(2012) 2012 Brides to be

Hucklebeary: grats! does Hilton has pillar less ballroom for table of 25?

pa (purple_alcohol): i personally like sophia wedding, lavie and le grand wedding =D

Crystaline: thanks.. i think hilton's vista room and panorama room is pillarless... i have not been there b4.. i went to the grand ballroom only.

Crystaline: you signed up with Lavie right?
Mind to share what's in ur package?

Actually i really have no idea what to look out for in selecting BS..haha..

whitetea: i'm also a Regent BTB at Tanglin Room! my AD is in May
i have went for my fren's wedding at the Royal Pavilion before and tot the food was good, so i guess the standard of food won't differ THAT much from the food tasting session? *fingers crossed*

pa (purple_alcohol): Its a standard package which includes photoshoot and actual day at close to $4,000. Lots of BS and their style varies
So most imptly is u shortlist a few then go down and listen to them. Upcoming got bridal fair at Suntec and Vivocity, one stop to see a few bridal shops can go wor! How many tables r u having at marina mandarin?

Anyone been to Orchard Hotel and GPCH ballroom? Which ballroom got higher ceiling? Went to GPCH today but got seminar so cant get to see the ballroom.. sadz

Hucklebeary: heard Janice is good. are you going to the wedding show?

Crysta: haven been to Orchard hotel but heard the ballroom is bigger than grand park

pa: have you shortlist your choice?

We have a facebook page do join us, please send your request to me tru FB message.
heres the link: http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=119762578061284

BTB 2012 Spreadsheet:
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0Akd01L4OMjendFl0bE9tbXo5akI0eUFDcVMwbHExQ0E&hl=en&authkey=CO_dg_YM#gid=0

lolxx~ now i become signboad

magdal: I've added u on facebook & updated my details in the excel

Shanna: is ur chinese surname "chen"? hehe

nefariouskat: i also hope so le, that the standard will be ok.. maybe when we go for food tasting, we gently remind our co-ordinator?? and remind again nearer to AD? haha.. me so paranoid...

just received email from whiteweddings that there's a promo this weekend.. dunno should go anot.. lolz.. tat time went to join their contest..

I'm a 2012 Bride to Be too!! Fiance and I are signing ROM in
March in London (he's British, I'm SG-rean but we both live and work in London) then a week later fly back to Singapore for our AD celebrations! I'm so excited, I've already bought my wedding dress hehe

Looking at banquet venues now, a lot of our guests will be coming from overseas so we will only have about 8 table. We are considering Raffles or Fullerton for our AD... Anyone have any comments on those hotels/have attended wedding there?

I went to my bridal shop last night to make appointment to select my photoshot gown in Sept as i would only be going to Hongkong to take my photoshoot in Nov... can someone advise me if it is too late... the lady is telling me that i have ample time.. but i was worried that i might not get the gown that i like or one that fit my size then it would be trouble... very headache now...

@Laura: The East India Room in Raffles Hotel is VERY NICE!!!!! :D do consider it! I wanted to take it but they couldn't commit to my date cos of renovation. I also liked the Windows East room at Four Seasons!
I didn't quite like Fullerton's Straits Room though.
hope that helps!

any girls gone for gown fitting already? usually how many times do you go and choose? heh.. i've just gone yesterday to take a look with my parents! shortlisted 2 wedding gowns already but there's still so many more that i have not seen! haha..

Crystaline: oh.. I think now all the standard BS ard the same price.. Ya think I will take a look at d wedding show..

Oh for my banquet I've took the Venda ballroom which can only accommodate 20-30 tables.. So I took 20 first.. Would b a small affair.. So dun wan too many tables too! Haha
I jz attended a wedding at GPCH last mth.. Fd quite nt bad, service is gd too.. Except d march in I dun really like..

Magdal: nope.. I haven do any research..nor shortlist any BS yet.. Haha.. I keep thinking still got time.. :p

Thanks YX! They are offering me the Causuarina Suite for the banquet and the Lawn for the ceremony and cocktail reception, because I want the Chinese menu and a dancefloor (apparently east India room is too far from the kitchen and music has to stop at 10:30pm!)

is anyone hving an open bar at their wedding? Our UK guest as all very big drinkers!!!

I went to orchard hotel yesterday.. Hmm.. the co-ordinator, angie was nice and friendly.. but but.. i did'nt really like the feel of the hotel & ballroom.. it just doesnt feel right for me.. i dunno y i have this "not very right" kind of feeling... hmmm...
ok, anyway.. i saw their Grand Ballroom 3.. High ceiling, 2 big chandeliers and long march in. Can hold up to 30 tables comfortably... the perks for dinner is not bad.. but ours is wedding lunch so not much benefits except for free house wine per table... and they cant garuntee us a room for our entourage too...

Ms Fel: i am going orchard hotel tml, hopefully can find the right feeling
cause i went GPCH, i also lack of the right feeling. Is orchard hotel's ballroom looks old and rundown?

xrevlis: hmm, i couldnt recall the website which i saw it. but i know its a huge event. i prefer bridal shopping than banquet shopping heehee!

dear all, what other hotels can i consider if i am looking at abt $1,200 per table?

hi ms fel, pm u the email address for afifah

hi crystaline, k thks, will check out vivo that day
i went GPCH today, find the ballroom bit small, there a wedding goiNg on so i manage to see the preparation as i email christopher yesterday and he ask me to drop by before 6pm to take a look even though he wont be ard.

xrevlis: Thanks!!

crystaline: how? how? U went to orchard hotel le mah? How did u feel??
Hmm.. yes i think it looks abit too old for my liking.. Plus.. there are several other function rooms beside ballroom 3 and it wasnt that exclusive.. But maybe coz when i went there.. there were no wedding set-up in the ballroom 3 so i couldnt really "feel" it.. But the wedding theme pics that were shown by the co-ordinator was nice though..

Ms Fel: went and waited for 1/2 hr but coordinator still stuck with another couple and can't attend to us. end up HTB not happy so we walked off. well, no fate >< which other hotels r u considering? I am now lost.

xrevlis: i went to recce M hotel b4, i dont quite like it cos march in for both rooms is weird.. so btw M hotel n Amara, i took Amara.

as for CP, i think it is still ok since it is MRT accessible. the Ballroom is nice n the food is good too! i think it is worth considering.

si dian jing, iirc, consists of gold ring, bracelet, earrings and necklace.

crystaline: hi welcome!
OH has a higher ceiling definately and would be bigger than GPCH.

Mistyhaze: My BS alr booked an appt for me to select gowns for my PS and my PS dates when i signed with them on tt day itself.
my selecting of gowns is 2 weeks b4 my PS.
mine PS is in July, so its like 7 mths b4 my actual date. but its bcos the hubs is overseas, so it is either taken in july or end of nov/early dec which might be abit too rush, so we play it safe n take in July.

pa: hi, welcome!
have u shortlisted any BS? and also, it depends on what u want n your budget too. usually the package for BS is pretty standardized, the "extra" costs usually come from the photos. like how many poses u want for your album, n it usually is the hardest to bargain for. keke.

whitetea: erm... nope, my surname not chen.

Laura Lin: hi~ welcome!

Linda Lim: oh yes of cos will hv enough time since u hv 2 mths! my gown selection is just 2 weeks b4 my PS!

fel: [email protected]

Crystaline: My next visit would be Crowne Plaza tomorrow. I really loooove crowne plaza.. the ballroom pics looks so nice.. but then they have no sharks's fin on their menu though..heard that they are quite stingy on perks too..
Another hotel i have shortlisted is Amara.. initially i shortlisted Hilton but my mum objected the idea violently and my bf doesnt really like the ballroom...
Goin to email amara later le...
What other hotels u shortlisted other than orchard hotel??

Shanna: thanks!!

Btw gers.. how do u all nego for your banquet package? Are there certain things that can be bargained?? Like beverages or extra room etc??

XY: ic.. do u have any idea hw long normally a MTM gown will take? My AD is in jan.. thinking of going to the BS ealier so that everything will not be so last min.

hi shanna,

i went to see the ballroom for CP on sat, find it bit cramp when there are 27tables, and most prob we might have 30 tables, will be even more cramp, so drop CP liao.. hee

anyone here doing church wedding on AD? I find the timing in the morn really tight if need to fetch the bride to the grooms place and back to the brides place and follow by church...

But my family said for chinese custom fetching the bride is very impt... Just wondering how others does it...

Shan: normally church wedding is done on a different day.. coz i think if gatecrash +tea ceremony + church wedding + banquet on the same day abit too tight on the schedule...

Shanna: i just emailed afifah this morning.. but she haven reply me leh..haha.. i too gan chiong!! lol

Xrevlis: u went to CP??? So 27 tables is abit cramp huh? I tink i have around 25... hope will be just fine for us... but is the ballroom nice? From the pics it looks nice~~

shanna: lolz.. cuz my surname also ting, but in chinese is chen.. so was just wondering.

shan: is ur family very particularly on going back to the brides place before church?
cuz i will be skipping that process..

Ms Fel.. so i was as thinking of no gatecrash, just fetch the bride saves more time

whitetea, i tink they are pretty strict on that.. so headache! So you are skipping but you will go to groom's place before church?

Koh and YX, sure will email u gals!!!