(2010/01) Jan 2010 BTB

winterpolaris

just now went to T-dragon and i got my dinner invite selected and will hopefully get all printing by done by end of nov .. erm which is next week ... LOL

chercher

winter>> they shd be able to give u the artwork.. then normal insert printing another 1 week

winterpolaris

oh the wedding dinner card is ready, is ready for collection in 3 days time. Insert printing i am going to my business vendor to print. cheaper also.

wendycsk

hi princess, the bridal car dun provide wedding bears de.. haha.. so if you want the bears to tie to the car, need to buy ans pass to bridal shop. i will be buying a short gown for ROM, AD WG and AD EG. Thus, total will be 4 including KUA. All my gowns are confirmed! =)

winterpolaris

wah wendy u lost weight again?! u look very good now le!

me hahaha i gaining weight.. been working late night and snack :p

Yeah confirm the cards, and will sent for printing next week =)

wendycsk

Hi winterpolaris, i lost about 5kg only up to date.. haha.. Working night tends to eat de.. =p My printing shop is fast, they only spend 8days in total inclusive of tying ribbons. =) You are in time, cos cards normally are send out 1-.15 month before. =)

chercher

morning all

wendy>> not bad le... can lose 5kg...
quickly go alter ur bands.. for me, i juz sent for the polishin, and it looks new now..

aeriss

Morning girls! TGIF!!

wow Wendy how u lose so much weight?? I think I only lost 1 or 2kg after all the regular jogging and dieting! Been trying to lose weight for like 4 months! Left 2 more months to go only...

piger

morning all.....

1 more task accomplished.... heehee.. send out my invitations to my colleagues this morning.. =P

wendycsk

Hi eelynn, you are fast! Hehe.. I have written but have not gave out yet. Hi princess, aeriss and chercher, my weight like stagnant now.. haha.. cant go down further! =p I am fat thus can easily lose 5kg ma.. hahaha.. I gained alot of weight since the last 5 years..

yyingg2

hi BTBs, I've 12 bottles of australian red wine "Jindalee Shiraz 2003" to let go of. Normal retail price above $25, now selling off at $18 per bottle 750ml. These are all duty paid, left from my own wedding banquet. Self collection at my place in Bedok. Interested parties please email me at [email protected].

Wine Type: Red
Grape Type: 100% Shiraz.
Region: Murray Darling
Vinification:
Alcohol - 13.5%
Acidity - 6.46 gm/L
Ph - 3.56
Tasting Notes:
Color: Crimson/red
Nose: Spice with ripe plum and rich oak.
Palate: A rich full Shiraz that has sweet berry fruit flavors, white pepper and spice. It shows a small amount of well integrated and balanced oak.
The 2003 Shiraz shows pepper and spice on the nose and is full of rich fruit flavors on the palate. Flavors of plums and blackberries combine well with the vanillin American oak. It shows great balance and is a easy drinking Shiraz that is great with or without food.

odie24

Just went to select my photos initially wanted to top up only 10 but then end up paying for more to get back all the softcopies which no one support our move haiz...

piger

odie: worry not... so long both of u is comfortable with it... no worries about what other ppl says... =P

I SUPPORT YOU!!!!!

gg_paradise

hi ladies.. I'm a btb for Jul'10. had just recently obtained the contract from my banquet coordinator... read the whole contract but have some queries.. can anyone give me any advice????

1. Beverage
- Free flow of soft drinks & chinese tea from 1900 to 2230 hours for 11 tables & above
- Free flow of beer for 25 tables and above from 1900 to 2230 hours
-> jus wondering is it normal for free beverage to serve only during 1900 to 2230 hours? what if my dinner ends at 2300 hours??

2. Food Tasting
- within one month before event date.
-> when should we go down for food tasting?

- complimentary table of 10 persons for food tasting is only for above 50 tables. For 25 tables to 49 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes.
-> Does that mean if we only have 40 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes? not all 8-9 dishes ma?

3. Optional arrangements
- Should you required service crews to extend working hours after 11pm, special rate $12 per hours for per staff will be levied for their OT charges & midnight transport fees charges.
-> anyone have this? how shld we deal with this?

4. Cancellation
- if cancel less than 60 days prior to event - pay 50% of total value booked
- if cancel less than 30 days prior to event - pay 100% of total value booked

5. Guaranteed Attendance
- Any changes made to the guaranteed attendance must be advised in writing 14 days prior to the date of the event, only an increase in attendance will be accepted. Should the attendance fall below the minimum guarantee, the restaurant reserves the right to levy a charge on the reduction.
-> does that mean that if we would to confirm that the guaranteed attendance is 300 guests, we can increase it to 350 if we want to? but if we want to reduce it to 250, they can charge us for that. Guess this is the norm right?
-> but does that mean that it would always be beta to give the minimum guaranteed attendance rather than telling them too much den later cannot meet the minimum, have to pay a charge??

wendycsk

Hi mrs chua, let me try to help here:

1. Beverage
- Free flow of soft drinks & chinese tea from 1900 to 2230 hours for 11 tables & above
- Free flow of beer for 25 tables and above from 1900 to 2230 hours
-> jus wondering is it normal for free beverage to serve only during 1900 to 2230 hours? what if my dinner ends at 2300 hours??

Comment: Yes, it is the standard that they only provide from 7-11pm. If your dinner ends after 2300, there will be no refill of drinks. That is why you need to plan your actual day timing well. Normally banquet will serve faster when time is up.

2. Food Tasting
- within one month before event date.
-> when should we go down for food tasting?
Comments: I went down a few months before.. But this it really up to individual. One month before sounds okay.

- complimentary table of 10 persons for food tasting is only for above 50 tables. For 25 tables to 49 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes.
-> Does that mean if we only have 40 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes? not all 8-9 dishes ma?

Comments: It means that if you have between 25 to 49 tables, they will only serve 5 dishes of the menu. I believe that they will ask you which 5 dishes you want to taste. You can try to neg on this to ask them to serve all.

3. Optional arrangements
- Should you required service crews to extend working hours after 11pm, special rate $12 per hours for per staff will be levied for their OT charges & midnight transport fees charges.
-> anyone have this? how shld we deal with this?
Comments: Seriously, i never see this sort of t & C before. I thought the banquet should be liable for overtime. It is not fair for you to pay OT for service staff.. Imagine you have about 20 waitress on that day!

4. Cancellation
- if cancel less than 60 days prior to event - pay 50% of total value booked
- if cancel less than 30 days prior to event - pay 100% of total value booked

Comments: This T & C is fine. Mine had this as well.

5. Guaranteed Attendance
- Any changes made to the guaranteed attendance must be advised in writing 14 days prior to the date of the event, only an increase in attendance will be accepted. Should the attendance fall below the minimum guarantee, the restaurant reserves the right to levy a charge on the reduction.
-> does that mean that if we would to confirm that the guaranteed attendance is 300 guests, we can increase it to 350 if we want to? but if we want to reduce it to 250, they can charge us for that. Guess this is the norm right?
-> but does that mean that it would always be beta to give the minimum guaranteed attendance rather than telling them too much den later cannot meet the minimum, have to pay a charge??

Comments: There will always be a min number of tables required for the ballroom. Thus, if your min is 25 right, you will need to have 25. As long as you have met the min, there is no issue. Let say, the ballroom requirement is 25 tables, you have confirmed 30 tables right, after checking the guests lists etc, you realize that you only got 28 instead of 30. The hotel banquet wont penalize you as long as you got 25! But remember to inform them the confirmed number of tables and reserved tables 14 days before the banquet.

wendycsk

Hi odie, i support you as well! Dun worry it is pretty normal to topup! If you think it is worth it, den go along your heart! =)

winterpolaris

ya lor.. as long is within your ability, go ahead and do what you like =)

different pple have different priorities.. for me is i want to make sure i have alot of fun :D hahahahaa

winterpolaris

i am still thinking if i shd do a wedding website for myself. When my friends got married in the past, i did wedding websites for them.. hahahahaa

now is my turn, i am still thinking! LOL!!!!

odie24

Thank so much for all your support... Me now have to step on it liao.. Nearing to 1 month to the AD still have a number of things to do..

Btw I have a qns for GDL right, do we need to give cakes to my elder cousins who are married? Or just give their parents i.e. my uncle and aunts.

wendycsk

Hi Jajah, for me my parents decide who gets the cakes.. Normally is for uncle and aunties. =)Your mum will tell you or your htb how many boxes she want and then return partially.

deilea

Hi everyone, tks for the warm welcome

Jajah, take it easy, bit by bit, you will get there. We also everyday just do a little, things will start to take shape. For the cakes, I'm plannin to give the uncles and aunts but not married cousins.

Wendy, hee, 5kg is really a lot, u must b in great shape now!

Mrs Chua - think u should negotiate to have free flow up to 11pm. But if they really can't give you, I think it's ok too. By 10.30pm most people would have eaten and drunk their fill already, low probability people will ask for more drinks.

I went for food tasting 2 mths before AD, just because the wedding coordinator advised that Dec (1 mth before our banquet) is a busy period. For July wedding, my guess is 1 mth should be ok.

Sis- and bro-in-law had their banquet at Peony Jade restaurant, they also did not get to try all the dishes at the food tasting... (not sure how many they actually tried..)

I've not heard before that you need to pay the staff OT and cab fares either. Sounds pretty unfair.

That's my comments abt it...

HTB and I were at the Carrefour mattress sale today. We got the kingsize Dunlopillo Duchess (1" latex) for $1899 incl. bedframe, 2 x neck care pillows, & mattress protector. With the posb everyday card, there was further 5% discount + 5% rebates.. So actually only paid $1714 for the above. It's a medium firm, mid-range mattress, thought it was quite worth it and happy with the buy.

We shopped around a lot for mattress. We feel that after you have tried out the mattress (like at showrooms, department stores) the key to getting the best deal ($) is go straight to the distributor, cut out the middleman fees.

princess_shawn

Hi morning everyone!

Did u gals happen to increase your tables? I am increasing mine n i find that the ballroom has not much space left and became very packed..

princess_shawn

Winter,

Yeah i also felt so but no choice..realised that it is like attending a zoo..i prefer lesser tables though because i will get very nervous if too many guests..

princess_shawn

Winter, i gt 60 tables now..& my menu upgraded 2 levels too..i changed 4 dishes..from normal fish to red garouper - according to my frds & relatives..this is a very good fish so we changed lo.. then changed to live prawns also..+ changed another course & desserts

Wendy, yours also increased to 47? wow..hehe relatives more? or friends?

piger

afternoon all...

was on leave yesterday that's y didn't log in.. heehee.... had a fun sunday with Janet and Amelyn and our nan ren.... i've posted the pictures on multiply.. .=)

chercher

afternoon

hi eelynn
heehee.... no wonder no see u la..
hows ps?? think u gals enjoyed
heehee

wendy>> ya la.. all start to get busy busy le...

pinky_dris

good afternoon ladies...

ya, getting busy busy le...completed writing all my invite cards, since this morning busy distributing to my colleagues. still got outside friends, busy scheduling meetup to pass them by hand these few weekends.

last weekend finish buying all my GDL stuff, these few nights busy tie-ing them w red ribbon 1 by 1.....

hows everyone's prep?

eelynn> another JB trip? post in FB too leh...lol...my multiply a/c registering still in progress...haha i think i can forget abt getting it le....

piger

pinky: heheee.. no leh.. celebration of my man's birthday and photoshoot.. heheee...... i will be meeting my friends outside to pass them the invitations too...=P