(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

coccyx

Ellen > have filled in the spreadsheet!
sighs....can't imagine they want to make money out of poor to-be-married couples....

Retreive this from one of the PG's blog ==>

Rights and licenses required for Wedding Professionals
Enough of this mumbo-jumbo, so what does it means for us photographers? Here's a summary for the benefit of those who can't make it to the dialogue yesterday.

1. Use of Cover Version music for wedding photos slideshow in Singapore (DVD given to wedding couple only)
The act of snycronising a Cover Version music for a photos slideshow requires Reproduction rights from both RIPS and MPS.

Estimated cost: S$2,000 / per year for RIPS, ~S$2,000 / per year for MPS. (A ballpark figure).

2. Use of Cover Version music for wedding photos slideshow in Singapore (Highlights to be shown during banquet, and DVD given to wedding couple)
The act of snycronising a Cover Version music for a photos slideshow requires Reproduction rights from both RIPS and MPS, plus Public Performance rights from COMPASS.

Estimated cost: S$2,000 / per year for RIPS, ~S$2,000 / per year for MPS, unknown for COMPASS. (A ballpark figure).

Cover Version is a new performance or recording of a previously recorded, commercially released song or popular song.

3. Use of Rework version of music or lyrics for wedding photos slideshow in Singapore (DVD given to wedding couple only)
The act of snycronising a Rework version of music or lyrics for a photos slideshow requires Reproduction rights from MPS.

Estimated cost: ~S$2,000 / per year for MPS. (A ballpark figure).

4. Use of Rework version of music or lyrics for wedding photos slideshow in Singapore (Highlights to be shown during banquet, and DVD given to wedding couple)
The act of snycronising a Rework version of music or lyrics for a photos slideshow requires Reproduction rights from MPS and Public Performance rights from COMPASS.

Estimated cost: ~S$2,000 / per year for MPS, unknown for COMPASS. (A ballpark figure).

5. Publishing of Weddings slideshows, or use of sound recordings for background music on internet website
In such cases, Public Performance rights (under New Media) is required by COMPASS on top of the Reproduction rights mentioned above.

Cost: Up to 10 songs per year – S$1,000 per year; Up to 50 songs per year – S$5,000 per year; More than 50 songs per year – S$10,000 per year.

For Singapore only

gg_paradise

Hi ladies.. yesterday I went to JB, City Square with my family. Happen to see a shop by the name, Ideal Collection. The shop sells quite a few wedding stuffs ranging from hong bao bags to tea set, wedding table lamps and bears etc etc.. My parent bought a wedding table lamp & wedding bears for us. Actually wanted to buy their tea set but it was the last set on display so did not grab it. Anyway, I had gotten a membership card which entitled to member price for certain items (member price can be as much as 20% off usual price) If anyone of u would like to go there shop, I can lend u the card so we can enjoy the savings together

Ching Ching.. We did not manage to go for our genting trip as FIL’s condition was not stable the last few days.

Wow.. u slim down ah.. how I wish I can slim down man!!! When ur PS huh?

Ellen.. nope, so we wasted our ticket.. *sad*

Welcome Krissy.. mine wedding oso on 3rd July, we have the same AD
how’s ur preparations going on? Like what Ching Ching mentioned, u can try Bridal Closet for the kua & groom suit. They would have it : )

Welcome coccyx.. when’s ur AD? I oso very blur abt the copyrights issues.. asked hubby but he say as along as we have the original cd, there shld be no prob... I agreed with u tht they wan to make money out of the poor-to-be married couples... sighz...

kiddyu15

Music Copyright Issue >> So sian after I saw the news.. Already so many things to worry abt, now got one more item.. Sigh.. Why they so 'neow' ar? It's not like we are selling the slideshows and stuff, it's just a one-time showcase to family and friends.. =( Now gotta rethink montages and stuff...

Ching Ching >> Do let us know how much your PG quoted you.. I think I shld call up my VG to check as well liaoz..

Whee.. I confirmed my layout today.. Will be able to collect my stuff in 2-3 weeks' time.. I'm trying to 'pressure' my coordinator to gimme low res softcopies of my layout.. Hopefully she relents.. =P

Mrs Chua >> It's ok la, Genting sure can go another time de.. =) When are you selecting your photos? Excited? Hehe..

Wow! Does the shop at City Square sell everything that is required for the GDL? Like those candles, red bucket etc?

Krisy >> Welcome! I rented my kua from Bridal Closet.. They have the chinese collar coat there as well.. The quality of their kua is good and new.. Recommended!

gg_paradise

Dione.. I will be going down to my BS today to select my photos. so excited hehe

wow, u confirmed ur layout liao ah.. so good. hubby was thinking today after selection, we shall see how much we need to top up for our photos. think he was quite satisfied with our PS last week ba so that is y he got the thought of topping up haha

that shop dun seem to sell GDL stuffs.. from what I rem, it got sell table lamps, bears, red packets, tea pots, comb, wedding stickers, some other miscellaneous stuffs ba.. I think the red packets & stickers quite nice & price reasonable.. so maybe we can combine our order to buy together???

but hubby was thinking maybe we shld go chinatown to have a look to compare the prices b4 deciding where to get it....

kiddyu15

Mrs Chua >> How was ur selection?? Wat was the damage?? Hehe..

Yeh! I got the low res soft copies from my coordinator.. Lolx.. On FB now.. =)

Oooo.. Hmmm, yea good idea to combine orders.. But ur hubby is right, compare prices first.. Maybe if difference not too much might be convenient to get from one shop..

ellentg

Morning all!

Ching Ching > hahaha like that huh... how you plan to gain weight then? what other "sinful" food you like? :p

Mrs Chua > Hope your FIL is getting better...

btw talking about the music copyright thing, from what i understand, the act of synchronising the photos to a music, or cutting/merging songs is a copyright infringement, so using your own original CD doesn't solve this problem.

I'm still thinking if it is possible to play the original CD and photos separately, and not synchronising them in one file...

Dione > you must be the golden customer at your BS by now la LOL... can get so many things from them :p shall check FB at home tonite!

gg_paradise

Dione.. damage ah... haha.. this time really burnt a big hole in our pocket in return of an extra album & all the soft copies.. really cannot imagine we had spent 5hrs in total to choose & reject photos but in the end, still burnt a hole in our pocket.. think we really need to eat bread/grass for the next few mths haizz

I saw ur photos from FB, they are so nice.. so envy.. makes me can't wait to see the layout in May.. *waiting*

I'm thinking of checking with the outlet which Thomas had given me. or shall we organise a trip to go down together??

Ellen.. my FIL is beta le. thanks for ur concern. we are now praying for him to get beta so that he can be transferred to the high dependency ward. even though ICU would be a beta place for him as they have very good doctors and nurses there on 24hrs stand by...

music copyrights issue.. I had called PG&VG wanting to check with them regarding to this issue but they are not able to provide me much info as for now until they gotten hold of the exact info from the relevant authorities. hubby & me had discussed on this music copyright issues, we are hoping that we do not have to pay anything extra for it. we wondering whether is it possible that our PG&VG get the new licence then they charge the costs on other couples since we had signed the contract with them b4 this copyright issue come out? oops.. seems evil but we jus hoping to reduce the hole in our pocket..

playing original CD & photos separately ah.. nt sure if it can be done but if really can, I think the coordination must be very accurate so that there won't be any mis-cue haha

ladies.. oh ya, last fri when I was @ Malaysia, I realise the shoes that they have are very nice.. so many different design & price is reasonable, I can say it is even cheaper than getting a pair in SG.. even my mummy oso simply love it haha she found a pair of white shoe for me, wanting me to wear that for my wedding, she even almost wan to buy it but I told her I wan to have a look more b4 deciding which pair to buy.. but in the end I no buy cos the shop close by the time I go back to the shop. now back @ home, I missing that pair of shoe.. haha.. shall see if got the chance to go back & buy.. whahahaha

kiddyu15

Music Copyright Issue >> I heard that most hotels already bought an annual licence so they are suggesting that couples leave the music out of their video/montage or mute the music during playback.. Then the music they play.. So the music is covered under their licence.. If it was played from our video/montage then it's infringement of copyright.. But Mrs Chua is right, if mis-cue then sian liaoz..

Ellen >> Lolx.. I think I more like the customer they scared of.. Everytime I go I keep bargaining.. The last time I went, I exchanged my 4R photos for an extra 3-in-1 frame then i coerced her into giving me another small glass frame.. =P

Mrs Chua >> Thanks! Yours will also be very nice de, don't worry! Hehe.. Wah u took 5 hrs.. Lolx.. An hr longer than me.. Nvm la, once in a lifetime, spend liao then dun brood over it, just enjoy the end product.. Hehe.. Must make sure ur album on display all the time and not relegated to storeroom!!

Got any bling-bling shoes in JB ma? I like strappy bling shoes.. I've never really gone to City Square to walk before.. Cos we heard horror stories abt the car park there.. It's those 'Now u see it, now you don't' stories so we don't dare to park there.. =P

el2sgbrides

hi ladies... so mrs chua did go for PS in the end. ching ching shud b doing hers today. so everybody do PS liao except me.. haha~

felcy> hope u get a better # next time for the flat.. if not ur 2nd chance will b gone too.

but if the next time also not good # den how ah?

mrs chua> yalor.. many things cheaper in malaysia. but i got no time to go there... so have to pay more buying them in sg. i got my shoes at <$150. got many blink blink on it... my partner choose wan. LOL~

eh? tot u all wan to organise JB trip or something like dat right? wad happen to it huh?

vilopup

I have disappeared for a super long time. Was down for nearly 2 weeks from the scary hospital flu and only in FB.

Great to see everyone progressed so far already!

For the copyright issue, as what Dione mentioned, I chked with my banquet manager and he also suggest to play the montage and the music separate. I think wont be so obvious if really mis cue a bit... practise a few times should be fine. I will do anything not to pay the $$$... already so poor us BTBs.

Ellen: Hope that your reno will go well and you will find a good contractor.

Mrs Chua: Look forward to your PS pic! Where did you go for outdoor in the end? You check with your banquet place on what their tots are on it. Probably run a check back with your VG as well if there are express highlights to be played. Otherwise, should be no issue.

You want me to chk out your shoes for you? But must give good description. I am gg in next week for PS and then pic selection bah. Can help you get also.

Mrs Chua, my friend is gg for pic selection at his BS... their aim is to try to get back the soft copies. I am unsure how easy it is to get back such in spore... can share w me how you do it? I keep it secret... if you can, FB me? my negotiator HB gg with them to select pic...

fellcy: There seems to be a few more BTOs in the pipeline, so probably can just hold for a while and take a look. Xian mu you already book honeymoon. I probably can only go next year le. I wanna bring my family for a holiday first.

Ching Ching: You are the only person who is worried about being too thin! Its a happy problem... I just keep putting on despite not eating a lot and drinking only water and forgoing my coke.... Hows your PS? Saw one pic on your profile le.

Dione: I so love your layout... the pic are very very nice.... Tianai was telling me that she v xian mu of your good Hubby! Can go praise Zhengyuan a bit.... :D I din get any of those huge landscape pic... should consider asking for one to put into album.

Gg for the PS next Friday but still a bit confused on whether to have outdoor in JB or come back to SG for it leh. Is Desaru worth the trip? The 1 hour car ride not very appealing to me and I worry about the weather also. Duno how.

How do you go about giving BS instructions on the layout ah? They look nice and uncluttered. This time i have 30 poses and 10 pages. Not sure how it should pen out.

Saw your DIY projects! The ang pow box looks nice! The bears are very cute as well.

I think same as you, my hb is the customer my BS dont want to see, everyday ask for more stuff... tsk tsk...

ellentg

Mrs Chua > you're not alone... i also spent 5 hours choosing photos LOL
glad to know that your FIL condition is improving

Dione > you're right, hotels have an area license to cover the songs they play, but the songs need to be played through hotel's sound system. like what you said, if play from our video/montage then it is copyright imfringement.

Playing the sound and photos separately can be done... i've done that before for my friend's wedding, but it's super manual hahaha... Blur_btb, i agree with you that I will do anything not to pay the $$$ hahaha

EL > so when's your PS?
oh i think the JB trip is for card printing, so maybe not so soon....

Blur_btb > your flu must be very serious... how are you feeling now?
Next friday is your 2nd PS?

mrs chua &amp; the rest of the gals here: I haven't compared prices but from what my frens told me, they said the wedding shop in City Square not everything is cheap there, some of the things u find in Chinatown are actually cheaper. not sure whether with your additional discount card will be cheaper or not, buy at your own discretion ya?

can print your inserts at T&amp;T too if u are going in to recce the place
word of advice: try not to drive and park inside City Square, have heard of thieves targetting SG cars. I dun drive also when I go in.

Hi Ladies~~ So many posts over the weekend... lol.. Ya, just back from my PS yesterday.. today feel terribly tired... But it was fun and enjoyable process...hehe... I have snap a few shots, but will post in FB as private album... will allow access for u all to view.. =)

Music copyright> We did mentioned to our VG to play separate for the video and CD...But he highlight to us that it's quite risky as who kno the CD maybe spoilt halfway or so.. Anyway my VG estimated $200 but subject to changes... Hmm... think no choice as I dun want to kanna fine during my big day.. So just give it even though we sign the package before the release of news on copyright issue...

To become fat> I give up... just let nature takes it course... Now i must constantly take care of my hair and skin liao... esp after the PS... I have use almost 1/3 of my hair mask, my hair still feel like dry grass... haiz...

Shoes> I need to get a new pair of shoes too.... the one that i got keep tangle with my gowns... my MUA suggest me to change the shoes.... JB ah.. hmm.. maybe during May will go in to see and check the card printing at the same time...

JB trip> Ya, last time we did mention to go in together hor... LOL... but my frenz say better not, as will catch attention from those baddies if we whole big group going in.... sounds scary to me... so I may do my card printing here in Spore.. =p

chingx2: can I see? =P

add me [email protected]

my album layout is in my private folder in FB also, add me if u wanna see also gals

actually big group going in JB is ok, just dun flaunt yr wealth in front of the locals and dun wear exp jewellery/bring loads of cash can liao

kiddyu15

Jessica >> I've heard of a method.. One of my friends managed to buy back all her softcopies also.. She undertable with the PG and got it back cheap (Think $300+).. Another friend tried asking their PG and was rejected flat.. So for this method, doesn't work everywhere.. Must try luck..

Thanks.. I love those with designs.. But got some quite plain.. Too much white spaces but Coordinator say cos it's outdoor so put too much design will look very messy.. Is Tianai going to visit SG Bridal House anytime soon? Hehe.. Zhengyuan himself very vain la.. Lolx..

When we chose the pics, our coordinator was there giving suggestions.. Her rule of the thumb is no more than 5 heads in a picture.. Then shld have a mixture.. She say the bride alone shots, should use 1 or 2 as full page.. Very nice one.. We took most of her suggestions but got one we insist on adding one more pic even tho she say tt one full page best.. Then turn out abit.. =| Lolx.. Abit regret.. Lolx..

Desaru is 2 hrs there and 2 hrs back leh.. But I feel quite worth it to go leh.. They got the rocks at the beach, the beach itself is very vast (water not so clear tho) and they've got this swing hanging on the tree.. Actually at Desaru got another field which we din go cos raining.. There also very pretty.. If u wan, I can show u my friend's photos taken there..

Haa.. Nvm la, get ur money's worth ma.. As long as don't bargain until 'si po lian' it's ok.. The fact tt they can give means they still earn alot leh.. Lolx..

Haiz, headache over the music copyright issue, I haven contacted my VG yet...

I got a silly qn to ask.. My ROM is before my dinner so they will be setting up the table on the stage in the ballroom itself.. I will be putting the ROM timing in all invitation cards but I'm guess less than half will arrive early for it.. Should I ask them to stand around the stage during the ROM or just ask them to sit anywhere they like first? Or give them their table numbers already? I abit confused dunno wat to do lolx..

gg_paradise

Dione... hubby &amp; me din oso din expect to spend 5hrs there but nw we jus hope that money is well spent for this..

JB got blink blink shoes but nt so much too.. maybe 5-8 pairs each store? the white one which I saw, no blink blink de.. at 1st when I wear it on, I still worried too high or will cause my leg to feel pain but it really look nice on me.. makes my leg look slimmer &amp; I think bride like us must be tall on that day so we dun have to pull up our gown too much which can be ugly from some angles haha

EL.. ya, I went ahead with my PS.. it was super fun &amp; tiring lo.. took almost 2 days to recover.. haha wow.. u gotten ur shoes liao ah, that is good.. I think as long as u like it, price is nt a prob ba. u gotten it from Anna Nucci? I oso like blink blink ones but those I saw are very high, I cannot wear too high &amp; we standing &amp; walking whole day so beta nt to have shoes which are too high.. if leg pain, den somehow will spoil our mood for the day ba :p

if organise JB trip, I wonder u all wan to drive in or take a bus in.. if drive, someone must drive but who wanna drive? furthermore go JB, onli we girls go or wan to bring my hubby along?? I dun mind to organise one if got enough pple wan to go &amp; have the time

Blur_btb.. hope u r feeling beta now

Hmm.. I went to Bontanical Gardens, Perkerana shop houses &amp; fullerton hotel for night shoots..

I had jus called my banquet manager to check with them on the copyright issues but they say no action from the management yet but she will help me to check &amp; get back to me. Hopefully this thing can be solved faster so a load can be relieved from us, if nt haizz…

The shoes ah… if u can help me get it, that would be good.. but I think I need to go back search for the design/pic for u… will try to find a pic for it den give u the info thr FB ok??

As for asking from BS for soft copies ah.. I jus ask them how much they charge if I wan to get back all the soft copies den they jus quote us a price which comprise of getting back all the soft copies plus topping up additional photos.. Initially we jus wan to have the soft copies &amp; dun wan any top up cos we find that as long as we have the soft copies, we can do anything to it on our own. But in the end, we still top up becos it is really hard to choose only 28 photos and have create a storyline from our pictures.. so in the end, burnt a big hole in our pocket by accepting the offer our BS quote us haha

Ching Ching.. my shoe oso taggle with the can can in my gown. Think I will ask Blur_btb to get me get the pair of white shoe I wan since it is cheaper than buying from SG.. RMB 69.90 convert to SGD is abt 30+ which I think even if I dun wear it for AD, I can oso wear it for other occasion... *wink*

Dione.. If guests that u inviting for ROM is nt alot, it does not matter where the guests sit 1st but if there will be alot for them, I would think it would be beta to get them to sit at their respectively table so they have to register again or waste the time for finding their seat after ur ROM..

ellentg

Dione > I attended a fren's ROM before the banquet... they just get us to sit at our respective tables... easier cos dun need to "register" again

Blur BTB> My PS is fun!!!! The PG is quite evil with his words... But end up we enjoy ourselves making fun of one another... I have create a album on FB for certain ppl to view. You can go in and see see... Keke...

Dione> I will be having my solemnization before dinner start too... For me, I will arrange those ppl who come early to sit at the tables that are near to the stage. Then, after the soleminzation, I will ask the XD and JM to help to usher the guests out of the ballroom, then let them know about their table number while enjoying their drinks.

Mrs Chua> I think I will go back to Pazzion to look for shoes.... haha... I also wanna go snap night scene, but feel so tired after the whole day of rushing and caught in traffic jam... So end up go back straight after my 2nd PS location.

*Cross fingers* Hope I can control myself from adding more pics.. this sat gg for photo selections...Hehe...

vilopup

Hey gals, if printing inserts at City Square, take public transport bah.. we never drive before despite gg so many times. we drive and park at Kranji turf club there and take bus

Gg for PS next week.... any suggestions on the props to bring? Or whether any props come in useful?

Ellen: Not only not to pay but also not to get into trouble. I think I will be very upset if they raid my wedding and fine me... The tot of if already make me feel lousy... so i can swallow some seconds of delay or even get my emcee to make joke out of it if there is a screw up... probably learning to laugh at ourselves is the greatest skill to learn in a lifetime.

Have you seen your layouts? Your pic are v nice!

Is my first mth at hospital. Colleagues say is a welcome flu and hits every newbie.

Ya, 2nd one.... it was in the plans to do desaru and Jb separate but that time lunar 7th mth, so tot dont go near water... but then the first album outdoor only can see 1 grass patch, 1 tree and a few steps, not v outdoor-ish, so decide to do another one.

I think my BS think we are money trees already.

Ching Ching: I like the gold chinese (cant see bottom, so hope you know which i m toking about) gown!You look v good in the pic! Your selection is very fast. My friends took last week and the selection is about 3-4 weeks from then.

Mrs Chua: Thanks for sharing the tips on soft copies. Will share with my friend and see whether they want to try asking for it.

My email address is [email protected] Perhaps you try to find similar and try to let me know which shop you saw and what size.

Your pic must be nice! I am not good at selecting pic for album to make a story. I shall try it for the second shoot. Do you guys like having words in your album or is just pure images? How about art work?

Dione: I went back to look at my first hardcopy layout (the bs no want to give me back, i shall persuade them again) and the max we have is one of the pages with 5 pic, mostly single.

HB say i din see the whole big album and stare at the tiny layouts, thats why will feel its cramped.

Our first album the pic did not do much editing in terms of sky and all... so it looks quite normal.. when do we request for such?

Haha, no lah, we no si po lian... will just ask and see if they give.. but i v thin-skinned, always feel paiseh to ask.

Can your friend share her pic please? yours look v nice on the rocks too! We are supposed to bring one set of costume. Duno what to bring yet.

Thomas> No lehz,not able to see ur layout....

Blur BTB> Take care ah.... nowadays alot of ppl down with flu and fever.... me now already body aching and blocked nose... sob sob...

That's the green gown with pink bottom... I love that gown which my coordinator keep pushing to me when he know my mum can't accept it... So I top up to get this for PS... lol...very unique....Ya, I also find it fast.. The staff there very nice...she help us to find the earliest date for selection as the next date will be May... So hopefully after the selection, will be able to receive the layout soon...keke...

We must be thick skinned enough in order not to let them 'bully' us.... Dun feel paiseh to ask them to cater to ur needs as u pay for it.... Bring couple wear for PS? Or maybe ur hubby wear a casual office top and u buy a diff colour dress? I bring my wedding band and few props, end up only snap the dolls that my sister give.. =p

gg_paradise

Blur_btb… as for props, I would think bring something that symbolize u &amp; ur partner.. in that way, it is more meaningful. Saw some couples bring along a bear each which the bear wear a shirt that has their name.. think is quite meaningful lo : )

Dun mention la.. I din share much too but I think we as customers must be firm on what we wan so they know this customer is nt easy to handle one.. haha &amp; most imptly is slash price if possible. If nt, den ask for more things for the price u pay hehe..

I can’t find similar design leh but will try to find again.. I know which shop has it.. is called summit @ city sq.. I will try to look for it again &amp; let u know.. hmm, by when do I have to send u the design??

My pics are so so onli la.. most of the pics I choosen, hubby will do QC check. If no pass his eyes, he will reject.. actually is the BS tell me to choose the photos that hv sequence or storyline so dun worry so much, I’m sure ur BS will guide u on how to select the photos one
we dun mind having some words &amp; art work in the album, in that way it can be very meaningful hehe I still rem my BS were already thinking of words to use when they saw our traditional costume (kua) pic.. so funny lo..

Oh ya, maybe u can bring a set of couple tee for ur PS too.. we bought our couple tee &amp; wear it with our jeans as one of our costum for PS

Ching Ching… I heard from my BS that normally we can view our photos a few days to a week or so after our shoot. As for layout, it will take abt 1-2 mth as it require editing work etc etc..

gg_paradise

Ladies.. I need some advice on our wedding invitation cards...

my banquet manager had put this in our invitation card but our family think the chinese and english like a bit weird..

爱儿Only Son (hubby is the only son with 4 sisters)

爱女Only Daughter (I'm the only daugther with 1 younger bro)

Mrs Chua> Huh....1-2mth later will be somewhere June lo... Faint... June will be a super busy month for us....

Hmm.. I find it ok lehz.... I also do saw ppl wrote that in their invitation cards...

gg_paradise

Ching Ching.. but I think BS will priortise their work based on our wedding date ba... how come ur selection change date?

maybe becos we seldom read in chinese, so find it weird ba.. haha

ellentg

Blur_btb > i'm not doing layout for my album, so no need to view any layout~ hahaha

hmmm yea maybe you are still not used to the hospital environment... hope your immunity can build up over time and can be more resistant towards all these germs

Ching Ching > *pat pat* selection postponed may not be too bad also... can help the emotion to die down a bit and save a bit on top up $ :p aiyah haven't seen your FB photos yet...

Guess mine was the most efficient... i went for photo selection 2 days after PS hahaha...

Mrs Chua > hahaha my fren once told me that many BS used this "storyline" tactic to make you add more photos... cos can't complete the story if not enough photos~ but since the photos can pass your hubby's standard, it must be quite good

Actually i found the 爱儿 and 爱女 one a bit weird... most of the time, they will state your birth order, for e.g. if you're eldest daughter it will be 长女, youngest daughter = 幼女 etc...

Postponed due to the PG's wife just give birth yesterday...so all his appt all postponed... But ok la... his wife false alarm and nearly give birth during my PS day... luckily the PG's daughter come to this world the very next day... LOL.. if not, dunno wat to do next if the PS do halfway...

Mrs Chua> Maybe u can go and seek the advices from your parents or those elderly...Or ask those mandarin super li hai to see whether weird or not...

Ellen> Wah....2 days so fast.... Super efficient and fast... when can see ur layouts? keke... Hopefully can let my emotion die... But I think i will be super tired... After photo selection, the very next day I gg for my VG shoot le which will be played during dinner... hehe...

gg_paradise

Ellen.. while rejecting the photos, I kept telling hubby to take away this &amp; that photos but he told me, if take this away, den it won't link etc..

b4 we went for our selection, hubby's sister kept telling us nt to top up any pics &amp; she did a rough estimate for us on how many pics we can choose for each costume. that is to say if package provide 28 pics &amp; we have 6 costumes, that is to say we can only have 3-4 pics for each costume. in the end when choosing, we realize it is difficult to only choose 3-4 pics for each costume esp for our WG, EG &amp; outdoor shoots... haha so in the end, really have no choice but top up which result in a big hole in our pocket haizz..

ya, I agree with u that most of the time invitation card will state based on birth order.. but if to use 长女, it will appear that I have younger sisters but whereas I do not have any sisters except one younger bro.. haizz.. this thing is really giving us a headache now..

Ching Ching.. actually photo selection do not need ur PG to be ard ah.. from what I see, whether PG is ard or nt during our selection, it dun seems to affect us at all.. but anyway, u r lucky that ur PG's wife onli have birth on the next day &amp; nt on ur PS, if nt have to postpone or whatsoever, is really troublesome lo..

my manager suggest to use "their son &amp; their daughter" for english portion &amp; leave out the word "only" cos when I told her that the invitation card state "their only son &amp; their only daughter", her reaction is... if put this, is like you are the only child with no siblings.. so that is y she suggest to leave out the word "only" but chinese wording, she nt sure how to phrase it..

Mrs Chua> Not sure lehz... I was puzzled when the coordinator say my PG has to be around... Hmm.. nvm la... can see him again and talk crap with him.. LOL...

It's really hard to resist to select more photos when u see urself in such beautiful outfits...And it's once in a lifetime... My HTB was discussing with me on the top up of photos when we are on our way home... Quite surprise la as he intially dun wan to top up anything...Maybe we have lot of fun and it's the moment that we wanna keep... In the end how much u top up?? Think must ask my HTB to work harder... =P

I think your manager make sense.... If put 'only', others may mistaken that both side parents only have one kid... I try to ask ard for the chinese characters for u...

Yesterday go back Pazzion to find my actual day shoes... In the end, still purchase the one that I like previously and got stock... haha.. one thing down.. now gonna settle my banquet thingy... Time not enough!!!

gg_paradise

Ching Ching.. I oso think so is hard to resist. both our HTB are the same, initially dun wan to top up anything one but in the end after shoot, he say he dun mind to top up for the photos.. hehe maybe all guys are like this??? haha I top up nearly 2k for having a 2nd album &amp; all edited soft copies back...

for wedding invites, I think I wan to put their son &amp; their daughter.. as for chinese, still need to think.. after u check, let me know ok? thanks in advance

wow.. u settle ur shoes liao ah.. that's is fast.. I asking blur_btb to help me get the pair of white shoe I wan from JB but nt sure if she can get it.. if cannot, see when my parents got the time den I can ask my father to drive us in to JB again hehe

ladies.. my FIL having another emergency op today.. there is air inside his stomach, suspected that intentine break so need op to sew it back.. now operation is on going.. shld end by this evening.. realli heart pain to see him having to go thr all this.. he was on the path of recovery liao but who know, this morning doc say got air inside the stomach &amp; need emergency op.. realli pray for his speedy recovery so he can attend our wedding..

sher02

Mrs Chua> oh dear..hope your FIL will recover quickly.

ladies> any one went to the NATAS fair in feb? Any good bargains? I'm comparing the cost of going to LA on our own vs a packaged tour and not too sure what to do at the moment.

ellentg

Mrs Chua > oh dear... hope your FIL will recover well after this op...

haha won't de, 长女 is neutral and merely state the birth order, so doesn't have any indication of whether your siblings are bro or sis...
but yea putting "only" indicates that you're the only child...

Ching Ching > finally saw your photos on FB.... i loveeee your cheongsam~!! that's exactly what i wanted for my EG but i still dunno where to find~

my album dun have any layout, one page one photo - to maximise and show off my PG's skill hahaha! :p if i do layout, all his beautiful perspective and composition will go to waste~

For photo top-up... we stick strictly to our budget
i brought my daddy for photo selection... i'm sure that helped LOL... also once we think of all the wedding and housing expenses... we sian to top up liao hahaha

Sher > think for US, it will be nice to rent a car and drive around on your own... really cool!

sher02

So happy! yesterday ordered 1 bridesmaid dress. Friend has lobang, intro to me this bridal factory in suzhou. Order 1 if nice then i order for all the jiemei then order dress for mummy too! Saw their WG &amp; EG so pretty, MTM as well only $200-300 and they are comparable to WL's designer range.

Ellen> travel agent ask me to rent a car too! Still thinking. going for honeymoon only in August so i'll worry about the details later. wedding prep still a mess!

All of you have been talking about the collegen drink. I kaypo and looked at sasa website and they ship to Australia too!

I'm thinking of getting the Meiji Amino powder. Anyone tried?

http://www.sasa.com/SasaWeb/eng/product/viewProductDetail.jspa?itemno=102794809001#specialoffer

ellentg

Sher > haha if the dresses are good, you can save a lot by ordering from them~!

My frens went honeymoon @ US too... they rented a car and they said it was really fun
haha mine will be August too, cos my AD is last day of July haha :p

Talking about cards, i'm trying to collect my cards this weekend and get my sis to bring back home for printing... but i haven't had time to call up T-Dragon yet
btw, i've decided to do hotstamping... it's really strange that in hk, hotstamping is cheaper than printing inserts~ *scratch head*

el2sgbrides

all, re-hi~ howz preparations coming along?

thomas, sorri... but i forgot u were from where again?

ellen, PS push fwd to next week liao but gown not ready... haha! so dunno how to go PS sia~
oh JB trip is for card printing huh? den i no nid to join coz mine got T-Dragon to print liao.

mrs chua, wa nid 2 days to recover from PS huh? guess i have to be zombie at office liao~ yeah bot my fm anna nucci. regret coz the quality not really good. part of the crystal cage drop out n i had to get it changed. but its FOC replacement for 1 week la... ya its quite a high heel but coz me short ma so nid to wear such shoes lor.

blur btb, hope u develop immunity n recover from the flu soon.

hope no one kena the sudden close shop saga of wax in the city~ cheers~

Mrs Chua> Wah, that's alot of top up... I dun think we can afford to top up so much... LOL... now we are thinking og engaging emcee, so that will be another cost le... sob sob... I understand from my frenz that if my PG is the one who help me to do the layout, he has to present during our photo selections to give us advices and ideas.... so no choice, have to wait... hehe...

I check le... Is ur HTB the eldest or youngest among his siblings? Some ppl write such as "Zhang Nan" or "Xiao Er".... then as ur case, i heard some write "Zhang Nu" even though u are the only daughter in ur family. Maybe u can seek advice from ur printing co instead of ur coordinator?

Gosh, hope everything will be fine for your FIL and recover soon...

Sher> I been to the Feb NATAS fair... it just that giving more freebies and gifts using certain credit card... Best thing is u go down to do a comparison.. There are diff airline co having their booth there, maybe u can also check out the tix price at the same time....

The Meiji Amino powder got abit of smell... they are extract from fish... Maybe u can try a small tin first, if u can accept the taste, then u order more to try... For me, I still prefer Fancl Tense Up... =)

Ellen> Thanks~~ I like that cheongsum.. but just too bad my mum dun like at all... I actually top up for that dress for PS only... so my AD will choose another gown again... ;) More gowns to wear... LOL...

I like your pic with ur hubby playing the piano... Haiz...too bad, my HTB dunno any instruments... If not, shld be very fun... =p

Hot stamping is cheaper? Wah.. I wanna go hotstamping and save the trouble to put the inserts...but spore super ex, then malaysia dun have..haiz...

EL> Enjoy ur PS next week!~ They are very fast with their alteration, so no worry... I got one gown that they never alter for me, within an hour of lunch break, they already done with it n ready for outdoor PS...

Ya, at least 1 day for recover from the PS... I regret never take leave on the very next day to rest...

fellcy

Wahh so many posts! I read until I blur...

I jus checked out My Chinese Wedding Shop near my house abt the GDL stuff..1 package with everything like the pail, ruler, lamp, tea set etc cost $158 / $188.....Is it cheaper in City Sq?

Sher >> I tried Meiji Collagen Powder. Still drinking now. I quite like it coz it got milky taste. I usually add it to my milk.

Ching Ching>> drink more milo and milk la...will add on weight one..now i nid to tone up more...super flabby sial..even my HTB keeps saying =(

Me goin for gown selection next week!!!

Just realised need to do a lot of things already!!

me goin to Beauty World to find decos for my ang bao box later...shall see if I can attempt to make my jie mei's hand corsages!

gg_paradise

Thanks girls for ur concern : ) ytd my FIL went thr his 3rd op to stitch up his wound which was left unopened since his thurs op. his blood pressure drop too low half-way during the op, doc had no choice but to stop the op immediately..

Ellen.. I’m thinking of putting “their son &amp; their daughter†and â€œå„¿å­ å’Œ 女å­â€ so it do not indicate the birth order of us but this is what I think, haven inform hubby &amp; in laws. Shall hold this again after FIL is feeling beta..

Gold string to tie invitation card.. is it really a need to get the gold string to tie? If nt wrong, I think I do see some which do not tie…

EL.. enjoy ur PS next week : ) I’m sure u will definitely enjoy it. Even though is super tiring after the shoot but u will definitely find that it is worth it when u get to see the photos hehe

Actually need 1 day to recover from PS la but b4hand, we were very tired with work, totally no time to rest, so maybe after the shoot, we had to take 2 days to recover haha but all is worth it *wink* if ur shoot is on weekdays, I would suggest u take a day to rest after the shoot : )

Ohh.. u gotten the shoes from Anna Nucci.. that time I also almost gotten their shoes but find that those design I like were too high for me.. (if wear that heels, I will be taller than hubby which dun look too nice haha) the sales girl did mentioned to me if the crystal drop off etc, they can replace for us cos we noticed it was nt very secure..

Ching Ching.. that top up is also a lot for us but no choice leh as we loved most of the pics so have to burnt a hole in our pocket..haha in fact, the number of pics which we top up is abt 3 times the number in our package.. haha we know is a lot but luckily we managed to bargain for a 2nd album. If nt, we really cannot imagine having to squeeze everything into 1 album.. after some thinking now, having 2 albums would be good as we can split our guests to view our pics so they dun have to squeeze at one area to view it hehe

I din know PG would be the one who help us to do the layout too.. I thought they are only capable to take pics haha but after some thinking, I think I did see our PG doing some editing of pics for some couples during our viewing on that day.. he even gave us some suggestion on how we can improve our pics when hubby was commenting that his smile like fake etc..

My hubby is the youngest among his siblings.. he has 4 elder sisters.. As I do not have the printing co contacts, I can only liaise with my coordinator. According to my coordinator, what was provided in the card now was given from the printing co but of cos we have the right to change it if we wan to.. so we jus seeking advice on how we shld phrase It properly, dun wan after sending for printing den realise got error..

gg_paradise

chanced upon this when doing some research...

When it comes to choosing your album photos
About one month's long wait after your bridal photo shoot, the time has finally come to select your photos for the album !!

Keep in mind what you have already agreed on and paid for as part of the bridal package:
* Number of photos/poses (Usually one pose means one photo -> Check with your coordinator)
* Size of album (10R, 15R etc)
* With or without digital effects

Note: Digital effects refer to adding borders, fading effects, or overlapping two or more photos, etc

1st Viewing
Some bridal studios will let you view your photos in a sequential manner, whereby they have pre-arranged photos with similar background so that if you choose them, the photos will match nicely in the album. Others will pass you the entire stack for your own viewing.

# Do not be affected by the sequential photo viewing !! At first look, eliminate any photos that you find not nice. They can re-arrange the selected photos to match nicely in the album.

2nd Viewing
You will be asked to go through the eliminated photos again to double-confirm that you do not want them. If happens that you cannot decide for some of the photos, you can put them aside for later consideration. Go through the remaining photos to eliminate for the 2nd round.

3rd Viewing
If need to, go for the 3rd round of elimination.

Your Album Photos
So after confirming all those unwanted photos, how many photos are you left with ? 90 ? 50 ? 30 ?

For 40 photos and below, you can opt to choose a 10R album with no digital effects. Each photo will still be relatively big enough for viewing since the display would be one photo per page. Given the small quantity of photos, there isn't much to play around for digital effects unless you like your photos to come with flowery prints and borders to give that romantic touch.

* Usually no previewing for the layout of the album for single photo per page album

If you have chosen 40 or more photos, a bigger size album and digital effects would be recommended. Firstly, if you are going to have one photo per page (w/o digital effects), you may end up with a very thick album or separate to two albums. Secondly, if you are going to have digital effects with two or more photos in one page, a smaller album may not allow you to view the photos clearly.

* The coordinator will let you view the proposed design layout for your confirmation before proceeding to make the album.

Top Up Costs
Top up cost 1: If you have chosen more photos than what is listed in your contract, you will have to top up additional cost per photo
Top up cost 2: If you decide to upgrade the size of your album, you will have to top up additional cost
Top up cost 3: If you decide to add digital effects for the photos in your album, you will have to top up additional cost for the works

Usually the cost for 1 and 2 is combined, say at 10R, each photo is $X and for 15R each photo is $Y. Sometimes the coordinator would offer you a package price for all 1, 2 and 3.

Cutting Costs
For cutting costs wise, you can opt to eliminate more photos or justify the need to upgrade album size. Some couples will end up topping up about $1k while others can top up up to $6k !! Do your own calculations and commit wisely !! Do you want to spend moeny on your wedding album or for your romantic honeymoon ?

Have fun !

ellentg

Ching Ching > yea lor more gowns to wear... good good
you're tall and look so good in that CS! I think i'm too short for that LOL

Hahahaha must say he acted well :p should get your HTB to try hahaha~ maybe guitar will be easier for "acting" :D

Maybe other printing shops in Malaysia will have hot stamping? I remembered either Blur_btb or Dione mentioned there is another print shop across the road from City Sq or something...

EL > Enjoy your PS~ :D can one le... just make sure you dun go hungry... we were super shag and felt like dying cos didn't have a proper lunch. My HTB told me that his bro and SIL were so hungry after PS that they finished ONE WHOLE chicken by themselves LOL

Mrs Chua > really, for printing must check and check... My fren actually got many different pple to check for her. You'll be surprised that sometimes even after rounds of checking, there will still be mistakes!

Must get the elders to agree on the wordings... sometimes can get into sticky situation... think i shared my fren's story here b4 rite? she actually printed her cards twice cos father not happy with the wordings though he has checked before

Haha thanks for your gentle reminder
file your tax ladies~