...there lagi worse...

Osh gosh: yup, i'm at 656D. Which floor u staying at can hear drilling sound? i didnt hear anything leh.

fallingflakes

weird leh got drilling sound meh? i really didnt hear anything leh. but then mine is corner unit, maybe the drilling comes from the other end?

tannabee u very sweh, but dun worry, not direct neighbour not so bad...

Hi..

i am staying at 3rd flr. i suspect 4th flr above me is rent out to foreign workers. Still cant confirm. they dun drill often. but if they do it again. i might go up. i am ok if during the evening but almost 12am.. drill is abit too much lor.

Fallingflakes, u r staying at which level?

flakes,

i actually went around this few blocks to check it out b4 booking... haiz... eyes shoot bird.. din notice that!

so far i only heard their sunday late morning praying session once!!..........

fallingflakes

oshgosh: 12 am drill is too much lah must go up! but the thing is, i am on the 14th floor, and that woman who came down is from 15th floor lor. So weird she hear drilling but me and my hb dun hear anything!

tannabee: maybe that day u went around to spot check eyes too focused didnt notice the big red cloth and 2 big chinese lanterns hanging there! from downstairs playground can see one. sunday morning prayer you are on the 3rd floor also can hear? very loud ar?

hi friends,
i realised my walls got crack lines. anyone got such problem?
may I know any one can advise me how to resolve?

hi anne
i not moved in, will only do so after my customery in dec. last sat had my housewarming... hope i didn't create too much noise to my neighbors.. :p