(2010/09) Sept Brides

yaya, huisi, i agree with belinda...point of contact and one jiemei to help u wif belongings such as jewelleries (given by the elders during tea ceremony)...then every1 to take charge of one item such as teapot, gowns and no1 will 4get..haha...one personal assistant to chge ur gown is also good...

icager... but i tink still better dun GDL and send invite card during 7th mth. even if your in-laws dun mind, your relatives might mind?

Would like to enquire,

For An Chuan, are the items to be brought by the groom's side or the bride's side?

I only know I need to provide the bedsheets, pillows, etc..

Do any of you invite a little boy to jump on the bed after setting the bed?

Huishan : We actually went to Guanyin to cal the dates and she gave us during lunar 7th mth.. she says doesnt matter if its a goOd day for both of us..

Sang Qing : An chuan items are to be bought by thr groOms's side. Yes,we'll get my hubby's little cousin to jump on the bed. =)

thanks belinda and huishan.. will start to assign my jiemeis..

sang qing: an chuan items are bought by groom's side.. ya.. for bride's side, we only need to buy bedsheet, pillows and bloster.. which will be given during the GDL..

I am still thinking whether to get a boy to jump.. but i think still up to your in-laws..

dunno if you all have "pressue" to give birth to a boy.... hee... i heard of 2 instances of getting a boy to jump on the bed and the boy shd b a dragon... the 2 couples really give birth to boys leh....

sooo if u have pressure to have kids/ boy, u shd know wat to do hahaha...

huishan: my hubby is only son and eldest also.. think MIL sure wan grandson.. so far no stress from her yet.. haha..

if i wan girl, can i ask a dragon girl to jump? haha..

huisi... maybe got use leh haha... cos if i nv remember wrongly, i jump on my auntie's bed when i was young, then she had 2 daughters.. hahahha

huishan: maybe i shld ask a dragon girl and a dragon boy to jump.. so that can have long feng twins? lol...

It's friday everyone! enjoy the weekend =)

hello gals!

How's everyone wedding prep progressing

Its 2 mths more for me...

hello all..

eve: bought my GDL stuffs and confirmed my wedding cards le.. the most headache is the table arrangment.. a few of my guests told me they cannot come... I need to find pple to "replace" them le...

yup.. left 2 mths for us.. sort of a little nervous when I think abt it...

sorry, MIA for a while! So tired out with reno and wedding planning and doesn't help that it has been very busy at work too.

belinda: just spent my weekend selecting lights. whole weekend burnt like that. sigh. so tired when i woke up this morning... bought most of my furniture liao cos we bought when we see things we like.

icager: I think we shd just do whatever we can. No point following what everyone else say cos sure got conflict one. Then it becomes very stressful if you try to listen. I think main thing is must listen to parents if they are reasonable ba. Most important is you and your hubby.

ev3/huisi: Yes, i get nervous when i think about it. Cos still so much not done. But at the same time, I also can't wait to move to my new place and to get more freedom (i hope). Managed to discuss what cakes to order for GDL and working out artwork for invites. The guest list is giving me a headache cos we exceeded the total number for the hotel! Yet dare not cut down too much cos worried ppl cannot come in the end. :p

nearing to your big day, u will have more ppl dropping out...just be mentally prepared.

lawli, its like that...u will have more weekends burnt dun worry haha.

thomas: thats what I'm afraid.. I have a list of "reserved" guest list... but dunno how early/late should I invite them ar in case my "priority" guests cannot make it...

hi ladies..

2more mths to AD but like u all.. i still haf things unsettled..

bought more things for gdl but still not completed yet.. manage to send out some of e invites liao.. collected our albums/3in1 & table top frm BS last wkend..

hubby still has nt complete the montage yet.. gg to mit our our hotel co-ordinator tis wkend to discuss on e arrangement..

lawi, now u yearn to move out to get freedom.. aft u move out.. u will start to feel so heartwarming to parents.. burning wekends to built up ur nest is worth e effort..

i'm oso worried some guest will not be able to turn up nearer to e date,cos a few of hubby's frens actually has 2 other dinners on e same nite on top of us.. jus hope for e best..

those u can slot in one, try to slot...those cannot slot, just leave them empty, no choice. I got few empty seats also, no thanks to some A380 pilots who didn't even bother to inform me they not coming.

lawlipop > same here.. been using weekends to get furnitures. now need to scout for dowry stuffs liao.. hai.. need to clean up the new house too. :S
doesnt help that parents don't what is needed for my dowry. They asked me to find out myself. PILs didnt request for anything. just want to faster get over this stupid wedding.

lawlipop: I also wish that our wedding can be over soon.. dunno why suddenly i have a lot of ideas nearer to the date.. and hubby is not supportive at all... sianz.. quarrel a few times over my new ideas... so mentally tired...

jolene: I haven collected my album.. my BS just send for printing nia..

thomas: now already got 1 table with 2 empty seats liao.. unless i break up my colleagues.. but worried they will not be happy also..

belinda: me too.. parents and MIL everything also dunno.. and hubby not helping also.. I have to find out everything and tell them what to do... machiam I am getting married myself...

belinda.. u r not alone.. even though we r already staying in our hse for 1yr+.. nearer to AD.. we oso gt to spring clean e hse again.. e tot of cleaning e window is scary.. e hardest part of spring cleaning..

huisi, if send e album for printing liao..abt 10days shld b ready for collection..

for e dowry. mine doing away with those veri traditonal things.. jus those essential.. but i still haf not finish purchasing e items..

eh if they say dunno.. then jus prepare e essential or essence.. when qns.. say cos u all dunno ma.. so i only prepare wat i noe.. hehe..

jolene:10 days only? so fast.. haha.. den i think i shld be able to recieve nxt week..

ya I bought the essentials for my dowry also.. skipped some things like the umbrella and hair combing...

Jolene: Yeah, i will definitely miss my family but still very excited about moving on to something new. But must also get used to doing a lot of things myself.

thomas: yes, very scared that ppl cancel last min. If they still bao ang pao, then not so bad ba.

belinda: yes, nowadays weekends seem so short! we also need to go find out about customs. PILs also dun know and they ask the relatives, but now the relatives suddenly say need to do so many things. Which is making me feel more sianz.

huisi: i guess try not to quarrel ba. After all, wedding is only for that day, but you have to spend the rest of your life with him. I guess he also must be stressed out with all the wedding prep and also worried that need to spend more money. But on the other hand, i know what you mean cos i also end up quarelling with hubby over many small things on the wedding.

huisi, for my BS, aft confirming & arranging e layout.. approx 10 working days shld be able to collect.. i send them for printing on 05jul & collected them last sat..

i intend to buy e umbrella & e fan..

lawi, yah lo.. lots of things gt to manage ourselves aft moving out..

hehe, ladies, as i was reading i realised i have the same prob as most of you...be it probs given by parents, in-laws or even partner who do not show support on ideas...but as days past, i decided to take things in my stride, like wat lawlipop say, wedding day is just a day..eventually, we shld be looking forward to a happy marriage

Hello all..

Hmm. Have prepared a list of items on what is needed for the GDL. So, now awaiting for 'approval' from parents. Thinking of getting them separately. Like the bath tub, potty, basin will just get red ones from supermarktes. Those food stuffs for GDL, think will get it from market.

Huisi > let's share what are required..
what did relatives request?

Btw, may I know what are the things parents have to do? Do we need to practice the 'something new, something borrowed' custom?

Besides getting stuffs for GDL, printing of cards and wedding album, settling the JMs and XDs, A.D. schedule, montage. What else do we have to do?

Lawlipop> Hmm, the choosing of furnitures, got to take your time. Try to have mutual agreement on the design, price, etc. Cannot rush, else might lead to conflicts in later part of the marriage.
If really no time, suggest to just get basics like
bed, cupboard and settle the kitchen first.

Hi Guys i have a big problem here, those VG & PG which i looking for end up all been reserve.
Do u all have any recommendation for any VG & PG??? Hope the package will not be too expensive @.@~

lawlipop: throughout the preparations.. I realize that cannot ask relatives.. cos they sure add in a lot of unnecessary stuffs.. my mum wanna ask my aunties.. and I told her.. I just find out myself from the internet =X

trying to avoid quarrelling with him also.. now I just execute my ideas without asking him... i only inform that I have done :P

bluey: already started to feel tired le.. sometimes, I wish I can bo chup.. haha..

xinyue: so far my relatives din request anything... is lawlipop's...

my parents din ask me to practice the "sth new, sth borrowed " custom.. cos they dunno anything... but I followed myself instead.. ;P
new things will be my wedding shoes, bedsheet etc.. borrowed things will be the wedding gown.. haha.. cos we need to return to BS after the wedding...

besides all the things u mentioned, still have to take care of the seating/table arrangement.. if u have An Chuan or hair combing, need to buy the stuffs for AC/hair combing as well... and not forgetting to send reminders to guests to ask them to rsvp

vola: what is your budget? I tot u have cnfm I-Studio already?

Huisi: Hai~ My HTB told me he will settle those VG & PG stuff, end up when the date is nearer. all those VG & PG which we like all fully book. Than now he started to feel panic! AWW~~~

Anyway the whole packet include VG & PG around $1.600 (VG only need for the morning section & highlight express)

bluey: guess that is why we all log on here... cos got ppl to share our complaints with!

xinyue: actually we got most of our furniture liao. cos we were the most enthusiastic about furniture (plus got GSS) and end up buying some even before reno works started! at least got the essentials already so the rest can hold back and wait till got time to go shop again.

vola: how about checking with your BS too? My BS told me can go find my own, but if nothing suitable, can approach them nearer the date cos they have a list of freelance PG/VG. Problem is that because they are freelance, you may be taking a risk that they are not so good lah. Maybe can try asking BS to show you some of their portfolio too (my BS had some on their computer so they just showed me as sample).

huisi: I also find out on internet! But the relatives add on for us... sigh...

lawlipop > i am belinda.. just changed my nick :p
heehee.. good good.. ok, so furniture shop is storing them for you?

huisi > ok, thanks.. I dunno is the 'something new, something borrowed is part of the custom or not'.

Hi brides, i've MIA-ed for several mths.

Hows everyone?

MY GDL is over and had collected my invitiation cards 2 wks back, will be sending out the cards before lunar 7th mth.

Vola, when is ur AD? Have u check out Lawrence Pang from Muse and Hues?

morning all,

I think those relatives are the hardest..cos they will kpo & ask then add to ur nv ending list..

For both parents & PILs, we agree on the realli needed products.. then thoes nt sure or might not need, use a overall angbao to cover everything..then no miss out no argument.. so nt much of trouble on myside for tat..

xinyue, i told my mum & mil i wan do away with the potty & basins thingy, & both agree, so will be represented in the overall angbao..

i din practise something new, something borrowed..

Vola, can the pdf file be open? or not suitable for you?

snow, your GDL so early?

Huisi: hee, u r gng thru wat i juz went thru..really tough period..haha..like lawlipop say, we are here for one another to share the woes

snow...hows ur GDL??i'm having mine this saturday, but have yet to prepare coz i duno wat else shld i prepare..haha...i gng for the simplest, which is cans of pork legs, oranges and wedding cakes...then my side will prepare to send the bedsheet that i've bought earlier over...anything to add on?

Lawlipop: yeah agreed with you sometime we need someone to share

Jolene: Thank so much for the file. Some not bad we did ask for the quotation^^ btw i was thinking taking the 1/2 day video express from filmlet productions .. as we feel that morning VG is much more important than evening, plus 50% much more cheaper. Can save up the money go holiday. heehee

Snow: my actual day is on 16 Sept=)

Bluey: my GDL almost like urs, cans of pork legs, oranges, wedding cakes, bed sheet & Bed Frame & Prosperity Lamp. Guess that all for my GDL.

xinyue: yup, they're storing the furniture for us. Usually they will help keep for a couple of months and only need to put a deposit.

snow: yes! your GDL is so early! But guess you want to have it before 7th month so that can distribute card early? i just finalised the card so hopefully can collect next week.

I am really starting to feel the stress. Cos suddenly very busy at work and there is still so many little things to tie up. Hoping to ask jiemeis to do but also dunno what to ask them to do...

does anyone know where i can get white dresses for flower girls? i've 2 who are about 12 so difficult to find size since they are somewhere in between kids and teens.

xinyue: the sth new sth borrowed is more to western kind of custom i think...

snow: welcome back.. hehe... ur GDL so fast.. now you can relax a bit liao.. how was your GDL?

jolene: I told my mum I dun wan those potty and basins.. she say cannot... sianz... she dun wan everything represented in angbao.. say wat not nice.. =.=..

bluey: enjoy your GDL this sat...

lawlipop: same here.. I also wanna ask my jiemeis to help.. but dunno how and what to ask them also.. for flower girls dresses, you can try kiddy palace..

huisi: thanks, will go check out kiddy palace. Got one branch near my place.

Thomas: thanks too! Will go check out OG... I also heard from another friend that OG has a lot.

Hopefully can find the dresses!

no prob..we almost bought from there also. ended up din buy cos dunno whether she likes the design, gave her an AP to let her buy herself.

try the OG at chinatown, that's where I saw a lot of designs.

lawlipop > ok..
huisi > noted about the something borrowed, something new custom.
jolene > think it depends on both sets of parents. my PIls didnt say anything about it. but my mom insisted on the potty, bathtub and wedding lamps.. so will be getting them from household shops.

good day everyone..

how's the preparation so far? 7th mth and Aug will be here very soon.. means we only have less than 1 mth to our AD!!

I've collected my invitation cards liao... found 3 spelling mistakes on the map.. but we dun intend to reprint... cos we find it not really obvious =X

planning the table arrangement already a headache le.. and yet my mum still say wanna add tables... haiz.. really no space liao.. I rather invite more frens than relatives... my dad also dunno y my mum wan to invite so many "distant" relatives...

Good morning everyone.

Finally i just have my VG & PG settle... meeting them up these weekend. Anything i need to take notes from them???

Huisi: last weekend i also just collected my invitation card, these weekend target is to write all the guest name n send out.

btw table arrangement is also a headache stuff, my mummy say she not going to write her friend name on the card cause she dont know how to write Chinese & English... headache!!!

Hello..

Huisi > I have just approved the cards. So, I think printing of cards will start soon.

Vola > Ask them if they drive and confirm if they will follow you on A.D in their own car or? How long in advance do you have to confirm with them on your A.D schedule..
maybe also can discuss what kind of photos do you want? as in black white, sephia or normal color?

TGIF!!

vola: can ask ur vg/pg the no of hours.. usually is 10 hrs.. can ask if they have any charges for early hours or extra time..

xinyue: gd for u.. =)

after got my cards, MIL say we actually need to write "奉慈命" on the cards becos both side paternal grandma is still around... my mum still ask me to reprint.. *faint*... I told them I dun wan to reprint... at most I go do a chop and stamp on the card.. haiz... when ask them to check, they say ok.. after got the cards den so many requests...

huisi.. maybe u double confirm if really really really must have the 3 words on the cards.. did the printer ask u this qn b4 printing? cos maybe do chop and stamp might not look nice?

ooh.. i also wanna ask which caterer is good. can jus sign up for member on Neo garden website. have member discount... my mama keep telling me to find good caterer if not relatives will complain food not nice haha..

Morning… Raining day. Don’t feel like working@.@
Huisi & xinyue: thank for your advise just confirm everything with them=D
Karen & HuiShan: My AD buffet caterers is “Good luck kitchen†been order few time, the dish is really GOOD=D
So far my relative & grand mum try the foods all get a good feedback.