(2009) Brides of year 2009

blurbaby

ya... i believe piggylover also got things to say on his works too..

all guests who arrive, he will take their individual pics.. later part of d dinner.. he will flash d pics on d projecter..

nt frequent seen at wedding dinner..

his customers r mostly thru words of mouth.. n jiemeis.. etc..

strawberrie1983

Grace -> i had thought of Furama Riverfront Hotel, Furama City Centre...Furama riverfront do nt have my preferred date, all booked le...as for city centre, i went to see the place..oh manz..is like..i mean exterior lo..i dun like beside the htl is chinatown centre..is so orbit! haha..

raywen -> well i am looking for ballroom/function rm..nt restaurant style lo..that whys..hehe..i am thinking of swissotel..i called dannis..he told me to take atrium ballroom coz it suit 25-30 tables..so i am takin a look tmr myself..think he mentioned gt pillars..

glamourous2309

Hi Twinfairy,

I do agree with you... Its the heart that counts and Most importantly, the person you gonna spend the rest of your life with together as one.

Mine is near 1.50 carat, VVS2 diamond.
Hey, U need any help with the hotel venue and pricing? I can email you a copy of it if you want. =)

raywen

stella-> thats the same one i'm looking at for my day too. Yup got 2 pillar in ballroom; own foyer.. unlike the canning series of ballrooms. Stamford is nice too, but require min 35tables.

But price wise, will be higher than Mhotel isn't it? weekdays, its alrdy 882 incld gst.. weekends will hit the 900plus mark..

The club chinois has a ballroom too.. called Antica but I dare not take it up only because they cant promise there wont be any wedding on the same day (that will mean I may see the other bride from my reception area) Just that lor..

Mayb u wanna take a look at both Antica Ballrm n swissotel b4 making a choice cos swissotel is super strict abt the perks and freebies.. Estimated per table will cost me 950 if every table were to have their own wine and 1 barrel of beer.. even LCD projector they are charging hence my question above on alcohol consumption.

raywen

fish-> ya they allow me to book alrdy.. I doubt got any BS in singapore who will refuse business if you wana give it to them lor.

For me only visited total 5 BS then got fed up and decided Sophia's the one for me. And since I knew the staff there, cos my hubby;s fren and some girl frens also took their gowns frm thr, I knew which MUA and Pg I wanted.. so same day pay deposit which was in june, soon bian also specified that I only want the specific person/s for those roles lor.

Simpler like tat..at least now oni need to settle dinner venue and AD PG n VG.. Fish, is thr anything else that I need to look at? cos want very much to book down all those ppl (ie. pay small deposit) so I can have a worry free christmas and CNY..

jac15

I managed to book my ROM on 10/10 . I book on 09/07 midnight. It need to be kiasu abit as the date was very popular.

My AD is on 10 Oct 2009.

ecarg1310

shice>> u sure can find something u like. But I haven't tried if my heels bite. Hee. Guess how long me and my FH have been together? 9.5 yrs leh, since I was in Secondary School lo. Haha... but u still say we're like in honeymoon stage. so happy to hear this

cookiefleur>>thanks... I m sure you can make urs to be like this too.
just need to put in a bit of hard work and patience. Oh and creativity..

shjeans

Apr Piggy,
jaccuzzi? Er...dun think will ever use. after dinner sure shag out liao. maybe count ang bao money then sleep...where got time to use jazzuzzi?
We even want to let our friends' kids have fun in the jaccuzzi during the day.

We did not put M Hotel as our 1st choice also.Just happen that we look for geomancer and she gave us 40over dates till 2010, then we start to panic and look for place which suits the dates picked. My HTB just sign on the spot during his lunch trip to M Hotel on a weekday.

Guess he knows what we are looking for after a few venue hunting trips. Went to look during the weekend after he booked.not too bad after all lah.

Got the whole floor to ourselves also.

shjeans

Jaslyn,
haha....same thinking.we want to settle asap all the big items.We got free flow beer so have to get the wine outside. We were adviced by the hotel that wine outside cheaper then a barrel of beer so we took beer.

what did u get? White or red?We are thinking do we have to get both.

Hard to get a good wine with Chinese dinner leh.

verena

Twinfairy,
Where dyu intend to hold ur church wedding? I'm also having a church wedding on 10/10

Just wondering...do i need to book a date for ROM if I'm holding the solemnization in church with my pastor? Pardon for my ignorance. There's so much to think about and prepare in advance. Glad to have so much support in this forum

donggua23

femme - My AD is on 11 July 2009 too and its also my anniversary on 11 July 2009! hehe..
..it will be our 6th year anniversary..hehe..

mashi_mashi

Verena,

U still have to follow the procedure to submit the application online. U can check out the procedure on the website. they will teach u wat to do.

the only difference is tat u do nt need to worry tat ur date will be fully booked on tat day since u goin to ROM at the church.

but when u submit ur application, ur pastor (JP) will need to sign a form of consent. n submit together wif ur application.

the steps can be found on ROM website...

Hi Lorraine,

nope, no bridal package booked yet.

HTB & I are doing everything a la carte cos we want certain PG & MUA from our contacts, so booking those first. Now will start looking around for things like gowns, suit & church caterers etc.

vallous

whoa grace u and ur FH also met in sec sch...ours are also from sec sch..For us, it has been 13 yrs..and counting. Like shice said..we also still in honeymoon stage..but for some times only..sometimes argue like mad. lololol

Yup, my house reno is abt 90% ready. I posted the pics on my website liao. U all can see.

http://weilunjoleen.weddingannouncer.com

vallous

Hi desjO,

yup we discuss our GDL stuff already. We did it during our ROM dinner. We did a lot of preparation on both sides of the family so it went well during dinner. My hubby led the talk instead cos dun wan any misunderstandings. Frankly we did some "underhand" stuff like top up angbao money to my parents as expectations from my in laws did not meet my parents. So we din want them to argue, we decided to top up angbao under table lor.So to appease both sides.

For e.g. my in laws expected the dowry angbao to return most of it and we only take abt a few hundred. But my parents actually tot to take the major part or at least half of it. So we din wan them to blow up and fight, my hb chatted with my parents before hand and told them his actions of topping up under the table and my parents were appeased. Thank God.

It was a stressful period I must say. GDL is definately one topic that will anger both sides. So all must be careful.

happygurl

shjeans,
rom on the same day for me...
They have both read and white wine.
Champagne also have...
Since you need to get wine... think can give them a try... I enjoyed their service. They will advice you on what wines to choose.

benbenfish

Hi Raywen,

I believe u have to meet up with the AD PG and VG before u sign up their package, ask them to show u more of their past work...coz only yourself know wherher u are comfortable for such style to appear in your AD photos onot... for myself, I also look for a simple and clear photos coz i also dont really know the style and style in their profession's view...but for the PG and VG, after look at their work...I'm comfortale and it also turn well for my ROM...so I engage them again for our wedding... haha...

Get some PG and VG which the brides / brides-to-be recommand, at least u not need to worry PG and VG get ur deposit and 'run away'... rite?

stella,
try Grand Plaza Park Hotel City Hall, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore, Copthorne King's Hotel?

desjo_11

Grace & Vallous,is such a long love journey & yet still blossom..not easy to maintain r/s.. *envy*
me n my hb 7yrs liao,not so sweet & lovely like you two..keke..very good

Vallous,this is what I worried also..GDL kinda stressful..duno what to ask or if ask too much??
*headache* coz my mom everything also anything..so the GDL stuff which Nan Fan suppose to buy 4 us is following their customs or our side?
ur new house so nice & sweet..is it completed?did u install shower screen in the toilets?

lyrics

Hihi, am new here..just came across this forum..
Am officially a Jan 09 bride as well..

Wedding Date: 1 Jan 2009
Wedding Venue: Marina Mandarin
BS: White Link
PG: TBA

Needa some help here... I am looking at live photograhy on tt day.. meaning once the photographer has took the shot, it will be uploaded to the LCD projector instantaneously. And it can be printed on photocards to be distributed to the guests on that day..

Am also looking for live Sms..whereby guests can send sms and will be shown on projector screen...any lobang or contacts pls??

missywinnie

hi all beautiful brides to be....i am new to this forum and will be having my solomisation and AD on 9 sep next yr.

Hope can exchange tips n info over here.

i m now sourcing for hotel venue and been to furama riverfront yesterday. like the venus ballroom alot high ceiling. pricing quote attractive at abt $800 nett but then they rquire min. 35 tables. so sad. anyone got recommend on hotel which can accommodate like min 20 tables at their grand ball room with budget not exceeding $1k

aggiegal

Wah Wah wah... only 1 day of not log in and there are so many posts le... Nearly cannot catch up leh. Haha! Think my HB will be shocked to see so many of us very active in wedding preparations ;) I'm very proud of us leh.

Xiang> I totally agreed with Peareys and Mashi that if you already have the bands, better to wear them fr PS cos PG will take pics of you with these details. Though you see the bands day in day out, it will be nice to have them in ur PS pics. U won't regret it. =)

Mashi> The swollen finger part is what I learned from Fairy's Inc, when I expressed my interest in eternity ring. Cos my PR's diamond covers the small diamond in a WB, so not nice loh. & because I oso like to wear my other rings, I don't want to wear my WB and PR separately, otherwise wasted my other rings' value. Great to be of help ah. Plus I like bling 2 (yeah? Twin fairy? ;P)

I agree with you that most impt is that you like the ring. I have a co. who went through many shops and feels frustrated when she couldn't find one that she likes despite good quality and are ex. But she finally saw 1 that she likes - claims she feels she can speak to it. Haha! Most impt is that it's a lovely gift from your FH.

My HB initially told me he will nvr buy a PR for me cos don't see the value of diamonds and find them ex. & we already decided that we will just get WBs. In the end, he spent 4 months in research and scouted through many shops and bought for me. So can imagine my touched, not becos that I have a PR, but because of the effort put in, that he is willing to do research for something he finds that is stupid and worthless. That is priceless to me ah. I hope you will find a ring that speaks to you and most impt to our budget. =)

BTW, are you getting PR or WBs? If PR, I get my HB's contact on diamond industry which you can get a good grade ring at a cheaper price.

TwinFairy> I think Raffles hotel is nice. Their max tbl no. is capped at 25, just to let you know. You are a Lazzare girl, welcome. Good grade ah ur ring, most impt is ur FH is just like my HB, happy for you. My proposal is also special and unexpected. Yay!

Get ur FH to ask for further discount if decided to get WBs from there, since he bought ur PR there. The people there is nice and knowledgeable.

Christy> My HB's response is just like your ur FH. Good and exact description: Just like a big boss approving projects. (^^) I'm just like you, very careful with expenditure, so he knows that he doesn't have to worry.

Now that you say so, I think I better get Nubra or similar. I don't want to give free show to everyone arh! Aiyoh, poor brides!

Actually, Rachel did mention that in some threads before. You mean it should be taboo until that I have said it now. =P Is it ok hah? Oh man.

Can you PM me ur WB at [email protected]? I like to see rings =D Must share, must share =P

Peareys> Many couples prefers good PG than VG cos pics last longer and people will see them over and over again instead of VG. For me, I wud like a VG cos I want to be able to see things like my gatecrashing that I won't get to see on my big day. But we also understand the imptance of PG, thus we are not too particular about VG lah. First go to the PG/ VG thread and read up on some comments, they often include in the links that you can see their pics and then decide what would you like. After viewing a lot of works, I finally see the differences in good and so-so or poor PG/ VG.

You'll feel happy seeing those good ones, as though you are in their weddings. Or that you are very touched. Then I realise this is what I'm looking for in a pic or vid. Then I checked the prices and then see whether it will go beyond my budget.

Also, when you post ur quotation requests in some of the threads, just sit back and relax. Ur email will start to have different studios emailing you, saying they have come across ur requests and sent you their competitive packages and links of pic and vids. Then you can slowly choose and decide for yourself. Once decided, when they ask for deposits, if you are tight for $, you can ask to pay a lower deposit 1st and then pay up the remaining deposit next year since we have more than a year before the AD. Most of the time they will oblige. Then again, for those very reputable ones, don't have to worry that they will run away with ur $ if you think that is too high a deposit to pay 1st.

Like Mashi, I won't check on my date with tong shu cos I had mine checked with the shifu using our eight characters and our families' chinese horoscopes.

Can you PM me your WB? [email protected]. I always like to see and ooh-aah about WBs. =P

Jac> Welcome here. How's your preps so far? I agree that your date is a very good date =)

Verena> Mashi is right, booking of ROM date is still necessary cos you are 'informing the govt' that you are getting married. It is a legal action and that where to hold your solemnization ceremony is a personal choice =)

praisey

eleanor: marriott is a great choice. i just had my wedding there last sunday, my co-ordinator was annabel. chosen sweet surrender for the theme. u can view the set up at my blog. storyaboutafoo.livejournal.com

mashi_mashi

Aggiegal,

I will b getting both PR n WB.. haha..
but will get my PR first. tat will b my FH goin to headache part. but he keep asking me for my suggestion, haha.. so tink will b goin wif him to view the rings. haha....

oh, ur hb got contacts in diamond industry ar?? can pm me? mayb got chance can go there to view. haha... trying to work within budget here. haha
thanks in advance first...

sssc

Fatfat, I have signed with Bliss Bridal Creation@ Marina Sq. Keep finger cross that everything will turn out fine and nice :p

My HTB also booked Jimmy from FocusPoint for PG/VG..

verena

I belong to the ones that I went with FH to select and custom-make my PR. It's now sitting in his room. Haha, not very romantic I must admit and now I'm waiting for his official proposal...guess he's prob having a headache trying to surprise me since I know it's coming...haha

Thanks Aggiegal and Mashi for the advice. So booking for ROM date is about 3-4 mths before my church wedding ya?

vallous

Hi desjO,

usually the GDL stuff is must be compromised on both sides. SO technically speaking both sides of the traditions also must observed. Discuss wif your FH first and get some tips and info from each sides.

It is 90% completed. I din install shower screens, toilets not so da big..so we dun wish to have one. We lazy to clean the glass also ..so might as well give it a miss...save a few hundreds..haha

Hi Iris& Richard,

welcome..1 jan..same as me..heehee.. WOAH.."live" phtography..very happening leh..I think most of us are happy with the morning pics on the projector tats all and the most VG..

it sure to be costly...

chuababy

Hey stersang,

sorry for the late reply, i was overseas for the past week, not too sure if u still need the 2009 intercon banquet package, but nevetheless, have sent the package to your email add just now...do check it out ya!

glamourous2309

Hi Mashi Mashi,

Do let me know if you need any help with Proposal/ Engagement Ring. I'll be glad to extend my help. Just have to give me the a scanned copy of the GIA/ AGS cert, I will be able help you do some basic analysis of it.

Its the cut that determine the brillance, fire and scintillation of a diamond.
I do agree that Everyone has their own budget to work with. For the same amount of budget, I rather have a good, smaller diamond that has brillant and excellent fire, brillance and scintillation, especially in spot lightings compared to difussed lightings, rather than 1 that is Big, but of poor quality. U get what I mean? =)

Size is not everything. =) Do let me know if any of U need help. Can PM me.

gracelourdes

raywen - yeah, if u alrd shortlisted and have 1 or 2 in mind, then really suggest u to get tat 'headache' off ur head...hehhehe

regarding alcoholic beverages, indeed if urs is a wed (hopefully not eve or public hol :p), then the alcohol level drunk by ur guests would be highly reduced cos it's going to be a workday the next day...

however, let's not be complacent n start ordering so little alcohol tat ur guests start to complain there's not enough to drink or how come u guys dun offer much alcohol? anyhow, i tik for the percentage of beer/wine to order, u have to check ur n his frds....wat kind of beverage they drink more..more of beer or wine...if u intend to get red n white wine, then beer order 1 barrel shd be enough...if u have relatives who do drink, then u might have to get a few bottles of hard liquor to stand by also...

oh ya, if u have settled ur venue, AD PG/VG n BS...i guess maybe the next last thing is to settle ur wedding day program..if u have intention of hiring a wedding band or singer or sth, u might want to look now also...if not, maybe next yr it might be all taken up alrd...

tksl

ahBlur, you taking lam's package liao right? so his date for 26/12 is blocked right?

my bf juz asked me to take up the offer provided by the bridal studio.. use their in-house photographer for AD.. wad u all think?

gracelourdes

stella - hehehe...tot i was the only one who tot of the word 'orbit' when comes to FCC...:p no offence towards anyone here if they take FCC ar...it's a pity u can't get FRF though cos it's quite nice...mine would be at FRF also

oh ya, like raywen mentioned, u might want to try Club Chinios...have been to a wedding there....we didn't see another bride...yes, my frd took Antica...overall, v pleasant experience....reception area quite ok...ballroom v cosy....food superbly good...

concert

jayin_fairyland - who say 070609 not popular... im having mine on that day too ! =P realised urs is at swissotel... initially wanted it to be there, but changed location eventually.