(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

ching, gown is partly designed by me... today finally called to go fitting liao.. bery last min. lucky they rush it out else i will faint coz no gown to PS. but still nid some alterations n back ribbon missing. zzzzz... anyway they will take to the show next week. for dat i got extra 2 poses FOC. hahaha~ so proud of my work wor... ok, not only my work coz the designer helped out a lot.

mrs chua, anna nucci shoes the crystal is not free replacement after 7 days. cost 50cents to 1 dollar for each crystal.

aiya... i didnt take leave after PS coz i have been taking too many leaves recently to run errands. wait boss not happy~

thanks for the album tip~ but u spend so much on it wor...

oh ya... n thanks for the IRAS reminder~ LOL!

ellen, i "push" everything coz fiance going overseas trip... so bridal side a bit messy n many last min thing or rushed job... lucky my coordinator nice n help to get the things done quickly so dat i can go PS first.

felcy, so u got the package huh? actually we wanted to get package too from another shop but later changed our minds. so we r only getting things dat we/our parents agreed on. but.. for our shop the basic package is from $128/138 for the bride side, i think... cant recall now~

Ellen.. my hubby decided on putting 幼男 (youngest son) and 长女 (eldest daughter)in our invitation card.he say putting 幼男 does not state the birth order & he is indeed the youngest & is a son so put youngest son will be more appropriate haha

ya, I agree that must really check & check for such thing.. even now I going to inform my coordinator abt the changes, I will get her to give me the template again & show to my in laws, make sure they give me the permission that everything ok liao b4 I tell my coordinator to print.. if nt print liao den wrong, I really imagine how it will be to re-print.. omg...

Ladies.. I'm so happy that I finally finish my emcee speech ytd yeah! but hubby have not vet thr yet & I believe some modification need to be done.. but at least one thing is down from my list

EL.. nt free replacement ah? I thought it is.. but dun think the crystals will drop off so easily ba.. since u jus gotten urs replacement FOC (within 7 days right)? if it really drop off den I think their skills/quality of products no good haha

maybe u can request to take 1/2 day to rest abit more after ur PS?

I know we top up quite alot but bo bian leh.. the number of pics we top up is 3 times the number of pics we are being offered in our package.. furthermore, we have a whole series of pics which we cannot leave out.. if would to leave out, den it serve no purpose of us bringing the props there.. so guess, is something which is bo bian lo but hope the effect will turn out to be good

GDL Package... anyone of u know what are the things provided inside which we need to get? I oso nt sure what are the things which we need so if anyone have a list of what are the things that are provided in the GDL package, can share with me??? In that way, I can check with my parents/inlaws to see if they need all those items, if nt den we will just get those that they need...

Sher >> I'm drinking the Meiji Amino powder.. Err.. My bf say he cannot see any difference in me but I feel that my skin seems smoother like tt la. Lolx.. And yea, it has a taste but I drink it with honey and it tastes like barley to me..

Girls, I went to City Square over the weekend and saw the shop Mrs Chua was recommending.. Hehe.. But din buy anything cos wana compare prices in SG first then see how..

I just finished designing my email invite over the weekend.. Then I relooked at my guest list again.. And added more pple.. Now become we like too many guests and need another 6 tables more.. =P But I think after invitation, some reject, some not coming, should be ok lar hor.. =| i very headache abt the guest list sia.. Very scared too many tables, too little pple.. Also very scared too little tables, too many pple.. =|

Hello babes,...

Hey, saw your posting!! Seems like everyone is busy preparing for wedding!! Hope everyone is fine

Mrs Chua> Hope your FIL recover soon okie.

Dione> Where did you get your email invite? Need to pay????

Gals> You all bought alot of pictures ah? I went to see mine finally 2weeks ago?? Very horrible!!!! Very static but still end up topping up. On retrospect, shouldn't have done so. Anyway,must show me your lovely pictures when you all have the soft copy k????

Think I must start to continue with my wedding planning again.

My friends just freaked me out that my wedding is only 90 days away and we are in our very la-la mode... (denial denial)

I also got anna nucci shoes leh... they are the only pair so far that i can wear without getting blisters... my feet spoilt by me le, after wearing slippers to work for a few years.. hahaha..

For GDL, both sides de parents dont seem to have much to say, so I am making my own GDL list. :D Will do away with the Dragon Phoenix candles, potty, basin, mug and toothbrush stuff.

Going to forego the hair combing ceremony as well. So in the end, I think I dont have to prepare much. Just minimal oranges, 2 wines, 8 cans of pig trotters and wedding cakes and then red packets to represent all other stuff!

maoushroom> Shouldnt be horrible pictures lah! Your behind the scenes shots look nice leh... Can the layout help improve it?

Mine looks pretty okie except that I cant look or feel elegant... so my photo style are towards the cute and playful kind... (cute = ugly but adorable... sadz). I top up quite a bit too... hahha... i think the good exchange rate made us put our guard down!

Blur> The behind the scenes shots look nice lehz but the actual wedding shots look *bleah*...Hahaha. Serious lah. When I get the album and we meet up again, show you gals..or when I get the soft copy show you gals again...Haha...

I saw a wedding shop at Beauty World too... They also have GDL packages.

Dione > if your restaurant still have capacity, it's better to keep at your original no. of tables but invite more pple.. like what you said, sure got pple drop out de. It's easier to add tables later than take out tables.

You reminded me that i'm supposed to design my church wedding invites too *headache* must likely will use this for my e-mail invites as well.

Maoushroom, long time no see~! *hugz* let us know if you need any help okie

aiyo why you said your pics not nice? actually my htb also looked very static, so we just picked those that he looked more natural, even then his frens still commented that he seemed v tired :|

i didn't top up much too... budget budget LOL :D

Blur_btb > yea lor if both parents can agree to do away with some items, really saves a lot of trouble.

like one of my GDL items was coconuts (!) then my brother was like "huh, we need coconuts for wad... save $ la." so we told my FMIL that we dun need. they were actually q surprised (that bride side will want them save $$) and kept asking us to confirm... hahaha

maoushroom >> Long time no see!! Oh, my email invites v simple only.. I took one of my album layout and then just add words.. Lolx.. Nothing fancy..

http://www.mywedding.com/apps/public/mysite/rsvp.php?s=zhengyuananddione

We took quite some time cos my HTB decided to be picky with fonts and the placing of the words and drafting out of the email.. =)

Aiyoh, I'm sure ur pictures will look fine, sometimes the brides themselves get too critcal of their own PS.. I got other BTB friends also keep commenting that their PS not nice etc but when I see, I think it's very nice leh!

My GDL stuff is supposedly simplified -- based on what my FMIL and my dad says.. They will do w/o the roast pig and stuff.. But those normal baby tubs, candles all still need leh.. So I duno wat does simplified mean here since it seems like everything is going to be needed (xcept for the roasted pig) But they want wat just follow lor..

Now my wedding tables got issue.. *Angry* Sigh.. Hope to sort it out soon..

Hi Ladies~~ So many posts wor.. we are active again!!! LOL... Yesterday I show my HTB the wedding pics that you girls had taken for your pre-wedding...He was like 'Wah', 'Wor' and turn his head and say 'seems like ours too simple and normal'....Well, at that moment, my reply is we had great fun during the PS, so dun worry abt it... But come to think to of it, I shld tell him why not for another round of pre-wedding at overseas. LOL...Aiya, regretted...haha..

Mrs Chua> Glad that u have more or less settle with ur wedding cards... So when u gg for ur card printing?? Check ur details carefully before send for printing wor...

Thanks for the guidelines for photo selections.. I am thinking whether to have one pic on one whole page to make the album look thick... Hmmm... Nowadays PGs are multitasking liao... Not only PS, they also need to play ard w the software n be creative...

For GDL, I check with my parents, alot of things they say no need... So to save headache,better to follow what they want...unless u have find out more details...I go home to check my GDL list and post here for you all as reference...

Ellen> Nvm la, I just go and do the inserts...Will try to find out more details when go JB next month...

Oh, coconuts in Cantonese means to have 3 generations (kids n grandchilds).. learn that from 'Down with Love' press conference. LOL... Goood la, those think not necessary just save... no need to waste and spend more... wedding is expensive n troublesome...

EL> Urs is mtm gown?? Can take pics and share with us?? Hehe... Enjoy ur PS ya~~~ =)

Dione> Wah, u compare liao must let us know where to get the GDL thingy cheaper... thanks in advance.. =p

Ur email invitation very nice!!! What happen to ur guest list?? Maybe dun invite those who u are not very close....Or every table put extra chair? Which mean 11person per table?

Mauoshroom> U r back!!! Miss u so much~~~ Ya lor, better continue ur planning le... now we only left 3 months... Time bit not enough now... =p

ur pics look static?! I think mine also la... Yes yes, show us ur pic wor... hehe... can't wait...

Blur BTB> I think u r not the only one who is scared by ur frenz. Yesterday when rushing my work halfway, my frenz call me up urgently and remind me to register my ROM n not to be late... I was like =_=''' 3 black lines on my forehead lo.. at the same time, another frenz msg me that she will teach me how to select photos.. wah piang... They more nervous than me... LOL...

I also dun have hair ceremony... My mum say why must have, I was like 'dunno'... So we gg to skip... Oh, u have to return 2 bottles of orange juices (exchange of wines) to the groom side too...

Gals> I've decided to be active again...cannot keep doing my work man. Otherwise, later sure got alot of last min wedding planning!

Dione> Thanks for the link. Will go and check it out!

Think the GDL, nowadays getting more and more simple. Think my side, we not even buying those basin,etc....save money and save time! Everyone happy can liao1!!!!!!!

ChingChing> You should have told your hubby to take another round of pictures!!! Haha....
Eh, you going to JB to do your inserts ah???? But wedding cards all ready liao right?

Blur_btb.. me too.. I freaked myself out when I see that I onli have 80 over days.. OMG!!! so many things haven do.. so that is y now I wan to settle my GDL & invitation cards stuffs..

GDL stuffs.. I must have dragon phoenix candles cos my fengshui master already remind us when we went to calculate our dates.. as for potty, basin, mug & toothbrush.. y we need huh??

Hair combing ceremony.. cannot leave out that as well for our family.. think it symbolises that we have grown up & starting our family soon etc etc..

minimal oranges, 2 wines, pig trotters & wedding cakes.. confirm must have too.. wedding cakes will order from sweetest moments. minimal oranges etc will ask my parents to bring me buy ba..

Maoushroom.. welcome back.. so long no news from u.. how r u getting on??

hmm.. maybe we can organise a gathering to view our album? girls.. when is our next gathering? May right?

Ellen.. which part of beauty world? duno if my hubby wan to go there cos it seems abit far for us..

Dione.. hope ur table issue is settled.. my guests list still very messy omg.. I think I will settle hubby & my own friends list.. as for parents & in laws side, shall let them decide & coordinate if nt too much of stuffs for me to handle liao.. hehe

Ching Ching.. my restaurant have their own assigned printing co so they will be the one who help me to send the cards for printing etc.. all I need to do is check the information in the card is correct & the card design etc
sure, thanks for reminding to check the information on the cards b4 printing... *wink*

ya, PG have to multi-task.. guess is hard to survive in this society ba..

ok ok.. do pass me ur GDL list when u have it.. I will oso go find for it.. let's share share if have..

My GDL also very simple. just a pair of bracelet, cake vouchers, and an ang bao for pin jin :D

Ching Ching > yea i heard something about the 3 generations too... interesting haha

Mrs Chua > I forgot whether the shop was at B1 or 1st floor... it's all red red de so very obvious one...

Dione > aiyo... *pat pat* what happened to your guest list?

btw went to choose card from T-dragon over the weekend, will collect them this week and bring back home for printing...

Maoushroom> Ya la, I shld have told him so.. But during that moment, I wanna to 'console' him dun think too much...end up I'm the one who think too much... LOL.. now thinking of the Macau prewedding PS.. =p

Becoz I can choose btw 12 bottles of wines or cards from my banquet, defintely choose wines...hehe...So I will be getting the cards together with the inserts at JB....

Mrs Chua> Gathering next month? Which date? Oh ya, u still wanna get Tense up?

Ellen> Omg, tt's fast.... I think I really slacking... My guest list not even firm up yet... Siao liao.. Feel panicked now... *pengz*

Ellen.. ok ok.. I will ask my hubby to see if he wan to go there..

how I wish my GDL can be as simple as urs.. from what I know, I will have cakes, cans of pigs trotters, minimals oranges, wines to prepare...

Ching Ching.. oh ya, I suppose to get back to u on the tense up hor.. did I miss the order?? how much is it per packet?

that time we agreed to have a gathering in May but haven confirm date.. maybe u girls wan to start making some planning now???

dun panic dun panic.. my guests oso haven firm up, still very messy.. omg...

ladies.. my mummy & in laws jus reminded me that I have to get a tea set for the guys side tea ceremony.. duno what is the reason y is it we girls who buy the tea set for the guys side but I jus know we have to buy.. so for those who have nt buy, dun forget wor...

Mrs Chua> Ur dialect group is Hokkien? I also gonna prepare the same thing as urs... Maybe we all can combine order for pig trotters n minimals oranges... LOL...

About SGD67 per packet of 30sticks... u let me know by this week wor... I getting 60sticks.. LOL... crazy liao...

How abt 7th May? Or any suggestions on the date? I gonna make it this time no matter what.. =p

I heard that from my colleague that just in case if the guy side forget to prepare the tea set, so it's better for bride side to bring over another set... if never use, then just put as display for future home? =x

ching ching.. ok, u help me order 60 sticks.. tell u hor.. I haven even finish the tense up drink which I ordered from u last time.. think still have a box left cos I stopped taking it after PS.. wondering if can keep till 1 week b4 AD den chiong all the way to drink 1 bottle everyday.. do u think is possible?? *hoping to save $$$ hehe*

ya my dialect is hokkien.. I'm ok to combine order for pig trotters & minimals oranges.. what are minimals oranges huh?? until now I abit blur.. hehe

7th May gathering, I shld be ok..

I duno the reason for preparing the tea set but since instructed to prepare it, I will get it..

Haiz.. Somebody.. Ask for xx no. of tables.. So we went to book.. Then now tt same somebody, say he no need so many tables cos some pple not inviting.. =| Making things diff for us.. Even counting tables also can mess up.. Still need to find time so that that somebody got time to talk to us.. Shall see how lor.. Sighz..

Ok no problem! I'll go compare and let u all know.. =)

Gals> Fret not....you gals are not the worst lah. Me have not even drafted my guest lists. Haven't send my cards for printing......haven't pay my church caterer....haven't do church programme....etc....etc....etc....Haha....

The tea set we need to buy ah??? I totally forgot about the tea set thingy lah...

My parents, in-laws are all anything one...me and my HTB also like that...Cham...

Think anyone of you compile the check list, pleasseeeee pass it to me too k, in case I overlook many items.

Mrs Chua> I don't mind showing you gals my album when we meet up, provided the album is ready man...I doubt when we meet in May, it will be ready.

7th May, I tentatively can meet you gals for dinner if we are meeting that day.

Hokkien Wedding Custom
Cecil Lee, 2002 (C) Geomancy.net

"Lup Chai" is three days before the wedding date.

A. Three Days before Wedding Day

On this "Lup Chai" day, the BRIDEGROOM has to go in the morning to the bride's home to give the following:-

Stick on the Double Wedding paper on each of the following items:-
Description Quantity
Brandy TWO bottles
Bride will ask for boxes of cakes or some ask for peanunt bisket (wrapped in red packet) To be determined by bride's side

Give any Canned food x 6 tins e.g.
Longan
Abalone
Pigs Leg
Lichee
Mushroom
or any other canned food
SIX tins each
For non-christians (Optional): Give Two pairs of red candle-sticks e.g. Dragon and Phoenix pair
ONE set
Give fruits e.g. Mandarin Orange SIX
For red packet, only on the day of wedding day.

On the Bride's side

Description Quantity
On receipt of the bridegroom's items, the bride should return ONE BUNCH of Bananas (with the red Double Happiness sticker on it).

The bride should return TWO bottles of `red coloured' drink bottles e.g. 7-UP Cherry bottles with two bottles of Honey.

The bride should return back TWO tins or FOUR tins (as the bridge wish) to the bridegroom the `CANNED' food as mentioned above. And for either the cake or peanunt bisket, return two boxes back to the Bridgegroom.

The bride side should also give back:

SIX mandarin oranges
Optional: return dried red dates (with the red double
happiness sticker on it).

The bride should give one packet of Red packet, (in the past to buy shoes for father and mother in law). Bridegroom must keep it.

B. On the day of the Wedding for Hokkiens to fetch the bride

The Bridegroom would give:-

Description Quantity
One pigs front leg with meat and skin. For example, a left front leg of the pig. The pig's leg should be placed on a tray with a big piece of red paper.
(For the Cantonese, they instead ask for a whole roasted Pig - Big and nice - ear and tail must be complete - `perfect and nice')

Prepare TWO red packets and place it on the same tray as the pig's leg:
One red packet is meant to symbolise the parents of the bridge looking after her till to-date. This packet the bride must take known as " Leng Bo Gim ".

Another SECOND red packet is for " Pian Kim ". Often, the bride's side do not take it. If taken, means that the parents have `sold' their daughter. (Advisable, that the bride side return this Red packet).
ONE front pig's leg

TWO red packets

C. During Tea Ceremony

Tea ingredients:

Red dates,
dried longan boiled with rock sugar and pandan leaf and place in a tea pot.

D. Optional - Belief

During the wedding, no one should sit or lie on the wedding bed

In the bedroom, if the couple wish to have a `boy' (find a hansome boy) select a relative's son or friend's son. On that day, ask this boy to roll over the wedding bed. And in return give the boy a Red Packet.

E. Decoration in the bedroom (Optional)

Place Double happiness symbol on the bedroom door, the bedroom mirror.

Can also place a plate of : Dried Red dates & Dried Longan for sweetness.
Can also place Red packet with 20 cents in the wedding bedroom drawers if any.

Anyway, here's a little something on practices for those who are gonna get married:

1. Guo da li or betrothal

When: One or two wks b4 the wedding
What: gifts and cash delivered to the bride's home by the groom's family. The bride's family
will take some of the items and return the rest to avoid the impression that they are selling
their daughter.
Why: It shows the groom's financial dependability and assures the bride's family that she
will be well taken care of after marriae
Must haves: Pin jin (money in red packets), jewellery for Teochews (si dian jin), dried
seafood for Cantonese, pig trotters for Hokkiens, oranes, liuor and dragan and
phoenix candles. Symbolism: Pin jin is given to the bride's family for taking care
of her. Accepting the dragon candles signifies that her family accepts him as a
son-in-law. Offering the phoenix candles to the groom's family symbolies the
giving of their daughter's hand.

2. Dowry

When: On the same day after offering the guo da li

What: Gifts are presented from the bride's parents to their daugther and future son-in- law.
Why: The gifts are to bless the couple and to show that hte bride is ready to take the new roles of wife and mum.
Must-haves: Baby bathtub, basin and potty are to encourage the couple to have children.The sewing kit signifies a capable wife, the wedding lamps a brigt future and the bowls abundant food

3. An chuang

When: 8.30pm on the eve of the wedding (or any other auspicious day la)
What: Items are placed on the marriage bed and the couple is not allowed to enter the room till wedding ceremony is over
Why: Symbolises gd health, abundance of fortune and offspring for the couple.

Must-haves: Eight types of auspicious seeds and grains, oranges, red packets, metallic discs (da yuan and xiaoyuan) My mil used red packets. She placed them on each corner of the bed. Some will even get little children to jump on the bed

Symolism: The discs signify a blissful marriage while the foodstuff is to bless the couple with children early. The whole process is usually done by a woman with good fortune ie, have loads of children, parents still alive etc

4. Hair combing (I DIDN"T HAVE THIS!)

When: After 11pm on the eve of the wedding. In the Chinese calendar, any time after 11pm denotes the next day.

What: The bride and groom's hair are combed by their parents. Te father recites the blessing while the mother combs the hair three times.

Why: Each stroke holds and auspicious meanin for the various stages of life after marriage.

Must-Haves: Coms, sewing kit, mirrors, red string and ruler.

Symolism: The red string, which signifies a blessing, is used to tie the bride's hair. the ruler is to remind the couple to cherish the relationship and take care of the family.

过大礼 (Betrothal)

What is Betrothal?
It comprises of gifts and cash delivered to the bride’s home by the groom. Of which the bride’s family will accept and return the reminder to avoid giving the impression of “selling†their daughter.

Why is Betrothal important?
The Betrothal epitomizes the sincerity towards the marriage between the bindings of 2 families and assures the bride’s family that she will be well taken care of after marriage. It also shows the groom’s financial dependability.

When should Betrothal be done?
One to three weeks before the wedding day. If you are looking for a feng shui master to pick a Guo Da Li date for you, I do have someone to recommend, very sweet lady, remember to tell her Eyvon from Golden Happiness recommended you otherwise she won't usually pick up unknown numbers to her. She doesn't charge for her service so an ang pow will be appriciated, she is in no way related to me and was recommended to me by a friend, she has been to her quite a number of times so far so good! Appointment is a must!

Sally Ong
HP: 92732313
149 Rochor Rd, Fu Lu Shou Complex, #B1-08, Singapore 188425

How is Betrothal done?
The Groom together with a friend or a matchmaker will deliver the betrothal gifts to the bride’s home.

*Dragon and phoenix candles are a must for all dialets

**Below is the checklist of what to buy. The checklist is to the best of our knowledge, however do a final check with your parents and in laws before deciding on the final items to buy.**

Hokkiens/ Haianese
If your husband is Hokkien and Hainanese
Things to buy for the bride:
Dragon & Phoenix candles
A Bunch of bananas
Some red dates
Pig trotters/Minimum six pig trotters cans
12 Oranges
12 or 18 apples
Dao Mi (rice still attached to the stems with leaves)
Pin Jin
5 types of seeds symbolizes prosperity, growth and perpetuation of the family (green beans, red beans, mug beans, yellow beans, mug beans and black beans) the beans MUST be planted in potted plants 12 days after Guo Da Li ceremony

Returning to the groom
Things to buy
Usually to return 1/2 of what he has give you
Handkerchief for the groom's best man
2 stalks of yam (the yam MUST be planted in potted plants 12 days after Guo Da Li ceremony)
2 stems of ginger plants
2 stalks of chives
2 pcs of charcoal
I tie, tie clip, wallet and belt
A red packet will also be given to the groom’s family to buy shoes.
The bride will need to present towels to the parents, grandparents, uncles, aunt and groom’s siblings.
Sugarcane

Cantonese/Hakka
f your husband is Hakka or Cantonese
2 Chicken
2 Bottles of brandy
Dragon & Phoenix candles
2 large fish (meaning sheng qi, re re nao nao)
2 coconut (you ye you zi)
4 Brandy/ Rice wine
Tea leaves
Sesame
Hai wei (Cantonese) may include fa cai, mushrooms, abalone, clams, prawns/shrimps, sea cucumber, fish maw, shark's fin
12- 18 oranges
12- 18 apples
Bao lo man yao pin jin dai
Dragon and phoenix box containing red dates, red and green beans, bai he, lian zi, sesame, longan,
2 pieces of red cloth to hang on the door, grooms to be longer than brides (for gd luck)
A full plate of 'fatt kou', some vegetables as leaf lettuce or endive ('sang choy', symbolizes vitality),
celery ('khan choy' symbolizes diligence), spring onion (symbolizes intelligence)
1 pair of trousers (if the bride has a single elder brother (symbolizes wealth).
Dragon phoenix bangles (Long Feng Zhou)
A specified number of wedding cakes

Returning to the groom
Usually half of the items brought by the groom will be returned
1 pair of lotus tuber ('leng ngau') with roots intacts and plenty of tubercles (but now a days it is almost impossible to get so lotus roots from supermarket will do) (Cantonese only)meaning (symbolize the prosperous offspring desired by the couple as well as longevity of both the couple and their family.)
Part of the cash will be returned to reflect the spirit of sharing between two families. (Both Hakka & Cantonese)

TeoChew
On the first delivery date selected at the temple, part of the cash, 12 oranges and some biscuits will be sent and to seek approval from bride's family.
On the second delivery date, the balance of the cash and wedding cakes, 12 oranges, biscuits, a roasted whole pig, 2 chickens, 2 bottles of brandy and 3 sets of ice sticks (3 coated with sesame and the other 2 with rice grains).

If either side is Teochew
12 oranges
Wedding cakes
A roasted whole pig
2 chickens
2 bottles of brandy
Peanut candy
2 pair Dragon & Phoenix candles
Gold Jewellery (Si Dian Jin)
Lao ma gor for the surviving grandma of the bride (if grandma is no longer around this should be skipped)

Returning to the groom
Usually to return 1/2 of the things he has given you and part of pin jin, to keep the Si Dian Jin
1 pair phoenix candle
2 bottles of orange juice
1 piece of handkerchief for each of the brothers who helped deliver the items
2 pcs of charcoal
I tie, tie clip, belt and wallet
The bride's family will give a red packet to each person who delivers the cash and gifts.
To each of her parents-in-law 1 piece of handkerchief with 1 big red packet.
A small moneybag containing 5 kinds of seeds (symbolizes prosperity, growth and perpetuation of the family)
1 red packet with cash for the elders in the groom's family to buy shoes.

四点金 (Dowry Jewellery)

One of the most familiar practice for the bride’s parents to request for Si Dian Jin as part of the betrothal gifts from the groom’s parent to the bride. The purpose of this practice in the olden days is to ensure that the bride will be married to a wealthy family and guaranteed a wealthy, carefree and happy life.

Si Dian Jin is expected even without the request from the bride’s parents. It is a must even for modern day.

The bride is expected to wear these Si Dian Jin throughout the wedding even during banquet so that all the relatives have opportunities to appreciate the gift.

So which dialect buys what?
The Cantonese, it is a must to buy a pair of gold bangle called dragon and phoenix bangles 龙凤镯. 龙凤镯 is commonly given to the bride during tea ceremony by her in laws, parents and relatives, in appriciation of her taking good care of her in laws and husband, the more 龙凤镯 she receives it also represents the wealthier the family clan is. Also, have you ever notice Qwas are commonly 3/4 sleeves? This is to let the bride show off all the 龙凤镯 she has received, so by the end of the tea ceremony session she will often look like a Christmas tree!

The Teochew, four items of gold called 四点金. The usual items would be a pair of earrings, necklace, ring and bracelet. The custom comes from the Teochew province in China. Houses of the province had four elegantly curved roofs that look like Jin. Commonly referred to as Si Dian Jin, these roofs indicated the status and wealth of the family. When the mother-in-law offers her daughter-in-law Si Dian Jin jewellery, it is a way of saying, "You will always have a roof over your head and a comfortable life." Si Dian Jin usually consists of a necklace, a ring, a bangle, and a pair of earrings. 'The dragon and phoenix' is a preferred design because together they represent Long Fong Pei, the most perfectly matched life partners. A moving tradition, and what lovely jewellery you have to enjoy forever. During the Guo Da Li, the bride is presented with a set of gold jewellery from the groom's side, the Si Dian Jin. -- (with given permission, adapted from Poh Heng's wedding book)

Nowadays cross marriages between the dialect groups are so common, even the non-teochews are requesting for or giving the Si Dian Jin as betrothal jewellery to their daughter-in-law.

It is very common that mother-in-laws prefer to give four items of gold as dowry jewellery to show their relatives that they appreciate their new daughter-in-laws more than money!

å«å¦† (Dowry)

What is Dowry?
The bathtub, basin and potty are to encourage the couple to have children. The sewing kit represents a capable wife. The wedding lamps mean a bright future and the bowls means abundant food for the couple.

Why is Dowry important?
The gifts represent the blessing to the couple and show that the bride has grown up and is ready to take on the new role of a wife and mum.

When should Dowry be done?
On the same day as Betrothal ceremony or a few days before the wedding.

What are the items?
1 Double happiness bathtub
1 Double happiness potty
1 Double happiness basin
1 tray
1 Sewing box
1 sewing kit (needle, scissors, pin cushion and thread)
1 pair Double happiness rinisng mugs
Mirror, tooth brush, tooth paste, shampoo and bath towels
1 Double happiness tea set
1 pair Double happiness bowl and spoon set
2 pair Silk slippers
Jewellery

上头 (Hair Combing)

What are the differences between different dialects?
For this procedure, there is only difference between the groom and bride set..

For male:
Pointed comb
1 set of mirror
1 set of red string
1 ruler
1 pair Dragon and phoenix candles
Lian zi, red dates, tang yuan in either 6 or 9pcs
Fruits and meat

For female:
Round comb
1 set of mirror
1 set of red string
1 set of sewing kit
1 ruler
1 pair Dragon and phoenix candles
Lian zi, red dates, tang yuan in either 6 or 9pcs
Fruits and meat

Why is Hair combing important?
This has been a long tradition that is believed to bring long and lasting marriage, where the red string signifies blessing which is used to tie the bride’s hair and the ruler is used to remind couples to cherish their relationship and take good care of the family. It is important the both party participates in this ceremony, if either party is not doing the hair combing ceremony the other party can skip it too.

Where is Hair combing done?
As this procedure is done 1 day before the wedding day (bride and groom are not allow to see each other 1 day before the wedding day), it is a must that the bride and groom does it separately at their parent’s home in the bedroom.

When should Hair combing be done?
Hair combing can be done after 11pm on the eve of the wedding. The bride must take part in this ceremony at least 1 hour after the groom had completed his.

How should Hair combing be done? Step by step guide:

1) Set up the items comb, candles, fruits and meat to pray to the ancestors. Lian zi, red dates, tang yuan must be either 6pcs or 9pcs each to be placed on the table.

2) bride and groom have to shower with water infused with either pomelo or pomegranate leaves (Showering in these leaves is to cleanse the body from bad luck)

3) Thereafter, bride and groom should change into a new set of clothing, shoes, using new sets of towels, tooth brush, tooth paste, shampoo (for a new beginning)

4)Light the candles. Hair combing is normally done by the Hao Min Po ‘fortune lady’, if either 1 parent or both parents are no longer around, this procedure should be done by Hao Ming Po, who MUST be blissfully married with surviving husband and WITH children and grandchildren. This is to ensure the bride and groom will be blessed with the same fortune.

5) The red thread means yue lao qian hong xian, is to be tie on the hair completing the ceremony.

Cantonese/Hakka
(During ceremony) The groom has to face the wall with his back against the door while the bride does the opposite that is facing the door with her back against the wall.

TeoChew/Hokkien:
The bedroom's door must be locked and admittance is prohibited. The groom is to perform this in his room facing inside, while the bride facing the ancestors.

The magical words will have to be recite out loud:

1st comb symbolises:
一梳梳到尾
Couple will always be together forever, from the beginning till the end of the road.

2nd comb symbolises:
二梳梳到白髮齊眉
Happiness and harmony in the relationship together from now till old age.

3rd comb symbolises:
三梳梳到兒孫滿地
Couple will bear many sons, daughters, grand daughters and grandsons.

4th comb symbolises:
四梳梳到四æ¢éŠ€ç­ç›¡æ¨™é½Š
Guaranteed happiness and fortune for the couple.

After hair combing, sweet pink glutinous ball soup (must be pink) must be served after the hair combing ceremony to wish the couple a complete, sweet and happiness marriage. The serving of sweet pink glutinous ball soup is also carried out on the wedding day itself (for teochew) after the groom has successfully completed all the tasks given by the Jie meis.

*If either of the couple has been married before the combing event can be skipped

If you are looking for a feng shui master to pick a hair combing date for you, I do have someone to recommend, very sweet lady, remember to tell her Eyvon from Golden Happiness recommended you otherwise she won't usually pick up unknown numbers to her. She doesn't charge for her service so an ang pow will be appriciated, she is in no way related to me and was recommended to me by a friend, she has been to her quite a number of times so far so good! Appointment is a must!

Sally Ong

壓床 (Bed Setting)

What is Bed Setting?
This is a process whereby changing the couple’s bed with new bed sheets and have auspicious items spread out on the bed along with 2 red packets and a pair of double happiness bedside lamps. Double happiness stickers or cuttings will be used to decorate the bridal house, the main door as well as mirrors and cupboards of the bridal room. No one is allowed into the room until the wedding ceremony is over.

Why is Bed Setting important?
It symbolizes a blissful marriage, abundance of fortune and offspring for the couple as well as good health.

When should Bed Setting be done?
On eve of the wedding at 830pm or according to the timing of the feng shui master

Items required on the bed:

2 red packets
1 tray
2 oranges
Sweets or rock sugar
6 different kinds of seeds : green and red beans, lotus seeds, peanuts, logans and red dates
Pomegranate leaves
Huat Kuay
Dai Lu Ji
Ruler
Yuan Zi

Items required on four corners of the bed and to be placed infront of the bed:
Yuan Zi
mini red packet
Zi sun buckets

Items required on the side table:
Double happiness lamp

How is Bed Setting done? Step by step guide:

1)Change your bedsheet

2)The groom’s parents or the bride’s parents (whichever you prefer) will move the bed slightly and place a red packet with gold coins in it and Da yuan at each corner of the bed symbolizing unlimited blessings of wealth and prosperity. Usually if one parent is no longer around, you will need to get a Hao Ming Po to help you do bed setting. Da yuan means the husband and Xiao yuan means the wife therefore this step of placing the yuan zi is to ensure that the couple will be fated to be together for the rest of their lives.

OR another belief is that the groom’s parents or the bride’s parents (whichever you prefer) will move the bed slightly and place a red packet with gold coins in it and both Da yuan and Xiao yuan at each corner of the bed symbolizing unlimited blessings of wealth and prosperity. Usually if one parent is no longer around, you will need to get a Hao Ming Po to help you do bed setting. Da yuan means having fate (yuan) with the in-laws and parents and Xiao yuan means the fate between couple

3)Dried longans, lotus seeds, red dates, peanuts, red & green beans, pomegranate leaves, huat kuay, ruler, 2 red packet (each containing $12), 2 oranges, sweets or rock sugar, and finally 1 packet of Da yuan and 1 packet of Xiao yuan to be placed in a tray and to be placed on the bed.

4) A young boy whose horoscope does not clash with the groom and bride will be invited to jump on the bed and invited to eat the sweets which is believed that by doing this the couple will have healthy happy kids soon after marriage.

5) Rest of the Da yuan and Xiao Yuan will be scattered into the drawers and cupboards. The groom's new shirts must be put into the cupboard first (usually 12pcs), followed by the bride’s (Usually 12pcs). Red papers or stickers bearing the word 'double happiness' will be pasted onto cupboards, mirrors and doors

6) After the bed-installation, the double happiness lamp must be lit throughout the entire night. More commonly, let the battery in the lamp run Do NOT replace the batteries or for those of you who bought the electric operated lamps let the lamp run till it fuse.

Some knowledge we thought you should know:
1) Ensure brides DO NOT sleep on the bed once bed setting ceremony has been completed and before the wedding this will lead to poor health for the bride.

2) On wedding day another boy will be invited to roll on the bed and invited to eat the sweets symbolising tian tian mi mi, zao sheng gui zi and zi sun man tang

3) Avoid bedsheets with black, grey, blue, colours that are commonly seen at a funeral and also avoid flower designs like chrysanthemums.

4) Either leave the bed empty after bed installation, bed wedding day or have a young boy whose horoscope does not clash with the groom's as the is a popular saying 'leaving one side of the bed empty, you are bound to curse your other half to death'

5) Traditionally, bed setting is often done by Hao Ming Po (who is blissfully married with surviving husband and all surviving childen) but today it is more commonly done by the groom.

6) If bed setting is done by Hao Min Po please remember to give her an ang pow

7) If you are looking for a feng shui master to set a bed setting date for you, I do have someone to recommend, very sweet lady, remember to tell her Eyvon from Golden Happiness recommended you otherwise she won't usually pick up unknown numbers to her. She doesn't charge for her service so an ang pow will be appriciated, she is in no way related to me and was recommended to me by a friend, she has been to her quite a number of times so far so good! Appointment is a must!

Sally Ong

Ladies.. Jus gotten some info on GDL, dowry, an chuan etc from some webby.. had extracted out for ur info..

had discuss with hubby to go down one of the GDL shop this weekend to check on GDL items etc... hoping can get a list of items that we need den can show to our parents to see if what are items they need/dun need..

Ching Ching > dun stress LOL... a lot of things i haven't done too.

collected the cards early cos supposed to get my sis to bring back HK first, then i didnt' time properly... end up the cards only come tomorrow but my sis flew back home today liao~ haiz.... next chance will be in May, but will be a mad rush cos i need to collect during my trip home in end May and bring back to SG~ *sweat*

Mrs Chua > wah the list is very detailed... thanks for your sharing
btw remembered Thomas recommended this shop called KK wedding goods in Chinatown? you can try there... at least this one they all went b4 and know that the price is good.

As for tea set, think i read in the 2010 BTB thread b4... to buy one set is supposed to keep for your daughter next time or something like that de.... you can consult them in the 2010 thread

i'm not buying tea set... will borrow from friends :D

Okie, i'm fine with gathering on 7 May
is Friday good for all? cos both times attendence also so-so only... hahaha :D

Wah~~ Mrs Chua, u really gather so much info... See till blur... I will run thru with my HTB over the weekend.. Thanks... Below is my info from my fengshui master:

Guo Da Li for Groom:
- Wedding Cakes
- 2 bottles of brandy
- 2 pairs of dragon & phoenix candles
- even no of oranges (in wedding basket)
- at least 6 cans of pig trotters
- 1 red packet with the Pin Jin inside
- 2 packets of peanut candies
- Jewellery (4pc jewellery for Teochew) for the bride
- 6 types of grains consisting of red dates, dried longans, lotus seeds, red beans, green beans and lily bulbs

Brides's family to return to groom during GDL:
- 2 bottles of orange syrup in exchange of 2 bottles of brandy
- 2 phoenix candles (bride's family will keep the dragon candles)
-even no portion of gifts
- a red packet for the groom's parents to buy shoes, towels, etc
- even no portion of Pin Jin will be returned in a red packet

Dowry (usually either on same day of GDL or after) to be given to the bride n future son-in-law by the bride's family:
- 1 tea set for the wedding tea ceremony
- 1 pair of red bedside lamps
- 1 baby bath tub
- beddings such as pillow, blankets, comforter, bed sheet, etc
- 2 pairs wooden clogs
- 1 sewing kit
- 1 ruler
- 1 baby prosperity set (plate, mug, potty, basin, toothpaste, toothbrush)
- 1 comb
- a set of dragon and phoenix bowls with 2 pairs of chopsticks and one thermal flask

Ellen> I think it's better to buy ur own set of tea sets.... they say unless those couples are blissful, so still ok to use and borrow... If not, i still think u get one set for ur own.... =p

Haha Ching Ching, thanks for the reminder
it's okie la, my church frens always borrow from each other one hahahaha :P dun waste ma...

girls u r welcome

jus happen to find a webby that has those info, jus share share lo...

Ellen.. ya I rem the shop that Thomas mentioned, will be dropping by that shop to have a look this weekend.. I oso managed to find another shop which another bride recommend in this forum.. is @ AMK Jubilee Entertainment Complex

mrs chua: there are abt 3-4 shops there selling the same stuff, u can go browse the rest too but I found that KK still cheapest =) just tell jenny what dialect group u are will do le, she will tell u what is necessary and what's not.

Hi gals, I just chanced upon a new wedding item shop just opened at Jubilee Complex at Ang Mo Kio. The boss is quite friendly and helpful.. but seriously hor, i think we are being chop like a carrot everywhere we go the minute we talk about wedding... simple things also become expensive... sigh... A full An Chuang set of stuff is S$38! And it seems like some simple stuff to me only leh.

Also, anyone knows if we need corsages for parents and siblings on AD dinner? I was hoping to save on that :D

The exchange rate SGD vs RM has dropped drastically. Super heart pain. Should have paid up the whole amt for the bridal package and send inserts for printing early... boo hoo...

Ching Ching: Ya, i check le and we are not gg to have the hair combing ceremony cos both sides parents duno what is that... hahaha... and for me even more ma fan to find some Hao Ming Ren to comb for me since my dad not around le...

The last I check, I think i only have 2 months and 27 days. Friends almost freak out when they realise I duno how my gown look like yet... ahahhaa... and worse is the HB only have about 7 more weekend days off till the wedding.... means, super little time!

Just booked slot with florist, now confirming the car and bouquet decor. And also put in food tasting date and menu.

Mrs Chua: Think the whole potty and basin thingy is for many babies! hahahah... But I wont be getting... cos no place to put and by the time got kid, plastic stuff may spoil le.

Otherwise, my list looks like yours! V easy one.

Thanks for the very informative posts!! I copy and paste and then sort in excel and then see what are the items to keep and the rest, I will just pao and ang pow called MISCELLANEOUS!!

Dione: Hope you resolve the table issue soon. The way you talk about the somebody sound so amusing! Will be gg for PS on Friday! Still duno what to bring and what to wear yet. So dead.

Maoushroom: my side also everything everyone say ok... but what i worry most is that by the time comes, other relatives here add one comment there add one comment, then become not ok. So i decide to draft out a proposal and translate it and then pass to the parents for endorsement... hahaah any changes will make on that set also, for proof! I do it so business style.

Tea set should have either one set that you give as part of dowry to male side and then use for tea ceremony on AD. I buy one, use at his side and then wash bring back to my side. Unless parents want to keep, then buy them one set each.

Blur_btb > From what I observed so far, parents need corsages but not siblings.

I think most places that do bridal bouquet, they will throw in 6 corsages free. Maybe you can nego with them
btw, which florist are you using? me looking for florist too...

Thomas.. ok, will make a comparision.. will jenny provide us a list of items that we need based on our dialect grp? I need to get a list so that I can show both our parents to see what they need or no.. in that way, it will be easier for us

Or do u have a list? What is ur dialect grp?

Blur_btb.. u went to the shop @ Jubilee Complex ah? I saw some brides from forum recommending abt this shop.. thinking of going to that shop if hubby find going Chinatown too far for him.. *guys are lazy* hehe

Ya, I agree with u that we are being shop everywhere as this is a once in a life time thing.. so if they dun chop us, they will have no chance for it haha

For an chuan, I will only get those items which my fengshui master ask us to get.. that will be 4 types of fruits (1 each) , 1 pineapple, 1 huat kueh & 1 red packet.. dun think all these items will cost much bah hehe shall go get it from market.. hmm maybe u wan to check the webby (Shuangxile) I mentioned, their an chuan package oso cost $23.90. it comprises of 5 elements seeds set, dragon phoenix tray and ruler..

Like what Ellen said, only parents need corsages.. ur BS dun provide ah? Mine BS do provide, they already inform us when we sign the package with them..

Ya, exchange rate drop so much.. yesterday help my daddy change some… SGD 100 = RM 232… omg..
I jus checked my countdown calculator… 80 more days only.. OMG!!! Really getting stress liao.. so much of things undone…

Oh ya.. I checked with my mummy abt the potty & basin too.. she say we dun need la, this one only happen in the olden days for their wedding.. heng ah.. we dun need so dun need to spend $$$ on that.. but she got mentioned anbt my brother having to carry the oil over on that day.. nt sure what the term is called & mean but she say she will prepare the set for us & get my bro to bring over for me on my wedding day.. so shall leave it to her to prepare for us : )

Sher.. this is the emcee contact that I had enquire b4.. maybe u wan to check & consider abt them?

Email : [email protected]

Corresponding email from them : My charges are at $388/- for the nine or ten course dinner. Complete with games, interview of your guest etc. We can discuss the programs according to what you have always dream of. ;)

(Sample 1 )

INVITE GUESTS TO BE SEATED

A very good evening ladies and gentlemen, please be seated. The wedding banquet will be

commencing shortly. Thank you.

å„ ä½ è´µ 宾 晚 上 好,请 ä½  们 å…¥ 席。你 所 期 å¾… çš„ æ—¶ 刻 å°± å¿« å¼€ å§‹ 了。 è°¢ 谢。

COMMENCEMENT OF DINNER (1ST MARCH IN)

Once again, a very good evening ladies and gentlemen. I am ______________(Name) and I

am your emcee this evening. Today is the special day for _________________ (Groom)

and ________________________ (Bride) and in a few moments, we shall all give them our

blessings as we witness them walk through their aisle of love.

å„ ä½ è´µ å®¾ï¼Œå† ä¸€ 次 å‘ ä½  们 说 声 晚 上 好。 我 是 ____________________ (Name of

Emcee), 是 今 晚 çš„ å¸ ä»ªï¼Œè°¢ è°¢ 大 å®¶ 在 百 å¿™ 之 中 抽 出 å® è´µ çš„ æ—¶ é—´ 出 席

____________________ (Name of Groom’s Dad) 夫 妇 çš„ ______________é•¿ / 二 / 三 å­

以 åŠ ____________________ (Name of Bride’s Dad) 夫 妇 çš„ __________ é•¿ / 二 / 三 女

的 婚 礼。

Today is their wedding day, their special day, their most memorable day and the moment we

have all been waiting for. Shall we all rise (optional), put our hands together and welcome the

newly wed. _________________________ (Groom) and _____________________ (Bride).

现 在 请 大 å®¶ ç«™ èµ· æ¥ ä»¥ 最 热 烈 çš„ 掌 声 欢 迎 ç€ å¯¹ æ–° 人 å…¥ 场。

(The couple will march-in and proceed to the stage for their cake cutting ceremony).

(Once they are on stage) Let us now witness the newly wed as they do the cake cutting ceremony.

现 在 让 我 们 大 å®¶ è§ è¯ è¿™ 对 æ–° 人 举 行 切 蛋 糕 仪 å¼ã€‚

Thank you very much, ladies and gentlemen, please be seated. Dinner will be served shortly.

è°¢ 谢。大 å®¶ 请 å°± åº§ï¼Œç¨ ç­‰ 片 刻,晚 å®´ å³ å°† å¼€ 始。

OPENING OF CHAMPAGNE (2ND MARCH IN)

(Couple had changed to their evening grown)

Ladies and gentlemen, once again, shall we put our hands together to welcome ______________________(Groom) and _____________________ (Bride).
å„ ä½ è´µ 滨, 让 我 们 å† ä¸€ 次 以 最 热 烈 çš„ 掌 声 欢 迎 ____________________ and

________________________ (Name of Groom and Bride)

(The couple will march-in and proceed to the stage for their champagne opening ceremony).

Let us now witness the newly wed celebrates their love with a bottle of champagne.

现 在 让 我 们 é‚€ 请 è¿™ 对 æ–° 人 上 å° ä¸¾ 行 å¼€ 香 æ§Ÿ 仪 å¼ã€‚

(When the champagne cap pops), å„ ä½ è´µ 宾,让 我 们 以 掌 声 æ¥ ç¥ ç¦ _____________

and ________________ (Name of Groom and Bride) 但 愿 他 们 的 生 活 美 满 幸 负, 有

如 è¿™ ç“¶ 香 æ§Ÿ 酒,长 é•¿ ä¹… 久。希 望 ä½  们 æ—© æ—© 生 个 è´µ å­ï¼Œæ­ å–œ æ­ å–œã€‚

May we invite the parents of _______________ and _______________ to come on stage to

propose a toast.

让 我 们 é‚€ 请 åŒ æ–¹ å®¶ é•¿ 上 å° æ•¬ 酒。

Thank you ladies and gentlemen for taking your time off to be present here today to witness

the special moment of _____________________ and ____________________ (Name of

Groom and Bride). Shall we rise and give a toast to the newly wed.

谢 谢 大 家 出 席 _________________ and _________________ 的 婚 礼,如 果 有 什 么

æ‹› å¾… ä¸ å‘¨ çš„ 地 方,请 大 å®¶ 多 多 包 涵,多 多 原 谅。现 在 请 大 å®¶ ç«™ èµ· æ¥, 让 我

们 举 èµ· æ¯ï¼Œä¸€ èµ· æ¥ å–Š 三 声 yam seng.

(Yam seng in progress)

Thank you very much, ladies and gentlemen, please be seated.

è°¢ è°¢ 大 家。请 å°± 座,继 ç»­ 享 用 晚 é¤ã€‚

(Sample 2)

INVITE GUESTS TO BE SEATED

A very good evening ladies and gentlemen, please be seated. The wedding banquet will be

commencing shortly. Thank you.

å„ ä½ è´µ 宾 晚 上 好,请 ä½  们 å…¥ 席。你 所 期 å¾… çš„ æ—¶ 刻 å°± å¿« å¼€ å§‹ 了。 è°¢ 谢。

COMMENCEMENT OF DINNER (1ST MARCH IN)

Once again, a very good evening ladies and gentlemen. I am ______________(Name) and I

am your emcee this evening. Today is the special day for _________________ (Groom)

and ________________________ (Bride) and in a few moments, we shall all give them our

blessings as we witness them walk through their aisle of love.

å„ ä½ è´µ å®¾ï¼Œå† ä¸€ 次 å‘ ä½  们 说 声 晚 上 好。 我 是 ____________________ (Name of

Emcee), 是 今 晚 çš„ å¸ ä»ªï¼Œè°¢ è°¢ 大 å®¶ 在 百 å¿™ 之 中 抽 出 å® è´µ çš„ æ—¶ é—´ 出 席

____________________ (Name of Groom’s Dad) 夫 妇 çš„ ______________é•¿ / 二 / 三 å­

以 åŠ ____________________ (Name of Bride’s Dad) 夫 妇 çš„ __________ é•¿ / 二 / 三 女

的 婚 礼。

Today is their wedding day, their special day, their most memorable day and the moment we

have all been waiting for. Shall we all rise (optional), put our hands together and welcome the

newly wed. _________________________ (Groom) and _____________________ (Bride).

现 在 请 大 å®¶ ç«™ èµ· æ¥ ä»¥ 最 热 烈 çš„ 掌 声 欢 迎 ç€ å¯¹ æ–° 人 å…¥ 场。

(The couple will march-in and proceed to the stage for their cake cutting ceremony).

(Once they are on stage) Let us now witness the newly wed as they do the cake cutting ceremony.

现 在 让 我 们 大 å®¶ è§ è¯ è¿™ 对 æ–° 人 举 行 切 蛋 糕 仪 å¼ã€‚

Thank you very much, ladies and gentlemen, please be seated. Dinner will be served shortly.

è°¢ 谢。大 å®¶ 请 å°± åº§ï¼Œç¨ ç­‰ 片 刻,晚 å®´ å³ å°† å¼€ 始。

OPENING OF CHAMPAGNE (2ND MARCH IN)

(Couple had changed to their evening grown)

Ladies and gentlemen, once again, shall we put our hands together to welcome ______________________(Groom) and _____________________ (Bride).
å„ ä½ è´µ 滨, 让 我 们 å† ä¸€ 次 以 最 热 烈 çš„ 掌 声 欢 迎 ____________________ and

________________________ (Name of Groom and Bride)

(The couple will march-in and proceed to the stage for their champagne opening ceremony).

Let us now witness the newly wed celebrates their love with a bottle of champagne.

现 在 让 我 们 é‚€ 请 è¿™ 对 æ–° 人 上 å° ä¸¾ 行 å¼€ 香 æ§Ÿ 仪 å¼ã€‚

(When the champagne cap pops), å„ ä½ è´µ 宾,让 我 们 以 掌 声 æ¥ ç¥ ç¦ _____________

and ________________ (Name of Groom and Bride) 但 愿 他 们 的 生 活 美 满 幸 负, 有

如 è¿™ ç“¶ 香 æ§Ÿ 酒,长 é•¿ ä¹… 久。希 望 ä½  们 æ—© æ—© 生 个 è´µ å­ï¼Œæ­ å–œ æ­ å–œã€‚

May we invite the parents of _______________ and _______________ to come on stage to

propose a toast.

让 我 们 é‚€ 请 åŒ æ–¹ å®¶ é•¿ 上 å° æ•¬ 酒。

Thank you ladies and gentlemen for taking your time off to be present here today to witness

the special moment of _____________________ and ____________________ (Name of

Groom and Bride). Shall we rise and give a toast to the newly wed.

谢 谢 大 家 出 席 _________________ and _________________ 的 婚 礼,如 果 有 什 么

æ‹› å¾… ä¸ å‘¨ çš„ 地 方,请 大 å®¶ 多 多 包 涵,多 多 原 谅。现 在 请 大 å®¶ ç«™ èµ· æ¥, 让 我

们 举 èµ· æ¯ï¼Œä¸€ èµ· æ¥ å–Š 三 声 yam seng.

(Yam seng in progress)

Thank you very much, ladies and gentlemen, please be seated.

è°¢ è°¢ 大 家。请 å°± 座,继 ç»­ 享 用 晚 é¤ã€‚

ladies.. found 2 sample of emcee speech for ur reference.. to hubby, emcee speech is abt the same which is quite true.. jus a matter of some parts are diff so maybe u girls wan to take anyone to modify according to u all *wink*

Thanks girls, for the contacts and sample emcee speech..

Still trying to resolve table issue.. Hopefully everything will come clear by this weekend.. It's holding up my invitations printing!!

thanks mrs chua... actually i got sample of mc speech from my hotel already... also a sample program for the evening event. so it seems not all hotels/restaurants give such things huh?

the hair combing symbolise becoming an adult. sumtimes not done coz of the timing (brides wud prefer to have more beauty sleep right?) plus, there is actually some positions to follow. i read up somewhere but 4got liao (like brides face outward n groom face inward or the other way round, etc.)

the dragon n phoenix candles, some1 toe me it is also used to see whether who dies faster. scary~

btw, the new weekday 9pm channel 8 show features wedding stuff too.. u all watching?

EL.. I watch that channel 8 show, think e show come in time for us? Hehe

My restaurant dun provide me emcee speech or morning event schedule but they do provide complimentary emcee.. Nut hubby & me decide nt to use them as having friends will b more personalized as they know us beta..

hmm...i looked at the emcee speech and seems pretty easy. Still not too sure if i want an emcee cos i've already got a live band and they also provide message slips for guest to write messages for us.

mrs chua: she wun provide the list for u but if u tell her which dialect grp, she will take for u all the stuff needed. those u dun need or dun wan, can just tell her to take out. mine's cantonese.

maybe its better for u to bring ur parents down with u one day to go buy? so on the spot they can see for themselves also.

Yesterday I've watch the show!! Now then I know the purpose of giving pig trotter, ping jin & etc... Great~

Mrs Chua> Thanks for the sample and sharing~~ U really has alot of information~ hehe... Ya, agree w Thomas..bring ur parents down to see. Like my mum, she told me last time back to kampong, the bride even has to put salt in the vat of drinking water for her husband's family to drink...it symbolised to have fate=> 'yan' with them... I was shocked when my mum told me all these as it's true that the nearer date, the more things they can suddenly remember,which mean more things for us to do...

Sher> Maybe you can ask ur live band whether is there anyone who can host and sing at the same time? My frenz engage a 3 pc band, whereby the duet sing and host at the same time... Time mgmt very good... Haizz... I alo urgently looking for emcee...SOS!!!

EL> How's ur PS?

aiyo i haven't had a chance to catch that show yet... hahaha should try to watch to increase my general knowledge :P

Ching Ching, maybe you can ask your friends to be emcee? actually emcee scripts are quite standard de, so long as your friends can read well, not much of a problem

Ellen> The thing is my HTB wanna engage a professional emcee as he can't find a suitable person to host for us.... anyway, I just do my research and he pay for it can le.. keke...