(2011/11) Nov 2011 BTB

karenluva

Bcos mine is all A-La-Carte, so i have my own Make-up artist. Never sign any package in local BS. The last round we agree to 3 make-up. 1 for the morning, and 2 for the night. But now am plaaning maybe i want to add on to 5 instead. 4 instead. So might be 2 for the day and 2 for the day. Gotta discuss with the MUA.. Want to look good for that very one and only special day.. Dun wannt save on that.

My montage is coverd by the PG and VG i hired.. so dun have to worry on that portion~~ As for my favours.. using whatever the hotel is going provide me~~

baby_luv

My BS is from Malaysia, so MUA is not included in the package. I will be engaging Dana Chang as my MUA.

Will be going to my bridal to select photo this sunday. I hope i will not top up any photo!! Haha~

vernice31

Hey Karen,

Actually there are pros and cons regarding the "look-a-like" dresses and "pick your own dresses" theme. I was a JM for my friend and she had half the JMs wearing pink and half wearing blue. Although the designs vary, which i thought was ok, the pictures turned out pretty well.. nice blend! If my gang cannot agree on the designs.. perhaps i will just stick to the colour theme!

was actually thinking of getting SDZ instead of SDJ... Z = zuan (diamonds - girls' best friends) but gotta see what my future MIL says??? SDZ more pratical, more likely to wear though gold is more precious.

Initially we also faced the same prob - not knowing where to stay after wedding. We even thought of rotation - some days at my parents', some days at his parents'. But guess we are lucky enough and came across a place that we like and is within our budget.

Let's enjoy the prep process!!!

the_moment

Hmm.. as I now I know my MUA has 2 brides that day so if I want a new look have to tell her soon before the next bride does. It's $150 for that.

Jun: what favour are u looking at? It's expensive. How many guests do u have?

Michelle: Hotel does provide, but I kinda want to add on with this idea. hehe.. Hubby's gona try doing the drawing etc.. but both of us are v busy at work.. trying to squeeze out the time... Having an avatar in the montage adds a personalised touch. =)Good luck with the photo selection! My PG warned us after photoshoot that we've taken so mnay pics its hard to decide during selection. =p

ee09: Good idea - reminds me that I've contacted cocoa tree last year =p Just sent them an email.

Oh how abt wedding cars? How you gals settling that? Borrowing from friends / relatives or renting?

ee09

ssac: normal sweet shop will do.. cocoa tree mayhe a bit exp.. u can try beautiful n nice plastic bag instead of bottle.. that will be much cheaper..

If u wanna change look do note that the timing.. at first i wanna do tt too but it takes some time to change, i dun wanna waste time changing then miss out the time i spent with my guest so decided to DIY, just change the accessories will do..

chloe11

Michelle: I did my own montage..manage to complete after procrastinating for a year..it was pretty simple and did it without any help..will need to pay for the licensing for the song...additional cost..

junio

SSAC: i have the favour. i am looking for packaging.. 110 guest but i wanna do extra so i can give my designer for my gown, make up artist, photographer and the banquet incharge..

i have like 4 item in my favour.. so i wanna put everything in a nice packaging and match the theme.. i dont want the guest to have difficult time taking it all home.

happylilone

Jun: I hv the same dilemma.. I needed bags for my guests as well cos I hv a cupcake and 2 candle holders per guest to give out..

Went looking at paper bags and my grouse is always the design, the size and the cost.. In the end, I bought paper to make my own.. I dunno, I hv abt 400-450 guests.. It's gonna be backbreaking, but at least that's wad I wan..

junio

How u make? Teach! Where did u get the material?

I am sourcing all over the world!! Haha!!

China for organza bag. Basket in Indonesia n looking for bag for putting all into it!

happylilone

Jun: it's just making paper bags.. I'm prettymuch sure there are online tutorials for it.. It's kinda tricky to describe how to make them here...

I got my materials from art frens.. It's just paper actually.. If u want to, u can always add on ribbons etc.. But it backbreaking work like I mentioned earlier..

baby_luv

ssac: Wow, your hubby must be very artistic to be able to design the avatar. We took around 300 pic and chose 57 picture, took around 4hour to do so. I top up 10 pic which my bridal charge me at RM70 each. Was pretty contented that I did not top up too much, cause the album will still be stack in the storeroom eventually..haha

I will probably just be using a Honda Civic as my wedding car. HTB initially wanted to rent those posh car as bridal car but i am reluntant to spend that kind of money. How about the rest of you?

Chloe: I have been procrastinating as well. Which software did you use? Its a must that we paid for the licensing? I was still thinking how they will find out if the montage just last for a few mins.

nearbtb

hey Michelle i was thinking of that too but saw in other theads stating that it will be ex if caught without a license. but dunnoe how much so we got 1 for the express highlight, but the rest still thinking to get it or not. as i have mv, animation combi with montage and highlight, 3 of them if were to get all three then another $300 will be gone. haiz.... wedding is all abt $$$

chloe11

michelle & btb: I think it's only $90 for 4 songs...need to check with RIPS...alternatively, don't embed your song, use an original cd for the song then you won't need to pay but it won't be that nice I suppose..

I used PowerDirector to do my montage...quite simple to use but you will need to use another software if you would like to combine your photos I suppose cause that's what I did..

nearbtb

chloe it is actually by the type that you have like mine is 3 type of video so have to pay 3 times, it is not limit by the number of songs, so if u wan u can put as many songs as u like in one.
Thats what i noe.

the_moment

ee09 - I think will scrape the idea.. containers too ex and sweet idea ex too.. sigh.. nvm. just use those given by hotel tentatively till I think of other ideas.

From what I know about licensing, it depends. If say the hotel and montage maker (in this case my videographer also) has bought the license, they are able to play original tracks. I think if I am not wrong, can embed in the video/ppt also.

Any ideas for Jiemei dresses or attire?

Michelle - photos to share? RM 70 per pc is a good price. =)

baby_luv

BTB - Probably you can check with your hotel if they have the license. Like what SSAC say, if the hotel have the license, we wont have to pay for it.

Chloe - In the end, my HTB asked me to let my VG do it. Cause my VG charge us $200 for the montage since we engage him for videography.

SSAC - I went to Love potion to do my JM dress. They choose those convertible dress in chiffon material. They hasnt give me the photo yet, probably will do so the next round when i go and select my layout.

ellevonny

Hi angeldoll, I did called them to enquire about my date but it's fully booked. U can try calling them. I can also send u the quote that they sent me if u want.

karenluva

Hi Ladies...

A general QNs.. when do u all intend to have the food tasting? Given that all of our wedding is in Nov... is end Aug too early?

Bcos i using it as a meet-up for our parents to talk about the pin jin and xi bin etc~~

nearbtb

Thanks for the info, thanks goodness for me the company i engaged is registered in compass so no prob for me to play it. hee....

karen i will be doing it in sep wif food tasting as well. according to my mum she says 1 week is more then enough but we tot tat it will be good to settle it once and for all. haha

karenluva

My mu suggested Sep too~~ but i dunno if me and my BF need time to find those Xi Bin ad misc stuffs.. ya loh.. need to arrange date with the hotel already...
July is coming Ladies!!!!!!!!!!

baby_luv

Karen & BTB - Do you all mean that you will do your GDL and food tasting on the same day? My geomancer advise me to have my GDL on 22 Oct, will it be too late for food tasting then?

My parents and PIL has met up previously when we arranged for dinner.

My parents told PIl that pin jin is up to them, they are fine with anything. I will be using cake instead of Xi Bin and probably just around 20 boxes for my relative. Will order it from Pine Garden.

karenluva

Nono Michelle.. it's a seperate thing.. GDL will usually be ard ranging from 2 weeks to 1 month before AD. I never check any geomancer, so it's up to both side of the parents to decide the date and to what extend they wanna do it.. We're both Teochew and i heard Teochew got Really complicated traditions.. dunno how true..

Actually i arrange the food tasting earlier, so that both side of the parents can meet and discuss all the pin jin things and blah blah blah (not sure what else is needed)~ In late Aug or early Sep so that got time for me and HTB to find Xi Bing(喜饼) and whatever necessary.. so if yous is already settled i think having the food tasting in Oct is fine~~

I'm a Kaisu bride.. wanna have plenty of time to plan and think... hahaha

baby_luv

Karen - Oh, i get what you mean. You wanna use the food tasting as a chance for both parents to meet up.

I also heard that GDL for teochew are pretty complicated but eventually it's still dependent on both side if they wanna make things easy.

I am also a kiasu bride. Although i think most of my preparation is done but i still have this probia that there is alot of things not done.

Which JP did you all engage? I tried to engage Dr Phua but he is not available. So sad!

karenluva

Hopefully both side of the parents will not make the GDL process too complicating~~

Michelle, i already had my ROM last year NOV and i was lucky to have invited Dr.Phua, he is a bit lo-so BUT he is REALLY funny and nice, my friends all had praises for him and we were glad that he was able to grace our special day too..

I still have something not done yet.. bcos all mine is A-La-Carte.. every single thing have to handle myself.. stress ah..

baby_luv

Karen, now i dunno who to engage for my JP. What have you not done yet? It aint easy to do everything on your own. Did you HTB help you out?

ee09

ssac: so sad u r cancelling it.... was abt to tell u tt i saw on sunday umeya selling jelly beans at $2.20 per 100gsm...

michelle: yes must get HTB to help out.. my HTB just throw everything to me. I just give him my 'homework' then he will approve it or not.. so decided to throw him the montage thingy...

angeldoll: i will be using Parkroyal

angeldoll

thanks elle! i booked parkroyal beach road already.. but it seems like someone died in the swimming pool last sunday!! now im kinda freaking out - should i change venues?

karen: im looking to have my food tasting on 1st week of sep (cos aug cannot do anything as its chinese 7th mth) get it out of the way first!

junio

I am still finding big organza like 12inch of size to put all my favour.. Feel like buying the clothes and sew myself man!

I am throwing stuff like monogram design, song list, song list for the wedding singer to sing.

Angeldoll: How do you know someone just died?

ee09

angeldoll: nothing to panic unless u r having poolside dinner/ lunch. If u feel uncomfortable then do change venue...

jun: it is in the paper.

junio

ee09: Oh.. really ah.. sorry never manage to read paper..

I need to jian fei with my measurement for my gown.. sian man..

happylilone

Jun: wow.. 12" really hard to find.. I went gmarket to take a peek and the biggest is 7".. And it's printed organza, so the bags are really nice!

ellevonny

Angeldoll: Hey, are your parents and in-laws ok with it? If you change now will lose deposit right?

I didn't know that someone died there! omg!

junio

Happylilone: I just put 12 inch estimate.. either organza bag, box, paper bag.. SIAN man.. for my wedding favour.. soo difficult.. i have already purchase 300 organza small bag for my pot purri and egg..

i just need a plain ivory colour..

baby_luv

Jun, I was looking at monograms just now. Wanted to design a simple one on my own. Will it be weird if i add in game character to my monograms?

junio

Michelle: Maybe you put the ur name of the character and same goes to his.. put heart shape in between. maybe instead of name just your initial? just my 2 cent worth of suggestion!

Just asked my bf to do save to date card.. he was like why am i adding more stuff to our list!

SIAN MAN.. Man are boring.. hahahahah or maybe i should say.. my bf is boring!!

baby_luv

U mean initial plus the character and a heart shape between? Will go play around with the design after work.

You doing a card for "save the date"? So you mailing it to your friends and relative? I was thinking of doing it in soft copy and email it out.

Agreed! All man are boring. My htb only will help when i ask him to!! Argh

junio

Michelle: yeah.. u can try put like M word below or over it.. see how it turn out..

I wanna do.. maybe email lah.. and print some for the old people.. but then.. my bf say waste money! sian man.. this men are all boring..

i have 3 item for my wedding favour! asking me if i wanna give up some since we cannot find packaging.. hahaa..

sigh... we women are just too perfect.. hahhaa

i went wedding during the weekend.. was abit of a mess..

karenluva

Hi Michelle ~ Actually JP was selected and invited by my BF. He did some of the work.. gotta make the man do some work.. cannot throw everything to us loh...

Hi Angeldoll, actually end og Aug is already no 7th month liao.. My mum also dun want to do the food tasting in 7th month.. but it's only food tasting mah.. haiz.. anyway have not arrange the date with the Hotel~~

Need to DIET.... how ah?? I got no determination and i'm seriously FAT now.. (-_-")

baby_luv

Jun - Wow, you have 3 item for your wedding favour? That's really nice of you. Why was the wedding a mass?

Karen - Any idea who is your JP? I am fat all along, no determination to slim down for wedding either. LOL~

junio

michelle: They invite loads of people and no place to seat.. bride and groom got no place to seat.. one waiter to serve like 50 guest..
no one help to clean up the place after the event. the couple had to do that..

ee09

Karen: i manage to slim down for my photoshoot. i took diet supplement... slim down by 3kg in 3 weeks. Now i cut down on food and sugared drinks...

karenluva

Michelle ~ My JP is Dr.Phua... really nice person..

ee09 ~ what supplement u take? Bcos i planning to have baby next year leh... so am afraid to take any kind of med for dieting now.. ya loh.. i need to drop at least 10 kgs to look decent.. Now i'm a XL standing only at 1.5m.. (Totally look like a ball loh) (-_-")

baby_luv

Karen, you are lucky that you manage to book Dr Phua!! Dr Phua told me that he is not available on the time that i suggested..so sad!!
I am also standing at 1.5m. I just went for a run with my friends yesterdat.

Btw, do you girls have facebook?

angeldoll

morning everyone!

i think my PIL dunno about the stupid death at the hotel yet cos they dun read the english papers, but see how. im going to talk to my co-ordinator first then decide. see how lor.. if i can refund it and find another lcoation i will do so. if not i prob will ask them for a huge discount!!

i also did a save the date card - soft copy de.. will email out to our frens maybe next month or when the guest list is out.. hahaha currently we are both very busy with work and have no time to plan for the wedding!

can check it out here!
1738886.jpg

baby_luv

Angel, that a very romantic save the date picture!! You are sending this save the date out to ask guest to confirm their attendance right?

It's either I send out the "save the date" before 31 July or after 29 Aug cause in between is 7th month.

nearbtb

Wow Angeldoll this is so pro. how do u do it?
nice

i'm glad tat i have mich and karen to accompany me, me too 1.5m range. hee....
yup yup fb sure have haha
add me add me [email protected]

Maybe we can arrange for a work out day once a week if possible? I oso NEED to slim down!!!
have been cutting down on carb but seems like it not working
kao_angry.gif

junio

Damn nice lah Ur save the date..

I am 1.62m n just weigh at my gynae at 64kg.. Damn sad.. Having menses cramp n had stop exercise.

My fb is [email protected]

Add me n inform me that u are from singaporebride!! Heheh.. My trainer said I should jog at least twice a week apart from my other exercise.

ee09

Jun: yes... i m not doing sales here...i just took the shake cos not very comfortable with taking the pills...

angeldoll: if parkroyal gives u discount do let me know.. thanks.