(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

jawslyn

I manage to negotiate with my BS to throw in free rental of mothers gown, fathers suit was alrdy in the package
as for brothers suit or sisters dress they are welcome to what wat they want.. Just tat sisters dress i request for same colour.. Like that no need fork out extra..
and my sisters quite nice they say they will MTM themselves no need me to pay cos they know wedding alrdy cost a lot..

michi

Lee, glad that u've settled ur banquet and BS

I've done a smart thing haha :p..i asked my parent & in-law if they need gown & suit from BS before i sign my package. So i request my BS to include 2 suits, my mil will buy the gown hereslf since she is slim while my aunt who is a tailor will design a gown for my chubby mum..for free (i think) hehe.

Doragal, i've a template with all the cost i need to spend..estimated about $16k excluding wedding songs band, banquet loss & honeymoon. Think i've burst the budget too haha. But its a once in a life time event, i dun wish to reget after that =D

joos

Jawslyn! You have lovely sisters!! 2 of my sisters told me my budget is too low n asked me to budget more
wedding really cost a lot. Btw, which bs u went to?

jawslyn

Hi Joos, my BS is SB(seletar broadw, apparently sgbride dun allow me to spell the full name here,haha). First bs we sat down during bows n we being psycho-ed to sign due to the attractive perks.. Haha. Yeapss.. Really thankful that my sisters are understanding! And i have 6 of them.. Hee.

lyn_sg

Joo: Yes, you will need to top up $2k for local shoot for Chris Ling. But I am not doing the local shoot. I have converted it to an overseas shoot in Perth as I am studying there. I will be back in Jan after my school holidays and will not come back till a month before the wedding. So have to take photos overseas. Besides, I think the scenery will be better there. You want to go together in April?

The gowns at Le Grand are more unique. They have their strengths and weaknesses so it depends on what you want. If you want to discuss more, we can do it over email or PM me.

The BS package and PG cost a bomb but I will cut down on actual day PG and maybe VG.

I choose MM cause they gave very good perks.I don't think i need to pay anything else on top of the table cost besides the alcohol that i bring in. The only negative is the low ceiling but i guess there's no perfect place. Initially I wanted Swiss MC but the perks offered to me are not as good.

Michelle: What does your budget include? I am looking at mine but not sure if i missed out anything.

lyn_sg

Oh I made another progression today. Bought my si dian jing.

Now I am left with signing hotel package and choosing AD PG and/or VG.

Do you gals have any progress to share? How's your preparation to date?

cavs

Hi Lee, did u have to fix appt w le grand when u went down n did they let u try on the gowns? I've shortlisted le grand n is planning to make a trip down too. What's your email addy? Maybe it's better to discuss over email.. Or r u in our fb grp?
u r progressing v fast btw.. Good!!

michi

My budget includes everything & cost that i need to spend from my pre-wedding shoot to AD but excluding ROM stuff like wedding band, JP. My cost list also includes: tailor, car rental, mua, guo da li, theme decor & diy, reception decor & candy buffet, emcee+planner, ang bao for helpers, dress/shirt & corsages for jiemei/xiong di, lunch buffet, accessories & shoe, pedi & medi, card insert & new bed :D

Lee, are u paying for the si dian jin or is ur fmil buying it for u?

I think most of the btb here have confirmed their banquet, BS, PG & VG..some of us are now planning for our pre-wedding shoot early next yr..so excited =D

Ladies, we've actually have a FB group to share photos, links etc. If anyone is interested to join us, can leave/PM me ur email. So i can add u as friend then invite u to the group

michi

Cavs, i think Lee is not in our FB group yet
Btw, how's ur BS shopping today? Which BS do u like best so far... :D

lyn_sg

Cavs: Nope, i just walk in since it is a weekday and at most 1 other couple in most shops. i just went BS hopping on Tanjong Pagar Rd.

Yes, I tried 4 gowns (all from their super ex lux series but they do have standard gowns too). Tried gowns in other BS too except Labelle cause they do not allow trying till you sign.

Can you PM me then i will send you my email?

lyn_sg

Michelle: wow you really have everything in your budget. My one is not long enough and already so high cost sigh.

Si dian jin is paid by my MIL. A little stressful cause FIL departed this world few years back and I dont want my MIL to spend so much. But no idea on her budget. She just asked me to choose what i like and dont worry about the cost. I just tried to choose something i like and hope that it is not too much.

So good that all of you have most big items done. I still need to work harder haha.

My pre-wed shoot will be in April next year. Studio will be in Aug.

michi

Lee, everyone has different expection & preference while working within their own budget. I still need to set another budget for my flat which may be ready by nxt yr end. My BS is in jb & i'll be getting some stuffs from there which can save me $1-2k in total

Haha can see that u're spending more on PS since u're doing in overseas. I've shared a link for guo da li on previous pg. Jia you for ur preparation, do check with us if u need any advice/info..can add us on FB :D

lyn_sg

Michelle: It's good that you have time to go JB to source for the things that you need. I have to settle everything this December before i fly back for sch. So everything need to be chop chop.

I cant find your link. Can you post again?

ok thanks.

christina_grace

Gosh ..actually my HTB is the one monitoring the budget - i just come up with ideas on what to do then he approve!

Otherwise i think we are looking at around 20k for the AD (not including the banquet)

But my PG i exceeded my budget alr

pocarisweat

For my case, it is the opposite. My htb wanna spend for the wedding but I am the more practical one. The only time I let him has his way was the choosing of the VG as he really loved their works and it is our most expensive vendor (besides the banquet) to-date.

Michi: I haven't been to JB but am interested to go there n explore ... will hv to ask u for directions! heehee ... thanks in advance!

dreamwithgoal

Dear Oct BTB! I need some urgent advise...very stress out now...sobz... my table has increased alot and thus i'm thinking to do lunch cum wedding dinner. But its super packed as i'm having tea ceremony, solemnisation cum religion ceremony on the same day.

I have only 2 breaks which is less than an hour each on that day after coming up with my schedule. As i like the date me and htb has choosen and its meaningful for us, thus quite reluctant to change date and venue.

What should i do??? Any advise will be appreciated.

pocarisweat

dream: first of all, u need to check with ur venue whether anyone book for for the other half of the day. If it is booked, then you don't hv much choice but to either cut ur tables or change anor venue bah ..

pocarisweat

dream: if you really wanna do on the same day, btr keep at the same location. You don't want to move your stuff across two venues. Easier since you already set up your photos and reception table during lunch and can save on transportation costs. Maybe can ask for more perks since you are booking the venue for the whole day!

dun stress!

michi

Liz, i've sent u the template.

Hehe, i'm the 1 doing all the planning & monitoring the budget & hubby will be the approval, he is actually more particular than me. After including the wine and entertainment...my budget is coming to $20K too

I've believe there will be 1 or 2 item that most of us will splurge on..for me, will be animation montage & entertainment

Christina & Vivi, as long as both u & htb likes the work of ur PG/VG..u pay for what u get hehe, the end result & satisfaction is more important :D

Amy, i didn include the banquet deposit, since i may be getting it back from the ang bao.

Dreamwithgoal, i agree with Vivi
Religion ceremony..do u mean church ceremony?

dreamwithgoal

Hi vivi, tks for your advise! i didn't take into the consideration of moving my stuffs to two venues. u've enlightened me!

michelle, nope mine is a buddhist ceremony.

michi

Dreamwithgoal, btw when is ur AD and which venue are u considering? Buddhist ceremony, sound interesting...can u share more on that? I'm also a buddhism but already ROM last yr. Ur solemnisation will be held in a temple or 'fou tang'?

dreamwithgoal

Hi Michelle, my AD is on 1st Oct @ Peach Garden OCBC Centre. It will be held at Singapore Soka Association centre at Tampines. Not sure if you have heard of Soka.

michi

Dreamwithgoal, hehe ic...sound kind of special
Looks like u've a very tigh schedule. Are u doing tea ceremony at hm or at the restaurant & what time is ur solemnisation? Alternatively, u may consider to move ur dinner to Miramar Peach Garden which can hold up to 40+ tables? As holding 2 banquet can be very rush, tiring & incurring unnecessary cost..ur helpers & sisters will need to run 2 reception, 2 times emcee, u need to change ur gowns double time, usually lunch wedding can drag till 3plus, then before 6pm u need to look fresh & get ready for the dinner. And wedding lunch don't come cheap, ang bao can also be lesser.

Vivi, if u need any advice or direction for jb can always ask me...though actually i'm not very pro la :D

lyn_sg

Dear all, any good AD PG or VG to share?

Vivi: Emailed you information on le grand already.

Cavs: Yet to hear from you.

joos

Maybe!! Haha cuz I dun c it when u logged in just now. Chk again later. Thanks!! Anyone has comments on the aisle bridal?

kittydora

Now i know why my total wedding budget is 34k. i was so shocked to hear this figure until i see how he budget. my cute htb budget banquet loss $10k. *faint* i doubt anyone actually budget loss figures as big as his.

pocarisweat

I checked with my frds who got married. < 10k loss is the norm. So have also budgeted for that. *Fingers crossed won't be that drastic*

htb never give me any budget .. but I try not to go overboard with my wants and needs. . as utimately, his money is my money .. and my money is mine. . hahaha

queenie82

Dora: depending actually... my fren had 58 tables at mandarin orchard.. her banquet loss is 20k...

Joos: my fren took aisle and i have to say that her MTM gown are fabulous~~

dreamwithgoal: that's a tight schedule you have there... try to hold at the same place if possible~ save some time shifting pple around also..

^5 Michi, i do all the budgeting and research.. hubz juz do the nodding and shaking heads~ lucky life he has~~~~ splurging on taiwan photoshoot so the rest is on budget~ i think my budget is about 40k exclusive of angpows collected~~ My budget spreadsheet includes everything related to wedding, like rings, banquet, wine, angpows, misc costs...

kittydora

Queen: we budget loss for max 16 tables n it's 10k. Very exaggerating figures leh. He so pessimistic. I think these days pple do give $100 or $120

queenie82

dora: LOL~ ur hubz so cute la.. 16 tables loss is exaggerating la~~ my collic told me usually can budget about 20-30% loss for banquet~

confusex

Lee : can try http://www.ashleymak.com/
150 per hr

Yesterday jus check the price with travel agency for travelling to Taiwan in Apr 1231 for hotel n airtickets ( china airline &amp; 8 nights in Wonstar hotel) haiz budget jetstar difference is 600 plus .. Should take budget to save the 600 on other or jus take the china airline? HTB kinda resist the idea of budget airline...

queenie82

Amy: 600 is alot of difference~ i also going to taiwan in april~ my air tix for 2 is 1300 (650/pax) flying Jetstar SIN/TPE, then Cathay TPE/HKG and back to SG~ coz i going to hkg to take a look at the kuas~~ i'm quite fine with budget actually~ except for the lack of leg space for 4 hrs~

michi

Lee, what is ur budget for PG &amp; VG?

Doragal, hehe ur hubby is cute..may be doesn't want u to burst his pocket, that's why set such a huge 'loss' figure to scare u lol

I only budget a $8k banquet loss for 40 tables, since mine is less than $1k for each table hehe.

Amy, for me i'll rather travel by jetstar &amp; use the $600 to cover for other expenses. Unless u're paying more for SQ, china air...don't think it's worth