(2010/09) Sept Brides

lawlipop77

TGIF all!

Got thoughts on what you all discussing above but too busy so will respond later!

Just want to mention to those who intend to sign up for the NEO Garden membership. They have a promotion now where you can sign up for free and today is the last day, so if you want to, quick quick go sign up! Think usually got to pay $30. Can sign up online...

eeyorex

karen: thinking to order from neo garden.. :p

huishan: my mum insist that must put the 3 words to show that my grandma is still around.. and she very pantang.. she dun wan anything to happen to my grandma also.. i dun wan to reprint.. so chop is the best choice liao.. if not nice... den bo bian...

haiz.. so afraid of last min things again..

lawlipop: thanks for the info.. will sign up for neo garden membership..

xinyue

hai.. sian.. my mom just told me i need to give all my jie meis and xiong dis rides to the restaurant and also rides for all family members to the restaurant..

reason being - mine is lunch and all will be at my side before proceeding to restaurant.. headache..

ev3

hello all,

Huisi> glad u found a solution for the cards, can imagine its not a gd thing for last min changes. i also have many requests from my parents on the GDL, An Chuan stuff.. abit headache lo..

i havent bk the buffet, saw some recommendation here. is Neo garden good?

Like to check with all, is it usual to stick to standard vows or customised? my JP told us we could customise. prior to that, we did not think abt it at all. any suggestions to share? thanks!

gixmoz

ev3... customised vows will be more meaningful and personal... and fun also cos u dunno wat would your hubby gg to say... hee... i had customised vows...

eeyorex

morning all.. its AUG already... time is running out..

xinyue: my mum insisted that must fetch my parents and my grandma to the hotel using bridal car.. super sianz... have to pay more to the driver to go a few trips... haiz..

eve: ya no choice lor.. sat collected the chop and stamp on all the cards.. quite obvious cos of the color.. but at least better than nth...
I used customized vows as well.. can google for the vows online and copy certain phrase that you like... well, if you dun wan.. can use standard vows as well.. =)

xinyue

huisi > personally, I felt fetching parents and grandparents to hotel is ok.. hmm, how about sugggesting to them that you will be allocating another car to fetch them to hotel? like one of the xiongdi can fetch them there? or is it possible for them to join u in the wedding car? then can save a trip.
hubbby and i have allocated 2 cars to fetch parents n grandma to restaurant..
but to allocate cars for all jiemeis.... hmmm

argh.. it just came to mind that we did not include "奉慈命" in the cards..

eeyorex

haiz.. super pissed off with one of my cousins... she saw a ranting post abt my relatives buying gold for me in my blog and that was linked to fb.. and I dunno what she spread.. end up every auntie wan to see what I rant... and my mum is very angry with me.. say I very rude... wth =.=

I still dun think I have done anything wrong... I rant in my blog... I din mention names at all lor.. now, even want to rant in blog also no privacy...

been crying over the night for this issue... feel that everyone wants me to listen to them... its my wedding... its my blog and yet they also wanna control me... whateva I do is deem as wrong and rude.. only to follow their traditional way then is correct... haiz...

xinyue: I dunno what tradition... my mum and grandma insist that I shld use bridal car to fetch them... dont they understand bridal car is for the groom and bride? haiz.. suan le... already made arrangements liao...

for jiemeis, I dun think its necessary la.. if the brothers are driving... can just ask the brothers to drive the jiemeis...

think not many pple know abt the "奉慈命"... I got the chop for in red ink... my cousin also say she din include.. but scare those elders not happy.. so ask me to lend her after my wedding... if u wan, I can pass it to u to chop first...

tayy0003

Huisi: The wedding is yours and your hubby's!! =) more people more opinion, more comments, more evil tongues. Ignore them! We've had months and months of preparation for that 1 final day. Jia you!!! i've been trying my best to keep my own opinions up for wedding too~ hehe.

Thanks all for your contribution to the caterers...Neo I've considered b4 too..coz so pop..but after a few reviews from friends think gonna drop that...

May try 'Ye Lai Siang' or Yan Palace. =)

Aiyoh and 1 of my jiemei's granny passed away suddenly, less army strength for my squad now. Heh.

gixmoz

huisi... chill.. jus put that unhappiness aside and concentrate on the preparations bah.. regarding the bridal car thingy, my hubby once told me my MIL want him to use bridal car to fetch her to hotel... but he rejected her saying bridal car only 2 seater hehhe... so she got nothing to say hiaks... but if really bridal car need to fetch mothers, it would be the groom's side bah... is it cos they wanna sit bridal car, thats why have that request? hee...

eeyorex

karen: I am mentally drained out liao.. brides supposed to be the most radiant... but is opposite for me... everyone is putting the stress on me...

huishan: my mum told me its a must to fetch the bride's side.. cos bride's side considered "vip guest".. i also think they wanna sit bridal car... but she just insist its the tradition =.=... dunno what nonsense tradition is that =X

now another prob... my mum complain that I am stingy... only print extra 5 cards... kaoz.. I already printed 10 more on top of the 5 cards le... becos she want to invite more pple den blame that my cards are too little... wah lau... and say the envelops not enough... =.=

as if I dun have problems on my own... really feel like giving up now...

gixmoz

huisi, u write all your cards liaoz? im intending to hold back writing cards for my friends... if really really not enuff, then dun write cards for close frens.. i believe they will understand one...

how many tables u budget for inititally and how much u printed ?

kiwifruit

Karen: any problem with Neo gardens? i think their menu looks quite appetising and offers more varieties. my friend used to recommend Purple Sage to me.. food is good and nicely presented but cost quite a bit. You may wana consider?

Talking abt Jiemeis.. my squad keep changing oso. One withdrew coz her fortune teller say her wedding in april is too close to mine haha.. crazy. Another one was going to withdraw coz her husband say she oredi married even thgh i helped her just half a year ago to be jiemei! THe third one who live overseas complained about my 'ugly' fabric chosen and oso she can't find a tailor there.. etc etc So much difficulty to get them together just for that one day.

kiwifruit

btw im still not quite happy with my so called five star hotel service at Raffles. changed so many coordinators liao and they do not provide assisted rehearsal at all. only provide venue for personal rehearsal with some technician assistance for the music. and oso their colour selection is very limited. only white for napkins and burgundy/gold for sash. if one guest from the guest list did not turn up on the actual day, will charge me 100 for him!

eeyorex

huishan: most of the cards write liao... and 10% of the cards give my frens liao.. budget for 30 tables.. printed 200 cards.. cos hubby's side relatives say no need to give... we count initially only need abt 180-190 cards nia.. I am thinking extra 10-20 should be enough.. who knows my mum keep increasing the number of relatives... den now blame me... I think hubby's side shld have extra...

ms wong: u shld feedback to the catering director.. we pay so much, shldnt get lousy service de... how can charge u if ur guest din turn up.. at most the table got 1 empty seats nia... somemore we paid is based on table not person ma..

lawlipop77

sounds like all of us got some issues with relatives/parents... huisi, do try to hang in there. No point making yourself upset over the unreasonable requests. Think you should tell your mum that the banquet hall has maximum capacity so can't add too many ppl?

It is like that lah... at first, everyone said no customs. Then 2 months to the wedding, suddenly got so many customs. I also super sianz...

xinyue

huisi > *pat pat* erm.. maybe is the 'status or face' thingy ba, that is why they want to be fetched in bridal car. I offered my bridal for mom to take to restaurant but she says no. She pantang.. cos my mom will be going with my granny (who needs wheel chair, meaning wheel chair will be in boot). So I allocated one XD to fetch them.

cannot rant in blog, nvm. u still have this place to rant.. cheer up.. else, feasible for u to lock the blog?

I heard invitation cards is more for distant relatives. Those close ones, can do without it.. How true, am not sure..

yeah.. ignore these relatives, so long 'Wen xin wu qui' can liao. whenever got big event, all will want to comment.

thanks for the offer on the chop. I will check out with parents first..

xinyue

huisi > cos both my XDs are driving. one XD to fetch PILs and the other to fetch my family.. so no more allocation for JMs.. So, maybe get XDs to make a few more trips..

lawlipop > customs not sian.. is the logistics, seating arrangement, unforeseen circumstances of JMs and XDs that are more sian..
one of the XDs uncle just passed away. So now, XD
squad down to 2. hope not much changes for JMs squad.

kiwifruit

hui si: maybe becoz i have less tables i guess and my servings are all indiv serving i.e. western style so thats why charge per person but 100 bucks per absentee even thgh i will meet their min requirement is daylight robbery. Their changing of 3 coordinators within 1 year is something i've never heard b4.

xinyue: thk its better to allocate a separate car for ur JM coz they need to accompany you all the way so if no car for them will delay the entire procedure? depends on your schedule of course.

chilliinketchup

Here to look look see see.

My wedding dinner is on 12 Sep, so I have already given out our invitation cards this week.

But if yours is end of Sep, then u still have a bit of time to give out the cards.

I think sometimes we have to be more assertive to ward off the unnecessary comments and requests from parents or relatives. Especially parents, they must be on your side, and everything else will be easier.

kiwifruit

erm.. wana ask you all hor, do you intend to distribute your invites during the 7th mth to your friends? isit ok? i thk its really xiong to try and distribute the invites before next week siah?

lawlipop77

Ms Wong: don't think i can make it to distribute the cards before 7th month. What we will do is to send out "Save the Date" emails/smses to friends and colleagues and we will distribute the cards later only. As for relatives and parents' friends, we will send out the cards before 7th month.

eeyorex

lawlipop: agree.. initially all agree to do things simple.. but its not that simple actually... yup.. told my mum max capacity is 35 although is 38.. lol...

xinyue: lucky i still have here to rant.. keke... already decided to set password to my blog.. only those got password can access to read...

chilli: u mia for very long time liao.. :p... I send out invitations to some of my frens liao... intend to give my colleagues and relatives after my GDL...

ms wong: its up to u and ur frens... if ur frens mind, then better not.. for me, some of my frens dun mind... so I will just meet them to give them the card... but for relatives.. I know its definitely a no-no...

xinyue

huisi > heehee... have asked parents about the "奉慈命". They say no need to include in card. Restaurant just called hubby, informing that we can go down to collect cards liao. So, next step I guess is to find out the name (in chinese characters) of the respective relatives.

Chilli > what is next for you?

Lawlipop > How's ur renovation? Got all furniture and electrical appliances?

ms wong > yeah..

lawlipop77

huisi: same here... also said 35... but our plan is to keep at 30-32 cos my HTB attended wedding there before and said that 32 already look a bit too packed.

xinyue: renovation adding more headache. Cos spend so much time liaising with ID and choosing stuff for the house. Then we were very upset with paint job and ask them to re-do this week. Hopefully it will come out ok... got most of the furniture already, but not electronics yet.

chilliinketchup

Huisi: Hahah... I am very occupied by the house reno since the start of July. A lot of things to see to. Buying of this, deciding on that etc.

Painting of house this week. We will continue the reno into the 7th month so that we can have our matrimonial house on our AD.

My GDL was done 3 weeks ago. Everything was fine that day. Both our families are easy-going on the procedures, nothing elaborate.

Your AD is on 25 Sep, still got 16 days after lunar 7th mth to see to your stuff, mine on 12 Sep, very rush. Hahah..

Xinyue: We had our food tasting last Fri. Will confirm wedding dinner details with the hotel on 14 Aug.

Still have some ding ding dong dongs to settle. Booking of food caterer for AD, confirm sofa & coffee table colours, buy some extra red/white wines, final gown fitting, confirm fridge design etc.

Other than that, I think will be on house reno. I check out the progress every day. Scared cannot meet schedule.

Hope everyone can stay positive!

lawlipop77

chilli: haha... i know what you mean when you say that you are very occupied with your house! If painting this week, then should be ok cos that means only left carpentry before the renovation is complete?

Not so sure where to get the stainless steel toilet accessories? I got my toilet stuff at sungei road there... Think my taps are stainless steel and i haven't bought the rest of the accessories (like towel hanger, toilet roll holder etc.) yet. I am going this weekend, so i help you ask if they have stainless steel? Even sim siang choon and all those big shops don't have?

kiwifruit

lawlipop & huisi: yeah, i tried to give out all the cards to relatives last weekend and for some of my friends, today I even went to the extent of sending them by post coz really too hard to meet one by one whether 7th month or not. does not help that my wedding is on 12 Sep, 5th day after 7th month and i need to confirm my guest list to hotel at least a week before.

Chilli: so you are 12 sep bride oso
you seem to be quite advanced in terms of schedule. but i guess no choice.. little time left b4 the 7th month haha.. i oso did my GDL a few weeks ago.

But i must say you gals are really capable to cope with the reno on top of the wedding stuff. i'm not working at the moment with no reno yet oredi finding myself quite busy with all the nitty gritty like shopping for wedding stuff, honeymoon clothing, selecting the various service provider like MUA, florist, wedding band etc etc.it is all really time consuming and sometimes i wonder is it becos im simply too fussy :p

chilliinketchup

lawlipop77: Yeah, after painting will be carpentry & lightings work, and air-con installation too.

Actually I have already bought most of the toilet accessories and got some stainless steel items from Sim Siang Choon.

I bought all my stuff from Genova, Hoe Kee, Sim Siang Choon and Royal Franco. The things they have are mainly chrome.

It didn't occur to me that I should have gotten stainless steel accessories until I saw them in Sim Siang Choon.

Sungei Road is at Jalan Besar. U can try GR Link and Poh Joo along Jalan Besar. Prices there are reasonable. Royal Franco is along the same stretch, beside the Beancurd City.

Do help me ask about stainless steel stuff if u are visiting any other shops! Thanks!

ev3

Catching up reading the post for past 3 days... i am really glad we have this channel to share, & rant...

Huisi> sorry to hear wat happened abt ur prep/blog. but u are certainly not alone. I also faced many requests recent few wks esp my close cousin's wedding is in oct, the aunties do almost 'weekly updates/comparison', at sometimes, i got kinda frustrated too, and felt like givin up. fortunately, my HTB been encouraging me & stepping in to help more. hang in there ya... we will work towards our big day and stay happier & pretty!

Cheers all!

xinyue

chilli > How was the food tasting? heehee, though my reno was completed, i just started buying furniture recently. slowly buy lor.. if u r not too fussy, just get the major ones first. like for me, I got my sofa set during last yr's christmas, tv console, curtain rods and curtains last month.
Due to budget constraints, i am getting furnitures one at a time.

lawlipop > yeah.. must Watch those contractors at work. then they will do a slightly satisfactory work. my painting also needed re-dos, 3 times. Do remember to get some extra paints from painters. this is just in case the paint comes off during moving in of furnitures or when drilling (esp bedrooms)

Now i headache cos I need a powerful drill to drill holes for curtain rods and also those clothes hanger..

vershawn

hi ladies, reading thru the past 2mths posts, i think we r all freaking stressed...a lot of probs cropped up on my side too...the intended wedding car got scratched and my relative din even tell me. I invited their whole family of 6 cos borrowing the car, now invited all 6 oredi then he told me car got a deep long scratch....haiz....so will need to fork out extra cash to rent car....then couldn't find suitable videographer within my budget of $800. I only need to capture the day's events, don't need express highlights but they are all so expensive....

huisi: my mum oso mentioned that bridal car got to fetch them to hotel and back home after dinner...i dunno wat tradition is tat but she's quite insistent abt it though. Says MIL is VIP.

As for the printing on inserts, I was glad I went to T-dragon as they did advise us on all the traditional items to be included in the card, so I didn't have the 奉慈命 problem.

realised some of your GDL dates are quite early, mine will be on 9th Sept and my mum is at a complete loss on what is needed...hahaha...

well, back to my mugging...still got exams and work to do...jia you everyone!!!1

eeyorex

eve: just wish sep is here faster.. lol... its mentally and physically tired lor.. haha..

sher: yup.. my mum also say bride's side is VIP... my GDL is on the 8th of Sep =).. jiayou and good luck for your exams..

chilliinketchup

xinyue: The food was good. Hopefully they can keep up with it on our AD.

U have just reminded me that I need to source for curtain rods and curtains. Where did u get your curtains from?

Huisi: Are u sure u want Sep to be here faster? What if tmr u wait up and realise that it's 8 Sep already, and preparations are still done up to this stage only?

xinyue

chilli > depends on whether you want MTM or off the rack. For me, I am getting those off the rack ones.
Got my curtains and rods from Chongpang market (yishun), cheap and nice. You can go Tanjong Katong Complex and Joo Chiat Complex too.

Do not go to IKEA. very expensive, I got 2 sets of curtains there earlier on. Not worth the $$.

For MTMs, heard from some forummers that they went over to JB to do.

Sher > You can go down to ask those shops selling wedding stuffs on what is needed. That is provided you are getting things from them. If just to look see, be prepared to receive bad attitudes from them! This is my personal encounter.

chilliinketchup

xinyue: Hey thanks. I'll check out these three places. What is the price of curtains like? I know they can cost more than a thousand for the whole house.
kao_dizzy.gif

I have placed a reservation for a Sharp washing machine and LG Side-By-Side refrigerator with Mega Discount at Kallang Leisure Park. I also bought a LG LED 42" TV from them on impulse. We usually compare with other shops before buying one.
kao_sad2.gif

Their prices are very competitive. U should go and check it out. There's another branch at United Square, but it's much smaller.

I have not asked for any of them to be delivered yet, don't know if their products are ok, so shall only comment on their prices.

xinyue

chilli > erm.. I bought those off the rack. Did not MTM. One set of curtains, 145 x 229 costs me $95. It is 2 layer of clothes, giving ppl the illusion that I have 2 curtain tracks.
another set which i got, costs me $20 - is half length. I dun remember the dimensions.

ok thanks.. Am considering Fisher & Paykel Fridge and Brandt front load washing machine.

eeyorex

chilli: i dun mind time pass faster.. I just wanna get over it asap... so far left table arrangements and some misc things nia.. lol.. lesser time can push us to do things faster.. haha

xinyue: can start to write the cards liao =)

xinyue

huisi > heehee.. yeah.. need to consolidate the names soon.. Have you done your photo slide show?

I wonder what is still needed to be done.. Scare I miss things out.. like not much time left..

chilli: abt half the price compared to sg

if u are not doing a lot, can easily handcarry but if whole house, better to pay them to deliver to sg and install for u.

icyhot

Congrats to all btbs!
Can you share with me the market rates to give for wedding emcees, xiong dis and jie meis? Thanks