(2009) Brides of year 2009

VG is acutally more for the bride lah....cos for the customary, the bride in the room, so wont get to see all the funny moments that's happening at the door

Hi Fish,

Haha initalli i wan the ballroom..but booked le..but anyway is expensive leh..$928 but can choose menus la.. yah $888 is ok la..somemore 4/5 star hotel leh and is accessible..but i prefer M hotel bridal suite leh..haiz struggling manz..
So where u choose ur venue?

hello ladies!

am new here (i think!) i only confirmed my BS this week! late hor? hhahaha...

can I be added to the list??

Bride: cookiefleur
Wedding Date: 9 Jan 2009
Day: Friday
Wedding Venue: Regent Hotel
BS: Vaughn Tan
PG: TBA
VG: TBA

welcome cookiefleur
think you have to start look around for PG & VG already..good ones always book very fast..keke

Hi Grace,
Since u be taking PS in July,maybe also can select next month?album think will only be ready in 4mths time?
wow..you top up extra 12pcs?how much u paid for that?me also worry will exceed..keke..we must ctrl ;p

Grace, i didn't bring camera..is not allowed & I don't dare to snap..bit regret now..maybe u can try using ur hp?all my frens did that also..keke..enjoy ya

Peareys,

Hmm. u can try VG - wowmedia. they hv associate PG. can check wif them. the price is quite reasonable. I goin to sign wif them. keke...

as for MUA mah. hmm dun knw is in this thread or another thread, queen got recomend Dana. very gd MUA. saw her works. but need to search the website in one of the threads. or u ask queen. its her MUA for her ROM...

Some hotels do cater buffet style. can check wif them. dun tink will b a prob if u hv the mini guests tat they required...

twinfairy,

best is to make appt as sometimes if the BS is very pack wif ppl, they might hv no time to entertain u...

Hi desjO,

no need to regret la. So long as u enjoy the process! When I went for my gown fitting, my FH also snapped me on the camera. Hee. Must do it discreetly lo.

I guess also select next month ba. I don't know how long it takes for the album to be ready. So long as I can make it till our AD. Hee.

2 was free because I told them I was recommended by friend. I topped up 10. Supposed to be $80 each. They gave me a full figure (can't remember what) and I cut from the full figure they gave me lo. Total I paid was $5388. But includes a lot of things la. Alot more than the original package lo.

stella, both are the same to me.. but according to my frens who are working in carlton and M hotel.. carlton's hotel aint as pretty but apparently food wise, they are improving on it..with the addition of their new annex of rooms.

M hotel is ballroom nicer looking, package cheaper, basically overall slightly above average.. just the location which is what my bf's fren who's working in banquet says..inconvenient for some of the guests attending.

Perhaps, u can prioritise wa tis more impt to u 1st? Budget, food, ballroom/location/ ambience?

For me, as long as the food's ok and I think most places their food aint gonna be so bad.. cos i've never heard of ppl who gave rave reviews of food at weddings. Its either not bad..ok or slightly below ok.. Courses wise, sharks fin and cold plate taste pretty much the same man anywhere..

Location to me was important, as impt as budget so I look at both and decide from thr.

Ballroom ok la.. even if got pillar i think i can take it cos, just one night and chances are if the loaction and cost is gd enuff.. then i figure nobody's gonna rem whether my ballroom can see me clearly from all angles. LOL

Hope it helps. Just a matter of prioritising.

hey piggy... me too got wine but only 1 bottle per table... so got to get extra.
No harm trying asking for more when you go to try the gowns. Nothing to lose.. Heee....
Stersang... you've got mail...

Glamourous> Hi there! Yup, I rem you. My PM is [email protected]. Feel free to PM me =)

Mashi> Then you have to decide on an auspicious date for ROM if separate days. Abit troublesome is that la. Good thing your FH has PG friend. My HB has a co. who freelances as a PG. It was him who totally begged us to allow him to take pics for our ROM. So funny, cos we only had intention to use our own cams and anyhow take mah. The results was very nice and we gave him a small AP neverthless to thank him =)

Twinfairy> 10/10 is a generic auspicious date, plus it falls on a Sat. So if you are interested, mai tu liao, go and look for hotels le. Cos it is one of my proposed dates and a few hotels are already tentatively booked. Some hotels have their own masters to tell them the generic auspicious dates, so that they can mark up the prices even though it may fall on a weekday. So just take note hor.

& I thot Tong Shu will be out in Jul, now it is in sept. Oh man, luck nvr wait anymore. Buay tahan, I'm like Christy, wud wan to get main things done quickly.

Actually your idea of buffet style dinner will be quite ex cos not only will you have to engage shuttle buses, cos it is buffet style, people will bao lesser for APs. How many people do you intend to invite to ur dinner? More than 200? If not, buffet style in your church will save you alot of $ as I had a friend whose wedding is like that.

Christy> Same like you, I prefer to get things done and get them over and be done with. Cos I dun see why must drag here and drag there. HB just complain why am I so kan cheong. Very frustrating cos he doesn't want to help and always drag things. But at least we communicate well and though he finds things not necessary, he will still give a go-ahead cos he wants me to be happy, as long things are within budget.

Actually, you can get your gown designer to add in more padding for your gowns, so that you can have a nice effect up there and don't have to wear anything extra. Can ask for it de. =P

Peareys> Hi there! Very happy to see you with us =D we are really fated to know each other. Haha! For PG, I have edmund leong, and VG, I have Redhat media. What is your budget like? & focus more on better PG/ so so VG or the other way? Or both must have quality?

Melvin Ho is Rachel's HB's BIL, if I'm not wrong. As in they are somehow related. He is good too. Check out his webbie and his calendar can tell when he is booked and the pricing. Do get it done by this year cos every year, all hotels, PGs, VGs, will have inflations. Sigh! Me want to save $ thus want to get things done quick.

$2K is alright to engage a MUA and PG for the AD.
I'll most likely get Jeannie Yong, she did my ROM make up and hair. I have a lot of compliments on that day and from my pics too. =P My mum also wants her to do her make up for my AD dinner.

Xiang> No need lah, just look fierce can already... like they owe you a lot of $? Hehehe...

It is better that we make appts with the BS so that they have time to look after your needs. Very often, they will allocate 4-5hrs for you and will not see other customers during your time slot.

GHA don't hard sell too. & it's an old brand, so can trust.Why they don't hard sell is because they are really confident in their work. So I got nothing to say loh. Even my HB thot they will hard sell for pic top ups, so wanted to play games with them. In the end, my HB was surprised they did not hard sell and had to go back to them for pic top ups. Hahaha! =P

Wah, you girls so nice can go online during work time. Sob sob, I also want lah. But I can't. No access to PC and internet cos always on the move. Sigh! Nvr mind, chat with you all when I'm home from work. Hehe!

Apr Piggy,
i think 221109 nicer leh.got double 2.
But i gota settle for 211109
Holiday Inn Atrium not bad leh. Was there once attending a wedding.The ball room kina big. How many tables u have?

wow~~ looks like there are more Nov09 BTBs

Hi popprincesstrin, my details as follow:
date: 15 nov 09
venue: M Hotel
bridal shop: Bridal De Couture
PG & VG: TBC

cube.. i agree with u on this point..

Renne.. still thinking of hw i can do d montage by myself?? d VG is d same price as yrs.. but express highlight will kick us back another 200 bucks..

but if get Lam to do d montage will mre professional n probably would b better than what i do..

i only made d deposit.. d rest will b paid 3 weeks after AD.. it's in 2010..

This is d link to d pics he taken for other couples.. i was my fren's jiemei.. n he was d PG.. as what piggylover had mention. he was very detail n will give surprise...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lamphotographer/

Parkroyal had also give us d wish list.. one of it was d montage service..

I sent out enquiries to Fullerton and Swissotel Merchant Court.

Aggiegal, you are rite! Having the buffet style wedding reception is equivalent having the traditional banquet. We thought of just having the reception in the church premise but limited space in compound. Hence have to find alternatives. Nonetheless, will continue to enquire the hotel rate.

Have you gals thought about your wedding bands? We were just discussing about full and half eternity bands. I just love the bling bling!

Aggie, I dun have any idea how much budget to set...is 2k enough for PG & VG?
how much did you pay for your MUA, PG & VG for AD?

I saw jeannie's work too, like the way her make up turn out for some, but for some it look kind of plain.

Aggiegal,

If separate, we will nt specially choose auspicious date but will choose a date tat is meaningful to us. haha..

tong shu normally will be out after lunar 7th mth. thus will be ard sept this yr. we also waitin for the tongshu to b out to get our timin for the date tat we chose. haha...

twinfairy,
Wedding bands ar. haven tink of wat to get. tinking wait til nearer date then get. haha... u getting urs?

Jia you momo! hehe...sorry I wasn't online for some time liao.

Hello Cherry, we share the same wedding date.

Good luck Mayuki...hope you enjoy yourself tomorrow!

glympse - i've been there before. Making a second trip soon. Hilton's big ballroom is more like a party an casual, but the upstairs is more grand with a panoramic view.But the ballroom upstairs can only hold up to 25. I'm going for the big ballroom, it has quirky lights, want it more personal and fun.

femme - i had the same experience. Somehow or rather try to get him involved in something he enjoys. I realize that my bf is very interested in the photography and video portion, so i'm leaving him in charge. He is already planning for it! Let him take charge of something.

Twinfairys> Me have an eternity ring to complement my PR. It is whole cos I don't get bloatness easily in the fingers. So that is alright. For those who are worried that your fingers may get swollen during pregnancy, may want to consider half eternity cos you can enlarge due to the other half white gold.

Then again, I don't like I have to constantly turn my ring around to ensure the half eternity can be seen, thus the full version. I had mine custom made cos I don't find the design of eternity rings in the jewellery shops nice and are also ex. The shape is similar to the ring of my PR, abit like comfort fit pattern (both my PR and WB)

I oso like bling bling. Hehe!

Peareys> PG + VG = $2500. You can find under 2k for the combi but the quality of both are compensated. I saw Jeannie's AD MU is like $600-700. But if you check, other MUA are around this price, some good ones are even 1K. My experience w her is good, so ok lah. I don't really like heavy make-up. Like PS MU, cos of the lightgs, so no choice, but I don't want to have that for AD. That will be scary!

Mashi> Oh I see... Cos my MIL was told by the aunties in the temple that Tong shu will come out in May. Yeah, choose a date that is meaningful. We are lucky that our ROM date and AD all have 1,0,3 in them, making them easy to rem. Maybe can buy 4D next time. Haha!

Hi desjO,

Great that you enjoyed ur PS. I did enjoyed mine too. But was damm shacked after tat. Jaw also knt move liao..smile until knt smile.

For mine,my hubby took along camera and our coordinator let us take snapshots. Its really interesting to capture the moments, moreover as we are eager to see how we look so we went back immediately to view it.

The selection will take a month, they usually will show you all the pics abt 500 pics in all to you. Then will definately brainwash u to say ALL looks nice...which is totally "BS" (rubbish) cos no matter what you sure will not be totally satisfied with either your smile, or your angle, or if you look good your hb might not..so I suggest brides pls be very truthful about yourself.

My hb and I stick to the original pkg of 28 pics, no more no less. So they quite fedup not to earn from us extra. In the end, total we paid up $3150 nett. haha.

But these are all my opinion lah..cos i felt nice pics must chose the best lah...then also usually album, the most u see for 1 yr then later stuff in storeroom. (me super stingy)

No matter what its best to synchronise with yr hb on the pics selection, dun overdo it and leave ur hb broke. Not nice also.
heeheeheehee

Hi grace,

the album will take 4 months to be ready. Super long. But in order to satisfy my cravings of showing off some pics....i nag at them till they allow me to copy 2 pics back during the pics selection. Mine was all soft copies on the computer when we see it..so it was easier to nag at them to transfer pics into our thumbdrive...heehee (evil ah)

Ladies, wanna ask abt photography n videography packages opinion here. Received a quote for

1.PG (full day abt 10 hrs plus 300 printouts of pictures and of cos return of all pics in dvd rom)
2 Videography (day and night videography; express editing of day to be shown during dinner, return of all raw footage plus edited footage of full day in dvd rom; ready in approx 1 week)

Cost is SGD 1200

Do you guys think this is ok? PG himself has done quite a few commercial projects and i've seen his portfolio of weddings. Ok lor. To me long as pics are clear, can see the person's face, captures the entire standard process of a wedding, to me ok liao. Journalistic, candid or etc..that I don't know.

But in your opinion, ladies, is the price ok? Cos thinking of taking it up thou wedding still far. Just waan get it done and over with so that I can concentrate on my work.

Also, his payment terms are 50% deposit and 30% 2-3 days b4 wedding date and remainder upon collection of dvd. Is this the standard norm for you guy's pg too?

Hi Vallous,

I must say I admire your determination to not add any more pics. I bet I can't!!! ARGH! Altho' I know after a while, we will not even take it out to view lo. Hee, that's why my AD don't have videographer, cos' we don't think we'll ever watch the video. HAHA~

However, my FH gave me 'warning' le, he says must die die stick to 40. Hee~

haha...

yup lots of determination need manz..grace...its really hard...but we stick to it. Dun wan to blow the budget cos we agreed to spend more on our new home decor. But I do wanted to spend a little more on our AD photography cos we value natural pics more.

My Digio package is 3k+. If you wanna save cost can consider simon video only 1288. Including ad photography and videography. Raw and edited photos all return and 300 prints with nice album, Quite comprehensive package. I opt for express highlight @ additional $200.

For montage you can do it in Flash if you're familar with that software. Most professional either use that or video editing software to do it. There are so some free software by microsoft that enable non professional to create a video montage or mtv style easily. I try it personally, take me less than 30 mins to explore the software and created one. Here is a sample done by my hubby buddy. He using our rom photos to try out the software too.

http://lovedardar.multiply.com/video/item/1/MelvinCharmaineROM

Hi there...

I'm getting married on the 080808.
My bridal is Our Wedding Affair located at Upp Serangoon Rd.
My caterer is Hajjah Amnah Catering.

I'm really excited and looking forward to talk more abt the wedding..

27 days to be a MRS.

Aggie> Thanks for the infor...so now i can have an idea roughly how much to set aside for PG & VG.
Seriously i dunno wat to look for in a PG & VG, but i'll prefer to have a gd PG than VG if given a tight budget.
Can anyone here enlighten me? wat to look out for a PG & VG?

I have to agree that jeannie's package is consider a very gd bargain and i read alot of gd comments abt her services.
For my ROM i booked both my photographer & MUA from my JB BS for S$460 and intially thought was cheap...
but after browsing through sg brides then i realise jeannie is only charging $400 for both services and on top of that add in a rose hand bouquet, corsage for groom, ampoule & eyelashes...but FH say since alrdy book juz stick to it lor...AD then look for others
Luckily so far i've also hear alot of gd comments frm previous brides for my MUA if not really heart ache.
Dun like too thick though...juz wanna look stunning & something different from my normal day makeup...
anyway it's our once in a life time event so wanna be in tip top condition. (^.^)
Guess i have to start searching again....oh boring

Xiang> Not a must but we'll be wearing our bands for PS, think it look nicer. Juz my 2 cents worth.

So will you gers double check again with the 2009 tong shu for your choosen date?

Aggiegal,

Wow.u even tink abt when u preggie, whether ring can fit or nt... i never tink til so far lei.
but nw i can tink of wat to look for. after u said tat. haha...

ya. normally tong shu will nt come out so early. thats y alot of couples including myself find shifu to get a gd date first. haha...
if cannot do it on the same day, i will rather do it on the date tat we find it meaningful n easy to tink. haha...
u can try to buy 4D. then if kanna got more $$ for ur wedding. haha..

Xiang,
as wat Peareys said, its nt a must. depends on whether u wan or nt. but mostly for me, i will bring along my wedding bands. if u hv ROM by then, can also bring ur cert there as well. i seen ppl took pics wif their ROM cert... very nice n special...

Peareys,
I dun tink i will check my date again against the tong shu. as i got my date fr shi fu. worried if check again, later got any changes then headache liao. haha...

Thanks desjo!

Last night confirmed my PG! hahahaha... and not having VG, so I guess my planning is done for now??!! Don't really know what comes next liao, like can relak until the PS har? =P
Wedding Venue: Regent Hotel
BS: Vaughn Tan
PG: Reflection (Amos Leong)
VG: -

Hi aggiegal, did you get both your rings from the same shop? my proposal ring from larry and last nite, bf surprised me. he said he went back to larry and asked abt eternity ring. we will probably go and check out the bands from larry.

Hi mashi mashi, not getting our bands so soon. but we like to check things out when we can. so far, went to soo kee, gold heart, citigems and lee hwa.

Hi cube cube, personally i feel VG is more of capturing the fun moments in motion. With the music and some editing, i sure when u replay the DVD, can let u recall of the moments both share.

Hi wildwood and ahBlur, thought of using abode premium/photo story/window movie maker to do it.Just a simple montage and not those fanciful style which those professional are charging. They are using flash and some other program to do it wor, so of coz more efforts and nice lah.

Hi ahBlur,nice pics taken by lam.how his charges? that PG, Sam wong that i engaged also simliar style as your PG.He got give me FOC 2 colleages as well. I and u same bridal wor

do u gals have mutliply?

Hi Raywen,

Hmm... I think ur one is cheaper..Mine is 2 PG plus 1 VG (they are biz partner, so i believe should work well on the AD)...then total up is $2250...

But anyway, u better take a look at their past work's results, see whether u like their styles onot...and some PG might juz simple simple edit the photos and it's consider edit and touch up with special effect...

Hi Stella,

My AD venus is Le Meridien, at orchard road....so find their packages is very attractive and location is good...so decided to choose them...but anyway, this hotel going to change their management in Oct...but as promised by the hotel co-ordinator tt, this hotel dont do much renovation and it wont affect any of the wedding hold in the hotel....

Twinfairy> 10/10 ah… my friend wanted to book this date for his ROM to be done in the ROM itself but all slot taken liao. So if you still want 10/10 have to be done out of the ROM area.

Aggiegal>
So we not kiasu right??? Heheehe! My FH also dun help think he also know I will get everything plan one so he left everything to me la. I just tell him what date to do what and he comment and approves it can liao… like boss right???? (-.-“) FH also know that I dun anyhow spent and am very careful on money so he very “Fang Xing†with me lor.

Is ok la… I am okie if I wear the Nubra. Cause I heard some story that some BTB step on their gown and it gave way….. so free show. Wah…. So to protect myself wear Nubra better.

Peareys> Melvin Ho is Rachel’s Cousin In Law. Now that Anggiegal say than I think I also can say liao. Hahaha.

Tong Shu> As for tong shu actually you dun need to wait for it to be our one. As my date is being calculated by my dad who is also a Geomancer he told me no need to wait for tong shu one…. Just remember that he told me that usually they calculate backwards or forward if tong shu is not out.

Wedding Band> For the wedding band, I got mine from Love & Co got it done on Apr 08. If you all want the pic of my wedding band just drop me a PM I will sent it to you.

Hi Twinfairy,

Congrats in getting your proposal ring too!
Wanna share the ring details? hee.
Also Larry right? same as Aggiegal! =)
I personally think Larry and Je Taime @Ngee Ann are good for their diamonds and specs as I've went thru at least a dozen stores. Dont mind sharing my experiences and knowledge as I've "studied" and research on diamonds a fair bit. =)

Stella...hahaha...apparently, my gf said the food during her FT and AD were the same...Carlton forgot to take her comments properly...anyway, i've personally tasted the food there...just disappointed lah but won't say any further wait kena defamation suit...hiak hiak...

anyway, impt thing is, other than wat u n ur hb want to hold ur banquet, remember to consult both ur parents n his parents on the venues also...bring them to both places...so at least u respect them lah...

raywen, i must say tat urs is a damn good deal for tis time...as long as u like their job, i tik it's good enough liao...as for the paymentwise, i tik diff ppl quote diff kinds of payment systems...well, if u like their works, then i dun see the harm in adhering to the conditions...but just remember tat everything is written in black n white...

Hi shice,

thanks...its embriodery...I chose it because my hb is wearing his military suit. Its OTR..surprised right!

But I most prob not wearing this gown on my AD. Cos I get to rechoose again..so why not take a newer selections.