(2009) Brides of year 2009

mashi_mashi

Christy,
my fren also wanted to bk 10/10 for his ROM. but when he log in on 12midnite ytd. all slots taken. so fast man. almost wanted to faint when he told me tat. haha...

twinfairy / Glamourous,

I went to lee hwa, goldheart n soo kee to c their proposal rings n wedding band. so far always their own reg brand is the nicest lor. haha.. but they also teach us wat kind of diamonds we can look for. haha.. learnt somethings fr them n their service is nt bad,

but my fren intro eclarity to me. say tat place the proposal ring n wedding bands are nice n price bery reasonable. so did any of u gals heard of tat??? i tinking to drop by that place to c. somemore need to make appt first then can. haha

glamourous2309

Hi Mashi Mashi,

To determine the quality of a good diamond is not only by the 4 Cs - namely Carat, Clarity, Colour and Cut. To me, cut is the most important aspect of any diamonds.

When I choose a diamond, I also look at the detailed specs, not only whether it is a GIA/AGS CERT diamond. For example, a XX carat, X colour, X clarity, with Excellent Cut, Excellent Polish and symmetry doesn mean its a good diamond too!

Coz we need look beyond these. the diagram on the GIA itself like the table %, girdle thickness, total depth, crown angle, pavilion angle, crown %, pavilion % would have tell you alot more of the diamond and the story behind.

For example, the 2 stones of same specs (eg Triple Excellent), same colour, same clarity and same carat may varies too in price.
Its not just the profit margins that the dealer or seller may make, but how the stone is cut determine the pricing. U may be getting a LOUSY cut diamond - maybe a Steep or Shallow cut diamond, and that affects the brillance, fire and scintillation of diamonds too.

Drop by Je Taime at Ngee Ann and ask to see their isse2 diamonds. U'll see the differences too! Larry's Lazzare are good too.
Also look out for Hearts and Arrows symmetry. I like the formation of it.

Ive visited a lot local stores, alot dont leave me with good impression of their staff's knowledge...(I mean maybe because my expectations are high too as I have done alot of research and studies on diamonds as I have keen interests in them =)

Thus far, none of the local stores have impressed me much, except Larry and Je Taime at Ngee Ann. In fact, I have went thru half a dozen certs at S** K**, G*** He***, L** H**, not all their diamonds, even certed are of good cut quality. (I based it on the detailed specs of the stone)

mashi_mashi

Glamourous,

wow, u really have alot of knowledge on diamonds.
i do not hv much knowledge on diamonds as i nt very into it. haha

but for me, as long price reasonable n the ring is nice then most probably i will get i. might nt b fr the branded shops lor. but muz b i like can liao, haha...

seems like my requirements is bery simple hor. haha

glamourous2309

Mashi Mashi,

Hee. Most importantly U must love the diamond as U r ultimately the one wearing it. =)

Some of the stores people even ask me whether Im from their industry! =p But guess they just have to handle all sorts of customers rite? Not all customers are amateurs mah... and I also have my expectations. =)

desjo_11

Hi Vallous,
Thumbs up for you..we really ought to be very selective during photos selection..cannot act on impulsive..sometimes brain just cannot listen at that momment..haha..i believe after some time,the album will enter our storeroom..ur BS very good..allow you to snap photos?so the photos that was taken at a later stage when the smile oredi stiff turn out natural & gd?

Hi Grace,
wow..Your pkg so exp..does it includes AD photography & bridal car?no wonder ur FH ask you to keep to 40pcs..haha

Hi Cookiefleur,
Yes,can sit & relax abit & also keep urself in tip top condition so that u can be mei mei on AD

sparkless

hello christy, we will be doing out of ROM itself. Right now, just hope to get parental approval on 10 Oct so we can confirm our venue.

hello glamourous, you are indeed very experience in selecting diamond. I am not that good, only know the basic 4Cs. I think Larry's Lazare diamond is good. Becos my frens gushed about the brilliancy of my diamond ring =)

hello mashi, i went to lee hwa at PS. Very bad service. probably will go to another branch of lee hwa. we popped by to eclarity before too. But we went there when they were supposedly closed for stock take. There were 2 staff and they still let us in and have a look and told us abit of their rings and diamonds. But they said, the best would be to make appt with their gemologist.

I think as long as ur bf is sincere in proposing, doesn't matter where the ring is from. I didn't expect my bf to get from Larry and i am still surprised that he took the initiative to check with Larry on their eternity wedding bands.

Okay, I better go and enquiry about my wedding reception with the hotels...

mashi_mashi

glamourous,

true also. haha.. most impt is tat the ppl wearing it muz like it. haha..

twinfairy,

oh. Larry ar. hmm.. never cross my mind still got tat shop. haha.. mayb can drop by to hv a look. haha..

i dun expect the ring to b very ex lor. as long he is sincere can liao. haha

strawberrie1983

Fish -> Oh Le Meridien..how much was that? Till now i still dono where is their lobby and how to go to their htl lo..i oni went to their food court downstairs..haha

Grace -> Alot of Carlton feedbacks in Carlton hotel thread...haha..haiz..i think most probably i will take up M Hotel..though it dun look that grand as Carlton..see how bah

ecarg1310

Hi desjO,

Add this add that, then bcome so expensive lo. Haha. Additional 10 photos already $800 le. Then I took ROM dress, more outfits for photoshoot, bridesmaid dress, thank you cards etc.. No AD photography and car. Haha. Ya lo... my FH say NO MORE ADDING! He look so stern when he say that.

True la, it will end up in the storeroom very soon. So I must be strict and say only 40 that's it!

vallous

Hi desjO,

It was very nice of them to allow us to freewill take the pics. In fact, it was still good, we were tired but our PG made jokes and make sure it was a breeze.

Hi Keitsu, thanks..no lah..I believe every BS will have nice gowns..just tat must tell them what exactly u looking for.

vallous

hi grace,

oh ..dun have Car..mine have leh. I dint take their ROM dress lah..I bought my own. Bridesmaid dress I also dun wan to take..just give angbao to my fren and ask her to buy her own.

True lah..add this and tat a lot liao. But since ur FH say dun add...better dun add...wait he angry hahhaha

cube_cube

WOW..ah blur, lam's works are beautiful....hmmm..would consider his workz if i haven engaged my PG...haha..Is he pricey? can intro to my frien next time

ecarg1310

Hi Vallous,

Ya lo ya lo... I must have stronger determination to prevent our pockets from burning a bigger hole. I always succumb to temptations. Eeks...

Just got my heels done. Previously showed you all that pair, I just added the ribbons at the strap behind...

Added the ribbons, changed the entire feel...
711357.jpg

This is the second pair I bought from Tang+Co. A off white heels which I did not add any further of my own DIY stuff. I thought it looked very simple and elegant on its own.
711358.jpg

Closeup of the sequins and ribbon...
711359.jpg

Ready for PS lo...
So excited~!!

apr_piggy

Hi shjeans,

My geomancer gave us a few dates to choose..my initial choice is also 221109, but my hubby kind of convinced me that sat is better..so we search for banquet with 211109 in mind..but still the date was taken up, and end up with 221109..consider fate??

Oh mine is the smaller ballroom for ard 20 tables..is the changi ballroom..my first choice is actually club chinos at orchard parade hotel.. but we facing issues with the ballroom min.tables, thus, we settled with holiday inn atrium when we attended their wedding show.

So, how abt urself? wat made u chose M hotel? I heard M hotel is not bad too..their bridal suite have a jaccuzzi wor.

happygurl

Hey Eve,
No i din.. cause the relatives are more wine people... so not taking beer...
Shjeans... I very ks... Hee..I like to get things off my mind... the other reason is that confirming now.. I can get "older" wine... so it taste better...
Hi fanny!!

benbenfish

Hi stella,

hmm....there is a few entry from... u know the foodcourt u went there, beside there, is a 'restaurant' then follow by some shops behind, they actually got indication to guide u how to go up to the lobby..haha...

Anyway, the price is less than $900 per table...

desjo_11

Grace,u really very hardworking..good work ya..so which pair u bringing for ur PS?be careful dun dirty it..ur add this add that really = Big amount..40pcs should be good enough right?keke..dun let ur FH *faint* during photo selection ;p

Vallous, done with ur hse oredi?u can sit & relax abit soon

what about Guo Da Li items..also discuss oredi?

thotties

hi stersang, apologies for the late response. my venue is at hyatt.

planning to do my dress n photoshoot ala carte.

wow so many 221109 brides!!

sparkless

Sent out quite a few enquiries on hotel venue... Now i have another idea. Might as well I have my wedding solemnization ceremony in the hotel venue. I went to check some of the hotels in the banquet threads. Saw some photos posted, looked very good to have the solemnization ceremony.

glamourous, is nothing grand. Mine is 0.47 carats, D colour, VS 2. But the proposal is really special and I will always remember it!What about yourself? =)

ecarg1310

Thanks Vallous and desjO!

I am bringing both, just in case I feel like taking some shots with my heels seen. Hee. Ya I will bring another pair for outdoor so that I don't dirty it

You all are fast man! I have not even bought a house haha~

sparkless

oh ya, girls, do u happened to have Raffles Hotel email contact? Cos the one listed in the fine dining list in singaporebrides got my email bounced back.

mashi_mashi

Twinfairy,

can also. but ur solemnization n AD date is different rite??

wow. ur ring seems to b very gd. muz b cost ur FH a sum ba... dun look cheap to me lor. haha

btw, i have the quote fr Raffles hotel. U wan? I can forward the email to u and the contacts are inside...

Let me hv ur email or u PM me. so tat i can forward the mail to u.

shice1

grace, u really have great taste!! haha.. maybe i should really LOOK carefully when gg shopping.. most of the time, always cant find nice heels..

raywen

Stella, another place u can try.. copthorne. Its a 5 star, hv seen the ballrm b4, sum has got pillars, sum dont but all the ballrms has their own dedicated foyer to serve guests cocktail. and the price is among the cheapest for 5 stars here. Only thing, the location aint fantastic, a bit out like M hotel but if M serves u well, u seriously mite wan to try it. Not sure if their wedding show is over but if haven, the freebies they throw in damn got value manz.. Almost took that hotel but unfortunately in my case, my mum didn't like the hotel due to location.

Stella, fish-> wah, you guys' your pg n vg so much more expensive onez? Is it time to engage them now already or can I kiv a few more months like 2 months? You guys all fixed on pg and vg liao ah.. is it norm to book so early?

Grave-> I feel damn gd deal also cos i've searched all over sg (online only haha) but all quote 1600 above for both items combined.. but also damn scared I make the wrong decision and end up AD footage and pics turns out horrible..

My only request is clear pics, no need stylo mylo type; juz clear can see can liao..most PGs even junior ones can easily do one right? Juz wanna check.

Also abt the payment hor..paranoid abt ppl taking the deposit (cos stil so far away) then company closed down.. heard stories like dat so wondering if its the norm.

raywen

Ladies, am in the midst of changing jobs.. same goes for my other half. Which I now worry I wont have as much time as I now have to skive during office hours and check on wedding related stuff.

Any major wedding things that I can do or book this year or now?? to save time cos forsee new company new job, my and other half gotta be more on the ball for abt 6 months..

Ladies one more question, is it time to start an intensive beauty regimen and sliming part now? my facial is once every 3 weeks and IPL 3 weeks after that and so on. Endermologie n velasmooth for body once a month. This is the normal schedule; not sure should I increase frequency?

Do I need to add body scrubs or body laser treatments for my back? Thou gown aint selected yet and my shoulder and back is ok now, still paranoid that Im not doing enough.

My gown selection is ard CNY next year and studio photography is ard May/ june.

benbenfish

Hi stella,

Yes yes...it's ballroom, a big ballroom ,one and the only ballroom for the hotel.No pillar at all, and quite long distance for march in, 1 min like tt...

Hi raywen,

Haha...coz I engaged this PG for my ROM last yr..then very satisfy with their work, so decided to engage them for our AD as well... haha...and we took their most expensive package plus add another $300 for some other items. As for our payment with PG&VG, we pay $600 out of $2280, then on AD, will pay for the balance...

I'm just telling u a guideline, maybe diff PG & VG got their own style in the payment issue....

benbenfish

raywen,

wah...u so fast confirm for the gown selection and studio photography le ya? Bridal shop allow u book so early for your slot?

peareys

Christy> Thanks for the infor....haha
Hehehe...Mine FH is exactly like yours, sit down there like a "big boss" waiting to give some comments and sign his approval only =.="
I fall straight in love with their collection series from LOve & Co..it cost 3k for that pair...i find it abit ex for a wedding band though i like but luckily nv buy coz 1 of the forummer custom-made it at josi gems for onli 1.5k!! it's half the price and the design is exactly the same..maybe diamond smaller la.
Can share with me your design? my email is [email protected] ..Many Thanks!

Xiang> No Pro! if you're not in a rush, u might wanna consider custom-made, feel that it's cheaper.
For custom-made maybe can try eclarity, josi gems & Fairy Inc but b4 that go ard afew more shops to get the idea of wat you wan then can show them your design.

Mashi> Ya, intially i wanted on 10/10 too, easy to rmb but FH say since we're inviting more ppl better to have it on a sat...
so in e end change to 11/10.

I got my wedding band from eclarity, they have quite a wide range of bands for you to choose
alternative u can also come up wif ur own design and they custom-made it for you.
They have proposal ring as well, for mi i prefer to buy loose diamond and set it the way i like,
so most likely i'll be going back to have my proposal ring made there.
You can call up amanda for appointment, i must say that she's patience, attentive to ur needs and not forgetting knowledgeable.
Try to avoid weekend if you want her full attention as she has quite a no. of walk in customer.

strawberrie1983

Raywen-> u mean grand coperthorne? yah is bery expensive lo..my bf average abt 700-800 per table is gd enough..i oso think that dun spend so much lo..average can le..at least a decent htl will do..M hotel i consider nt bad le..

Ladies -> mi confirm with my ROM + AD bridal le..is under the same bridal..as a package...Bridal De Couture...I signed up during Bugis rdshow..gd deal lo..but the shop ah..dun expect those very nice and grand lo..simple...my ROM is held 16/12/08..will have my gown fitting on Oct..as for AD fitting, will wait after my ROM..

As for PG, i am intending for Secret Heaven..bery nice lo..and from research, i find that this PG is nt very costy..but i nbr engage VG la..think nt neccessary..jux a montage for dinner will do..hehe...

sparkless

hi mashi, That's great! can you forward me Raffles Hotel quote? [email protected]

Going to have the solemnization and customary all in one day. We started off wanting a Church wedding followed by a dinner reception and that's all. But becos we have problem in the space for reception, thus i decided to find alternative venue for reception. Then as i enquired more, i realised that i could actually have my solemnization ceremony in the hotel venue. The possibilities seem endless now... will discuss more with bf, oh, have to check with our pastor and see what he thinks about this arrangement.

ecarg1310

Hi shice,

Thanks for your compliments.

I must thank my FH for walking around Orchard with me that day. He accompanied me from one mall to another. Then probably walk back to that mall first. Gotta find something nice + within budget. Not so easy. Really must have a lot of time to slowly walk and find.

Also, gotta thank him cos' he's the one spotting the heels that he thinks will look nice on me.
After that, I will try and show him, and he will give his comments before we buy.

mashi_mashi

Peareys,

My frens also got recommend eclarity. got 1 fren got his proposal ring there at reasonable price. so planning to go there to hv a look.

hmm. avoid wkend ar. ok. will try, will make appt wif her then. haha.

twinfairy,

u got a mail. ya. alot of choices out there. keke. tink i will most likely separate my AD n solemnization in order nt to feel to rush n hv ample rest on the day ba. haha...

but still hv to b approved by both parents first. haha

gracelourdes

raywen, my advice is, if u find the AD PG/VG good n their std is ok for u, dun wait liao...confirm after a few mths, the prices will go up again...tat's wat happened when i was researching for mine too...thk God i booked mine a few mths back liao...everytime see the prices go up n up macham like stocks n shares...faintz...

gracelourdes

Stella, other alternatives for u r Furama Riverfront Hotel, Furama City Centre and Club Chinois at Orchard Parade Hotel...Club Chinois may be within ur budget and the food's v good....ambience also quite nice...dun remember see pillars there...

shice1

the way u say, seems like u and ur hubby still in the honeymoon stage of the relationship.. very sweet sweet kind.. haha.. which is good lah.. =)

wish me luck!! in finding nice heels and one which does not "bite" me.. haha..

ashley_garden

Some updates to do...My AD is 27th Feb 09 instead of 28th Feb 09 =p.

I will be holding my customary and ROM on 27th Feb 09 and banquet on the 28th Feb 09.

So how are all your preparations getting along?

my AD is on 1st may 09.
I've booked Regent for my dinner and going to finalise my PG soon.

I read that shouldn't do the gown too early, so i'm taking my time to look around.

raywen

Grace-> Ok..now I a bit chuat sai liao (spew shit).. scared liao. Think will try to settle b4 lunar 7month; its starting this august 1st.

Stella-> Ya forgot Club Chinos!! U shld try them out. Its under tung lok and the food u definitely wont complain. Checked their prices cos parents wanted tung lok but I wanted ballrm and the ballrm they provided is a few feet away on the same floor as the restaurant so was worried that there may be another wedding and I'll end up seeing another bride there at reception. But you shld give it a look. For me, I just wanted exclusivity, like my own place for cocktail; if u ok with that, club chinois is good.

My fren had their wedding therel bridal suite is ok.. real suite not those adjoining rooms that hotels use to pass off as bridal suites. Quite big.. got balcony, toilet's big too. Tasted the food on the actual day of my fren; food taste good, portions quite good. But my fren's dinner was in the restaurant itself which is not bad looking.. very chinoserie chic. red and dark wood with bar counter.

their price for banquet all stated on their website. And the contact person is a guy; very friendly. Eric's his name.. they got floral decorations included.. but I understand for ballroom, the decor aint much. So you may wan to ask more about that aspect. They use Impact Florist for their flowers. http://www.tunglok.com/chinois/wedding.html

If wanna book better do it now, cos last I spoke to Eric was in early June and he did mention that price wil be adjusted. Per table will increase by 20 to 40 bucks.. so u add gst to it, that will quite a bit too.

Hope the info helps.

raywen

Ladies, I got a question abt alcoholic beverages consumption; I'll most probably be taking swiss stamford for my dinner or mariott; can anyone advise me if a barrel of beer (approx 90 glasses) wil be enough for the dinner? Or avaerage consumptionof wine and/or beer. Trying to budget for total cost.

Mine's on a weekday and need to budget cos swissotel rather strict on perks.. tables abt 23 (230 pax) mine's on weekday, wednesday.

So wanna see which one better package overall.