(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

queenie82

Gals, just a thought~ i feel like not taking indoor shots when i'm in twn~ i mean like y waste the scenery outside?

I'm thinking of doing the indoor shots with AD gowns in the hotel itself~

should i? should i not *ponders*

piggeekgirl

Queen: When you said hotel, you mean your AD hotel? Actually I don't see why not. And hm... If Taiwan has a nice indoor, you can also consider?

lyn_sg

There's always so many messages...

Oh ya, I engaged Dana for my ROM. I think she's good at make-up and is very patient with my request. For those looking for MUA, can consider her. If you want to know more, I can share my experience.

piggeekgirl

Queen: Icic... Hehez. If you really love the outdoors, just go with it!

Lee: Wah! I also got Dana for my ROM! Hahaha! We got so many similarities!

lyn_sg

Kat: Haha. Singapore is small mah. High probability.

I am going back Sg next tuesday. Cant wait! Miss the food. Then will have to settle my hotel booking when i get back. Then BS, PG, VG and the list goes on. Busy Dec ahead.

piggeekgirl

Lee: Hahaha! But same MUA and wedding band! Hahaha! That is just some really weird coincidence. Hiakz. Really busy December for you! Hopefully you will get to settle everything so you wouldn't need to worry!

altiora

Hello Lee and Kat, I am looking for MUA (err actually I am looking for everything cos I haven do anything yet except book hotel.. no BS, photographer, VG, rings... arghh... stressed)

My AD is on 22 oct.

can share about Dana? (Can PM me too if you like, esp about charges etc)

hey girls i have a question, I am thinking of ROM on the same day. But I don't know what time is good. Just before the banquet i scared too late, but if too early then we will be very rushed.. does 5pm seems reasonable??

piggeekgirl

Hey altiora, erm... I'm having Dana for my AD which is on 22 October... Haha! Else you probably can check out Cherry Au (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cherry-Au-Makeup-Artisty/111890488041). She's Dana's student and I'm having her for my pre-wedding photoshoot though I have not went for any trial yet.

Else you can also look at Sanlia (http://sanliamakeup.blogspot.com/). Lydia got her for AD. Hehez.

As for the solemnization, usually it's done before the banquet. 5PM sounds okie to me 'cos if I never remember wrongly, my BIL's solemnization is about that time. 'Cos after that have to go prepare for the banquet. You can probably ask your wedding co-ordinator what timing might be good since they have co-ordinate before so will give better advice?

confusex

Thanks Carebearz & Jessie

As the BS I use was engaging them as AD MUA

From the link it seem there some hidden cost from the MUA .. Guess I must check with my BS about it

michi

Vivi, u're welcome =)

Hey Chrisina, we've the same AD, 8th Oct is a popular date

Altiora, are u looking for BS or going for ala carte? If u sign up with local BS, usually the package will include AD MUA. Best that u confirm ur BS / PG before looking for MUA

piggeekgirl

Amy: Hidden cost you mean? As long as it's stated and you have read I guess it's not hidden anymore. Hehez. So double-confirm with your BS MUA then!

altoria: Haha! Yah. But like what MC said, if you're looking for a BS then it's better you start from there first since their package will include MUA.

michi

Anyone has seen pink diamond/solitaire ring before? Saw 1 today, simply love it...its rare & expensive! Told my hubby i would like to own 1 =D

lyn_sg

Kat: Yar. That's interesting. Who are you using for BS, VG and PG? Dont see you on the list (excel sheet).

Altiora: Dont worry, you are one step before me haha. I have not even book my hotel.

jessiemel

doragal: the menu is between $738 - $1388. i consider that as restaurant price lah..and the perks they give are almoz similar to those having in ballrooms..free barrel of beer, food tasting for 10, etc..and also stay at their deluxe room, which i intend to upgrade to suite..
thanks abt the link to the feedback about Ophelia..will consider again..but i tink itz normal for any professional to receive complaints from unhappy customers but they are still ppl who still stand by them. so it's really depending on luck de lor..

carebearz: thanks!
will contact her again...

queen queen: go for it..dun waste the money that u spent on the trip..take all the nice sceneries..make the money worth..

meteor_starry

doragal and Jessie: Hey it seems I see very favorable reviews of Ophelia from the link doragal sent us....anyway, I met her in person right before I signed it, and she was a really nice lady, she even recommends me how to cut my hair, what colour to colour my hair etc, where to have my hair cut, until what length, and to capture pictures of my gowns so she can come up with the hair styles and makeup. And she was very sharp to pick out what I lack or what I need in my complexion to enhance the makeup. And she also informs me with a list of what to prepare for photoshoot etc. So that's what I think is super professional of her....And she also sells me or recommends me a very good face mask that she wants me to put continually one week before the wedding, or even start doing the regime from now, so that I can be in tip top condition for her to do the makeup next year. So ....I think she treats her customers more like her friends than customers....which I feel very comfortable with her...that's what I like about her maybe ,... =)

piggeekgirl

Lee: Hm... My details are inside. Probably you missed it. Hehez. I'm going ala-carte so I don't have a BS. I got Ted Collection to design my gowns and tea-dress. My PG is from Malaysia and is a lady! Hehez. Happiest is to be able to get a lady photographer as my photographer. Don't intend to have a VG.

lyn_sg

Kat: ok thanks. I will need to start sourcing for a BS and PG soon.

Packing my bag now. Flying home tomorrow night. =)

kittydora

Lyn: I'll share some info here so that other BTBs interestd in GCW can take a look at this thread too.

Weekend (Fri & Sat): $1138 nett, has abalone
Weekend Sun: $1088 nett, no abalone, same menu as weekday

As for the perks, initially i din get much perks apart from the standard ones given. But recently i made a change of date and took the sat dinner so i request for canapes. Try to use DBS card to pay deposit to get extra perks. I get complimentary 2nd projector, more complimentary parking, 1 wine/table, 1 barrel of wine, complimentary function room for ROM, 50% food tasting. I heard the current promotion is 1 free table on AD or free food tasting. My coordinator is very kind, when i took the Sun package, he allow me to change dishes between weekend and weekday menu, except for high end delicacies like abalone, sea cucumber, etc. FYI, Sun menu is the same as weekdays menu. U can try to ask for wine corkage wavier n c if the hotel can accede to ur request.

My coordinator is Eddie, a very helpful n friendly uncle. He's in this line for many many yrs, previously from a popular 5* hotel. [email protected]

1 issue i anticipated is the parking. Though GCW has more than 400 parking lots, 4 entrances/exits, it may still jam. Grand ballroom has 65 tables, waterfront has 28 tables, riverfront 20 tables, galleria 16 tables and Grand Shanghai restaurant 25 tables. If all finish at almost same time...*faint* Also it's not near MRT, so I think I'll chartered bus for colleagues & htb colleagues.

Waterfront ballroom:
1584572.jpg

1584573.jpg

Lyn, can u help me to ask them if they have any blue theme or even blue table cloth, since I want my wedding theme to be blue? thanks

Better send an email to ask if they have slots for booking cos when i change date last mth, it's already very packed due to weddings and company events, exhibitions in oct 2011. gd luck!

kittydora

Lyn: I have other pics. I'll send them all by email u then. Did Gcw told u which dates are available? Or u have already made a tentative booking?

christina_grace

Hi Michelle!

Oh wow! That's great!!
Yeap - my htb and myself only realised 8 Oct is a very popular date recently, after my future MIL was telling us about the Tong Shu dates etc etc. We had no idea at all . And yes, getting the banquet location was not esy as when I was calling up hotels a few of them already booked for 8 Oct 2011!

Welcome Celia! Glad to "meet" another Oct 2011 BTB - can all destress together!

alcossbossie

Can anyone has recommendation on Bridal boutiques? I have not sign up any and still shortlisting therefore really need someone to give advice. Thank you!

christina_grace

Hi LeVonne!

For bridal boutiques it will really depend on your preference for gowns (e.g. grand, simple, dramatic etc), budget and also location of photoshoot, esp if you are planning to take your pre-weds overseas.

michi

Hi Celia & Levonne, a welcome to both of u!

Levonne, when is ur AD? Agree wtih Christina, it depends on ur preference, style & budget, to do it in overseas or local..so that its easier to shortlist ur ideal BS

Christina, u mean 8th oct is an auspicious date on tong shu?..no wonder it's even more popular haha. I've got this date from a geomancer. At least u've confirmed fullerton...its a dream venue for alot of ladies =)

meteor_starry

Hi Levonne!

Welcome to u...guess u must have received my email...since we were corresponding elsewhere earlier....hope it helps u!!

But I really like the gowns from the bridal studio u mentioned...they really have very grand styles

christina_grace

Hi Michelle! Oh yeah...that was according to my future MIL
i did see in some HK website that 8 Oct 11 is a good day for getting married tho!

I always loved Fullerton for the deco and the architecture - so its kinda like my dream wedding venue

Have you confirmed your bridal and venue?

michi

Hi Christina, hehe think i'm 1 of the 1st few btb here who has settled the venue, BS, PG & VG =) I'm with Amara hotel & SG Bridal House in jb. Fullerton is very nice, envy u ^.^

Dorgal, when is ur PS? I'll be going to hort park. I've just done my research, u can consider....town area: clarke quay, orchard, chimes, marina barrage, singapore flyer, helix bridge. Garden/vintage/other shoot: botanic garden, hort park, kent ridge bridge, henderson wave, tanjong pagar railway, fort canning, mount faber, keppel yatch club, airport, beach, sentosa, universal studio. Theme/story shoot: Hm sweet hm, super market, clubs, nice restaurants, school, museums, chinatown, little india, shop houses or even hawker ctr haha.

Hope this long list helps =D

kittydora

Michelle, my PS is on 16 Mar. very vexed over the venues...cos some places require $$ and can total up $500+. I think i'll limit myself to find some non-paying places.

queenie82

Dora: i think gardens should be free~ maybe the muesuems need $$... i know USS charge for phototaking~~

I quite like the city hall area for the vintage look~ plus u can go over padang to take the city view~~ if not marina barage would look nice also~~

Macritchie reservoir also a nice place to take pix~~~

melody_fav

another suggestion - orchard central ( it was my backup plan venue..- end up due to timing, i decided to give a go as it was a friday n almost evening time, i dun wish to spend the time stuck in jam n we head to hort park instead. Orchard central had the Mediterrean theme @ B2. nice.. ( check out my fb for the pics as reference).. =)

same thing, need to apply for permit to take pics but its free.. jus check out the orchard central website and ask for details .

michi

Lovebliss..oh u mean we've to apply permit for taking pics at some malls eg. Orchard central? I tot of going there too & along orchard road..omg!

Doragal, which location have u shortlisted? My BS is in jb, for the location that i'm choosing... I even have to top up just to come s'pore for PS -.-"

melody_fav

yes. u have fill up a form, sign n then email back to them. they will approve then email back to u then u print out n show them on tat day to exchange for pass before ur PS start at their place.
the rest of the malls im nt sure la.. take note, places like vivocity, only applicable for the rootop area nt the interior shopping area n also got time limitation too..

extra info - my BS photographer even shared tat got a couple paid the fee for gg to MBS for the shoot but end up the pics doesnt turns out gd as the pple up there will nt be considerate to let the couple have the clear background. so its nt so nice.. dun waste tat $ to pay to take pics up at MBS roottop garden. =)

christina_grace

Hi Michelle! that's good to know! I have settled my BS, PG, VG as well! At least I am not the only one - cos my other gfs were asking why I so kiasu and settled everything 1 year before

michi

Thanks alot lovebliss for the info! I didn know there are so many restriction haha. I happen to go MBS 2 wks bk, the sky roof entrance fee is $20 per pax & still need to queue...omg so exp!

jawslyn

I just went MBS for a 1 nite stay 2 weeks back! I must say the skypark view is breathe-taking! But really not practical to take photoshoot there cos many many people and of all nationality.. Even when i was there to take pic the tourist there also won't excuse to let u take..hais.
I also settled my BS,PG and VG 1 year before..sometimes its gd to book early and u'll have more choices.. =)