(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

melody_fav

ya lo.. n tat couple tat the photographer shared with us actually pay $80 ( total 4 pax) n yet nv get any nice pics lo.. faint rite.. tats y he say tat dun waste tat $ ...

queenie82

Jawslyn: the nite view is fantastic but too many people la~ you cannot get a good picture with so many pple behind u~

Brides who are intending to take pictures of Fullerton exterior take note, now u also need to ask for permission to take. I think also need to pay if i'm not wrong~~

kittydora

Gals, thanks so much. i actually email MBS to ask abt PG. Seems that now the review is not that great, I'll forget abt it, dun wan to waste my time and $ squeezing with tourists.

jawslyn

Yeaps, the view is gooodd.. but really no personal space for you to take good pics.. =)
I also sourcing for places to take.. yet to decide.. the Marina Bay view that overseas the esplanade seems nice.

christina_grace

@Queen Queen serious? i was planning to do that on my AD after checking into the hotel... hmm...will check with Priscilla about this ba

@Jawslyn hehe! same sentiments, i am not the type who like to rush
prefer to do what i can in advance if possible.

jawslyn

Hi Christina, yeaps yeaps.. don't want last min then everything ended up being booked or not available etc.. Hee. somemore next year popular year to get married! =)

lyn_sg

dora: I have made tentative booking else no dates by now.

I'm finally back in Sg. Need to eat till i drop haha. Miss all the food.

sherlynliang

Random sharing....

2011 is super popular cos there's 天喜星. 当æµå¹´çš„è¡Œè¿æ¥åˆ°çº¢é¸¾æ˜Ÿæ‰€åº§è½çš„宫ä½æ—¶ï¼Œå¾€å¾€å°±æ˜¯å©šå¨¶çš„最佳期,也就是众所周知的“红鸾星动â€çš„年份。

Which is why super lotsa people getting married in 2011. So that 2012 which is the Dragon year can give birth to baby! Chinese love to believe babies born in Dragon year is good.

kittydora

Lyn: u made tentative booking on 2 Oct? How long is the tentative booking timeframe? Sg sure has a lot of good food, I can hardly slim down, always food munching.

Today is parents meeting session! I wake up quite early this morning. Last nite heard from htb that fmil in bad mood n even quarrel with my htb over her new hse reno. Wonder today will she give a black face.

piggeekgirl

Lee: Welcome back home!! Hehez. Enjoy your planning and eating in Singapore!

Sherlyn: Hehez. Dragon year sure is a good year to give birth but think I'm gonna skip 2012 and enjoy our honeymoon year together first. Hiakz.

doragal: Don't worry too much dearie. Everything will be fine. Just bring your best smile! :D

kittydora

Thanks Kat.
Actually to have a dragon baby is not good I think. Need to ballot for schools, teacher to pupil ratio increase, many parents asking for more attention on the child, the very precious dragon boy, more pregnant women in hospital means more waiting time, need to book popular gynae earlier, the child has to perform even better to outshine many other kids in Psle. Gosh!

queenie82

Christina: What i meant was those who are not having their dinner there but wanted to take pictures outside fullerton~ if u having dinner there, i think by right they shld allow pictures ba~

Lyn: welcome back!! Have a smooth journey planning ur wedding~~~

Sherlyn: Now i know how come 2011 got so many good dates for wedding~~~

Dora: ^5! I dun think i want a dragon bb too~~ sure to have alot of bbs de... so competitive loh~~

michi

Hi ladies, the forum is finally up!

Lee, welcome back to Singapore

Dorgal, don't worry...relax & take it as a usual dinner session hehe & everything will be fine ya. Good luck =)

Sherlyn, hehe having been hearing about it, esp on tv..interesting topic & explanation. But wondering is this the real reason why 2011 is so popular for wedding?...do we take these to consideration for choosing 2011??.. hehe & rushing for dargon baby? Same as Kat & Queen, i wouldn't want to rush for a dragon baby hehe, wanna enjoy 二人世界 :)

Ladies, what's ur reason then??..:p For me, i only thought i that i'll be 28 yrs old next yr, which is my ideal age for marriage, i begun to hint my bf back then last yr

Queen, i'm looking forward & excited for my PS too :>

queenie82

Michi: reason for 2011 is becoz 2012 clashes dog (both of us are doggies) and hubz dun wanna wait till 2013 to get married~ plus i keep insisting to have my 1st kid before 31~ therefore, the choice of 2011~ lol~~~

we've been paktor-ing coming 10 years and knew each other for 11 years~ i hinted him to do something 2 yrs back~~

jawslyn

Hahaha dragon babies! I would give it a miss too cos wanna enjoy couple life for awhile i guess :p i think another factor for so many pple getting married next yr is cos a lot of BTO projects due next yr so all have to gt married.. LoL. Its one of the factor for me =p

piggeekgirl

Seems like most of us are not keen for dragon babies. Hahaha! I truely agree on the competition you might have for your kids since the dragon year is always a headache for most parents when it comes to registering their kids to school. Wouldn't want that too! Hehez.

Anyway I guess another reason why 2011 is so popular might be 'cos this year is the year of the Tiger and many people are avoiding it.

I guess for me, besides having to submit the cert for our new flat, it's mainly to get married before the age of 28 too! Hahaha! Have told my hubby before long ago so it just sort of goes with the flow. Was considering 2012 also but like Queen, my hubby is in the year of the dog and cannot get married in that year, so we are left with 2011 then! Actually don't think there's any great big reason besides being able to live together officially. Wahaha! :X

sherlynliang

Michi I don't know if BTBs take that into consideration. Personally I never thought of all these. Just had to do it cos I missed it last year, so next year has to 补请.

I think my no. 2 will only be here in another 3 - 4 years time. When I get my own flat. :)

christina_grace

@Queen Queen i see. thks for the clarification

The Dragon baby was never a consideration. For me it was more cos my future MIL insist that my HTB and his brother cannot get married in the same year. His bro wanted OCtober 2010, so we just decided to do it 2011!

Apart from the above, just decided that i have found THE One so settle down

kittydora

sob sob... today lunch at Tien Court is a total disappointment. The cod fish not so fresh, the crumpy nuts and beans cover the cod fish and overwhelmed the fish. The dishes not pleasing to both parents. It's really a waste of $ to eat. I should have arranged at zi char shop, maybe the outcome could be better. also heart pain my htb $.

jellycheese8

Why dun wan dragon baby?? Hahas. I also wan er ren Shi Jie after marriage but my htb insist to have dragon baby! Both of us are dragon! I understand how competitive in school psle o level and everything.. And I'm afraid ppl will laugh at me so early get marry so early pregnant so early have children.

Hi doragal. Tien court is it at corpthorne king hotel? Hmm dun upset!! The meet up is good okay already other thing is not important!! Hee

lyn_sg

queen,kat,michelle: Thanks! It's nice to be back home.

queen/kat: it's interesting, all our husbands/htb are in the yr of the dog. But I did not know that 2012 is not a good year for dogs. We just decided cause I'm graduating next year and want to get married and go honeymoon before getting a job. Plus the flat should be completed late 2012 or early 2013 i guess. So the next headache will be renovation.

doragal: it's as long as nobody ask for that date. If any couple want the date, then i have a few days to confirm else they can have priority over that date. Some hotels give 1 day while others give up to 1 week.
Dont be too sad, it's the meet-up that's important.

piggeekgirl

Jim: Haha! No need to be afraid to be laughed at. Nothing wrong with that. Hehe. Everyone has different thoughts.

Lee: Hehez. Let the headache of the flat come later while you prepare for your wedding. I have that headache early next year. Busy busy busy! House and wedding coming together.

doragal: No need to be upset! It's the getting to know each other more important!

alcossbossie

Im getting married on 15 Oct 2011 at Merchant court. I will have my photoshoot in local. Overseas seems more exp and still need to take leave. I'm now still short listing my bridal boutiques:

My Bridal Room
Rico-A-Mono
Golden Horse
Thomson Wedding
White Link
Sophia

Any recommandation?

Btw, I think alot of ppl will want to have baby in the Dragon year. If 1st baby my friend said it is very hard for your kids to register for school. If 2nd baby onwards will not have such problem. Is it true?

kittydora

Levonne, ur 1st child need to go thru balloting if the sch is popular, 2nd child onwards will b the phase 1since the elder sibling is already in sch

kittydora

Thanks gals. I feel better. Initially I thought it's only my mom issue, keep picking on the food n showing bad table manners. End up htb says his parents also think it's the food n chef issue. At least now my htb understand my family taste buds n seems that both side parents share common taste. The elders really like traditional dishes n home cook style of food. The next time I'll arrange them at tunglok ala carte buffet. If any btbs wan a parents meeting better find ala carte buffet, wide variety to choose from. I still heart pain my htb pocket spend $400++ on such food. Not worth it.

pocarisweat

Levonne: Welcome! I am also sourcing for my bridal shop. Best is to go down and try on their gowns before making a decision. The few that you mention have good reviews.

doragal: Don't worry too much. There will be more chances to hv dinner with both sides in te future .. didn't know tunglok has ala carte buffet? I liked tung lok group of restaurants as well .. The food and service at Crystal Jade Palace has never failed me too ..
haiz .. i m supposed to lose weight but food is a major temptation ...

pocarisweat

It is very difficult to get into schools even for non-dragon years .. bleah ... my colleague 'donated' 100k to get her daughter into one of the top primary schools ... but she said it is worth it as she got three kids ... @_@

pocarisweat

Levonne: yah .. no point lah .. i arent from any top school but i think i did pretty okie ..
Happy BS shopping & hv fun trying on the gowns!

queenie82

welcome!! my AD is on 30 Oct 2011 @ River View Hotel~~

Actually, most of us here have alrdy confirmed BS~~ any shortlisted BS you have?

yangnbeauty

Sob Sob i faces alot of problem till now yet to settle coz I'm based in oversea n doing all the coordinating. Many of them dun respond email or disclose info. I really envy u girls

queenie82

hmmm when will u be coming back sg? or maybe you wan to check out the forums for reviews 1st and then shortlist? when u come back, then you can go down and check them out~~

yangnbeauty

End of Jan or early Feb will be back for CNY lo. But time is short. I hope u can settle by time. Yup will read more reviews. Hey girls, wanna share w me your BS? Y u girls choose them

kittydora

yangnbeauty: 1 of the btbs here Lyn also coordinate from overseas. Dun worry too much. I prefer to have mtm gowns so i took Amanda Lee Weddings. U still have time to look around for BS. I think u should have ur photography taken latest in Jun - jul cos it takes time for the photographer to edit ur photos selected. I think Jawslyn also took GPCH.

queenie82

yang: no worries~ like wat dora said, as long as u finish photo taking by jul~ i think still got alot of time.

I'm taking my photoshoot in Taiwan next april~ love the scenary there~~~ at the same time can take mini-honeymoon....... AD gowns not settled yet though ;p

queenie82

dora: i see the fb print screen i lol loh~ if i dunno then ok la~ afterall still can use~ unless the expiry date is like 1 week away from my wedding date...

then again, if i'm the person giving the vouchers, i wun ask whether the couple mind onot~ keep quiet and just give la~ it's the thought that counts ma... if u ask liddat, and the couple say no liao, u still bao also paiseh rite.. even if dun write name also know who loh~~

sherlynliang

I would prefer not to have vouchers la. Vouchers people just get it from company D&Ds they got no use for it and just 'make use' of it. To me, if they really wanna wish me and my husband or give blessings, money should be the way. Somehow vouchers just seems to be 'not right'. I guess is the feel.

If I really receive on my wedding, I would probably go track down the person and niam the person. Like WTF. HAHA!

kittydora

haha. i dun mind receiving vouchers, same thoughts as Queen Queen. but hope that not every1 give me vouchers. just dun come n tell me u wan to give vouchers or go psycho my other frens to give vouchers too.

yangnbeauty

Thank Queen Queen & doragal. I need to squeeze all my stuff in Jan. Cos next return to sg shd b either sept or oct itself. Hahaha like superwoman

yangnbeauty

doragal i nev heard of giving ntuc voucher as ang bao. but i do koe some ppl do give them as a "compensation" for guests that need to fork out to pay for their hotel parking during the AD banquet when the coupons finish.

piggeekgirl

NTUC voucher sounds weird. I still prefer hard cash! Wahaha! :X

yangnbeauty: Hey dearie, is there no one here who can help co-ordinate your wedding? Will be better to have someone in SG to help you so at least it will lift some load of yourself.

pocarisweat

actually the guy quite good liao .. for restaurant, gave $100 ntuc vouchers. ..

haha .. i dun mind vouchers as well ...as long it is cash vouchers and it is somewhere i can use it and 'market rate' for angpow lah.. just not those spend $100 then get get $20 off type. ..