(2010/09) Sept Brides

afternoon all.. damn busy morning...

ev3: for me, both familes has not met up b4 but was thinking maybe can arrange a dinner next month for them to meet up first... for wedding band recently i went ard different jewellery shop to see see with my fren i guess most of them are quite similiar so unless you want something interesting maybe can consider customise. like what lawlipop say if u wearing with ur propose ring i guess will have to look for something simple so it will bring out ur propose ring

lawlipop77: i believe we are of the same age
im oso a 77. yes, my HTB is working in bahrain with me and we know each other in the same office 4.5 yrs ago. we reali like it here coz it is so laid-back as compared to spore but i personally oso kinda miss the big city excitement whereas my HTB frm new zealand naturally prefers small-town feel like bahrain.

but know what.. our parents have never met before and it will be chicken and duck talk on the actual wedding day when they will finally meet coz my parents know no english! i probably hav to translate all my menus and get an emcee who has to repeat in both language. *headache*

huisi: yes, we will b having a wedding reception at Raffles Hotel Lawn area only for both ceremony and dinner, which is gona b weather-challenging but HTB says the lawn reminds him of his house garden which will b cozy for our less than 100 guests

btw, i din take long to choose my bridal gown and it is a off-the-rack which i took to a branch in bahrain to alter to my size but it does not seem to quite fit especially at the bust which is a little too loose! doesn't help that i wanted the straps removed coz it is not nice but end up dress not able to stay in place. do you thk nubra will b able to help much to upsize the bust? i reali need a breast implant! i thk its gona b a pain to alter the dress again and it will not look nice with a flat front profile. argh. what to do?

finally had a chance to come in... today quite crowded... good.. haha...

ev3: welcome back.. haha... both of our familes haven meet officially.. but both mothers met b4 unofficially during my 21 yrs old bday many yrs ago... =X for a parents meeting, probably after cny... for wedding bands, my bf also keep asking when we gonna buy.. but I hope to see if got new stocks next jan :P

theorientalbridezilla: welcome =)... we are the kiasu brides.. haha =X

ms wong: nubra will help boost a little.. but i think mine too small.. doesnt really make a difference for me... or maybe I dunno the correct way to wear it...

hey hey, nice to see all the newbies on this thread, and so many comments.

huisi has been doing a fab job of updating the particulars, thanks much!

@jolene: you are using volan too? nice to have a fellow bs-mate here!

welcome cyndi,ms wong,ev3 & theorientalbridezilla...

ev3, for wedding bands if u r looking for simple design..i think quite easy to find as most jewellery shops r carrying rather similar design.. go shop ard & see which suits u best..

both side parents haf met up prior to our rom then at our hse warming.. i feel it is gd tat both side meet up early. noe each other better ma.. closer family ties ma..

hows e planning for e big day? aft confirming e banquet i haf nt do any planning

Wow... i am so happy to read so many replies and comments abt my queries kekez! thanks all babes here! Feel so excited.

I agree wif most of u, its abt time (maybe next mth or so) to arrange a simple dinner. to get to know each other, mine havent get to meet yet.

Yeah, for the rings. there is still time? i am thinking of just shopping ard to get some idea
Nothing in mind right now actually!

Gals - when are you planning for your PS? Have anyone selected your gowns? I planning to take my PS in Mar next yr. Given the wedding in Sept, is it enough time?

Ev3, my BS suggested me take PS between mar to latest early may.. i have not select gown yet.. most likely will go for 1st appt in dec, but haf not fix e date..

Ev3.. i heard from most shops that you need to allow 2-3 mths from the point of order for the rings that suit your sizing. so far i quite like the rings at the Love store and Fairy's Inc. for the simplicity. Prices range greatly from a few hundred bucks to a few thousand depending on the brand, if you are using white gold or plantinum (which obviously cost a lot more) and if there's diamond etc.

For PS, i guess it's better to get it over and done with coz still need time to edit and compile photos? You dun need the actual gown for PS anyway. For myself, to save some bucks, I got a colleague who's an avid photographer to help me take fotos over a few evenings instd of full day which has the best light. I had to buy a cheap gown from singapore and make my own veil, went to a salon to get my hair styled and got MAC to do my makeup (kinda for free). Was pretty fun

monring babes...

Ms Wong: that so nice.. we plan to do a casual shot by my fren and do something like wedding album... i guess will be quite fun.

My PS will be ard apr or may.. recently my colleague one they delay the PS for 2 month den the night b4 their AD den collect the album... i think if is me i will be damn kan chiong

MORNING!!! =)

gee! since you guys are on the topics of photoshoot and gowns..
my wedding is in the early sept and i haven't selected my gowns yet. its a MTM for both the gowns. Am supposed to meet the bridal studio end november to kickstart the design process.

So ev3: you arent alone when it comes to the gown. =P

ms wong.. yours really sound fun. but i lazy.. so get ppl to settle for me will be better haha...

theorientalbridezilla... yah... i noticed that too !! i meeting DiGio mid november to try gowns and start to get some design out..

i just love intercon ballroom.. hee...

i found this ticker online that has this bridezilla word on it. if you have a blog, u can add it in... www.WhenIsMyWedding.com

gals, u can check that out too...

huishan: yes i love interconn though they are very stingy bout giving perks! =) whos assisting you from interconn? and same here! are you getting MTM for both gowns? and whos assisting you from Digio? Me quite worried bout digio actually!!!

theorientalbridezilla.. yah, agree. dun haf much perks from intercon. i gotta source for my own wine loh. stephanie is my coodinator.. yours ?

nah, not going to MTM both.. $$ not enuff.. haa.. Jesline is my designer, forgot who is my coodinator liaoz... why are u worried? haha dun make me panic. cos i signed up during wedding show, without trying their gowns, only hear reviews and see magazine pictures.

huishan: haha stephanie too! she takes forever to reply to her emails! =( anyway, I am thinking of getting the extra 30l, and wine, just buy from them or something! As for digio, its Casey. its the first stop we entered and we just signed! frankly, i didnt even see any gowns that I fancied! haha.

cazzie: no prob...I only update when I have the time :P

jolene: after cnfm banquet, we din really do anything also.. haha.. now sourcing for pg and vg...

ev3: I've taken my 1st PS in Taiwan last month.. now waiting for them to send me the layout... for PS in SG, I plan to take in Mar too... next mth will probably go down to try the gowns first.. den jan official fitting... dun worry, 6mths b4 our AD is enough...

randyce: your fren quite ke lian.. planning a wedding already very stress liao.. den the BS delay the album.. make the stress level even higher...

huishan: I love intercon ballroom too... but we cant meet the min tables.. so sad...

huisi: ya the ballroom is pretty! think many couples have the same "meet the min # of tables" problem! If I had more tables, I would go for shang!! =( But hey! i have been to goodwoodpark! its pretty too! =)

cazzie >> yup yup.. im using volan as well.. when r u gg for gown selection & PS?

Ev3 >> there is still time for the wedding band, but if u wan custom made best to leave 3-4mths allowance.

huisi >> same same, still looking ard for VG, same as u i like e intercon ballroom but due to min. table requirement gave up..

theorientalbridezilla >>goodwoodpark is nice & cozy, but e dates i wanted r taken up..

For PS, i intend to do it in Apr..what abt u gals?

huisi/ joleneTan... im not sure if im gg to meet the min # of tables.. tentatively can..IF IF i really dun haf enuff, then upgrade menu loh. As long as u meet the minimum spending, they allow u to do any kind of arrangement (no need meet min table #)..

i intend to do PS in Mar cos my hubby only free during mar...

any kind of arrangement sounds as if u can do anything hor.. but its like if i only have 28 or 30 tables (for me, sunday dinner min is 32tables), i cant meet their requirement. so she suggested that we can actually upgrade our menu to a more expensive one, such that the overall cost meets the min spending (min table # x per table charge... but only applicable for food. if u buy wine from them, its not part of their minimum spending. so if i really dun haf 32tables, will just upgrade menu..

theorientalbridezilla.. is ur date an auspicious date? gals.. are ur dates auspicious and got charged extra by hotels ? mine is leh =(((

Huishan: Wow but if you do that doesnt that means that it will cost more? given that the angbao that you receive might not cost more than the upgrade?

And no, our date is not a super auspicious date. My fiance and I are not into looking at special dates. Just like the numbers very much =) hehe... but well yours is on the 19th Sept right? Hot date because of some special reasons?

theorientalbridezilla: hee... regardless of upgrade, i noe this is a loss making event. just keeping fingers crossed that i dun need to top up too much.. dunno y auspicious date.. auspicious date + mine is wkend, the per table charge is not cheap le.. i dun expect my relatives to give alot (cos we are not rich families). so i keep hinting (telling) my frens how much angbao $$$ they shd give... hahhaa...

huishan: hahaha funny! =) So do you know which kind of gowns you want? For the wine, you can go the SGbrides Marketplace exchange threads to see if anyone is selling wine at a good rate? =)

on the point about min no of tables, same here! I actually wanted Regent but couldn't meet the min number of tables. If we assume everyone will turn up (which is very unlikely to be the case), maybe can meet but we didn't want to take the risk. And GWP is very nice too so we settled on that. I was a bit reluctant to top up cos not sure how much we will end up having to top up by upgrading the menu!

My BS told me that need about 4-5 months for photoshoot so likely to do that in about Mar or Apr. Choosing gowns will be early next year since my is OTR. My package allows me to MTM though so if i can't find anything that i really like OTR, then will use that option to MTM. But ask you girls ah... Is it very risky? I scared if i can't find anything i like OTR in Jan, is it too late to MTM? But if i use OTR, then i can upgrade some other stuff. :p

So nice to come in and see so many new threads! I must keep up...

heehe lawli is quite cute.

lawli: not sure bout your bridal studio. But I am doing MTM. I heard for OTR, gowns of a new season will keep coming in. So if you cant really find something in Jan, you might find something u want in the later seasons? Unless you have a particular design in mind, then MTM?

There again, if you want your photoshoot to include your wedding gown, and if u cant find something in Jan, then maybe start doing research now on the gown you want? So in the case Jan you cant get anything, you have the designs and the designer can start working?

Not sure if I am right to advise this. But just check with your BS? see what they say? =)

huishan>> i'm only looking at 25tables on sat.. hence even upgrade menu oso cant mit e min. spending.. nvm.. haf alrdy confirm gcw.. happy with e ballroom as well..

Wow so many new posts within a day! i am trying to catch up to read each of your post!

Ms Wong> Rightz,for the rings, i heard gd comments abt Love & Co.I like simplicity too. Dont have anything in mind to go for customization yet

Huisi> hehe, thanks for the assurance.yup, looking at the timeline, i think it should be alright to take PS in Mar, that is what we planning for as Feb is CNY period. Will likely go for selection & fitting in Jan.

I have a question here:-
If I am doing Solemisation on the same day as AD, do I need a separate gown/tea-dress for Solemisation? My current BS package has either a tea-dress or Kwa option. Initially i thought of choosing Kwa for tea-ceremony. & using same gown for Solemisation & 1st March-In. Is that the norm? Any opinions to share pls?

Ev3.. I'm doing Solemnisation on AD too in the evening. My ideal scenario will be to wear WG for the morning, change into another red dress for tea-ceremony and for the evening wear another gown (also a WG) more suitable for garden setting for the Solemnisation at 6pm and cocktail session after that to mingle and take pictures with the guests and change into a EG after the cocktail when dinner starts at 7pm. For myself, I just dun like the idea of wearing the same gown from morning till 7pm? But it is obviously a more costly option so I may actually do away with the EG. The problem for me is that I will have kinda 2 WG and I feel that the morning WG should be something quite different (does it even need to be white even?) from the ceremony gown. What do people normally do nowadays? Good to know for me.

And what's the chance of me trying to do a MTM dress that I can only fit once and another time just 2 weeks before my wedding? it's too costly to fly down to spore to take 2nd fitting. sounds like mission imposs?

randyce/huishan.. we had a great time taking photos at places of great meaning to us, like our fav rock to see sunset, a local flavour fort we went for one of our first dates, etc with our photographer friend. there is less stress and rush and also if your makeup dun turn out well in the first session, you can improve it in the next session. it's all trial and error. i intend to compile it also into a physical album of maybe 30 pictures? (is that too little or too much?) but randyce, i thk other than casual dressing, its still nice to shoot in a wedding gown if possible coz it just feels different
You can get from Emanuelle i thk for abt 500 bucks? French Bridal sold mine for 580. A simple veil will cost abt 60 bucks. I bought 3m of tulle and a Evita comb with pearls for abt 30 bucks but it can be cheaper if you use a normal comb.

theorientalbridezilla: thanks thanks. I really love the gowns at my BS and i actually tried on a few before i booked with them so i am quite confident i can find something i like. But then again, one never knows cos it might be that particular gown i like is taken by someone else or becomes old (since still got slightly less than 1 yr to go). I am keeping my fingers crossed but it is a good idea to check with them. I am quite tempted not to use the MTM cos they said that they will upgrade certain things if i choose not to MTM.

Ms Wong: I think Love & Co is good. Very pretty rings, many choices and quite reasonably priced too.

As for the gowns Ms Wong, maybe you can consider wear the WG in the morning and wear another gown (perhaps a shorter one without the train) for the solemnisation? From what i know, people usually wear their WG during solemnisation/1st march in and only change to EG during 2nd march in? Out of curiousity, if your solemnisation is in the evening, why do you need the WG in morning? Is it for gatecrashing?

Ev3: Yeah, think it is quite common to wear the same WG for solemnisation and 1st march-in. I think it should be fine since the people you invite for the banquet may not have been at the solemnisation so they would not have seen the gown anyway? My thoughts lah. In my case, I will probably be wearing the same gown for church and banquet.

i sorta have the same problem too!
I will be wearing my WG for the Morning for bride pick up, then tea ceremony (either kua or teadress).
My solemnization is in the hotel and I will be walking down a flight of stairs and "aisle". So i would want a long train WG.
Did think whether i should have 2 separate gowns, but isn't it quite silly if its just for the morning? =P
What do you guys think?

huishan: I dunno mine is auspicious date or not.. I booked before the tong shu is out, so even it is, also wont be extra charges...

i think wedding nowadays sure lost de... in the past, still can earn... now, dun lose too much can liao...

ev3: I am also planning solemnization and dinner together.. depends how u arrange.. if your solemnization is 1hr b4 dinner you still have time to change... if u intend to solemnize after march in, dun think u will have time at all...

theorientalbridezilla: nope its not silly.. u see wedding of michelle and fann, both their morning gown is different from their march-in gown =P.. if your BS allow u to have 2 WG... y not...

hehehe
huisi: but me not michelle chia. And will see if Digio can offer me an extra WG not...

huishan: whats your package like from digio? share share?

all: sorry if I am asking huishan bout digio here. know there are other threads! but its always nicer to talk to the brides of the same month!! =)

lawli>> yah WG in the morning is for gatecrashing..

theorientalbridezilla >> haa i tink its abit silly if ur WG is only for the morning, esp if its MTM.. if BS offer u another gown, confirm got extra charge one la hahha...

let me find my invoice then PM u bah... heee... i dun haf it with me now...

huisi >> i tink we cant compare with michelle or fann.. hahha... they haf alot of budget for wedding.. but i definitely got abit of inspiration from their gowns... heee...

huishan: hehe no, i was initially thinking of getting one off the rack one for the morning pick up and the MTM for the first walk-in and the solemnization! but if I have to pay for that off the rack, most probably not! =)

theorientalbridezilla.. i oso thk it's v sayang to get 2 WG. i thk a WG is expected for the gatecrashing? i kinda bought my gown on a whimsy coz it looks perfect for a garden setting, a simple and elegant design by Vera Wang at half price. but i have problem with it fitting properly being a sheath dress(it's hard to reduce the bust area without affecting the design) which makes it not v reliable to wear the whole day and im hoping that a MTM for the morning will solve my headache and fulfil my vanity for another beautiful dress that looks like a bridal gown but maybe something different. very wasteful of money :P

pardon me for my suaku-ness.. what is the 2nd march in for? i intend to march in only for the solmenisation which is before cocktail and dinner like a western wedding. Intend to pour champaigne at start of cocktail.. maybe cut cake sometime later like start of dinner? Halfway through dinner intend to show slideshow and have speeches and end of dinner will hav dance program? Ok.. i thk no one in spore reali does it this way and there is a v established sequence in place probably. How do you gals intend for your program in the evening esp those with ROM on AD? For my reference

hi kiwifruit! =)
Well it was just an initial idea that i was toying with. I will see how things go! =)

As for your AD and ROM where are u having at? I guess your programme is really interesting and different! =) Quite refreshing! But outta curiosity where are you and your fiance holding it?

All: Outta curiosity (again!) why are you guys picking Sept to get married?

kiwifruit >> i guess mine will be the veri standard program. slideshow, 1st march in, cut cake, 2nd march in, pop champagne, yum seng, speech, photo taking.. haha boring hor...

theorientalbridezilla>> cos this date is a calculated date by some shifu. then somemore its lunar 8th mth... auspicious mth to hold wedding, to satisfy the parents at least.. haha...

Haven't been in here for one or two wks the amount of post is.. wow!

Hihi new Brides-to-be!! Hello Ms wong, we are getting married on same day!

theorientalbridezilla ... im oso toying with the idea and may just go shopping at the bridal shops in Jan to see what there is to offer. i thk another OTR instd of MTM wld b more practical and cost-efficient but has to look different frm my ceremony gown else no point right :P

we are holding our ceremony and dinner at Raffles Hotel lawn and the ceremony has to come first before the sun sets like a western garden outdoor wedding. maybe i watch too many hollywood movies lol..

Snow.. haro! yes, how nice
i partly selected the date coz it is the 3rd day of Hari Raya when I am certain I will have a public holiday and be able to make it back to Singapore from Middle East. Also, I check the internet and am informed that it is not a bad day to get married hehe. It is just after the hungry ghost oso. phew.

Kiwifruit: Raffles Hotel is so beautiful! =) I like the East India Room too (not sure if you are having yours there!)

And like I said your programme is interesting! Refreshing! and I sadly, cant help you cos I really don't know what the second march in is for. Thought it was just the norms but now you got me thinking!! =)

if you dont need the second march in, does that mean you get to save on the evening gown? *grins* And what dance are you guys gonna do?

i think if solmenisation is straight after 1st march in, can wear e morning WG.

If solmenisation is before dinner/cocktail, try request for a short gown or one w/o tail use it for solmenisation, then change it into e morning WG b4 1st march in again.. tats wat most of my frens do.. imho 3gowns e most for e evening, if not u will not have time to mingle with ur guest..

actualli chose to get married in Nov, but e date i wanted e hotels tat we haf shortlisted r booked.. therefore chose e 2nd date which happen to b Sept..

Wow ladies, i was only away for 3 days and the thread is so active!!!...gd sign though...hehe...

theorientalbridezilla: when are u goin to start ur design? i will be meeting Casey on 14th Dec to try gowns then see if can decide on the design...who's ur designer? digio is kinda expensive, come to think of it...

kiwifruit: urs at Raffles hotel too? The lawn is beautiful but i'm using the ballroom for my dinner instead...solemnization in the ballroom before the dinner too cos gotta pay extra if i wanna use the lawn and i think the extra charges are too much...haiz...everythin is abt money at raffles hotel...haha....

changin 3 gowns for evening is a lot leh...time-consuming...for me, just my WG n EG for dinner...prefer to mingle and take more pics with the guests....

theorientalbridezilla.. thank you
im using just the lawn so it will b a totally outdoor wedding and pray hard it won't rain!

Sher.. do you know that evenlyn frm Raffles hotel has left? its a shame coz i thk shes q a nice lady and i hope theres not going to be dispute later on. yeah, i din wana pay the extra venue charge too and dun wana waste the nice lawn space just for solemnisation. i was offered East India room thgh as a backup option in case it rains and for that, i won't need to pay extra. do you get 4 course for your dinner? i find that it is too little and had to add another course at additional price. yeah, you can end up spending really quite a lot.

i oso agree that 3 gowns is too much. i might just stick to my ceremony gown for the entire evening without EG to save time and money. most western brides wear only 1 gown for the entire day but it appears that asian brides wear quite a few pieces.

theorientalbridezilla.. i personally find it v sayang to wear EG only for that 1 or 2 hrs and honestly in my opinion, i find that a lot of EG you get in spore esp OTR ones just dun look v flattering or just ordinary (defeating the purpose of you being the bride) and you may risk that your guests dress better than you!

theorientalbridezilla... for the dance, we will try for a Tango coz my fiance has learnt it before and i will hav to pick up from scratch which sounds too challenging and if it becomes too hard, we may just delete it :P

kiwifruit: Yes, your ideas for your wedding sounds so unique and special! I think a lawn wedding is not exactly common in Singapore (though i think it is quite common overseas)?

theorientalbridezilla: Actually quite funny how we chose the dates. I wanted 25th cos it is symbolic, so checked out which months in which 25th will fall during a weekend. And it so happens that it is Sept and it is an auspicious month too since it is the 8th month of the lunar calendar so we settled for 25 Sept. I think my future mother-in-law also checked to see if it is an auspicious date (don't know how she checked though).

I think most BS packages come with WG and EG, so if you don't want the EG, then can ask to change to another WG? Alternatively, you can also choose a lighter colour for the EG (like baby pink or light yellow) so it is almost like a WG. You probably wouldn't want to get 2 elaborate WG cos the WG is supposed to be the more special one of the 2 (which you wear with your veil etc.)?