(2012/09) SEPT 2012 BTB

bunbunb

xiaohuiis - huh really ar.. =(
then maybe i will ask my brother to fetch me in to JB to buy.
I don't really want to spend alot for the GDL items
May I know which shopping mall you went to?
How much you spend?

xiaohuiis

BunBun >> I haven buy yet coz they say now buy too early le.. I went to the 2nd floor market beside OG there to ask the price..

Corrina >> Wah !! U wan to change gown so many times ah like that very busy and rush leh

corrina

Hi xiaohuiis

The OG side one more ex.. U can go to the market at the CK side.. Cheaper..
Only 1 more for reception.. After most of the guests arrive then will get ready to change to the white gown..

xiaohuiis

CK side meaning the 3 or 4 story market got a link bridge de ah? Where is the store ah and roughly how much ? Kind of ex to pay like 200 plus for all the GDL items when they are just stuffs like candles, pail etc

For my AD, I will change 3 times nia .. ROM 1 before dinner den white gown for 1st march in den 2nd march in change evening gown and might change back ROM dress to shake hand bye bye haha

corrina

Hi xiaohuiis

The shop there sell a-la-cart one. U can jus buy wat u wan. I forgot wat is the shop name. Is at the first level. Will go check the name n get back to u.

xiaohuiis

Thanks Corrina

But how do you know what are the exact items u need? I did research online and asked the store person..

Apparently diff website, diff store, will tell u to buy diff stuff.. some items online say no need they store person say need -.-"

corrina

I have a date selection package w the heritage wedding museum. They actually give me a list of items to buy. Their retail shop is the one u went at OG side market there. Quite ex so i buy else where. I oso gt another list from the shop i intend to rent kwa, the aunty actually explain n give me the list. But quite alot of things to buy.. all add up oso not cheap. Especially the bedsheet. I oso bought from the market at CK side.

corrina

Hi Xiaohuiis

So far I only bought for dowery. GDL items I will leave it to my husband to settle.

For dowery, there are quite a no of items.
I bought tea pot set, bowl with spoon, chopsticks, bed side lamp, bedsheet, and those baby shower tub with alot of items(slipper, face towel, bath towel, toothbrush and toothpaste) inside and needle threads (usually come with a nice box), ruler, red umbrella, red fan to throw out of the car and 1 to hold while travelling (the aunty say it is to block all the unlucky stuff while travelling). Also need comb and new pajamas.

You will still need to buy new clothes, shoes and wallet. New clothes and shoes is to wear the next day after your wedding.

If you not clear, I will scan a copy of the list for you. Is all in chinese words.

apple1_79

Hi all, juz finish my parents meeting juz nw. Doesn't really go smooth. My MIL ask my mum wat she need, she say nt sure so anything. Keep it hassle free.
Seems nothing conclusive, except tok abt the cakes, the candles etc.
Best thing is when they leave my mum then remember tat we forgot to tok abt "ping jin"!
I also in a blur mind forget abt tat....
Then the 4 dian jin also cant decide which side will buy...
Haiz.....
Anyone gt their session worse than mine???

apple1_79

I also tot so. Then my hubby dunno hear from where say that is for teochew bride. i am a hokkien bride.
Juz nw i inform my Dad to decide on hw many boxes of cake, he ask if can change to traditonal biscuits?
Sigh, during dicussion time, all dun wan to say nw after that then remember this n remember tat.
Hey check with u gals, did anyone encounter ppl do solemnization after the banquet?
Cause my MIL really worry my AD v rush as i doing lunch. so she was asking gt ppl do solemnization after banquet or nt? if nt she may wan us to solemnziation earlier be AD.

bunbunb

Actually for GDL & dowery, do we actually need to follow our dialect?
I bought my dowery too, almost same as Corina just that I did not take e fan as I was told by the shop in AMK that, Cantonese brides does not need, whereas e shop I bought from told me e same as what corina advice, to block the unlucky stuffs. For GDL they advice there's no difference except for the "candles"
Is sooo confusing!! Lol

Hi Shirley,
Is like tat.. Haa tts y I discuss with my parents,he discuss with his.. Then I convey the message. At least there's some " filter" with me & htb to avoid unhappiness. But both of parents will meet up over tasting of food.

Maybe u can do yr solemization in stage? During first match in? Some of my frens did that too..so everyone can witness
2 cents thoughts =)

corrina

Hi Bunbun

The list that the kwa shop aunty gave me.. she say is in genral nv follow any dialect. Is almost the same as the fengshui shop i got.

Hi Shirley

For si dian jin is from teochew but doesnt mean if u r not teochew u cannot request for si dian jin. I am a hokkien bride but my father still request si dian jin n my MIL oso follow. Anyway my husband is a teochew. Si dian jin is oso a gift from ur PIL to u.

apple1_79

Finally got my wedding shoes!
Bought it at Far East Plaza, not too bling so tat nxt time still can wear. At least one thing off my mind!

apple1_79

I bought the shoes for only $29.90. Bought one pair only. will bring to the BS during gown fitting, if need to then will buy 2nd pair.

corrina

Hi all sorry for late reply. Will scan a copy for u all soon.

Busy these few day.. jus went shopping for bridal shoes ytd.. bought mine for $258..

corrina

Hi xiaohuiis

I bought from Anna Nucci.. cos gt alot of crystals. Super bling.. even the heels is also cover with crystals..

The heels is 5.5inches.. with a 2 inches platform. The platform oso cover with crystals..

xiaohuiis

Corrina >> Ahhh no wonder so ex haha.. mine is just a 2inches de from Anna Nucci too hee

oh have u sent me the GDL list already? coz I dun seems to receive it??

quincy1986

Hi all Sep 2012 BTB
I have some questions here:

1) When should I start to Buy the items for Guo Da Li and An Chuang?

2) On Day Time of AD how many sets of clothes do you need? Is it 1 set of white gown and 1 kua? When do you wear the white gown and when do you change to the kua?

bunbunb

Hi Ang,

Actually now you can start to buy ur GDL items. Normally is done 10days before your AD but it also depends on ur hubby side.
For ang Chuan my hubby will do one day before our AD.

Wedding gown is your 1st outfit , after you chnge to Kua before you go back to your own hse for tea ceremony.

quincy1986

Hi BunBunBBB (bunbunb)

Thanks for your fast reply.
For the Kua, you mean I need to change into it before I set off to my in-laws right?

quincy1986

I have booked our dinner at Warren Cty Club (Yan Palace). Actually it was quite last min.

But anyway I think the manager in-charge took advantage of this. He told us that the dinner had to finish by 11pm, otherwise we will have to bare the overtime charges for the staff.

We have already signed because we have no venue.

Anyone heard of this before?
Is there anything that I could do?

xiaohuiis

Ang > I think most of the hotel will tell u that the dinner will have to finish by 11 otherwise additional charges.. but normally.. if your dinner overshot by a bit should be ok de ba

chardel

@Ang: I will be buying my GDL items either in June or July. After our parents meetup for food tasting. My An Chuang will only be done 3 days before my wedding (date given my feng shui master), so as the time get nearer then buy.

With regards to the Kua, you change to your Kua after serving tea to your in-laws before returning to maiden house.

apple1_79

Need all your input on this.

Will it be funny if i do my solemnization on stage be4 the lunch? Will the guests be hungry or bored? Cause my timing maybe quite rushing so i was thinking if i want to do solemnization on stage.

Also is there any any videography rates tat is below $1k? A few i asked need at least 1.2k, which a bit out of budget.

Does u all have anyone who know hw to do wedding montage? Those childhood ones and those that from your PS??

Getting to end of march, time is getting lesser n lesser....

xiaohuiis

Shirley > Initially I wanted to do my solemnization on stage too.. but scared will be too rush and ppl below the stage will be "bored" as not all will be interested to see us sign on the dotted line.. Becasue I went for my collegue de.. she did hers before the food is serve.. den alot of ppl like not intersted.. busy chatting.. playing iphone games..

Montage wise.. u can do it yourself ah.. should be quite easy ba.. online got some free programs can use for montage..

chardel

Shirley, I took videography n photography with the same company and the price is not bad. I think it is Simon photo and video service. He will also be doing the montage for me.

Dun do solemnization on the stage during lunch reception coz it is boring and people will not be giving you the respect needed (no offense)...

apple1_79

Hi Charlene,

My bridal package throw in the AD photography for me so i not looking for videography myself.
Can check wif u wat is the rate for Simon photo and video service?

TIA!

mingyi

Corrina, thanks! i got ur email for the GDL list.

btw anyone know Anna Nucci is on which level at Far East Plaza?

2 weeks had past and i have not done a single thing...
busy preparing for my reno... -.-"
hope things can get moving once my reno start after qing ming n everything have to proceed at turbo speed hahaha

corrina

Anyone of u gt any suggestion for outdoor location for photoshoot? Photoshoot on next fri but haven decide on the location yet..

Have few in mind.. Botanic garden, marina bay area n railway station. But wan something more special..

quincy1986

hi corrina,
i have a list of outdoor locations that i could e-mail you. would you like to provide your e-mail address so that i can send to you?

xiaohuiis

mandy >> anna nucci should be at the 4th floor.. the level below all the food store ...

very easy to spot de.. just beside the main escalator nia..