(2011/11) Nov 2011 BTB

Sian man.. Did u guys make any Maid of Honour dress?

Damn expensive when i ask jweanz gown.. wanna charge me like $700! sigh

sian..

I am also sian of looking for wedding favour box..

i am looking for ivory box (14 x 9 x 8 cm) to put my wedding favour stuff..

Anyone can help?

Hey all! hahaha, I was in the BTB Dec2011 then now change date. HAHAHA
Anyway, congrats to all!

anyone got suggestion for venue ah?
I haven't found the place yet. Sian.

I have pax of 350! then on tight budget. Mega sian..

Jun: Ikea! :D

finally done with my first photoshoot.. Thank God for the great weather...

It was quite fun but too many repeated pose..not much candid shots

Ee09: your really lucky..where did you go?? I'm sure your PG showed you the photos taken right? And I'm sure they'll turn out fine..when are you viewing your photos? I'm still waiting for my layout..take about a month for them to do the layout..

Chloe: Saw some of the photos but expected more candid shoots..Can view photos 10 days later but we wanna give the PG more time so requested to view next month instead...

Anyone went overseas? I just came back from Taiwan for my PS about a month ago... just received my photos... but gotta change some layout and ask them to edit my FATS... :P

hey karen, i just came back from tw last month too!! which BS did u sign with?

currently, we are done with the editing and they are doing the layouts already..

Hi Angeldoll, i sign up with Harvard Wedding. Not exactly a very big name around here, but i had quite a nice experience taking my PS with them. =) The photos turn out pretty nice.. but sadly the bride n groom is not exactly model-looking.. LOL

Hey babes,

I am also very stressed recently... So many things undone and PS in a month's time!!! Faints..

My hubby is so sweet, bought me a massage session to unwind and relax. Interestingly, the spa is having this promo for SG brides forum members like us! Additional 30% discount off the 75min massage, so all in all, my hubby only paid $40+.

Take a look at their website if you girls are interested: www.supremeqxspa.com.sg/index.htm

Hi Vernice.. what else is not done yet for your wedding? Still have about 5 months to go.. so still have time bah.. Relax..PS is a really fun process.. enjoy..

p/s: ur hubby is so weet..

Post Wedding Sales:
1) La Cabane De Vignes Bordeaux Red Wine
Product of France
- 10 bottles
- $18.99 per bottle

2) Hardy Shiraz
- 1 bottle
- $16.99 per bottle

3) Hardy Melot
- 1 bottle
- $16.99 per bottle

4) Prosecco Veneto Itarian Champagne
- 9 bottles
- $11.99 per bottle

If you buy all, further discount is available.

Interested, please kindly email to [email protected].

Hey Karen,

My list for now:

1. Need to search for JM dresses for my gang. Still considering if we should tailor-make them or buy OTR. Any rec?
2. SDJ, this one got to go shop with my MIL.
3. Reno for my new place (BIG HEADACHAE!)
4. Guest list to confirm no. of banquet tables
5. Things that i have missed out for now!

Hey ee09,

yah, i am enjoying the process, guess it's just human nature - easily gan jiong. *hee*

i just came back from my second pre wedding shoot... 13.5hrs in total... 8 outfit change in total.. very tired. Kudos to the PG who is very patience and making sure everything is done well..

Hi Vernice,

Hey Karen,

My list for now:

1. Need to search for JM dresses for my gang. Still considering if we should tailor-make them or buy OTR. Any rec?

I only set a simple theme for my Jie-Mei (Simple as in clothes they're able to find from their cupboard)(like white dress).. bcos they dun really like to be in the look-a-like dress.. (But i thought it would be really neat and fun and of cos turn out really nice in photos). But of cos i told them that if they dun have the piece they're looking for, then i'll top up for them to buy. But gottat stick to budget loh~~

2. SDJ, this one got to go shop with my MIL.
I actually went buying SDJ with hubby instead, just asked for the "budget" from my Father-in-law. Then stick to it loh. Gold are SOOoo expensive nowaday~~ (-_-")

3. Reno for my new place (BIG HEADACHAE!)
You got your falt already?? Congrats.. i'm still waiting.. either later of the year or early next year. It's better to get the flat earlier.. otherwise, will have headache like me now.. dunno where to stay after wedding.. Haiz~

4. Guest list to confirm no. of banquet tables
Gotta sit down with your hubby to confirm your friends, then ask both of your parents on the number of table.. it will never be an 100% accurate.. estimate loh..

5. Things that i have missed out for now!

It seems like you have much covered~~

hey karen,

im also waiting for my flat, whcih will noly be ready in like 3 yrs time. so till then we will be staying at his parents place, and will be renovating his room. heng is that he is already staying in the master bedroom so it's not too bad.
also, cos his dad sells paint, so i suppsoe we can decorate the room in any way we fancy!

any of u girls need paint can consider getting from him, will ask him to give a huge discount!

for the JM dresses, my bridal studio will be providing, so we will only choose them in sep (that's when i will select my AD gowns too)

think the next things i will do is to confirm the JM and borthers and ahev the first meeting, and maybe start to personalise certain things for the wedding, then in jul we will have the parents meeting and will buy the GDL then.

oh ya.. my mum said that in aug (lunar 7th mth) we are not allowed to do anything for the wedding, cannot buy, cannot shop, cannot discuss. maybe we can all take a short break from the wedding prep then!

It seem like we have a lot of things to handle and date are getting nearer and nearer...excited and also tired...

Btw you all have any ideas 'Jie mei' dresses do I need to sponsor or they can buy themselves??

Hee =D

hey karen,

im also waiting for my flat, whcih will noly be ready in like 3 yrs time. so till then we will be staying at his parents place, and will be renovating his room. heng is that he is already staying in the master bedroom so it's not too bad.
also, cos his dad sells paint, so i suppsoe we can decorate the room in any way we fancy!

any of u girls need paint can consider getting from him, will ask him to give a huge discount!

for the JM dresses, my bridal studio will be providing, so we will only choose them in sep (that's when i will select my AD gowns too)

think the next things i will do is to confirm the JM and borthers and ahev the first meeting, and maybe start to personalise certain things for the wedding, then in jul we will have the parents meeting and will buy the GDL then.

oh ya.. my mum said that in aug (lunar 7th mth) we are not allowed to do anything for the wedding, cannot buy, cannot shop, cannot discuss. maybe we can all take a short break from the wedding prep then!

Hi sherly~ For the JM dress portion, i think it will be really nice if you can sponsor your JM their dresses (especially if u want them to wear similar colors/design etc) But if really no budget, then gotta discuss with them~~

Hi Angeldoll~ Thanks for the offer on the paint.. hee hee note taken on that.. =) And, i don't really wanna stay with my BF's parents also bcos it is really way too far to come to work form his parents' place
and also to avoid any unnecessary conflicts~~ i didn't know that we're not suppose to be doing anything during 7th month.. cannot even discuss and shop? Wah.. that's gonna cut our time by a month.. Don't think i can afford to do that~~~

Hi Karen,
we have decided to stay at our own hse till our flat is ready, of cos that is onli betwn my htb and me yet to discuss will mil. but hope she will agree to it since we will not be living wif her in the future anyway.

Angledoll
For my jiemies i'll be paying for their dresses cos i wan to choose the color n style. so have to pay for tat but seems like they r asking for more, which i'm afraid that will start to spoilt our frenship. haiz...

Btb~ same same as you... i kind of agree with my hubby that we will stay seperately until the house is ready for us to move in.. but have not disucss with our parenst about it.. my parents should be fine with the idea..

Can i know other than dresses, what else are ur Jie-Meis asking for?

karen, actually onli one of them lar, cos i have make it clear on the very start got dress no make up then now she ask me on the side can get make up for her a not, so i oso not very comfortable. As i do plan that on my hen nite(if it happens) i will pay for the hotel stay so already tight on budget.
did told her frankly on my conditions, hope she will not feel like i'm very strigy lor. anyway its her 1st time to be jie mei so i dun blame her oso lor, just hope everything will get better bah.
kao_babydust.gif

R.Tan~~ You have not ocnfirm a place for your banquet yet?? Better act fast.. only left 5 months to go.. write email to Hotels/Resturant and ask if they're available for your date..

Hi pinkbinzz.. i still have found a place to do the 喜饼... i heard many ppl mentioning Chinatown.. but have not got a chance to go Chintown yet~~

btb: there is a deal on shiok deal that is selling makeup + hairstyle for only $20.. if u are tight on bugdet can consider buying that then ask them to go themselves. as for dresses, can get from blogshops ba... about $30 each?

karen: my mil and fil kinda insisted that i move in with them after marriage, until my house is ready. cos of face value lor, they dun let my bf move in with me even though my house gt more space for it will seem like my bf marry into my familt instead. sigh.. hopefully no conflicts man! we starting to have a few differences le.. like they insist that they pay for the banquet, and keep all the ang baos. but i want to keep the ang baos lei! cos we have other expenses too, and the ang bao is the only way to cover..

see hoe la..

angeldoll, thanks for the info but it is make up lesson, i cannot find the deal that you r toking abt.

anyway so far she have not bring it up again so i just take it as settled bah.

anyway ur htb is occupying the mbr rite so its not tat bad, cos mine is not tats y i dun wanna move into his hse, haha.
Wah!!! ur pil very goood to wanna pay ur dinner. if mine were to do tat i'll be over the moon, haha then we can go honeymoon with the money we have saved.
Out of curiousity wat other expenses can be more then dinner? moreover i dun expect my dinner to be covered by ang baos nowadays most ppl dun make profits out of dinner.

It's just another five months!!

Any of you doing your own montage? Was thinking of trying to fix something out on my own first, but will rely on my VG if unsuccessful. Any ideas to share on this?

Probably those with tight budget and talk to their JM to share half of the cost of the dress. For my case, my JM share the cost with me.

Michelle: wow u vy daring.. i wanna but dun know how to do...

All of your JM very good... I paid for everything for my JM- their gowns n also makeup...

As for the xiong dis- will be getting them their ties... shirt wise we will pay if they dun hav...

i don't understand why JM or BM take advantage of the couple because it is a wedding.. set soo many criteria.. for the couple to get married is not cheap either! All these are just adding more cost to the couple.

Some people even tell me that BM cannot give ang bao or gift to the couple as it will bring bad luck!

weird logic

Jun: not take advantage bah... cos i paid for them out of my own will. It is the way to say thanks n apprec their effect and time.

For me cos of the bad experience tt i had before. Was a JM for my fren back then, had just came out to work n my prev take home pay is like peanut. She said she will pay for the dress which is less than $50 since she wanna the colour which i dun have. Also said will pay for our tpt. Then said aft her dinner she will treat us to dinner since she had an extra table.

Sorry all these NEVER happen and the entire day I only receive $12.80 (gatecrash) and $10 hongbao from her mum... above that i still have to give her hongbao for the banquet, not forgetting the $$ spend on accessories, dress n tpt.

Most of the time church frens will get my fiance to be xiong di as we are the fews to hav car or borrow our car. The hongbao given is not worth cos cant even cover the petrol or car wash.

So i guess it is a give n take situation.

We as brides to give wat we can, BM on the other side will have to take. If you wanna give better thing to you BM then cut down on your nos of BM.

It is also vy tiring for BM to wake up early in the morning, take care of your needs, holding your gown's tail, it is a whole day event.. very tiring too.

ee09: yes you want to do that is fine. I am talking about those JM put price on it and demands..

Shouldn't you be happy that your good friend is getting married!

It is not my culture to give money.. to me money does not mean anything.. So i am getting gift for each of them and they can keep it and use it which is more meaningful.

That tiring stuff will be MOH (Maid of Honour)..

Some BM i heard expect like $100 for the gate crashing..

this is a joyful occasion not like a money making session. This is not how friendship is like..

So better don't promise that you cannot do for the BM..

I remember my cousin wedding (not chinese), they play like gate crashing stuff.. i feel bad taking the money from the groom.. i put them back in the ang bao.. i know wedding is not cheap..

Hi all, nice reading so many posts today. =)

How are all your preps?

I wana check with you girls if you paid extra for your MUA to give you a new look before changing into KUA and before second march in?

I was quite disappointed with not being able to fulfil my ideal of giving away jelly beans as favours cos it would be too costly. Per bottle with jelly beans before personalised stickers costs abt $2.50 and that is too much to bear so will probably have to scrape that idea.

Recently some brides show videos on how they met, how the proposal was carried out etc. What ideas do u have? Hubby suggests drawing the scenes out and colouring them then taking a video with someone 'flipping the pages'. Budget constrain again.

Hi SSAC

Yes i would have to pay extra if i want my MUA to stay for second look..

Yeah something is just too costly..
actually $2.50 is still ok.. i think my favour is gonna be like $6 each at least..

i am sourcing for packaging for my wedding favour! damn ex lah for the packaging.. delfi orchard wanna charge me $5 for a PAPER BAG!

Hi SSAC,

It's additional cost for a second make-up. I probably wont be doing that, think its not necessary, but of course if you have more budget, probably you can spend on that.

Does your hotel give wedding favours? Your cost will be so much higher if you personalised your wedding favour.

I think your Hubby's idea is good, so you doing it yourself or getting someone to do it?

Me and hubby know through online game so was thinking of adding our game character into the montage..haha

jun: if u are looking to buy paper bags, u can check out this shop - its actually more like a warehouse.. at 33 ubi ave 3. the building name is called vertex, tower A unit number 05-48 (i think)

that time my boss sent me there just to buy paper bags for an odd size book - per piece is only about $2+. i remember seeing that they have small bags too, in different sizes, very suitable for putting favours.. but they should only be opened on office hours..

maybe u can google for their number (i forgot!) and ask them more?

I have a MUA from the BS but not quite sure she's the one. i'm thinking of engaging my own MUA, but it'll be additional $1k since I already paid for BS package, and they will obviously not refund the makeup part. Do you guys use your own MUA or from bridal package?

wow, you ladies are pretty fast.
I have just settle the gown design only, photoshoot and all... yet to do any.

I'm engaging my own MUA and Hairstylist. Afterall, who doesn't wanna look their best on their wedding day?

wow inmydream u reli spluge on ur wedding, to me for my ad i'll use watever is provided, if need to top up then i'll not take it. as we have spend too much on the ps and rom so have to save on ad.
otherwise cannot go honeymoon. haha