(2009) Brides of year 2009

blurbaby

finally met up with Lam to paid d deposit.. so my PG is firm for AD.. one mre thing down..

still thinking if there's a need for VG? it cost d same amt.. cos i'm a teochew bride.. think there's a need to left my house earlier. so if earlier than 7 then need to pay $50 per hour..

anyone of u doing yr own montage..??

shjeans

ai ya....sorry i made a mistake.
shd be 211109.
We went to geomancer and were told both 221109 and 211109 good dates.Want to book 221109 but the date was taken up already.
so we went for 211109. also good. just that 2211 nicer number to remember.

happygurl

piggy,
Wow!! yours is so much cheaper... mine is 3588 now... but because I went with a few friends so she gave us more pics... Hee... Yup heard that Yvonne is better too... enjoy my meeting with her when I went there unannounced the other day... But think Pat is taking over... She say she'll handle my friend and I. so ya... Yes...I confirmed my MUA already.. KS mah... Hee.. heard so much about Emily. PG not yet.. they say nov when i try the gown then fix...
Stersang... if you're interested... you can say you're my friend cause they say will give the same perks.. Hee... cause I got a friend who will be going down next month... =P
popprincesstrin.. yes i'm a teacher... are you one too? hmm.....

shjeans

ixoral,
you should start look for a suitable venue now. Ours booked around late March08 for a Nov09 date and we did not even get our 1st choice.(221109)

aggiegal

Mashi> At least not bad leh, ur FH is willing to be involved in the planning for ROM.

For budget wise, if you want to save $ and avoid rush on AD, what some couples do is that they ROM at the ROM office, then go for lunch with both families at a restaurant and take pics by themselves (so you don't have to worry about JP's AP must give alot, or that you have to treat others to a meal after ROM).

Do agree that ROM and AD together is abit rushed. Then again, I also noe some couples have gate crashing + tea ceremony, then they head down to hotel (check in 2pm mah, so you have time to take pics or rest), they booked a smaller room at around late aftn in the same hotel to have the ROM ceremony with families and close friends). Then you don't have to treat JP for dinner le. Haha! All you need is to bargain for a free room in your package or rent theplace for a small fee. You don't have to worry about $ spent in MU and dress cos you are already wearing your gown and MU done by your BS. Save $ and don't feel rushed. Then you can rest again before your dinner.

Just some ideas from what I saw =P

Verena> Thanks for the compliments. That is only in gowns lah, the rest I'm still learning. I learned from my gown designer that MTM requires ard 3mths. Sizes often come in S, M, L. Unless you are very petite or XL, very often you can get a wide range of gowns. So no worries. M is a common size, ok de. I'm sure you will find one you like. Look at mags to see what details you like and ask the designer for suggestions on what designs suit you, is it mermaid style if you r hourglass, halter neck if you are well endowed up there, etc... Sometimes they may make suggestions, but just try the gowns, you'll be surprised that you can carry some styles that you don't believe in, well! =)

Xiang> The wedding extravanganza have a lot of good BS in it. Wish you and verena have luck in finding what you like. Bring your FH along as some BS can be quite hard sell or pushy, you'll need someone to protect you ;) That's exagerating but it's true you know, esp if you are very polite and yet they still push into your face. Scary!

roomfulofstars

Woah, Screwby-Do, welcome to the club! Yeah it's still a while away.

only (jaztea) - is that the place with the good tiramisu? I know either Hyatt or Hilton has the good tiramisu.

My HTB were just talking about this: we both feel a lot happier when we are not talking or thinking about the wedding. When we do, it's always unhappy or sian or stress. It sounds really bad hor...

mashi_mashi

Aggiegal,

ya. lucky he will help to tink.
IF AD do ROM, I only worried abt will rush. as the hotel already say will give me 1 rm for my ROM b4 dinner.
If ROM earlier, then wil need to tink hw to go abt. becoz ROM dress n MU, my BS got throw in. so no worries on tat. juz need to tink where to eat n when wan to ROM. haha...
as for photography, tink my FH fren can help us on tat as he is a freelance photographer. haha...
do separately is nt big prob for us. but ting is need to tink when n hw to go abt only...

Xiang, i tink u bring ur frens along first. if happen tat they push u to sign wif them. can say tat ur FH nt ard. u cannot sign without his knowledge. haha... normally couple are coax to sign on the spot de.

my sis is 1 of those. haha. go to the first booth then kanna jam there liao. haha.
lucky she never regret in signing wif her BS in a moment of folly. haha

chubby_ting

I agree... on 16 Jan 09. A few bridal cars travelling on the road all around Singapore man hahaha... surprised man. Its a fri & yet so many BTBs.....

sparkless

Gd mornin gals,

Wow... you gals are very helpful. The date we initially wanted was rejected by our parents. Our next desired wedding date is on pending for that tong shu. His mum wanna consult the tong shu, heard the tong shu for 2009 is only out in sept. We are thinking of 10 oct 09. (101009) easy to remember and is on a sat, so that's good.

Looking for opinions here. We are intending to have a church wedding followed by a dinner reception. We don't want the sit down banquet, more of a buffet style. The church we are looking at has very limited space to hold reception for 200+ people. So now, i am toying with the idea to hold the reception somewhere else.

But for this kind of arrangement, we probably end up spending more, cos have to cater shuttle buses to ferry the guests and not sure where can i hold a buffet-style dinner reception. Any idea?

strawberrie1983

hi raywen, from what i noe tongshu will oni be out in aug or sept.by the time i can oni book for 2010..might be too late which we both do nt want..no choice lo..didnt want to think so much oso..jux go wif it le..19/09/08..anywae i have 2 venues to compare now..so see which one reali suits us..thanks for ur advice anywae!

zerochristy

Twinfairy> Welcome you still have enough time, dun worry. Just that some of us here just like to get things done faster so we can have a peace of mind. Where is your church located… get somewhere near the church so its not too far to travel.

Aggiegal> Oh sometime I pass by this shop while my FH park his car. Cause this shop is actually facing the car park if I am not wrong. Yap will enjoy every part of the wedding process. Sometimes just cannot help and I want to settle all the things faster.

Verena> Suggest by Aggiegal is 3mths, I personally say plus another mth as our wedding mths falls on the Chinese 8th mth lots of pple wed that mth. I also last time worried like you as my boobs not so meaty so I am worried that I cannot carry off the gown nicely. I tried on my ROM Dress recently am very happy of the result…. Hmmm I will be wearing Nubra inside my gown. Just buy 2 Nubra recently

jemalene

Hi ahBlur, actually VG is really up to individual. For us, we did engage a VG which rates are quite reasonable and affordable like 1K inclusive of express highlights.
We are doing our own montage to save $$$ =)

desjo_11

I'm back from my PS..so excited to share with you all.I comb ard tampines mall & century sqr on tues,managed to find a 'decent' heels just for my PS..$31.90 after 20% discount @ Isetan.
We were rather worried coz 6am in the morning was pouring so heavily with thunderstorm..still deciding if to go ahead?JWN will chrg $150 for mk over if we decide to postpone our outdoor & take indoor ist..not sure if other BS also the same?lately weather been bit gloomy..we r lucky the rain stopped when we reach punggol for our ist outdoor shoot..sun was very glaring!

Shice,thou pouring in the am & pm,weather become so hot when we reach the beach ard 4+..tired,perspiring,sticky..smile also start to become stiff..haha..is definitely fun..we are lucky to capture the sunset..
Is good to bring a comfortable sandal to wear @ outdoor,else ur leg will be aching..throughout i din wear the heels but sandals..sometimes bare foot especially for brides who wana take at the beach..is very important to feel comfortable to take the shoots..don't forget we still need to walk around with the gown..keke..

Grace, ah liang will mk you feel at ease ,so no worry.there will be an assistant huimin who will follow you,takin care of you.tiara,flowers, necklace & earring all be provided..xiao qi will doll you nice2 one..but if you already have,you can bring along..may of use..
710422.jpg

jemalene

Yappie* Productio* as i cannot post the full name due to the rules and regulation of this forum. You can do a search on the web.
FYI, pls bk early as i heard that he is going to raise his price soon for nxt yr

ecarg1310

Hi desjO,

so Happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and thanks for the update! My turn next Tuesday! Prays hard that weather is good!!!

By the way, when will you be viewing your photos for selection purposes?

How many photos are you given in your package?

desjo_11

Hi Grace,
Yes,gotta pray hard for the weather..hopefully no rain & not too hot ya!
share with me also after your PS..keke
sally was telling me next month can select the photos.I got 28pics in my pkg..u??
Before the PS starts,huimin will snap some fotos as warm up see your appearance in the photo?also to see if you are comfortable with the make up & hairdo.if dun like,still can change

peareys

Good Morni ladies,

I'm new here, will be having my ROM in Oct tis yr & AD in 31 Oct nxt yr.

Saw afew familiar nicks here...Hi Aggie, u're here too...

Wah...saw that some of you start preparing since last yr, glad to know that i'm not the only 1 who prepare so early...
FH keep saying i so kaisu..haha u gers are so helpful & friendly
For my side think i'm done with the important issue like venue & bridal now left with AD MUA, photographer & videographer...
Any good ones to recommand??

glympse

femme, so sorry to hear about the tension that's going on
I really hope things get better. At the end of the day, a wedding is a celebration of love between the both of you, so as long as you both support each other and are determined to work things out together as one, that's a positive thing

Screwby-Do, welcome! Wow, more and more 11 Jul 09 BTBs

juztea, yeah when i was doing my research online, Hilton looked really nice too
Haven't been there personally yet though. Have you tried contacting them yet?

bbstrawberry

HI Grace & Stella

Peony Jade n Holiday Inn Atrium... both looks good to me hehe

HIA have theme dinner kinda cool! But i will go and have a look this friday evening... Havent confirm yet! will let u guys know after i go on friday hehe..Infact i love peony jade alot too so blur..

Hey Stella i agree with raywen...

As for auspicious days Infact for myself i went to master long and ask him to select some dates for me... and he help me choose till 2010 very efficient and he explain clearly to us too.. Most important reason to select a good day muz not be coz others go we also wanna go... to me its because we want to be happy forever =D and everything to be successful! Huat ah!keke...

Crystal =P

apr_piggy

Hi Shjeans,

coincidentally, my geomancer also gave me both dates 211109 and 221109. Wanted 21/11/09 but the hotel was taken up...thus, settle with 22/11/09.. Its a sunday, I would prefer a saturday lehz...

mashi_mashi

hi Peareys,

Welcome to the thread...
hmm u dun hv MUA for ur AD? Ur BS dun provide meh??

AD PG n VG ar. wats ur budget n requirements? quite a no of gd ones out there...

happygurl

Hey all,
I went to order wine for the dinner last fri. The wine tasted good and cost less then $20.00. For 2 cases, they provide consignment.OH yes... there's free wine tasting too.. They are quite generous with the portion during the tasting. Good service!!
Here's the contact.
Parker's is at 44 North Canal Road.
Tel 65353987.
They are open Mon-Fri during office hrs.

zerochristy

Update with Peareys’ date

2 Oct 09 - hui xiang
3 Oct 09 - mab3ru | Poseidon_gal
4 Oct 09 - Hui Ling | Christy
9 Oct 09 - Karine
10 Oct 09 - Hoonie | Verena (Church)
11 Oct 09 - Verena (Wedding Dinner)
16 Oct 09 - Mashi Mashi
21 Oct 09 – Michelle Yong
24 Oct 09 - Supergal
25 Oct 09 - Queen | Blurrypinky | ada sheu | II
27 Oct 09 - Nana
28 Oct 09 - sotong_gal
30 Oct 09 – Aggiegal
31 Oct 09 – Peareys

peareys

Hi mashi,

i booked my BS at jb so the MUA is not included, i'm hiring my BS MUA & photographer for my ROM,
but after browsing it seems like looking for 1 in s'pore is cheaper.

Hmmm...budget ah...i also dunno maybe 2k or lesser? dun really know the market rate.

peareys

I've heard of him too, intro by 1 of the ger in sg brides who had him for ROM.
Any idea wat's his charges like?? u hire him for AD as well??

strawberrie1983

Hi Crystal,

ya fully understand the concerns..well will depends on individuals as well..peoy jade is good..i heard..but i do nt like restaurant style..i am actualli considering between M hotel and Carlton hotel...

gracelourdes

Stella...to be honest, i tik in terms of foodwise, M hotel would be much better....really disappointed with Carlton's food since i went for a wedding there early tis yr...

only downside of M hotel would be the location...although it's at tanjong pagar...it's still not v near mrt compared to Carlton Hotel...

xiang2102

twinfairy,
I attended a church wedding at Chimes and my friend had a buffet dinner at Chimes itself. Maybe you can try asking. Not too sure if it can hold so many people though.

xiang2102

Aggiegal & mashi mashi,

thanks for your suggestion, think I will bring my FH down. But usually the more pushy the person is, the more likely we will "run" in the opposite direction. haha..

piggy80

Jaslyn
wah , the wine quite cheap woh. But, i already got Free wine from the banquet liao..
How many pics u have for the album ? hmmm...
dunn if i still can request for more perks from them? =P
last mth i also went down to BDC unannounced..(haha to spot check) just to tell them my AD date.
But i dunno whose that gal who serve me? haha

ecarg1310

Hi desjO,

Did you bring your own camera to capture some shots too?

Of course, I will share with you after my PS next Tues. So it's one month before you can select photos. Ok, I roughly need to know the timeline cos' I might be outstationed for a few months, need to ensure that I am around during photo selection. Haha.

I also got 28 pics in my pkg, but I have topped up to 40 pics in all lo. I feel that 28 is a little too less. And my FH says we must strictly keep to 40, no more extras.... Boohoohoo.... I am afraid the photos turn out too nice, I will top up a lot man!

I just hope not to look too fat in the photos. Keke..

zerochristy

Peareys> If I am not wrong its Rachel who introduce the PG to you. Cause she is so call the spoken person for this PG. Hahaha. Most of my BS BTB also got his service. His charges in on his website but you also can custom to your need. Yap will be getting him for my AD now waiting for my FH's reply cause his is outstation now.

zerochristy

Xiang> I can recommand my BS its very near to bugis its call My Bridal Room. The people there are not pushy. But make sure you make appt cause lots of pple on weekends one. You can Uncle Quek tell him I recommand on la. Happy BS Shopping!!!

strawberrie1983

Carlton is realli tat bad? from what i heard, food tasting time the food is always gd but comes to the actual day, the food sucks...haiz..realli stressful manz..I am actualli lookin more to M hotel..coz of the bridal suite..there is jacuzzi..hahah...but on 19/09/09..there will be 2 weddin gg on...mine is one of dem if i signed up wif dem..the other one is having the ballroom at level 10.. mine is function rm at level 2..but between these 2..mine is cheaper la..haha..
Grace Lourdes --> U tried M hotel before? i went there last week..dun realli look that fanastic at the exterior...cant be compared to big hotels ...but haiz...

sparkless

Hi xiang,

I also thot of chijmes and wanted to go for the chijmes wedding show. but unfortunately, we have other commitments on that day. will enquiry chijmes.

Thot of asking hotels what else can they offer if it is not the usual banquet.

Ask you gals, when you go down to the bridal shop, do u call them beforehand to make appt? or just walk in?

zerochristy

Twinfariy> Your Lunch/Dinner if you want to have buffet think you can do it at hotel poolside. Quite nice actually.

As I told Xiang have to make appt better so the time slot is cater only to you. You can try "My Bridal Room" they are not pushy type.

benbenfish

Haha...Stella,

We were really about to sign up with M hotel for our wedding on 19/09/09...coz outside the ballroom is really nice...If we sign up with them, i think level 2 will u and level 10 will be mine...haha....

Anyway, as for calton, I find the food is ok, tried b4... maybe it has to depend on chief's mood for tt day....haha...but anyway, their price is attractive ya...$888 only for weekend...