(2010/09) Sept Brides

hello all,

any ideas on wedding vows? do we need to customise with a personalised message? how does it work.. care to explain?

hi Ev3: I'm not doing any customised vow, opted to do the normal vows. But from my friend's example, she just wrote down what she pledges to do and what they been through as part of the vows..

may i know where to get those bedsheets(auspicious for weddings) but not those solely for wedding ones(dun wan those with embroideries/cartoons).. keke

you can get them anywhere. aussino, homestyle, john little, robinsons, bhg, etc. basically anywhere that sells bedsheets.

kaijia: saw nice ones at Robinsons but they are quite pricey. Good news is that GSS is on!

ask you all something... just wondering if you having roast pig, will it be brought during GDL or on AD? We wanted to have it on AD, but quite silly if they bring and have to leave it outside during gatecrash? But if during GDL, then it won't appear in the photo montage? Any advice?

hi everyone.. hows the preparations so far.. july is here soon and means we have only 2 mth left!!

my food tasting was so-so.. quite disappointed with some of the dishes.. my hubby is so bad that he comment that the noodle is of hawker center standard.. *faint*... the portion I think is just nice, but the guys think the portion is too little... and we will change a few dishes...

during "ti-qing" session, both sides also agree on what to give.. and also agree to use angpao to replace certain stuffs to make things easier... I tot it will be a stern session.. lucky it turned out fine

eve: its up to u whether u wan personalized vows.. if u cant think of any, den just use the standard vows ba.. for me, i search online, copy and paste a few phrases here and there.. modify abit.. and i got my personalized vow...

lawlipop:I dun have roast pig.. I tot usually roast pig is actual day.. but is when u return to ur mum's home... just my thinking, even if during GDL, you can take pics of the GDL and include in the montage... =)

thanks huisi. my friend had it during GDL cos she invited her relatives so can distribute to them on that day too. My ROM is in church on my AD, so got no time to go collect roast pig before.

hmm... my food tasting at gwp was quite good leh. We were quite satisfied, except for the fish, we thought was not very fresh and we feedback to the chef. They also didn't bring out the correct sauces but assured us that they will during the actual banquet. Did you meet the chef at the end of the dinner? Should feedback cos it is your right!

lawli: suckling pig usually delivered on AD...bride's family will chop and return parts of it (forgotten which parts) to the groom.

take note if u want suckling pig, ur hubby gotta ask one of his XDs to wake up damn early on AD to go collect on his behalf...no way yr hubby can go collect himself cos he'll be busy. My MIL told me to do away with the suckling pig cos quite troublesome really. I substituted it with AP and gave her.

Hi Lawlipop, for my frens, usually they will hav the roast pig delivered on AD 2gther with the bride when she goes back to her house for tea ceremony..so wat u can do is to assign 2 brothers to go collect while u guys go back to the groom hse for tea ceremony...depending on how far is the travelling distance then u plan accordingly lo..

lawlipop: ya.. we talked to the chef and he say he will prepare bigger portions for actual day.. now we are discussing again on the menu..

lawlipop > Roasted pig is normally delivered on AD together with the bride when she goes back to mom's place for tea ceremony. From what I know, delivery of the pig is done by the shop. Thus, delivery time is not within our control.
Portions to be returned to the groom side - pig head and tail. The middle portion to be replaced by groom's pants and belt (both should be new and wrapped in red cloth). Middle portion to be kept by bride side, to be distributed to her guests during dinner.

I heard that giving of roast pig is a Cantonese custom. It is brought to the bride's home on AD if the groom's family believed that the bride is married as a virgin.

My mama told me the middle portion will be cut and retained by the bride's side, the head and backside parts are returned to the groom. She said u need a butcher around to cut it nicely.

chilli > giving of roasted pig is cantonese custom, however there are other dialect groups following it. likewise for gate crashing

morning all..

I think nowadays, all the customs are mixed up le.. just like SDJ.. supposedly only for Teochew bride.. but if the groom side can afford, also can give SDJ.. so its up to individual on how to "customize" the traditions :P

end of june le... july is here liao...

furthermore lunar 7th month cannot do anything (accordingly to my MIL).. basically im just left with about 6-7wks to gao dim most of the things... stressed !!!

yeah i think need to think more about what to do for roast pig. My MIL is cantonese so i think she definitely wants to give.

huishan: wow, your MIL is very strict! Don't stress don't stress. The good thing about rushing now is that you can take a break during 7th month and spend more quality time with your hubby.

I feel that the wedding process takes up so much time and need to please so many other people when the focus of the wedding should really be the 2 of us. So must try to spend personal time aside from planning to just focus on the relationship ba. It's been very difficult for me to do that lately cos really got a lot of things to do, but let's all try our best!

Hang in there everyone...

huishan: dun stress.. one thing at a time.. we must be pretty brides.. haha..

I still haven print my invitation cards, table arrangement not done... cos my guest list like keep increasing =.=..

lawlipop: yeah.. we need to spend more quality time with our partner.. if not everytime meet, is talk abt wedding stuffs.. dun have the "us" time at all..

recently managers give me more workload due to the resigning of my colleague.. means I will have lesser time to do wedding stuffs in office liao :P

it will be over very fast... jia you everyone..

belind>> i haven go for my food tasting, have not send cards for printing, montage half done, GDL stuff also not bought yet.. and the list jus goes on.. have to pia liaoz...

huisi>> my guest list is shrinking loh !! alot of ppl cant come. that is one big headache..

yup, i also tink that it will be over quite fast haha...

huisi, huishan > For me, food tasting, selecting card design, color theme and ti qing all will be done next weekend. I guess once I have selected card design, will send card for printing ba.

Not yet done montage, not yet buy GDL stuffs and others too. Guest list is pending RVSP. Xiong Dis and Jiemeis not confirm wor..

Sometimes, I cant wait to get over this wedding day. Sometime, I just want to enjoy the whole process.

Marriage is for a life time, wedding is for a day. Why are we focusing more on the wedding than marriage itself?

hi ladies, for me I have done my food tasting and it turns out the chef is a long time friend of my mum! So hopefully the food will be good on AD...Just went T dragon over the weekend to print inserts and i think their service is good. Ordered cakes for GDL too. Now need to settle guest list so can send out first round of invitation...

huishan: my guest list is expanding and I dun have enuf tables...arghhh....

belinda: i agree too, sometimes i wonder y are we spending so much $ for jus one day? Yet, it's a day that will not repeat again....dilemma...hahaha...

Sher > ops.. must order the cakes, how early in advance?
Wow.. good for you! The food will be nice, don't worry.
Possible to get more tables? Or will you ask again on the attendees as date gets nearer?

belinda: yeah.. we spent so much time and $$ for that day... I always tell my hubby.. if I really have a choice... I rather just ROM and go for honeymoon can liao.. no need to stress over so many things.. haha...

sher: me too.. my guest list is expanding and dun have enough tables also... already asked my mum to cut down her frens.. haha.. I rather invite more of my frens than her frens =X.. lol...

gals, how early should we sent out thr 1st round of invitation? and how late should we send out to those in "reserved" guest lists? hmm...

hi belinda: I'm getting 50 boxes of cakes to distribute to my relatives, thus need to order in advance, about 1-2 mths in advance. I'm getting the cakes from Pine Garden cos I LOVE their lychee martini cake. Mine is GDL Set 2 which consists of 9 slices of cakes with different flavours like cheesecake, lychee martini, orange blast, etc. It costs $12.80 per box.

I'm trying to get down on the number of colleagues to invite but quite a few are in the in between group where I'm not very close to them but I work closely with them...dilemma....

not possible to get any more tables. Max for my ballroom is 25 tables. Guess i shall just be thick-skinned and not invite the in between group...hahhaa

Hi all, im having my food tasting nxt sat. Next will be buying GDL stuffs.As for cards, waiting for collection on 12jul and will start to give out cards. Den will be table arrangement..

Hmm im oso wondering isit vry earli for mi to giv out card during late jul/earli aug (juz b4 7th mth) n hw late to send out?reali headache..cuz nw ppl will say dey shd be free..but is ard 2mths in adv to ask them..n we wun noe if there is any last min change..

Sher and Huisi: me too..my guest list are more than wat my ballroom can occupy..hehz..reali headache..hahaha..

Belinda: yeah..i agree!!is reali a lifetime thing..but we are vry bz n stressed up on tt impt day...

I see.. I need only ard 20 boxes of cakes and thinking of cake vouchers, can mail together with the invitation cards. but parents say have to deliver cards personally. my gdl on weekday, auspicious timing in morning. means have to wait till evening to deliver! argh. do you all have auspicious gdl timing?

JOleen > i am also having food tasting next sat, 10 jul! heehee. i guess giving out of invitation cards one month before should be just nice. but make to make sure it wont fall within 7th lunar mth.

Sher > I like their lychee martini too.. but Pine cake too far for me le.. :S

huisi > lol.. ROM and honeymoon was what my MIL suggested to hubby. hubby insisted on wedding lunch. i knew parents also want wedding lunch, but was willing to do away with after hearing MIL's suggestion. so now, they kind of get their wish. on the other hand, they are now making some noise why we want lunch instead. :S I really want to bang head against the wall. argh!

yup, we are all stressed up. it would be ideal to go for spa to relax, but like no time and (almost)no $$

Sher> i will be getting my GDL cakes from Pine too. Will order abt 30 only. i also find set 2 most attractive with the variety =) Will place my orders this wkend!

Like Sher, I find finalising colleagues' list most headache! I have started writing the cards, now finalising the guest lists on colleagues.

Next, will be TiQing and buy GDL stuff this weekend. Also, started looking at the honeymoon packages.Plan to go right after AD. I have 78 days left... >.> agree with many of u, its like we are starting to hope the AD gets over soon! its just a day of wedding, while we should be spending more time preparing for marriage and 'us' time.

I have a question to seek advice. - on the music rights issues. in the event we have a videographer, do we still need to make other types of payment? I am not v clear ...

i still haven't decided on number of cakes yet! Think must buck up here... haha.... still waiting for my dad to count the relatives and friends he want to give cakes to. Seems like Pine Garden is very popular!

By the way, does anyone know where i can get fruitcake (apart from prima deli)?

Ev3: I think if it is a professional videographer, he may have already paid for the rights. The charges will come in if you play a song together with the video. But if he paid for the rights, he may ask you to pay more to cover his costs. I haven't check with my PG/VG as well cos i am scared he will say have to pay more!

An option is to play the video separate from the song (cos most hotels have entertainment licence already), but you will need to time it perfectly...

morning all..

i am thinking whether to buy the cakes from Sweetest Moments.. anyone has tried the cupcakes b4?

I went to search for Pine Garden, but the websit dun really have much info... must I go down to see the cakes for GDL myself?

belinda: my GDL also on a weekday.. so far MIL din say got any auspicious timing.. only know that AC got auspicious timing.. but also on weekday.. parents are like that de.. want this intitally but after considering or heard some pple comments.. they changed their mind again..

eve:I think ur videographer shld have paid for the copyrights license le.. but if not, I think we have to pay $50-100 per song.. another way is to use the royalty-free music..

huisi > my AC dun have auspicious timing, only auspicious day! hmm.. dunno la..

lawlipop > how about bengawan solo? Or Le Cafe? you heard of it? It is very popular for pineapple tarts. Not sure if their cakes taste nice or not.

belinda: thanks! will check out le cafe... I didn't see fruit cake on bengawan solo website though... Tried their excellent "fat" pineapples tarts and they are good!

huisi: my MIL decided on auspicious timing for AC and GDL. She also told me about auspicious timing to go out of the house and to sign marriage cert. i think i just follow lor... No big issue with timing also. when is your GDL?

Whoaaa so much to be done! GOSH, I m a sept bride too and guess I m lagging behind. *stress* Quite difficult for mi cos I m not in Sin most of the time... sigh.

Jus had my prewedding shoot and card selection done only. GDL, ti qin, food tasting, guest list, montage, selection of AD gown not done at all!

Can a kind soul advise mi, its GDL or tiqin first? Can I arrange a food-tasting then shun bian tiqin? Anyone does dat? Tiqin is to discuss who gives what, and the groom side give bride side AngPow, then we "bao" bk a certain amt? I blurrr siah.

And when is the start / end of the 7th mth? Reali cannot do anything ah? Including choosing of gown, do my montage??

belinda: I am having wedding lunch as well... I guess u can tell yr mum nowadays wedding lunch is veri common... after all, its still a sit-down banquet
Dats wat I told my mum! Oh will u be doing tea-ceromony at the hotel? What is yr programme list like? I hope u can shed some light... dunno its betta to do the tea ceromony before / during / after the banquet. *scrathch head*

All the best for the preps gals! Jia You

afternoon all..

brought my mum to buy her dress on sat.. went to City Plaza.. but all so exp de.. the quality not very nice also.. saw a sep btb who share the same date as me, in one of the shops..

end up brought my mum to daniel yam to buy her dress.. lucky they still have XL for my mum.. :X

yesterday went in to JB to confirm my invitation cards also.. super cheap.. abt S$1.05 per card with envelop, and include customization as well..

hows all preparation going on? :P

lawlipop: my MIL also has some aspicious timing for us to follow on AD.. if too early, then I wont follow.. cos need to pay extra to my MUA, PG and VG if need them to come early..
my GDL on 08 Sep..

drizzle: welcome.. do share with us your wedding details ya

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AiPfiKnwepH0dFdGYk9sUFlGN2Z2MDFrRFkwTDA0TVE&hl=en#gid=0

usually is tiqin first.. cos both families need to know what to give/prepare for GDL.. yup.. you can arrange food tasting together with tiqing... I did that way too... like that no need to spend extra money to eat on other days...

for my tiqing session, both mothers did the talking.. my mum just tell MIL how many boxes of cakes and how many cans of pig trotters... den the rest.. whateva my MIL give, she will take a bit and return the remaining...

start of 7th mth is 10 aug.. end is 07 sep.. my mum told me best is not to do anything during the 7mth.. but I think as long as u are not superstitious.. still can go ahead.. cos for me, I think I will plan my table arrangement and do those misc stuffs...

lawlipop > Maybe you can go down to bengawan solo to enquire on it? I was at their shop and saw that they sell fruit cake. Yeah, i like Le cafe's fat pineapapple tart too.. like the size of golf ball..

drizzles54 > Hello.. how was ur prewedding shoot?
From what I know, is normally ti qing first then GDL. There are couples who do have ti qing and food tasting concurrently. This is what I will be doing - have ti qing session together with food tasting.

Hmm from my understanding, ti qing is to discuss the dowry and betrothal items, pin jin, no of tables, no of boxes of cake/xi bing needed.

7th lunar mth starts somewhere middle of next week, if I didnt remember wrongly. Not sure on what cannot be done during 7th lunar month.
told her lunch is common, but sadly, our timing is super duper rush. No time for alot of things.

my rough program list as follows ;-

- hubby can only leave his house at 9am (to fetch me) *hubby cannot leave earlier than 9am*

- by time reach hubby's place is around 11am

- We will reach my mom's place at around 11.45am (Under the advice of geomancer, we have to go LOvenest before going back to my mom's place, means I will change into kua at lovenest).

- By time everything is done at mom's place, is at least 1pm. It was only recently that my parents told us, we have to go back to hubby's place to return part of the roasted pig before proceeding to restaurant.
- If that is the case, my lunch can only start earliest at 2pm. which will be too late for lunch.

According to geomancer, we have to return to my mom's place and finish tea ceremmony latest by 1pm.

I would suggest you to have an earlier timing for fetching bride if you like to do tea ceremony at the respectives homes. If timing allows, have another one before the banquet for those close relatives who missed the earlier one. Else, have it after the banquet.

GDL seems like another headache for me. My mom insists that we have to hand the invitation card personally to all invited guests for my side.
So far, not hear of such matter from hubby's side.

I cannot imagine having to do this in the evening when those recipents are same generation as me - my married cousins who are working.

For my aunties, still acceptable since they are not working plus older generation

belinda: my mum also told me that we must hand the card and the cakes personally.. I dunno how we can do it since we dunno how to drive.. maybe I will just try to persuade my mum to ask all the relatives to take from granny's hse..

huisi > when is ur GDL? mine is on a weekday. So, I told mom I will leave the cards and cakes for cousins with my aunties, so the cousins will take from their moms.

but my mom not too happy with the decision and keep insisting on us delivering them personally, which means we have to run almost all over the place.

my parents even told me, if i dont hand the cards and cakes personally, relatives might not come for the lunch. hai..

drizzle > Ops, sorry. I remembered the 7th lunar month wrongly.

belinda: my GDL on 08 Sep.. on weekday also..
I think parents just wan face.. my mum also like that say.. but I told her.. there's no way we can deliver personally.. cos its weekday.. she threaten me.. I told my mum if they dun wan to come den better.. I can invite more frens and can wont lose so much.. haha...

just talk to ur mum again la.. she will compromise finally de... cos afterall, parents will call the relatives themselves again.. like I say.. they wan face ma.. so they wont want to see empty tables on that day de..

huisi > My GDL is 16 sept.
I dunno la. Is like is our wedding and yet have to literally 'beg' ppl to turn up. Hai. no choice, still have to listen. Btw, do we have to deliver wedding cards personally to relatives from groom's side?

haha.. my parents are giving me the impression that i should be the one who actually call the relatives.

belinda: yeah.. I have that feeling also.. its our wedding and yet we have to see pple face.. no choice.. just goes with the flow and get over it soon...

I think for groom's side.. depends ba.. different families different culture...

Hello All..

Any one started to do the wedding phoot slideshow for the banquet? What theme did you all use?

How about march in songs and songs through out the banquet?

morning all...

belinda: my PG told me he can help me do the bridal slideshow.. but I haven pass him the photos yet =P..

as for songs, we haven decide also..

Hello All,

Huisi & Belinda, alittle suggestion for u, u may like to get cake voucher fr Bengawan Solo (Not sure if other cake shop do have vouchers), so that u will not worry that the cake will expire when ur relatives gets it. And dun have to worry that i will have to distribute it 1 shot in 1 day. And the voucher valid for 1yr. But thats all depends if both family is alrite with it.

Belinda: My pre-wedding shoot is rather disatrous as it was raining most of the time
But the photographer did show us sum pics, looked OK. Now wait for him to edit the pix lo, he says abt 3 wks will b ready.

It seems like yr programme for the dae is veri tight, 2pm for lunch seems veri late. Hence u have to make sure, everything starts and end as planned, so that u cld start the lunch on time. Mine is super simple compared to yrs. We oredi had our ROM in January, and we are staying together oredi. Hence there won be any gatecrashing stuff.

We will leave love nest together in the morning to his parents' home to pray. After that leave for hotel le. Ask relatives to reach hotel ard 1145am... do tea ceromony there. Then lunch will start at 1pm. SIMPLE huh!!

Huisi: The above is my preps for the moment
tks for the info! It did helped alot!!!

drizzles > I had my rom already but not staying together.

I agree with you that lunch at 2pm seems very late. We intend to have lunch at 1pm but doesnt seem feasible.. My parents are requesting to maintain the tradition thus the tight schedule. It doesnt help that the auspicious hour is sooo late.
Heehee.. I am hoping to use the tightness in schedule to do away with gatecrashing and those 'pranks'played on the couple during banquet.

Sorry to hear PS was disastrous. Don't worry, picture will turn out ok.

Coden > Thanks. Let's see how it goes ba.

Huisi > So nice of him. Any extra charges for that?