(2010/01) Jan 2010 BTB

eelynn - how much you spend on that??? we are still debating how much to spend..don't feel like spending so much on that but the ones i like are really pricey...I am trying to set a very low budget on it.. haiZz

wendy - good for you

anyone has a videographer to recommend?? looking for one....thanks

All-
bad move - all the inserts that I had put together are crumpled - might need to do a reprint *shrugs* ...signZzz stupid me...

Chrissy: The one I've choosen is very simple one... i've bought the necklace, bracelet (half-tennis) and earrings (2 ways of wearing) already... Spend almost 3K....

For ring, I will look ard first.. cause didn't see any which I like. maybe not getting ring.. see if I can see something which I like... =P

Wendy: wah... good good... =P

Hey wendy,
how much does live band cost? wow cool sia..i love it..

Yester i went to see the gold..it has increased to 58.50 per gram for 916..its getting so high now..i tink next yr will drop le..

hi princess, i am thinking of a minimum three piece band which costs $1350 or a 4 piece band which costs $1750 for 2 sets ( 45mins each) so roughly around 20 songs. If i want to engage Bevlyn (Bevlyn is the lady who sing the ending story for Little Nonya), i will need to add additional engagement fee of $200. The live band is called alittledream! I will be getting them to play our march in songs.. haha.. =)

hi princess, just came back from JB! Hehe.. brought a wedding couple bear for my fren and one nice wedding display for my room. Next time we go k, i saw alot of necklaces as well! =) I just chosen 24 songs for the band to play hehehehe.. happy! I will be getting one flowergirl and 6 bridesmaid to march in as well!

for those whom have completed writing their invitation cards, can you advise how to write those chinese addressing for relatives?

There are basically 2 types of guests, who are our relatives or friends. The structure of the addressing is to identify their home, follow by their position, the number of people whom you are inviting with that invitation card.

Home invites:
Step 1: Determine the home ( Using surname with å®¶)
For family members that is within your own family, meaning the siblings of your parents (like 姑姑 and 阿姨 who is already married). Use 家 in front but for male relatives then it will be base on his/her surname. For example if his surname is 周, then it will be 周家. For female relatives then it will be based on her husband surname. If she is single then you have to indicate her own surname. For paternal side (meaning the siblings of your father and your paternal grandfather). Remember to start with 家. For example: 家 二弟

For maternal side (meaning the siblings of your mother and your maternal grandparents). Use 家 姻亲 (refers to related by marriage, cos these relatives are related to your father by marriage of your parents)For example,

家 姻亲 内兄 (elder brother, 内弟 for younger brother in term of hierarchy not age)
家 姻亲 妹夫 (husband of married sister in term of hierarchy not age)
家 姻亲 姨妹 (single sister in term of hierarchy not age)

Step 2: Position (Based on what your parents called them

For example,

Brothers of your father: 大哥 / 二弟 etc
Single sisters: å¤§å§ / 二妹 etc
Married sisters its using addresses of the husband : 大å§å¤«, 二妹夫 etc
If he/she is the youngest sister or brother in the family: 幼弟/幼妹 (single sister) / 幼妹夫
Elder brother of grandfather : 伯父, 伯æ¯
Younger brother of grandfather : å”å”, å©¶å©¶
Sister of grandfather (regardless elder or younger) : 姑姑 (姑丈 for husband of 姑姑)
Brother of grandmother (regardless elder or younger) : 舅父, 舅æ¯
Sisters of grandmother (regardless elder or younger) : 姨æ¯. 姨丈

Step 3: Number of ppl you want to invite

Use 夫妇 for couple only
Use 盖府统请 for inviting the whole family

Step 4: Ending the invitation card with courtesy

Usually "å‡" or “å°å‡" is used after the name as a form of respect to the guest. “å‡" described the upward presentation of the invitation card from a lower position in hierarchy. “å°" is a reference for “brotherâ€, used in polite language in the olden days to address one’s friend or acquaintance. For example, 夫妇å°å‡ or 夫妇å‡. Note if you are using 盖府统请, you do not need not add any “å‡" or "å°å‡"

Final examples for your reference:
For whole family of siblings of your father it will be:
家 陈XX 大哥 盖府统请 (brother with surname stated)
å®¶ 大å§å¤« 盖府统请 (husband of elder sister)
家 幼弟 盖府统请 (brother without name stated)

For whole family of siblings of your mother it will be
家 姻亲 内兄 盖府统请 (elder brother)
å®¶ 姻亲 大å§å¤« 盖府统请 (husband of elder sister)

For siblings of your paternal grandparent will be:
å®¶ 伯父 ä¼¯æ¯ å°å‡
å®¶ 伯父 夫妇å°å‡ (elder brother couple)
å®¶ å”å” å©¶å©¶ å°å‡
å®¶ å”å” å¤«å¦‡å°å‡ (elder brother couple)
周家 姑丈 å§‘å§‘ å°å‡ (husband of sister, 舅父 èˆ…æ¯ / 姨丈 姨æ¯)

For siblings of your maternal grandparent will be:
æž—å®¶ 姻亲 伯父 ä¼¯æ¯ å°å‡
姻亲 伯父 夫妇å°å‡ (elder brother couple)
周家 姻亲 å”å” å©¶å©¶ å°å‡
姻亲 å”å” å¤«å¦‡å°å‡ (elder brother couple)

Finally if you want to address formally to your friends. (remove the “å°å‡â€ for friends, use “å°â€ for elderly or brotherly else just use “å‡â€ alone for respect). Here are some examples:

æž—XX 先生 å°å‡ or
æž—XX 夫妇å°å‡

林XX 先生 盖府统请(For whole family)

Hope this helps! =)

eelynn: gd gd.. one thing down... i oso got my 4 dina jin last 2 week, but needa some alternations

wendy: happie for u, managed to get ur band
heehee....

Wowow wendy, okay sure..looking forward to it..hehe

Cher, can show us your 4dian jin pics? hehe wana see the set u got..i saw alot from poh heng all exp..

<font color="ff0000">Hi all JUST TO share:

hmmm.....for those wedding date nearing, juz to share few tips...from my experience la....haaa:</font>

<font color="0000ff">* excel sheet for tables, arrangement of who n who to seat tgh, with floorplan muz b made, so easier to see and give guests to know what directions to walk to for their tables...please print alot copies for number of receptionists and ushers

* Brides all must have these items packed for hotel stay and wedding day...
- a set or 2 sets of casual clothes (depends how many nights staying
- your regular hair shampoo n CONDITionER!! AS AFTER MORNING, return to hotel to wash lots hairspray from hair, use conditioner 1st then shampoo then conditioner to make hair soft again...hair serum also if ok
- makeup remover!! i m using the BIORE removal wipes, very good and cheap!! =) i used abt 3 pieces to make sure NO makeup traces on my face!!
- NU Bra, nipple tape (i gt some gowns no use nu bra, thus use nipple tape to cover my spot..haaa)
- double sided tape, as some gown may have pop up ends, look no nice, so i use dbl side tape to secure loose ends..can request from Bridal studio also...
- pins
- skincare
- powder, eyelash glue
- tissues, wet tissues
- hair spray, hair glitter, body glitter (i bought those glitter bottle spary kind from i think chameleon)
- tote bags (to carry them lo)
- hp/camera charger
- contact lens case, extra pair, solution and thongs (as had forgotten mine, called home to ask brother to bring for me,lol)
- extra empty hongbaos, juz in case need to give HB to VG/PG/who???</font>

<font color="ff6000">* guest book w can use markers/pens
* photo albums
* photo displays
* montages (labeled w sequence, mute or not mute)
* suits n gowns
* shoes n wedding shoes
* accessories
* corsages
* FLOWERS!! (some may forget! bride to carry n remember at all times!!)
* songs CDs to be played at dinner
* aNG bAO bOX (IF NOT USING HOTEL'S)
* hair wax / gel for the guys
* belts (guys)
* pants (guys)</font>

morning all...

princess: i have yet to collect mine.. coz i selected a necklace and gonna alter it into a necklace + bracelet.. heehee.... once ready, let u know

Okay Cher..i noe wat u mean..cos last weekend i went to see..spotted a necklace which can be alter into a bracklet &amp; necklace too:P More for design accessories..hehe so tempted to get but too costly

winterpolaris: i'm also like you.. very emo lately.. not sure if it's cos of the stress level over prep that is building up..

chrissy: i'm in the same dilemma as you.. i'm planning to get diamonds.. but a decent size one is already very expensive..

wendy: wow! thanks for the detailed explanation on how to write the cards.. it's helpful!

eelynn: morning gal!
i bought my tea set already from the chinatown store.. hehe

hello starfrost, dun think so much. Enjoy your process of plannings. Stress is inevitable =) i feel much better after coming back from my camp. The camp distracted me and had a great time with my students :D

winter: my weekend was great... =P

starfrost: great... another thing settled... =) dun get too stress okie... ask me out for coffee... relax relax... =)

my sister say got a very good nail place. She did her french manicure and place hard gel over the manicure and it last 2 weeks without chipping off. The only thing her nails she got chipped off cos she was doing bbq and need to carry alot of stuffs and work and it chipped one of the nails. If normal things like typing, wash hair, or light work, there won't be a problem. The only thing is costing, haha quite exp.. is abt 100+ so i wonder if i shd pay that kind of money. But if can really tahan from chipping that will be good. I got a friend who did her nails and it was so delicate, she cannot wash her hairs and she got to go to the salon to wash her hairs and get it done. hahaha

winter: ohhh.... i also dunno leh... hahaaa.... i'm not an expert in manicure... heheee..... think a careless person like me.. i cannot do extention or hard gel... =P

me too can you imagine when i tried french for my PS I spoiled the nail 3 times even before leaving the shop leh!!! Who can be worst then me!

Ask u all a question..How much do u all intend to give ur jie mei for gatecrashing? what is some demand SGD 888 on actual day? Will it turn out to be very ugly &amp; unhappiness if we nvr prepare such big hongbaos beforehand?

princess: your jiemeis are ur very good friend.. they will understand that we've already spent alot on the weddings.. they won't escort so much one.. =)

hi winterpolaris, you enjoy the process too!
i haven't decide where to do my nails.. will probably decide nearer to the date..

eelynn: hehe.. thks gal! i will

chrissy: yea! will try to relax.. hehe.. excitement is building up!! =)

wendy: gd afternoon. hee. time to go home soon!

princess: i haven't decide on how much to give for gatecrash too.. how much are u gals planning to give??

Wendy, thanks for the detailed info on writing the invites! I finally got my invitation cards!

Princess: We are planning to give about $60 per jiemeis so maybe a $388 angbao for gatecrash... I hope they won't think it is too little!

Winter: Wow your camp sounds fun eh.. I love hiking but think my stamina is not as good as last time!

Starfrost: I'm also very stressed up by the wedding. Fri night I even dreamt that my makeup artist didn't turn up and I decided to postpone the wedding as no way will I marry without makeup. haha so silly...

Hey Eelyn, i hope so..

Starfrost, i have no idea le..u? Cos i will buy them gifts beforehand too + drinks etc then gatecrash, my parents and his parents giving also as a token..i tink need le..+ the gatecrash money

Aeriss, ur SGD 388 angbao is a one hongbao or separate 2-3 packs? Becos some jiemeis will demand more right i believe? hehe

These days jiemeis are so xin fu..so much more to gain..hehe...2 yrs ago when i was doing jie mei for others..we only got a very small token from gatecrash &amp; nothing else but we r fine with that cos all of us r good frds..

Hi aeriss, you are welcome!

Hi princess, we are intending to give $288-$348 ( Gate crashing into 2-3 packets) and $58/$68 for each one of them as well. My bf will be giving $120 to each xiong di thus i will give ard the same rate for jie mei. On that day, normally both side parents will give a small token as well. As for my own blood related sisters, i am intending to give more for their AP, maybe $128 (not including Gate crashing).

actually any market rate??! no right?

i am just wondering why is that people can't understand that the couple may have their limitations? any thoughts?

Hi winterpolaris, actually there is no market rate de.. just bao enough to cover their taxi cabs ba.. For me, i give more cos they helping me from morning to night!

Ya same as Wendy we should be splitting into 2 or 3 amgbaos. But I didn't plan to give individual angbaos each leh! Is that the normal practice??

Hey Aeriss, it depends on couple bah.. Normally if parents giving den you can choose not to give.. But normally, besides gate crashing will give another AP for yi shi on top of the gate crashing. But, again work around your budget.

ya ya .. me stress too. i dreamt that the JP din turn up for our solemnization ahaha ..

my frd advised this for padicure. if doing one day b4 AD, dun do it in the evening. must gif enough time for the nails to dry in case have to do some packing etc when home.

princess: let your jiemeis know the max amt for the gatecrashing .. they understand de.

morning all....

Jinger: dun scare urself oh... remember to call ur JP 3 working days b4 your AD...

I will be giving them an angpow of $18 each... bought them dress and accessories, dinner and drinks... + gatecrash from htb... angpow from my mum and MIL... =)

Jinger: I wont say but i hope so..ha

Where did u gals bring ur jie mei for makan? I am still tinking of a place..alot of places r quite common hang outs already..