(2010/09) Sept Brides

kiwi: tango is nice!!! =) so sexy! passionate!!! =) will there be the red rose? =) then the more u should have a EG because tango in a white WG not very nice? no? And with 2 gowns, you will have a greater variety of pictures on the wedding day.

lawli: hehhe yes! sept is such a great month! Autumn wedding! =) For me its a symbolic month. and with a number that me and my fiance like! =)

Good morning to all btw. =)

good morning from middle earth.. i mean east
it is now almost 6+am here, 5 hrs behind Singapore.

lawlipop... yeah, i thk it is quite commonly practised in western weddings and my fiance is from new zealand so we gota try to fuse our cultures somehow for the wedding lol.. even our menu serves fusion food more of becos raffles hotel dun serve chinese food for the lawn due to kitchen location.

huishan: it doesn't matter how the program is, as long as everyone is happy
dats what the celebration is abt

theorientalbridezilla... you are so right abt a EG being necessary for tango :P i thk i will see how it goes with my attempt at tango first haha.. maybe give up after 1 lesson

yes i thk september is nice too, coz that's the season with the richest colours.. and for us chinese it's just after the hungry ghost and nearing to the romantic mooncake festival! are you gals gona distribute any mooncakes at the wedding?
and as an idea, maybe instd of distributing typical wedding cakes to relatives, can do mooncakes with the "xi" on top? and during cake-cutting ceremony can have a mega mooncake instd? haha.. thk dat may b taking it a little far :P

kiwi: wow! 6am!! super early! are Fridays work days in MiddleEast? heard not. But you guys work on Sundays right? Correct me if I am wrong.

Didn't think bout mooncakes. =) But a mega mooncake instead of a normal cake would be quite interesting to see. should be really hard to make and expensive too! Will it be funny since your theme is like very fusion, very outdoor-ish? =) I'm trying to imagine it. hehe

All: Anyone doing mooncakes for our Sept weddings?!

afternoon all...

it seems so nice to have our thread moving sooo fast...

hey girls, do u think we shld have a meet up soon....

count me in too!

I considered giving mooncakes too, but my wedding will be after mooncake festival so not sure if it is appropriate. Later people think is leftover or something? LOL

Meetup (before Christmas) 2009
================================
-theorientalbridezilla (t.o.b)
-randyce
-huisi
-lawli

yay!! =) we have 4 people on the list as of now.
Will Kiwi be back from Middle East?

Lawli: mooncakes aey? how bout giving them during the distribution of invitation cards, or those wedding pastries if you are even giving? just throwing some silly ideas. I get what u mean about the leftover part.. hehe =)

theorientalbridezilla... how nice to meet up! but i will still be in the desert then
the mega mooncake is just a joke.. and will cost me a big fortune on top of what im oredi paying! imagine asking raffles hotel to bake me a mega mooncake. they are quoting $400 for a 6kg cake oredi.

and gals..may i know what is the overall budget you are looking at excluding the banquet? (i know some people actually EARN from it!) i find dat i need to spend ard 25k incldg honeymoon and that is after trying to save on pre-wedding photography and skimping on some stuff but we will spend on quite a bit on my dresses (coz im super fussy!), AD photography ($3000)and some hotel accommodation for guests from new zealand. do you find that it's quite high?

oh ya, orientalbridezilla.. we have our weekends on fri and sat here. im going to shift to dubai soon whilst HTB remains coz of limited work options unfortunately. as if planning a wedding is not hard enough!

e thread is moving so fast..

count mi in for the meet up...

ms wong >> think if u are doing tango, a nice EG will be good to enhance e overall look..

-randyce
-huisi
-lawli
-jolenetan

kiwi: will be so upset that you cant join us!!! not even dropping by during the Christmas?
Budget? lets see... don't think we are spending like 25K but perhaps about 20K?
Think I am fussy about the bands! What do you plan to have besides your dance? Your wedding sounds very classy and different!

You know what? I am already looking forward to seeing your wedding pics!!

helo! ya i agree wif Jolene - the thread is moving so fast within a day! trying to catch up hehe!

Kiwi - budget varies..depends wat each couple wanna do. my bf & i dun even dare to think will break even (including banquet).. but overall, as long both of u happy abt it!

gals - about the meetup, i am keen too! but i will be travelling the week before xmas! will try to join if possible, nice!

ok.. incl me in the meetup !!

theorientalbridezilla >> hhhaha wine hunting not so fast bah... mayb next yr then start hunting hee..

theorientalbridezilla ... i will be back sometime in January and try to settle most of the wedding stuff, hoping it will b fuss-free. a very fat hope i thk! perhaps there's a chance to meet up then? but thats again before cny and i duno if the bridal studios will even entertain me coz everyone's so bzy!?

ladies.. pls update me on any lobang like bridal studio (oni interested in the gown), make up artist, wine hunting, florist, emcee, jazz band and i need to get it all settled by Jan! *gulp* doesnt help that my hotel coordinator just left.

Ev3... i thk for us is imposs to break even coz we hav few guests and we chose a five star hotel charging maybe six star price? but at least we know we won't lose too much coz ironically we have few guests.

theorientalbridezilla .. you really have to give Fairy's Inc a try for the bands. I'v been to many shops before and I generally dun thk much of typical brands like Goldheart or Lee Hwa etc. Soo Kee has classier selection but I think Love & Co has better and more variety for something different. I even checked out Cartier and Tiffany just for fun posing as rich tai tai :P not really worth paying that kind of money for. Fairy's Inc has that kind of boutique quality and the rings are well-designed and thoughtful. But if you prefer fancy rings, I guess Love & Co would b a better bet.

I duno if the wedding will b classy eventually but i struggle sometimes to imagine my relative fitting into the picture. I can't quite visualise them dancing the night away like you would expect in a western wedding! but i hav the thought to plan for a belly dancing program at the end of the dinner after the tango.. duno how feasible is that, esp the budget! yah.. the wedding budget is a big killer on the pocket yet there are so many thgs you cannot skimp on and the expense list just keeps expanding!

huishan: i might be hunting wine too! if I do know of any good deals, will let u know! meanwhile u can always check the marketplace for cheap deals if you do not have any particular brand/year or such in mind =)

kiwi: most of the studios do gowns only too, just that they throw in other stuff to make it look cheaper. But for just gowns alone, I would think Michelle Huimin's - http://www.bridalveilonline.com/ is a really good choice. If I haven't gone for Digio (Bridal Veil) would be it!

As for bands, yea I am either going for Tiffany or having it customed made. Cartier rings are SOOOOOOOOO Beautiful but way to expensive for me!! =(

Lets catch up in Jan when u r back! If u want, wouldn't mind going "hunting" some of the stuff with ya!

Update you more lobangs if I have but gotto run now!!! Maybe drop me your email and I can share from there!

Kiwi > i agree wif u. For us, we also find it hard to break even. but not to worry, as long we spend within our means it should work fine, right?

Fairy Inc - where is that? I am also starting to look around for wedding bands. Love & Co seems to have more variety so far.

Orientalbridezilla - do you have specific designs in mind for going for custom-made?

ev3 >> i tink fairy inc only have one outlet at orchard, exactly which building im not sure, u can check it out online.. i went love & co b4, but dun really like the designs.. mayb i can go n take a look again heee...

kiwi >> if u only want gown, maybe u can tell us wat kind of gown u like? some BS only sell gowns, not packaged with bridal studio shots. i heard margaret brides specialise in lace gowns. i have frens who went Flamingo bridal. they like the designer alot..

-randyce
-huisi
-lawli
-jolenetan
- ev3 (to confirm)
- huishan
- sally
sally: i dun have that table to update! =P

kiwi: yes you might want to check margaret brides (in the east) and Amanda lee brides (they have one in cantonment, and one in orchard) =)
Sorry! left home in a hurry this morning and forgot to include these previously! =)

Orientalbridezilla... yeah sure! we shld catch up in Jan when im back. my email is [email protected]. look forward to your mail

custom-making the ring can be more expensive than a cartier no? i believe fairy's inc do custom-make oso. ev3...fairy's inc is at delfi orchard 2nd floor or 3rd floor. it's by appointment oni. chk out tel no. from bridal magazine or website.

huishan/ev3... for the morning gown, im thking of doing my own design (ok, copy a little bit frm vera wang for the soft flow of fabric) and improve on it with a designer/seamstress. im considering silk chiffon or lace, not tulle which vera wang likes to use becoz i oredi have one for the ceremony. the style i like is more spanish/italian with a flowing skirt but not too wide. i prefer to use a designer that really caters to what you want than some others with air and insist on having their own way. i will nvr go to rene Leung for e.g. coz i find her service sux and has attitude problem. i heard dat wedding present is q good but how much is it normally to custom-make from them or other studios like Flamingo and Margaret? is a budget of 3k enough for just WG and EG?

ev3: yes i do! i sorta know what I want. its just to get a better deal. Tiffany rings abit pricey so if I can get the same design at a better price, might just go for the latter! =) u?? hows your band hunting? =)

JoleneTan> totally agree!

Orientalbridezilla > Not yet. we just pop by Love & Co after dinner last week. We havent really got an idea what we wan.

Kiwifruit> thanks! i surf Fairy inc's website - very pretty rings! how's the rates? I might pop by over nxt few weeks to have a look. thanks for the recommendation!

Ev3.. i thk most of them are around $800 plus with small diamonds, at least for those that i quite like. i thk more intricate design or bigger diamonds naturally increase the price to thousand plus. prices are quite reasonable i thk.

Orientalbridezilla... i remember hearing a real-life story of a lady who custom-make a cartier design ring and dare not wear it for honeymoon coz she's afraid of being apprehended for possession of copies. she's paranoid of coz. i thk you can prevent that by adding your own touch to the design so that it's not really a copy but something unique to what you want? i mean that's what customisation is all about. just a thought and suggestion

Jolene.. agree with you oso. the oni problem for me is, i did not expect a wedding to cost so much! and i tend to under-budget things :P

kiwi: gee! that sounds scary!!! but yea! thanks for the suggestion =) Will go check out Fairy Inc, Love & Co and other customised jewellers when I have the time! =P

And I have the same problem to under-budget things too!!!

morning all..

happy to see many posts now... its monday again.. and I am stoning.. haha...

sally: added u in fb... =)

updated...
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Name/Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD>icager/icager</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>Grand Corpthorn Waterfront</TD><TD>La Belle Couture</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>30-Sep-09</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>theorientalbridezilla / theorientalbridezilla</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>Di Gio Bridal</TD><TD>Digio &amp; ExpressivelyJoho</TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bel/belbel</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Swissotel Merchant Court</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>GC/snow</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>X-zen Studio</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>13-Dec-09</TD><TD>Keppel Club Peony Jade</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>ms wong / kiwifruit</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>claire/ zephyr2010</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>One Degree 15, Sentosa</TD><TD>Bliss Bridal</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine/geriko</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JoleneTan/ hazelnutz25</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Grand Corpthorn Waterfront</TD><TD>Volan</TD><TD>Volan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10-Jan-09</TD><TD>Café Del Mar, Sentosa</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>MC/rusalki</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Hort Park + Hort Lawn</TD><TD> </TD><TD>Plush Photography</TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>muthusamy</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Park Royal @ Kitchener Rd</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>20-Sep-09</TD><TD>Botantic Gardens</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>qian/sept2010</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Parkview</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>zoey ong/poorbear14</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Parkroyal, Beach Road</TD><TD>Ivy Bridal</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>18-Sep-08</TD><TD> </TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>ev3/ev3</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>huishan/gixmoz</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>Di Gio Bridal</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>Singapore Yatch Club</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jame/pigletlurve</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Swissotel Merchant Court</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolene/snow85</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sally/ sallyseow_huixian </TD><TD>24-Sep</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>SG Bridal</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront VIP room</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepy47/sleep47</TD><TD>24-Sep</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>candy/candycwm</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>huisi/eeyorex</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Goodwoodpark</TD><TD>NY Vogue (PS in Taiwan)) &amp; Golden Horse Awards (PS in Sg and for AD)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>randyce/mspiggy85</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Jess Haute Coulture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>sheryl/vershawn</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel</TD><TD>Di Gio Bridal</TD><TD>Tuckys Photography</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wayang80/wayang80</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Grand Corpthorn Waterfront</TD><TD>Jess Haute Coulture</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>25-Sep-09</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jezzgal/jezzgal</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Parkview</TD><TD>The Aisle</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>same as bqt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>lawlipop77 / lawlipop77</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Goodwoodpark</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>25-Sep-10</TD><TD>Church</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nikki Fu/beautyfu</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Grandpark Cityhall</TD><TD>France Star Taipei (PS)</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>26-Jun-09</TD><TD> </TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>cyndi yeap / ohhhoposh</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Grand Corpthorn Waterfront</TD><TD> </TD><TD>frens</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cazzie/keithcaz</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Marriot Hotel</TD><TD>Volan</TD><TD>frens</TD><TD>frens</TD><TD>20-Sep-09</TD><TD>Hollandse Club</TD><TD>Clementi </TD></TR><TR><TD>lilian/rockofice</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eunice/moonleo</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miamia/mia_mia</TD><TD> </TD><TD>Four Season</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

hi ladies, im back again...hehe...

kiwi: i dunno who's evelyn...but i tink she's my coordinator too...but never met before cos i signed with May direct...hmmm....mine is a 8 course chinese dinner....

meet up?...tat sounds fun...but im flying a bit these 2 months, can i tentatively put my name?...hopefully i can join...hehe....

oh ya, pls do add me in facebook or msn [email protected]....

CHEERS!!!!

sher.. i thk May is Evelyn's replacement. chinese dinner is not an option for me by virtue of the location but I know it is normally 4 course for normal package, is it right? do you hav to top up for 8 course? or it is offered at premium price? did you just sign your package or at the bridal fair?

-randyce
-huisi
-lawli
-jolenetan
- ev3 (to confirm)
- huishan
- sally
- Sher

Lemme know if I left out anyone by chance? =P

Wow I'm so surprise by the number of posts here!
Now I'm feeling so lost already...

Is there going to be a meet up?

sn0w: haha yup yup there is going to be a meet up soon.. dont worry i'm always lost when i didnt log in for a period of time

Hi randyce, exactly! I'm totally lost until dunno how to join in already >_<

Ladies, roughly when would the meet up be held? Is this going to be the first meet up for our thread?

-randyce
-huisi
-lawli
-jolenetan
- ev3 (to confirm)
- huishan
- sally
- Sher
- Snow

Hellooo! =) Was thinking before Christmas say 19th Dec / 20th Dec (Sat/Sun)? Depending on which day we can get more people to turn up?
And urmmm its the first meet up since I joined this thread. Not sure if you guys met up previously? =p

not that i know of too.. this should b our 1st meetup... haha...

i wun b available on 19th... 20th no program for now... shd b able to make it...

Hello t.o.b, thks for incl me! After 15th will be good for me as I'll be having exam before that date.

Tentative date: Either 19th Dec/ 20th Dec 2009
Please revert on availability =)
-t.o.b: Either
-randyce
-huisi
-lawli
-jolenetan
- ev3 (to confirm)
- huishan: 20th Dec