(2010/09) Sept Brides

Huisi: Yup yup... it's RM19.90 less 20%: RM15.90.. After conversion, only abt S$6.90??They have alot of stuff like teapot set, bowls and spoons, pottery sets, wedding lamps etc..

If you are preparing your GDL items and like those traditional cartoon bedsheets, can buy from malaysia too. Wide variety to choose from. I bought a few sets. The cheapest king size one was only abt $15.. v cute.

picture for sharing..

1450773.jpg

Thomas: yar lor. But alot of times, i patronise the Tesco branch cos always no customers in the shop. hahaa.. They got plenty of time to entertain my endless queries. i go so often until they can recognise me when i go there. haha..

Ev3: hey, I'm getting a live band for my wedding. From Yours Truly cos i heard them (Kexin on vox) during the Raffles wedding show last year and I think she's good.

Kewei is the more popular cos of her public perfomances on TV and in taiwan. But I think they are just as great. =)

hey thanks Sher, i visited their website and i saw the youtube performances by them, very professional. do you mind sharing their rates. if you like to email me, here it is- [email protected] thx u!

morning all... it is monday again... so fast!

I went to view my PS layouts yesterday, looks quite good. And the PG made the changes on the spot, so this part more or less settled. I am thankful for this cos there are so many things that still remain undone. Food tasting and collecting blank invitation cards today too. Having to do so many things for the wedding once again reminds me that we're only 3 months away.

Jiayou with the prep everyone!

thiasy: The bedroom slippers are cute.

I bought some of my GDL stuff from KK Marriage @ Chinatown recently after some forummers said that it's the cheapest of all the stores that they have visited.

How did u all manage to lug all those bulky items back to SG? Later the custom wants to inspect and they take out the potty and raise it high high how?

Don't think can shop with ease of mind if we would to drive in to JB. Scared later return to carpark only to see your rearview mirror on the floor.

hey law, how long did ur PG take to cme back with the PS layout?i'm still waitg for mine...btw, remb to send ur cards soon juz in case the printer takes a long time to revert...mine cme back wif few mistakes, then hav to keep gng thru to ensure no mistakes...

i'm feeling the tension already..hahaa...good luck to every1 on the wedding prep ya!

bluey: i took my PS early May, just viewed layout on Sunday, so about 6 weeks? They fixed the date for us to view the layout on the PS day itself. Hmm... if your PG didn't fix with you, i think you may want to call them to fix something? At least get them to commit to a date. Don't worry, it will turn out fine, just need to push them a little i think?

When did you take ur BS by the way?

Hello All,

It has been awhile since I last came in. Hope everyone is fine. How's all your preparation?

I will be having the ti qing session during second weekend of July. Any advise on how is it like? Any 'procedures' that me or my mom should follow?
Same time, during ti qing will be the food tasting, selection of cards and also color theme.

can anyone advise me on what hotstamping is ah? haha... sorry, cos a printer quoted me for matt gold print and i think that doesn't include hotstamping ba. And i read about hotstamping online and it sounds like the cards will look nicer if use hotstamping. thanks!

lawli: hotstamping is printing directly on the card...

hotstamping looks nicer but will be more expensive than printing inserts. Also, if write wrongly insert can just throw, card can reuse but if write wrongly on card, whole card gotta throw. So if u settle for hotstamping, gotta factor in extras to print in case u write wrongly otherwise they will not entertain u if u just wanna print another 5-10pcs.

think can do hotstamping on standard inserts too... matt/shiny gold/silver foil are "stamped" onto the card/insert... tdragoncards has the rates for hotstamping on inserts on its website

thanks both. think i will prefer to print on inserts cos hotel did provide inserts and like thomas said, at least won't waste the card if i make any mistakes while writing the card.

i had food tasting yesterday... quite satisfied with the standard.

started counting down to my AD.. ausipicious figure of 88days left..

lawlipop, hotstamping is nicer, but pricey as well..

My initial plan is do hotstamping on cover of e card then normal print on insert, but since supplier do wrongly, i have hotstamping on cover, & normal print on card. It is possible to do hotstamping on insert. But the rate is higher.
Do remember to count the number of cards/insert required, as e aft printing is higher & they dun entertain small qty.

Glad tat you r satisified with the food tasting.

We are skipping food tasting.

Bluey, i took about 4weeks to view the 1st draft of the album layout aft the photo selection.

Belinda, there is no fixed rule with regards to tiqing.. for us e meet e parent session, we jus book a rm in e restaurant for dinner.. then my in-law were e ones who started e conversation for wedding..asking my parents if we have any special custom/things tat they need to do/provide.. then jus discussion n casual tok.. nth much.. e dates for GDL,anchuang mi n hubby has checked and got them ready b4 e dinner,so we jus inform them when & time..

hi everyone.. been busy with work to come in recently..

decided to forgo the cards from Dreamweavers.. most probably will go JB to print everything in beginning July... usually how much extra is enough ar?

food-tasting and "ti qing" tmr... hope everything will be fine...

bluey: I waited for abt 3mths before the 1st view of the layout.. personally I think its too long... and naturally I expected something good.. but turns out a diaster.. will probably view the layout the 2nd time next week.. think u shld call up ur BS to check if you think its too long...

Jolene: Oh dear, if they made the mistake, then they shouldn't make you bear the costs? think i might skip the hotstamping after all cos it is quite a lot of difference.

huisi / belinda: i think don't worry too much. it will be fine. for mine, our parents didn't really insist on anything. Also started by asking what customs each other have. But the thing is they all say no customs, but suddenly when AD is approaching, all the customs start "coming out"...

huisi, mayb u try the per lot printing from e printer then decide? Cos i understand normal print usualli is 200copies for the 1st print. I only got 155 cards, so 200 is enough.. i din print extra.. JB, we checked with T&T, they are quite cheap, but they dun do hotstamping.

belinda, dun worry too much..jus go with e flow..

lawipop, they did not charge mi extra,cos they printed wrongly & since printing on card is betta, no extra charges we jus accept.

law:hee, i juz took mine on 27th may...abit anxious on the layout alrdy..hee..

thanks jolene & huisi..will call them if i still dun hear from them after a mth..

btw gals, in case u r dng hotstamping, i tink if u r using 'gold' ink for hotstamping, the wordings may look abit reflective..might hav difficulty reading the words...juz to share wat i tink la..personally i took normal print on inserts...

Hi All...

Just went down to T dragon to select my cards..will be having hot stamping on e cover (wif cartoon logo, our names n date)..
N normal printing on e inner side of the card..
decided to do away wif inserts cuz we need to get ribbon to tie the inserts wif the card...

Hope everythin wil be smooth...food tasting will be nxt mth too.. =)

Yeah!!is reali counting down time...
We muz jiayou kk...

bluey: haha... i can understand why you feel anxious. But i guess don't hurry them too much also cos they might ending up rushing it and making more mistakes! I think about 1 month plus is reasonable time to wait.

belinda: no probz.

huisi: have fun at food tasting tonight! my experience was good and i hope yours will be too.

lawlipop: same situation as u!!! initially parents and grandparents say not much customs, make it simple. we are a modern family. and now, all the weird customs start coming in....hahahhaa....

joleen: i will be using T-dragon too for the printing of my inserts cos recommended by my hotel. Do they sell the ribbon in their shop?

huisi: hope food tasting is great tonight! I'm having mine this Friday...so excited!!!...

Sher: Yes, it is quite funny actually. Then when you get irritated and ask them to confirm if that is all, they will get angry also. Yet when get them to meet, no one says anything.

Lawli,sher, sometime e parents are like tat.. e more they think abt it, or tok abit it, suddenly realise they miss out e custom then start stressing u.. lucky for e custom part, both side keep it simple.. if nt realli stress..

Sher, T-dragon, does sell those ribbon/gold
string for tying the inserts/cards..
They oso offer rental/purchase of angpao
box/guestbook etc...

huisi, hows ur food tasting?

hey guys, i went to this shop at AMK central "The Wedding Shop" and check out their GDL and dowry package.

GDL set (for hokkien bride) cost $188 and dowry set cost $198. Is that consider expensive ?
But its rather convenient cos they prepare for u all the necessary items required.

Hi Ladies, been awhile since i log in=D how everyone preparation? my still lots more to go. Stress.. These weekend going to choose my actual day gown & meeting up Dreamz coffee for the Cartoon Animation... excide=D

Missydoll: I saw these online shop selling those dowry stuff you may wanna to compare=) http://www.shuangxile.com/webshaper/store/viewProd.asp?pkProductItem=302

I just encounter problem for the custom part, both parents say wanted to be modern… end up when my hubby show them the above website… there we go ~~ that a Must… these also a MUST…. @.@ ~~ stress up!

Hi all... Its Friday again!

My preparations mostly done. Now need to liase with hotel n florist..Have drafted out the guestlist and will get our parents to settle the seating arrangements.

Btw, i bought my dowry and guodali things from a shop @ Chinatown named Tiao Xiang in Chinatown Complex. Prices are relatively cheap compared to outside. =)

TGIF!

Icager: that's great! I am hoping to come up with guestlist this weekend too.

haven't settle my guodali and dowry stuff yet, but i saw a few shops at chinatown that sell. Just need to tell them which dialect group and they will pack a set for you...

Wah... This shuangxile.com's GDL and dowry items look nice! I like that heart-shaped sewing kit!

I bought some of these stuff from KK Marriage at Chinatown Complex last week. The lady boss, though not pushy, has a glib tongue. Be careful! We were almost hypnotised into buying a few unnecessary things from her.

Her teapot sets not very nice. I told her my opinions and she said she would ask for other designs from her supplier next time.

Mrg all..Monday again!!!

Belinda : Im not too sure about the prices @ KK Marriage. We bought a teaset,chopsticks,sewing kit,pjs for me and hubby,chuang tou den,some red pkts and a set of cutlery(consists of bowls,chopsticks,plates) all for $80 after disc.
They have quite a number of variety for wedding stuff.
Hope this info helps

hi ladies, its monday....arghhh.....hahaha

seems like a lot of u are already getting your GDL stuff and it looks like a lot of items...

gosh....is there a need to purchase all these items or its up to the customs wanted by the parents?