(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

queenie82

yang: that's the 1st time i heard of compensation for complimentary parking running out! my fren had the same problem during her wedding~ she bought more from the the banquet coordinator on the spot and distribute~~

ur squeeze includes the photoshoot in Jan? abit rush~~ alternative, ur htb in sg or together with u overseas? maybe u consider taking ur ps in the country and then settle ur ad stuff when u are back in Jan?

Sherlyn: i wun really go hunt down the person if neva write name on ang pow~ but if he/she gets married or any auspicious thing, i wun even turn up~

actually it is more of a sincerity thing~ even if some relatives come in a family and give 100 cash, i think still acceptable... coz at least defray some costs for the dinner.... but vouchers, abit not sincere lah~ gives the feeling that it is something u dun wan, that's y u give me loh~ give nvm, u put on fb and tell all that u giving vouchers, what if everyone follow suit... i will bleed big time! like the person in the link that dora showed us, i have to be curt to say that i prefer cash... so that others know that i actually mind loh~~

pocarisweat

I m fine if pple decline early as they got other commitments or give vouchers or angpow below market rate .. as the reason for the invite is not to cover my wedding costs but as I want them there on my big day … the only thing that will get me pissed if pple fly my kite at the last minute … that is just plain rude and inconsiderate …

lyn_sg

yangnbeauty: Hi, welcome to the forum. I was also having lots of trouble co-coordinating from overseas. Where are you located?

I am still trying to finalise the location.

dora: No blue theme.

pocarisweat

doragal: any vouchers are okie as i can go shopping! haha! Hv u decided what sort of gowns yet? MTM is fun! Amanda Lee gowns are so pretty!

kittydora

Lyn: thanks. Mayb I have to top up $ to change the given flowers to blue n white roses. Urghhh more cash outlay.

Vivi: I also think Amanda Lee gowns are nice. I like my gowns to have color. I'm thinking of having blue color train

yangnbeauty

Kat: I'm afraid not. I try not to bother my gfs too much though. They have been lot of help to me already.

Queen Queen: Yes, squeeze hotel viewing, food tasting, PS in Jan! I hope can conquer, i koe it is rush! Else.....no time. Hub is w me overseas too. Not possible to take here as we tried to source here but apparently not able to.

Lee: Hi five! You have yet to settle venue? I just did only cos many hotels dates are taken up. So I start to panic. Ppl r already booking for 2012! Gosh! Oh wru? I'm at UAE.

lyn_sg

yang: I'm in Australia. I just went to look at the venues this week. Yet to decide but we have tentatively booked already. Hope to finalise by next week. Then will start looking for BS etc.

queenie82

yang: ic~ most hotels also dun do food tastings so early.... but that one can negotiate! I'm more worried about BS and PS though~~ coz really quite tight to squeeze everything together~~

Lee: where have u booked? how about BS? have u shortlisted any?

Dora: or if not engage external parties for the flowers? then can ask for other perks from hotel kekeke~ i realise that there are alot of hidden costs that din factor in when i did budgeting~ want this need money, want to have that also need additional money~~ sweat sia~ i wanna engage pple to have helium balloons on the ballroom ceiling~ now dingdonging bcoz of budget~~ sigh~~

lyn_sg

dora: Usually change of flower colour is free unless it is rare or change the type of flowers. Maybe you can check with them again next year cause some hotels change their theme/decoration etc. If not, choose white/ivory then add in your own additional blue decoration. You can also engage external decorators (if budget allows) to add in more blue decorations.

queen: Yet to book venue. I went down to 3 hotels this week to look at the place and discuss the package. Need to decide fast but dont have outstanding one. Each has pros and cons that balance out so still thinking.

Nothing on BS yet. Did not shortlist cause i have yet to research. Any recommendations? I will look more into it next week.

jessiemel

queen queen, for balloons supplies..u mite want to check out http://adamevestyle.com/. they charge reasonably and i alwiz get my party supplies from them. HTHs!

jellycheese8

Lee maybe you wan to consider holiday inn city centre at orchard? I think the ballroom nice although there's pillar. But think it's still a good choice?? Bridal studio just go negotiate the best package with everything included with alot of poses and softcopy photo return! Goodluck lee!!

I go look at Si Dian jin with my htb today. Gold price increase so much. Omg. But we finalize our wedding band!! Plain gold ring. I hear the old ppl say wedding band that is simple n plain is good tat represent ur marriage life a smooth one!! Dunno whether it's truth or myth! Hee

lyn_sg

Jim: I have asked but no dates. I think i asked dozens of hotels. So now just considering those with dates.

How do you all start shortlisting bridal studio? I am looking at PG and VG now. Just looking at their work online. Will shortlist and go down to visit. But for BS, seem like i cant really tell how is their gowns and package from their website.

yangnbeauty

Queen Queen: Yes indeed. I'm keeping my finger cross.

Lee: BS don't disclosed info on website. I think BS want people to pop in the shop so that they can kinda persuade people to take up the package on the spot. I think most impt is your must love the gowns

queenie82

Jessie: Thanks~ will kiv till next year~~

Lyn: Depending on ur criteria i guess~~ i prefer simplicity~ not too much of blings and laces~ plus i'm have a tighter budget coz i'm putting alot on the pre-wedding PS in Taiwan~ so for AD stuff, everything is budget budget~ for u and yang, you can make reference from the forum on the pricing (Marketplace section where some of them are selling off their packages) and reviews on BS in the bridal shop section... hope that will help you as it help me to plan my budget too~~

I'm now taking some time off wedding preps and enjoying year end~~ time passes so fast! it's about 10 mths till all of us walk down the aisle~(well, some of u gals are alrdy officially married)

melody_fav

Queen: same here I taking time off Fr the preps as I jus started my studies again n only have abt a week break interval of each term.3 mths per term.. Now concentrate on my studies first for this term n stop all the diy stuffs too

jellycheese8

Hi Army. I dunno what thing is included in guo da Li. Hmm I ask my htb can we skip that portion he say CANNOT.. haiz. Hee my htb start asking ppl help him buy duty free martell when they go oversea or come back spore.

michi

Amy & Jim, u can refer to this link on the items for guodali: http://www.goldenhappiness.com.sg/bethrothal.html

Amy, i didn really plan, but i did check out some shops & info..mostly will be getting it from jb holiday plaza, its cheaper

Anyone knows if we can use duty free hard liquor for our banquet? As i realised most venue package has this clause 'Waiver of corkage charge for all duty paid and sealed hard liquor'.

queenie82

Hotels usually dun allow duty free liquor coz non-taxable if u buy in airport~ and there's a difference in the packaging~ (750ml and 1 litre) but for GDL got no problem~

Unless ur venue can close one eye, if not dun risk... better check with your venue~

Amy: GDL we leave it to the elders in the family~ my mum and his mum will be fully in charge of all the traditional stuff~ thing is, they have not even met up to discuss~~

michi

Thanks Queen for clearing my doubt
I'll double check with my coordinator, nearer to date~

Anyone intends to rent a wedding car or hubby is going to drive & use his own car? I hope to save the cost of car rental...

queenie82

Michi: No problem~ I also did a check with my frens on tt earlier on.. My hubz got no car no license, so probably going to rent a car and get a xiongdi to drive... if not rent with chauffeur also can~ that one i cannot save~~

kittydora

Mich: My htb will drive either his car or my car. We intend to save $ on car rental. Sad thing is both his bro and my sis can't drive so end up have to pay his xiong di to drive his parents and my parents home.

pocarisweat

michi: told my hubby that a fellow oct btb got a good deal in jb and we also plan to walk walk and explore and make a suit there... tx for the tips sweetie!

Monday blues~

michi

Queen, what type of car do u intend to rent? I'm thinking of mini cooper or beetle but it cost ard $300-$700

Doragal, what car model/colour do u & ur htb drive?..my hubby drives a black lancer...does it looks weird or dunno if its 'ban dang' to use a black car...?

Vivi, u are welcome
I just went jb ystr to collect my hubby's tailor made shirt & pant, the workmanship & material is quite good.

queenie82

Michi: Still deciding~ my FSIL's bf said he could loan BM 5 series for cheap price, but i got no research on cars~ so leave it to hubz for decision making.

lovebliss: mine dun have... coz bs in taiwan~ so AD have to diy~~

lyn_sg

Queen,yang: Thanks for the suggestions. I am researching online for BS now. Thinking of which BS to go and take a look.

all: Anyone has any BS research information to share with me? Do PM me.

Also between Swiss MC and MM, which is a better hotel? By the way, what's the average ang pao rate for these 2 hotels for lunch? I'm calculating for my budget.

kittydora

Mich: my htb drive yellow Honda jazz. Difficult to find suitable flowers to match the car color. I prefer he drive cos jazz is small n cute i wan to put milk cans at the back to drag along the road with "Just married" car plate. I drive purplish grey latio.
Gals I decide to make my htb suit in sg, at central mall. A common biz suit is $320. He wan fanciful suit so better tailor in sg n can make changes easily.

jellycheese8

Thanks Michelle Chong for the website! Hahas my htb tell me he buy the martell for GuoDaLi. But liquor is not inside the list for hokkien.

Doragal I agree nowadays there's alot of couple use black cars for wedding!! Classy ma!! Dun worry MC ur hubby lancer can be ur wedding car!! Save money for other thing!! Cos look at the rate of car rental for wedding so ex!! I actually ask my htb whether he wan to rent his car to earn some money

queenie82

Mich: Black not pantang at all~ in fact i think it's classy~~~ anyway there's deco on the car, so definitely not all black

Dora: yellow is abit difficult to match~ safest is to match with white flowers i guess~ but ur bs include car deco? can ask them to match for you.... where in central mall ur htb made his suit? my hubz considering dickson @ suntec coz it's juz below his working place~~

Lee: food for both is good to me~ haven been to their ballroom/function to see so i cannot comment on that... usually wedding lunch, guests tend to give lesser~ coz 1st impression is that lunch is cheaper than dinner... i guess standard rate will be 80 ba? but that's for collics and frens... relatives tend to give lesser~ unless relatives are quite well-to-do loh.....

lyn_sg

dora: I have shortlisted and went down to see GCW. The ballroom is nice but I felt that the location is quite inconvenient for guest. The package for the other two is similar. So considering. Anyway, all have no dinner slot (sigh).

queen: ok thanks. I need to calculate how much to top up if it's 800+ per table and ang pao only 80. Yar relative sure give lesser cause too taxing especially for those with many kids. And i have quite a lot of relatives.

michi

Doragal, yellow honda jazz sounds cool! U can ask ur BS to match the car deco

Jim, the guodali list is just a guideline for us. I guess its good to ask our parent what else they like to include.

Thankq ladies, i'll try to convince my hubby to use his own car..at least can save few hundreds :D

Lyn, i think 5star hotel wedding lunch rate is about $80/88

kittydora

Lee: The other time we almost signed with Hilton lunch cos we find Hilton dinner quite good and the coordinator very friendly and handle us well. but htb is afraid pple's ang bao is abt $40~$70 and most lunch costs around $898 already so end up we still stick to dinner. Even four seasons lunch also quite atas. I know my colleague who took Novotel lunch make a profit cos her table was $700+ and a lot of us give her $80. only muslim gif her $20~$50. I have quite a handful of muslim friends so i have to think of how to arrange the seating so that hotel dun overcharge me.

kittydora

Jessie: at times i cant stand my htb. wedding is not always about covering the cost. i told him, if he worry not able to cover the dinner, then dun have it lor. worried savings cant cover lost, pray that the tables breakeven. these are unnecessary worry cos in the end we managed to save more than enough for flat n wedding n he worried for nothing.

jessiemel

hahaha..men lah..he's the one who wants to dinner..i prefer to have it over lunch..but eventually, he's the one grumbling over the cost..no choice lah..cannot stand also muz stand..take it easy lor..

lyn_sg

dora,jessie: I prefer dinner but no choice since all are fully booked. I dont mind not covering but dont want to have too big a shortage and need to fork out too much. Still have house renovation to save up for.

For dinner wise, it is the same right? Now prices increased to about $1000 to $1500 per table but average ang pao is still at $100 to $120 right?

queenie82

Lol~ i was the one insisting not to have dinner also... but he wanted one...

Lyn: depending on the location actually.. most hotels in town area now cost about 1200-1500~~ Park Royal Beach Road is 888nett but that is if u sign in their wedding show.... my dinner banquet in River View Hotel cost about 800 nett/table and inclusive of free flow beer~...

kittydora

Lee: my colleague held dinner at St Regis which costs abt $2k but 1 colleague told me she only match market rate n give at most $100~$120 cos she say its the couple's decision to choose so atas place n dun expect the guest to pay for the dinner. so find a place that's manageable to both the couple n the guests. U also say GCW not very convenient which i agreed...but no choice htb like it. if its lunch it's still easier to go back than nite time. looks like i have to charter bus to fetch my guests to northeast area.

lokiewedslydia

dora

ur fren's thinkin very.. mmm practical

hopefully my frens and esp parents' frens dun think tt way
mine's at mandarin oriental which is 1.5k

was worried at 1st abt the possible lost we might have but nw we jus relax le cos ppl noe the market rate is abt 150 nw..

ther wld still be those who bao 80bucks de..

whn i was a jiemei this guy brought wine for the couple as angbao lor!