(2010/09) Sept Brides

bel, why gotta beg? those who wanna come, come...those who dun wan nvm. for my wedding, I nvr had to beg ppl...those who are sincere enuff to offer their blessings will turn up. for the rest, I can't be bothered honestly. at least from my wedding I can 'see' what type of ppl they are.

I am getting that impression from parents.

Initally when I told them I am doing wedding lunch banquet, nothing from them. Recently, they comment that sat lunch not very ideal. There are people who work on half day on saturdays, parents with kids having tuition on sats, thus they may be unable to make it. They also comment that Sun lunch sounds nicer. Problem is, when geomancer gave us a few dates to select, they actually leave that decision to my in laws.

They threaten indirectly that if I do not deliver the cakes and cards to recipents, they may not turn up too..

sorry to side track here. I am asking on behalf of a fren.

If a few of your outdoor PS pic were to be featured in bridal mag, would you ask for discount from BS and how much?

bel: haha luckily mine was sun lunch.

well, dun worry, I can tell u they will surely turn up on that day. wanna bet? haha

they say only lah...their child's big day, which parent wldn't turn up?

even for my friend whose in-laws have never approved of her with their son since day 1, on her wedding day they also turned up...

Thomas > ops.. miscommunication here.

"They threaten indirectly that if I do not deliver the cakes and cards to recipents, they may not turn up too.." --> i am refering to my parents threaten indirectly that if I do not deliver cakes and cards to recipents, recipents may not turn up.

hey thomas, i tot the same way too but my colleague's parents in laws didn't turn up for their wedding dinner and the bride was in tears at the end of the dinner...poor thing....

less than 2 mths to go...so many things to do...

For those asking about the license for songs, my PG asked me to apply for the license on my own. Each song is about $70 but I will need to embed the song into the video myself...so troublesome...

coden: I tot of the vouchers as well.. but parents think its not sincere enough.. somemore MIL also want face.. she dun wan pple to say groom's side scare of ma fan, so just give vouchers.. parents are hard to please.. lol

belinda: nope.. its part of the package...

thomas: agree with you.. already tired with pleasing everyone.. I told my frens very clearly.. if they dun wan to come, tell me early.. at least I can save on the wedding cards.. and for those who put me aeroplane last min... I cnfm will tag them in fb.. malu them :P

huisi: yeah man...tell me abt it. 1 of my so-called frens didn't come also din even bother to tell me...ended up seat was empty. Fed up, I went back and deleted him from my msn and FB.

thomas > how about if one of your xiong di promised to help out but in the end only turn up during your banquet? would you delete him?

hello all!
anyone has already bk your honeymoon package? I am just starting to research, plan to go hokkaido on grp tour. anyone with any reco which tour agency to consider? =)

bel: will scold him hard but wun delete him lah. not on purpose mah.

ev3: I went to hokkaido for my hm with chan bros, not bad. 7d5n, extended another 3days on our own.

hello all..

ev3 : Not yet book. Heard from friend who went Hokkaido, who commented that Hong Thai Travel not bad.

Think is more depends on luck ba, as have also heard bad comments on chan bro's guides.

thomas > haha.. ok. how's work so far?

thomas: we will know who our true frens are during our wedding..

eve: I haven plan my honeymoon.. no extra cash to plan.. haha..

bel: thanks...ya bz looking for new job.

rem to write down all comments on the food be it good or bad and pass to the banquet captain/mgr.

belinda: can taeke pictures if you wan.. at least you can comment on the presenatation.. and comment on the taste immediately after you have finish one dish.. if not will forget de...

Huisi, Thomas > ok noted, thanks.

Btw, I just got a set of wedding bedsheet + comforter or quilt at $120 from John Little. Brand is Akemi.
Find it ok as it includes the comforter/quilt.

bel: i think best to keep a copy of whatever comments you give, in case you forget after the food tasting. then remember to follow up with your coordinator to make sure that she has taken note.

I am going to florist and printer tomorrow. Then going to work on guest list on Sunday. Hopefully can finalise more things over the weekend.

Guest list is problematic la. Cos my eldest uncle wants to invite a whole lot of relatives we don't know, and don't know how to tell him that we don't want to invite some of them. Scared he is angry, but shouldn't my and my dad's views be more important?

lawlipop: u taking june florist? actually what shld we ask the florist since the themes are quite standard... hmm..

personally, I dun think ur eldest uncle view is impt.. unless he is helping to pay.. I may be rude, but that's what I told my relatives.. if they are going to pay, then I will respect their decision... if not, just keep quiet and attend our wedding with blessings... my mum say shld respect.. but the thing is its our wedding, so shldnt relatives respect our decision also? :P

lawlipop > ok, noted. thanks. How about telling that uncle that you are unable to add more tables as you have reached maximum capacity?

huisi > yes, need to respect, but I notice that, especially among older relatives, they like to use their 'rank and age' to get things done their way. somemore, all want to have a part in the wedding. *irritating*
heehee.. i used your excuse when relatives keep asking why I havent done reno.

how's ur wedding preparation?

huisi: think we need to go see florist to see the themes and to check out how much to top up if we want additional flowers etc. at least that is what our coordinator told us. Will update you on what happens tomorrow then you see whether you need to go florist?

well, he is definitely not helping to pay. i guess more of respect cos he is the eldest brother ba. Also don't want to offend him, although i really don't understand why they like to interfere. my dad said he will talk to my uncle but i should tell him also that tables are limited. i think he probably expects me to invite less friends so that can fit the relatives in, but that is ridiculous cos i see my friends more than i see these relatives (i dont even know who some are)...

belinda: yeah, the problem is that he knows how many tables i have. think i might tell him the other side giving us only x tables for relatives so can't fit all the relatives in. which is quite true also.

i guess because we are the younger generation, so we sort of have to listen to them ba. at least this is what they expect. but they don't understand that in the good old days, it is much cheaper to hold a wedding i think. now everything is expensive. so can't afford to be extravagent and include everything everyone wants. hope they understand. sigh...

lawlipop > hmm.. ok, but one thing to note, if you were to tell him groom side only giving X tables, what if uncle requests for you to pay for what is beyond the x tables?

guess that people generally like attention, so all want to interfere? they also have face if you listen to them.. oh well..

things will work out utimately.

Thomas/Belinda > thx! i will be going down to check out the tour packages at agency today. hong thai has an anniversary promotion @ suntec today i think. will consider thx! hope to settle this item - esp it is most look forward to.. a good holiday after the wedding! =)

Hello All,

Had food tasting and ti qing yesterday. Food was generally ok, portion was generous except the dessert. Ti Qing was so so... PIL wanted it to be super simple.. Done away with many items.

Hiya all.. i hope your wedding preps are well in progress. so is mine but am having a little problem with my hotel.

i just met them sometime last week - my third time and talking to the 4th catering sales manager. the first 3 has resigned this five star hotel. while they have mostly taken note of my coments, i simply find it unbelievable im talking to different pple every time. i need some advice on what to look out for when dealing with the hotel for actual wedding day planning.

first of all, i have gone through the food tasting, done the guest wedding favour & table cloth colour etc selection, indicated the table layout i want and even given them a tentative program. we have also discussed and agreed on the terms of our package. probably the thing i missed out so far is the florist. my catering sales manager say that their in-house florist will provide the decoration to my colour scheme but no need to meet for discussion and in fact, no need to meet the hotel again unless necessary. they also do not provide overseeing of any rehearsal we may want to organise ourselves. they have issued me the banquet event order though listing out the things we have agreed on. i am wondering how you girls liase with your hotel coordinator as i feel a little shortchanged for the service. but i am also wondering if i am overly demanding. however i have seen very good service from Amara Sanctuary who meet up with my to-be-wedded friend a few days before to go through the music, the schedule etc.

Appreciate your advice and comments.

hi ladies n guys,

it's mon again!!!...mon blues...so many colleagues on mc today, hope I don't have to cover their ass....hee...

lawlipop: y is ur uncle so involved? mayb ur parents can tell him subtlely that u r their daughter n not his?...hehehe....i can't stand such relatives too....i always tell them,"whoever pays gets to speak. if not, pls dun interfere." sounds rude, but i tell them with a big wide smile, so usually they gets the hint but are not very offended...=)

morning all..

belinda: yup.. those relatives like to use their age and rank to make us listen to them.. but I am not going to do that... my parents also cant affect me.. cos I keep telling her is my wedding... and I dun interfere with the relatives on whateva they do also.. sometimes, really have to be very firm with these relatives..

finalised my artwork for my invitation card and can send for printing le.. bought bedsheet from Aussino and pillows, blosters as well.. think will be going down to Chinatown to buy those GDL stuffs... selected my table cloth colour and confirm most details with the hotel also..

anyone know what time does most wedding shops closed?

lawlipop: I meetup with my hotel coordinator yesterday to cnfm on the flowers decos.. so far, she din mention anything abt meeting the florist personally.. I told her my theme colour and she say she will help me to talk to the florist.. hmm..

ms wong: maybe you can ask the catering director to help you? let him/her know your frustrations.. we are paying so much and the last thing we want to worry abt is repeating ourselves all over again.. for me, my previous coordinator dun seems enthu abt our wedding, so I emailed the catering director to express our concerns.. we asked for a change of coordinator and so far its ok...

you are not overly demanding.. as btb, we just want everything to go smoothly... I suggest that you insist on running the rehearsal etc.. afterall, we are the customers.. and since we paid so much, of cos have to make things worthwhile.. :P

i spoke to my uncle yesterday. He look a bit sian but said he will leave guest list to us, so guess he is backing off ba. phew.

huisi: we chose the type of flowers and colour as well as floral design for stage, reception table, VIP table and other tables. Not sure if your coordinator showed you the pics, which may be the same one that we saw there? Haven't chosen table cloth though... But if your coordinator will settle for you, then no problem?

lawlipop: gd for u.. at least no need to worry abt this issue now.. :P

yup, my coordinator show me the pics.. I chose JM florist instead of June florist.. hopefully she will settle for me nicely..

lawlipop > that is good news for you.

Btw, as mine will be wedding lunch, what timing should I put on the card? We intend to start the lunch at 1pm. Co-ordinator adv for us to put timing at 12.30pm as per previous experiences, lunch will start one hour later than stipulated timing. any advise?

huisi: hope so. quite scary cos got so many small details in planning for the wedding that i am afraid i will miss something out. but i am glad my uncle back off cos that is one less issue to worry about.

belinda: haven't really found the fruitcake, but when i went neo garden, they said they can make it. but they haven't gotten back to me on the price yet. reno also progressing quite ok. now they almost completed the flooring and the standard is not bad. how is your prep?

thomas > noted.

lawlipop > ok. Glad reno went well for u. how's your sourcing for furniture? prep ah, selected card design, co-ordinator mentioned they will get back to me in 3 weeks time with the softcopy draft. yet to select color theme and table cloth. still awaiting to see edited layout.
think i will get GDL items soon ba.

Oh, i need to lose weight.. less than 3 mths to wedding.. ahhhh

morning all..

lawlipop: I also scared I will miss out something.. have to constantly write down on my notebook once I think of any...

hi gals...less than 1.5mths (after taking out 7th mth) to go!!hows prep so far?? i juz finished viewing my album layout etc...tink only thing left is just the GDL+guest list...like nothing much alrdy rite?? wondering wat else have we not done yet haha...

huisi:wat u got on ur notebook so far?keke

Afternoon all,

This few weeks so busy with all the preparations but i have confirmed my banquet menu, wedding favours,invitation cards,colour theme and table cloth. Need to go down to meet the florist by this mth toO.

Lawli : My aunt also giving us problems now. Told us our GDL n send invites date falls on lunar 7th month nt so good. She said will help us calculate which day is good for us.
But we actually went to ask for the dates already and my pil also not so pantang loh!

bluey: got my notebook from the moment I start to plan my ROM... so used it again for customary planning.. got the names of guest list (for frens only).. the GDL, AC etc dates and timing.. notes on what types of flowers I want, food tasting menu etc... even got games for tekaning the groom.. haha...

I am planning to assign duties to my sisters and brothers.. but stucked halfway.. what kind of duties do we need to give them ar...

icager: if inlaw dun mind.. den just tell ur aunt that some masters has calculated the GDL based on bazi.. thus cnfm will be gd de.. haha

huisi > for assigning of duties, how about having a time keeper, one to help u with your personal belongings - jewelleries, gowns, touching up, changing of gowns and removing of veil.. also assign a Point of contact, so that for any matter, the JMs or XDs can just call that person rather than u or the groom? This is just my opinion.

Huisi : I just done a checklist on what things we need to complete by a certain dateline.
Told her already but she says will help us calculate the date.. -_-"