(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

altiora

anyone else is a BTB in Oct 2011? We have just settled on the date today and I am quite excited. Looking for venues for abt 20-25 tables... heh.

michi

Hi altiora, I also a BTB for Oct 201l. I'm in the mid of sourcing the venues for my Banquet. What is the budget range u looking at?

altiora

Hi michelle!

My fiance is thinking of $1000-$1100 per table, below $1200. I am also sourcing out banquet venue too! Just started only.. nothing is done yet for the rest - bridal package/photoshoot etc all not done.

michi

Altiora, u might need to take note on the minimum no. of tables, as some venues need at least 30 - 35 tables.
U can consider Novotal & Orchard Hotel. There is a Wedding Show on 28 Mar 10 @ Orchard Hotel.
Perhaps u can start to look around for BS but I think to confirm the Banquet is more important. I've not signed my BS yet but I already have my best option in mind

sept_09_bride

Hey gals.. me too hving my customary wedding in either Oct / Nov 2011.. hvnt got a fixed date yet.. heard tat 'tong shu' for 2011 is nt out yet.. hw u gals manage to source for a date??

me interested in Novotel Clarke Quay too... bt w/o fixed date, abit diff to book hotel leh...

btw we hv signed a pre-wedding phtotshoot in taiwan..hehe.. bt rite after we signed the package, my sis and her hubby gave us a BS package without us knowing.. so nw, we are hving 2 packages..

u all interested?? i can let go at a cheaper price for my full bridal package with Yvonne's Creative.. my package cost $3088.. with 32 pics, either WG or EG MTM.. ive paid $1088 deposit.. if u gals interested, im willing to let go at a discount from the deposit ive paid.. i can let it go at $800... interested, I can provide mre details...

michi

Hi CH, i've got my date from Geomancer, Master David Tong. U can find his info at the 'Advice by the Experts' thread.

Thanks but I intend to sign up with SG Bridal House @ JB, so far this is the only BS that really catch my eyes. Perhaps u can try to post this on the 'Bridal Boutiques' thread to see if anyone is interested.

altiora

Haha hey I got mine from David too. He used mine and my fiance's bazi to calculate the dates.
I have not done any home work on BS yet, now looking at hotel. My fiance is keen on M hotel or Goodwood Park, so we are doing research on them now.

I haven decide on a BS yet.. haven start doing any homework heh.

michi

M Hotel is my first choice but I'll need around 40 tables, so have to look for bigger venues. I'm currently considering between Amara and OCC. M Hotel is good, their Banquet Suite is around $828++, its within ur budget so can consider.

sept_09_bride

think M hotel alittle exp for us.. and think is too small for us too..coz we will b hving ard 38 tables.. sop sop.. many hotels also cannot accomodate tat..

altiora>> u hv the price for goodwood park?? care to share??

My 1st choice is Novotel.. bt scare cant get.. so must get at least a few mre juz in case..hehe.. :p

altiora

CH, goodwood park is going to be more ex.. abt 1.1k to 1.2k i think, but my fiance is quite keen on it as he has attended a wedding there and find it's good.

michi

CH, u can consider Amara Hotel. The choices are quite limited if u are looking for hotel that can hold 38 tables & less then $900..which is same as my situation. I only managed to find Amara that fits my bill so far.

sept_09_bride

Hi Michelle, u hv any pics on amara hotel??hw's the ballroom?? Actually we hv another headache at this moment nw.. coz my FIL to be says gota wait till tong shu to come out hten we can book a date for wedding.. tong shu for nxt yr will only b out in jul.. scare by then, no much hotels left for us to choose liao..sop sop..

sept_09_bride

Hi Michelle, so u hv been to Amara b4?? is the plc v ulu?? bt price wise and menu wise is reasonable lor.. menu still got prawns and fish lor.. and wkend dinner package for nxt $798nett lor.. within my budget.. will consider tat..hehe.. :p

liuoulingz

I was just told that M hotel got a coming workshop 18 april. I think I would be going although I still considering other hotels.
Anyone going too?

michi

CH, ya but I'll be going down again this Friday, might be signing up. It's just 5 mins walk from Tanjong Pagar mrt exit A, location is not bad. This $798nett is their promotion rate if we sign up this year for the 2011 package, for a 4 star hotel the rate is consider good

sept_09_bride

Hi Michelle, yah i knw where's Amara.. pass by there when i went to the bridal shops.. hehe.. bt nv go inside the hotel b4.. yes, the price is even below $800 for wkends... is really good buy lor.. haiz.. bt too bad lor.. gota wait for my FIL to choose the date.. nw no dates.. hw to block book...haiz..

any idea hw much deposit nid to pay when we book.. for amara hotel..

sept_09_bride

Hey Michelle, thanks.. mayb u can help me double check the price for wkends and wkdays for last quarter of 2011.. and if u dun hv a fixed date yet, can i still book fm them.. wat perks do they hv.. eg, free 1 bottle of house wine per cmf table.. free flow of beer.. etc.. hehe.. :p

michi

CH, base on the current promo, rate for 2011: mon - thu is $688+$30, fri - sun is $768+$30.
1 bottle of house wine per table, 1 barrel of 20 litre beer. I can help to double check, if there will be any changes to this promo package & if u can book with them first. But what if u book first without secure a date, later end of the year all the dates that u want are taken...

michi

Ou Ling, do u know if we have to pay for this workshop..or its free? May be u can sign up with M hotel during the workshop

michi

CH, I'll be signing up with Amara Singapore. I've checked for u, they do not allowed couples to signed up with an open date so a confirmed date is required. For this promo package I can either choose 1 bottle of house wine per table, 1 barrel of 20 litre beer or free flow of beer from 7-11pm and waiver of corkage charge for all wine brought (means no free wine).

liuoulingz

hi Michelle,
I think it is free entrance. Ya if they got perks on the day, then most likely I can confirm on the day with hotel.

sept_09_bride

Thanks for the info.. i went to take a look at the hotel, ballroom and the swimming pool of amara hotel yest.. i love the hotel and the ballroom.. is lovely.. v nice.. i fall in love with it.. so hv u signed the package?? hw much deposit you gota pay?? when's ur AD?? u got take a look at the bridal suite?? So the amt per table for wkends is still $798 correct? scare will missed out this price.. consider a super good buy for yr 2011 in hotels for wkend liao.. dun 1 to miss this chance..hehe. :p

Im getting Master Tong to help me choose my AD.. after he's done, i will go dwn to amara to pay deposit liao..hehe..cant wait to book a date..hehe.. :p

sorry for asking so much question..so excited..hehe. .:p

michi

Hi CH, I've informed Anges that I'm going to sign up & she has blocked the date for me, mine is on 8 OCt 2011. The deposit will be $3k, I didn managed to see the bridal suite as Anges said its acutally their Executive Suite Room. Yup, its $798nett for next year. U are welcome

sept_09_bride

Hi Michelle, so u r 1 of them who block booked Oct / Nov 2011.. Agnes Asst, call me and told me as of nw, there's 2 couples cmf for Oct/Nov, and 5 couples block book liao..

u block book means u paid the deposit already?? hey ur 8 Oct is a fri nite leh.. so izit cheaper??

Heard that there's no free food tasting izit.. wat are the perks u manage to get??

michi

Hi CH, u mean 5 block book & 2 confirmed, that's fast. may be I'm among the 2 couples that confirmed. Anges called me this noon, she said will treat mine as confirmed, I'll be meeting her this wkend to sign contract & make the deposit. ^.^

For Anges, she didn check the date we want before meeting up. I wanted to confirm on the spot but she said will have to check the system then get back to us. So she block book the date for us, it can hold for 7 days for us to revert, Otherwise the date will be released.

thesepthia

Hey, I am also a BTB in oct 2011 looking at 12-15 tables , not looking at either M hotel or Amara,

too near my office for comfort, although M hotel is also my corporate travel hotel. just wan to get a little away from office ,

I have the quotes for some of the other 4 star hotels, can email u guys if required

hhahaha

joyle_t

thesepthia>> u still looking for AD venue? for 12-15 tables, i recommend Trader's Hotel (Temasek Room). very cosy, private reception area is as long as the ballroom. ballrm is long and all tables are along the aisle. really nice.. my friend had 17 tables, still got some space at the back, so max for Temasek rm is abt 20? Food's good too, considering Trader's also under Shangri-la, i think the food is better than Shang's.

apparently, the recept for Temasek is more exclusive than the main ballrm. there's a wedding show coming up for Trader's?

sept_09_bride

hi hi.. juz got a few nice dates tat suit us frm master tong today... guess wat.. Amara hotel really kinda hot.. ive enquired 3 dates or rather shortlisted 3 dates fm the list master tong gave me.. and all 3 dates taken up in Amara liao.. Michelle, urs fall on 8 Oct or 30 Oct?? and the nice date (20/11/2011) already booked too.. haiz.. too bad..

then i selected and kinda block book 4 dates in Nov..haha.. :p
will cmf with her real soon after my hubby get her mum to cmf lor..

michi

Hi CH, mine is on 8 Oct, date also given by Master Tong. Hope u can confirm ur date with Amara soon

thesepthia

Well , venue wise have some in mind, just waiting for the Future HB to confirm .

I already source everything , wait for him to decide, besides i doing ala carte, not taking bridal package

sept_09_bride

hi hi.. michelle.. so qiao.. we both hv same date selected by Master Tong..

Thesepthia, me too waiting for my HTB to confirm the date.. hv date in mind too.. hehe.. :p

guys usually find us abit too gan cheong.. while they like to take their own swt time to choose..hehe. :p

michi

CH, hehe ya so qiao but that means u can't take this date if u are really signing with Amara ^.^
So which date are u looking at?

thesepthia

really hate it , when the MEN think we are too gan chiong , but most of the good dates area already taken up , then they will tell u bo bian loh. But in the first place , if the MEN dun dilly dally , we prob will already got the date we want

sept_09_bride

haha.. totally agree with thesepthia.. finally my htb agree on 1 date liao..haha.. we gng dwn to meet our co-ordinator in amara only nxt wed..coz she's fully book liao.. only nxt wed then she got slot to mit us..

so better nt review our wedding date till we cmf lah..hehe.. scare gana taken lah..hehe.. :p

many ppl nw eyeing at amara too..hehe.. :p

thesepthia

i think the other problem is the housing , I jus gt my BTO results , is a depressing q number 10x away from the number of units. with no housing , how to get married leh

sept_09_bride

Dun wori.. i got my BTO last yr too.. and my q no is also out of the no of flats allocated.. my q no was 9 out.. dun wori, within the 1st day.. im already in the q.. ard 9 ppl drop out fm selecting during the 1st day.. and everyday, there will b ppl dropping.. monitor closely in hdb webby when the 1st day of selection begin..

v hactic and exciting phase..haha.. im always constantly monitoring tat time.. fm day 1 till the day i select.. v gan cheong..end up, we still manage to get 7th storey despite our no..

so dun wori, u will get it 1.. where u choose ur BTO??

thesepthia

i choose choa chu kang limbang green haha, your is our 9 mine is worst, 160+ units, my number is 1047

hahahaha , somemore first timer plus near parents

sept_09_bride

Oic.. paiseh paiseh.. i thought urs juz 10 q no away... a habit to see 10X as no 10... haha..coz my stupid co system is like tat.. see 10X as No10.. stupid 1..haha.. :p

nvm, nt to wori too much.. juz quickly select another BTO lor.. or juz get a resale lor.. dun wori..

things will fall in place slowly and surely 1.. im also v wori abt alot of things in our wedding plan..$$ is a issue too.. bt slowly and surely, everyting will fall nicely in place.. n thru this forum, i manage to get many cheap and good stuff..