(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

lyn_sg

dora: I think most people will try to cover the cost of the table but $200 each is way too much for guest.

By the way, can you share with me on your BS package?

sherlynliang

Hmm just to share, it's very difficult to 'gauge' or even foresee how much angbao guests are giving and to calculate the turnover.

What I do is keep the cost per table to a reasonable and affordable rate. Mine's around 800++ per table of 10. Cos mine's max 12 tables.

Then, scrimp your bucks with those smaller stuffs. Say wedding car, customisations (i.e. favors, invitations, florals, corsages, angbao box), GDL items, etc. Some stuffs are just for that few minutes, like GDL items. How many photos will you have with it inside? Favors to angbao box all these are small little stuffs which adds up to alot.

This method is for BTBs who are on tight budget, like me. No need for extravaganza or anything luxurious, then heed this method. This way, you say A LOT of other nitty-gritty stuffs which in turn REALLY help to cover the banquet reception. Tested and proven by my acquaintances.

My POV is always, 'feel' is the most important. No money den don't need dream too big. Keep everything cozy and humble, guests will feel your sincerity too.

kittydora

helovesmi ilovehim: dun need to worry too much. wedding is a celebration event. how much pple wanna give we cant stop or demand. if u save more then it's ok. I have 2 tables of muslim frens n i know their culture n they will bring along their family members to support me. so i just got to save enough to make it up cos past experience from others inviting them is tat they will give $20~$50. then follow what Sherlyn said, i think we shld do pretty ok with the finances. cos usually we look at big items n nv look at small items that can save $ too.

lyn_sg

Sherlyn: Thanks for sharing. I think it is important to keep to budget too.

dora: thanks for the details in the email.

pocarisweat

I second Sherlyn .. just go with the 'feel' and most importantly keep within budget . no point stressing over money matters .. wedding shld be a happy event!

queenie82

对对…开心最é‡è¦ï¼

I feel that wedding is just one day, wat's more important is the marriage.... no point stretching your budget for just tat day and in future, u might quarrel for $$ matters~ prioritise, give and take is essential point that i constantly remind myself~~ before making a purchase i alwiz ask if it is a must have or good to have~ and of course, how will it affect the budget that i've already set aside~~ tedious process i admit, but still have to do it~~~ even normal shopping now i have to think twice so that it does not affect the wedding budget~~

BTBs, I'm intending to get JP to solemnize in Chinese. Any recommendations?

pocarisweat

doragal: think if your colleague can afford to host at st regis, i don't think she cares much abt the angpow ..lol .. my colleague host hers at capella, i gave $300 angpow for 1 pax.. thot more than enought but after the dinner, she told us her table cost nearly 4k as she top up alot for better menu, wine. & champagne...

michi

Agree ~~ go with the feel while keeping it within our budget

Now that i'm not working & yet to spend on my medication. Really thinking of ways & sourcing for best yet cheaper vendors. Currently preparing for pre-wedding shoot in Jan...even medicure, hair colouring can cost quite afew hundreds, so the best is to do everything myself -DIY =D

My JP was Alex Tan, he spoke mandarin during my solemnisation. He is a friendly, cheerful & funny guy, highly recommended! Queen, if u're keen to know more..do PM me k..as i've mentioned & posted his contact here before already.

michi

Ladies, few ques to ask about your banquet:

Did u choose 8 course or 9 course dinner?
Does ur package includes wine? If NO or only 1 btl of wine per table...will you be getting more wines or other liquor?

I've not confirm the above yet...still deciding

queenie82

Michi: PM u alrdy

My banquet is 8 course (hotel dun have 9 course) dinner, comes with free flow beer, and no wine included. I will be getting wines and other hard liquor from supplier since corkage is waived on my side...

the rule of thumb is to cater 1.5 bottle of wine for each table, but i'll probably take 60 bottles of wine and about 5 bottles of hard liquor on consignment 1st(special arrangement coz my hubz know the supplier very well)....

michi

Queen, i've replied to u
How many tables do you have for ur banquet?

Ur hubby has contacts for wine supplier...can u share the info?

jellycheese8

Michelle: I forgotten how many dish after sign up with the hotel since the food tasting will be next year! But my package includes free flow of beer and wine. Last time when shortlisting venue we try to look for hotel tat provide free beer and wine as we dun wan to inccur additional cost on that day for barrel of beer and bottle wine. What happened to u? I think u did write in the forum saying u have some skin problem issit if I'm not wrong?? Take care!! =)

Queen queen: 60 bottles is alot! Hahas I think there's will be alot of wine left over after the wedding. Hahas

lyn_sg

michelle: mine is free flow beer, 8 course lunch, 1 free bottle of wine per table and wine corkage waiver. I will bring a few more bottles of wine just in case not enough.

queen: My JP is Chia Ti Yu. He did ours in both english and mandarin. If you are keen then i will share more with you.

lyn_sg

Today i went down to 4 BS. Rico, Labelle, le grand and french. Listen till I am a bit blur already haha. But now at least i have a good idea of what they offer and can consider what i need. Also managed to try out some gowns to have a little idea of what I look good in.

The good thing is that they will not hard sell and give me time to think about it which i think is very important. The sad part is that they dont give me me their paper with the package details except for one. I wonder why they are so strict. Isnt it good to provide us with information so that we can better consider like what the hotels do? They can just state an expiry date since their packages changes all the time. Moreover, different couples have different requirements so quotes wont be the same. Hope this can change in future.

kittydora

Mich: mine is 8 course dinner. actually i dun think 9 course is needed, cos usually dinner starts after 8.30pm and by the time dinner finish is quite late and usually when the fish is served, some are already full. i dun eat a lot at dinner n dislikes those who end at 11.30pm. I have 1 bottle wine/table, 1 barrel 30litre beer. I will use my own wine n bring back the hotel wine. wine corkage waived, hard liquior corkage waived.

Lee: BS dun give u the quotation cos they dun wan u to go place to place compare, best is u bring a notebook n write down all things they provide. they wont stop u from writing. they also wont photocopy for u to bring back.

kittydora

as for wine, we can only do research n buy closer to the date cos wine needs proper storage and the supplier wont honour the current price to us next oct.

michi

Thanks Jim
i'm allergy to air & dust out of sudden, causing hives & itches all over my body. It has been more than 3mths, i've seek all sorts of treatment but still helpless. Nw can only depend on daily medication.,,pray hard will get well soon -_-

My current banquet contract is 8 course but i've informed my coordinator i want to upgrade to 9 course few mths bk. Nw thinking if 9 course is necessary or not, end up i may need to cover more on banquet loss. I signed up at a gd rate, but the perks are not so attractive. I'll be choosing free flow of beer, so there will be no wine.

Doragal, hehe ya we can source for wine vendors nearer to date

Lee, enjoy ur BS hunt! I did nt do much research on local BS, so cant give any advice :)

kittydora

Mich: try to use non-scented soap bath. I had that kind of itchness before. End up seek TCM cos all medication can stop itchness temporary that i had to rely on medication.

lyn_sg

dora: Ah... never get tip from you earlier. Now i have to recall what they offered to me.

michelle: Maybe you can change your diet so can detox. See if it helps.

queenie82

Michi: I have about 30 tables or lesser~ Let me ask my hubz if can disclose the wine supplier details or not, coz it might not be right to do that~ the consignment arrangement is a personal favour that the supplier is giving for my bf~~

Agree with dora that wines no need so kan chiong~ finalised the menu and if u going to buy wines urself, can go to those wine shops and ask them to pair for you... i'm more particular on the wines coz frens are all wine drinkers, so must be good and good usually mean more expensive~ and if i get from hotel, it's 38++ per bot! my own company supplier charge me 28nett per bot~ (but no consignment arrangement)and the wine is good! (my supplier's website: http://www.dmbeverages.com/index.html)

I neva tot of upgrading to 9 course dinner coz i think usually pple will be full by the 6th course~ those that are not full, even if u give them another course also won't be full... :p plus, alot of guests usually will not stay for dessert~ esp if it is a sunday~

Jim: yah~ 60 bots alot, but on consignment basis, so long as not open can return to the supplier~ one reason i dun wan to take hotel wine(unless free flow) is becoz they will open and charge u for it~ how many bots actually consumed, you wun have the time to keep track~

I think TCM would be a better way also~~ but then, the results usually take a longer time to surface~~ could be due to environment changes also? one of my couz also suddenly broke out in rashes and could not find the reason, end up 3 mths later, she was healed~~ only much later she realise that it's becoz her estate facade underwent painting works and she was allergic to paint~

Lee: finalised ur hotel liao? that's one big load off~~ i heard alot on JP Chia~ shall kiv him also =) hee~ U went Rico? i also aiming Rico for my AD~ but i kiv the AD gowns 1st~ need to see the style of the gowns chosen for my taiwan ps and then decide on my AD style~~ woohoo~ like some pro designer!

michi

Thanks all ~ the skin specialist from NSC said my allergy is not cause by food or stress & my allergy test result is positive to dust mite only. Air & dust allergy are so hard to prevent ~ so nw i'm relaxing at hm, treat it as a long break haha *positive thinking*

Doragal, ya i'm using non-scented bath soap..thanks ^.^

pocarisweat

michi: good to rest at home as well .. can slowly plan ur wedding or do some diy for the wedding!
stay positive is good! ^_^p

Queen & Lee: Rico gowns are nice ...

michi

Think i'll stick to my 8 course for banquet, unless i've more budget next yr hehe

Thanks vivi, i'm preparing for my pre-wedding shoot for next mth. Still in dilemma...can't decide where to go. I'll be going Kota Tinggi & Orchard rd, down with 1 more location in s'pore to confirm.

Ladies, i need some opinion here... botanic garden & hort park..which is better? I had my soleminsation at botanic garden but its a too common place for PS. While hort park eems to be a better location. Otherwise i'll go town but will avoid places that requires authorisation & fee. I also thought of exploring clarke quay to raffles city area...any suggestion? ^.^

queenie82

Michi: I vote for hort park coz i also feel that botanic gardens is too common... but i like the mica building at clarke quay area! too bad i'm taking my outdoor overseas, if not i will definitely choose that area for my photoshoot~~

lovebirds

Michi: I vote for hort park too. My sister had hers taken there and its beautiful. Clarke quay is another good place to take your photos.. pics will look colourful and vibrant!

michi

Thanks babes, i prefer hort park too but somehow feels something is missing there. I also like mica bldg..queen u like orange & yellow colour rite
Liz, hehe i want my outdoor shoot in s'pore to have bright, colourful & fun feel~

Levonne, helix bridge is nice too...but only when the blue lighting is up as there are still construction going on, overall view may be affected

Lovebliss, do u have orchard central permit form for photoshoot? I've emailed the incharge, called & left msg but there's no reply.

alcossbossie

Actually some narrow road at arab street has very nice artistic walls which are also very good photoshoot location. Like vintage style. I do think the Sky Park at MBS is very nice too but you gonna spend $ to go up lor

queenie82

Levonne: MBS no doubt has a nice view but too many visitors... they wun close the park for you so difficult to take nice photos~~

Michi: Yes! I love vibrant colors esp yellow/orange!

michi

Levonne, for sunset u can try top of mount faber & labrador park or beach area around changi point boardwalk

lyn_sg

Vivi: I have decided on my hotel. Will be going for MM instead of Merchant C. I have not gone down to sign yet. Think I will do so on Monday.

Levonne: I think Merchant Court has a nice ballroom. I did not select it as they could not meet a few of my requirements in term of the package. But I still like the hotel.

lyn_sg

I have confirmed my BS today. Anyone still looking for yours? I will be with le grand. But I would have selected Rico if not for Chris L who will be my pre-wedding photographer.

There's a bit of unhappiness after i signed cause of some misunderstanding in the package details. Hope the overall experience will make up for it.

lyn_sg

dora: For JP Chia, do note that you need to be comfortable with his sharing. It may be a bit more serious and long. But he's very experience. organised and you do not need to worry. It depends on the style that you want.

Dr Phua tan tee is another JP that I like but he is not available for my timing. He is more humorous and fun.

lyn_sg

Jim: I have no experience for both but from the photos online, I like iben's one over Hong Ray. Have you met up with both of them? I think you should choose based on which PG you are more comfortable with.

joos

Hey Lee, do u have to pay extra for chris ling to be your photographer? Cuz I heard that chris n sky r the master photographers n u need to pay more to engage them. I like le grand cuz of their gowns. Do mind sharing your package details w me? [email protected] Btw MM is a great choice.

kittydora

Joos: I'll be buying dad's suit, htb bro's suit n mtm htb 2 suits.

Gals, can u share how much u have budgeted for ur wedding? htb keep saying i burst his budget. =(

melody_fav

Doragal: im more to budget n stingy kind.. So certain things i will nt wan to spend unnecessarily.. Im sure can ask Fr bs de..It's jus for a day event y get everyone a suit rite? Unless they will wear for work purpose or wat then can consider to make a suit else ask Fr ur bs.. I'm sure they have more than enough to lend ma.. At most u pay for the dry clean.. Subjective to ur bs.. Some might nt charge u..
Hee..jus my own opinions.. So u weigh the pros n cons n make ur decision =)

jessiemel

arlo all, G2000 is having sale on their suits now..40% off with additional 20% with their membership card or Citibank card..it's quite affordable actually..tot of getting them for our dads..but not too sure if it's too early to do so...