(2008) Brides of year 2008

Wow, so fast.
I am still taking my own sweet time to do my things, like guest list, montage,angbao box, etc. But i dont have church wedding and have ROM, so lesser things to do ba.

somehow I think this is the last meetup for this year, unless the Nov & Dec brides are meeting in Nov. Sep/Oct brides will be busy holidaying and clearing backlog work.

ehhh.. ermm ermm......

put some lucky grass on the head through the tea ceremony. She got to keep shaking her head to make it drop....so unglam with the grass in the photos 0__0

I hope none of my relatives reading this forum.. HAHAHA...but i warned my mum dont let me do such stupid thing liao...

wat abt any ideas if u got married before ur elder sibling... on the day u need to cross over his/her pants which is hang above the door???

Jolene: wah, your train so long.

Jane: Now must really ask parents where to find the male cousin to open door. Cos all of them are overseas. hmmm
Then so mad, that day discuss, both side parents say simple simple can liao. Now both side coming up with more and more traditions that we have to follow/do.

sorry ladies.
i can't make it.

one student in my lab was 2.5 hours late this morning and his inconsideration has delayed my experiments, such that i end at 9pm today.
;(

apologies.

if we have on next year, surely i'll go.

ya lor.. now i trying to think hw to avoid tripping and falling down on my own train hahaa...

and yea lor, sometimes old ppl v weird de... maybe they seriously think it is ok to be simple simple but after the meetup, they sure go and consult other relatives... and they are the ones giving all the funni ideas for the additional traditions... haizz...

but luckily, my mother herself is very fussy liao so i dont thk got another fusser relatives to give her more funi ideas.. other than the grandaunt case coz she on the AD at the point of tea ceremony then she requested for the unglam act to be done before she will drink the tea 0___0... my sis in law was almost in tears lor... i pitied her...and thankful that she never fang1 lian3 on the spot coz i will do that if i were her...

thats why i told my mother straight after my brother's wedding that i dont like surprises.. anything she wants better think abt it and tell it to the in-law during the meetup.. and tt i cannot accept lastmin changes..

hehe.. i quite stubborn oso lah... and resistance to lastmin changes.. :P

ehhh are u all gg to follow that traditional of enter the groom's family home under the pants of the groom's unmarried elder brother?

Lost, i'm also left with my HTB's grandparents friends names to write. N u know, old people, they dont utd how we do things now. so she say just give her the tables then she just tell her friends. Alamak, abit headache.. Haha..

Yvonne, good luck to ur battle! N may u win with honours!!! Haha.. Update us ok?

Jane, haha, depends on u lor. U n that friend close ma? If close i think should be ok ba. But then again, i think its perfectly fine to use the same song. Cos that song is nice ma.. Hehe..

Yvonne, need to give ang baos to relative's kids?? I've also nvr heard of it leh.. Jialat, better check with my mum, lest later ang bao money not enough paisey..

TanLee, not sure about what ur mum said. Sorry, cant help u.. Maybe the rest can help?

Hello Kelly! Wah.. u also early bride. Seems like Nov brides all must be super early. Mine initial timing also. But HTB say too early then dont wan to follow. Grrr.. No choice lor. He say what then what. Haiz.. When is ur AD? Think u can start writing ur cards le.. I also starting to write le. N get address from ur guests too. As for the songs to use, I'm using Perfect Moment. Couple of gals here also using this song. U may refer back to the thread, they got mention what other songs to use too!

Oh, just asked my mum about giving angbaos to the kids. She say no need! Hahaha!! My mum very trendy, everything also say no need. Since she say no need, then i dont give le..

Jolene, glad ur food tasting turned out well! What's ur Multiply id again? Or name on Multiply? I go c the pics!! Wah! So nice! Still got singers!! Haha.. I think sing chinese song is perfectly fine la. Im also using chinese song to dance in. N i think long train cannot dance wor.. Tats y i mtm my EG to be without a train de.. Maybe u need to check what can be done here. Okok!! If i want to learn Exotic dance then i get the contact from u!! Hehe..

Jolene, hearing about ur mum, i think i'm glad my mum is very chin cai. Sometimes to the extend i feel she is too chin cai liao. Instead i am more traditional than her. Then when i tell her something, she will say, aiya, no need la. Must follow this follow that, everything how to finish. Haha.. Buay tahan her.

Luckily i still have one cousin's son to help me open the door. Haha.. N i think he's the only male kid in my household now!

Wah, i dont utd that part about brother following bride to groom house. Can someone explain in details to me pls? Need meh?? Jialat, i like what also dont knoW. How ah!!

hello ladies...
sorry lah, was also so excited to go down today.

now still in office. just finished.
the ^%#$%$@# student came in again at 7pm+, go and delay me AGAIN.
told him i need the hood at 8pm, time-sensitive experiment.
at 8pm, he said he's done.
great, i took over the hood, put my cells in, walked away to get some stuff,
when i returned (30s later), he was doing more things in the hood!!!
argh.
my cells should not be in there with him!!!
he's not considerate user, dripping and not cleaing up.
argh.
*&^%$#@!@#$%^&^

sorry, had to vent and rent.
hope you guys having fun and having a nicer evening with good company.
post pics ah!! :D

flora!!! I cannot see ur fotos T.T

fiona, mei, nelle, had a nice time bemoaning about prep stuffs... ^^

nec, sayang.. Go toss some acid at him and shoo him away ah....

Just back from seeing photos layout, looks okie but after i came back home, my niece was saying the wordings on the album makes the album look cheena...will call them tmr to delete the wordings but worry they might not agreed cos i signed on the layout liao....haiz..what do u gals think?? cheena anot??

I rec'd my softcopies ler, will upload over the weekend...my mum have to choose from the photos which dress to be my EG cos the gown i like is dark greyish...think she will nag if choose that as my EG..

Jolene, yes we shd pace each other...haha...i still have many things not done, like montage(my niece doing for me), Guo Da Li stuff to buy, choose songs, ROM(10/10/08), ang pow box, jie mei dresses...many more...all not settle yet...

SotongLet: You are really super amazing man...Always so on task...How do you DIY your ring pillow?? Did you make its own stuffing and all??

As for angpao box, girls, do you know if Daiso sells nice boxes we can use?

Lalala...

By the way, BALLOTING for flats is open!
Yay!

Eunice, nah.. just too much time now.....
I am using some old cotton wool I have at home.. fluff it and stuff it in. I asked my aunt to sew the sq for me with some spare cloth I have and the rest of the flowers are pretty much diy satin ribbon flowers.. still not complete yet.

Daiso sells nice boxes, but they are too small, even for the biggest boxes. But you can use 2 boxes and join them togther. Also daiso sells white long candles ($2). I bought that and bought a fat shorter 1 from art friend($7). I am going to deco them with the ribbons(1 big roll of 1.5cm is about $3) and flowers(12 for 3.20 i think) I bought from textile center for my unity candle

sotonglet, yah i also had a nice time with u all.

nec, dun angry hai..... really sad u cant join us today cos of this student only got 5 of us only.

My AD is today and I am still tying up loose ends... gasp.... had some unhappy hiccups just now and was deeply stress by it.... lucky hubby and MIL quite understanding... tell u gals more when im back after AD... don wan to talk abt it now... scared i will cry again

Sotong> I already added you leh. Can you try to view again? Wah, you so fierce ah, ask Nec to throw acid.

So sorry I have to leave earlier juz now. Btw, who should I pay my latte drink to?

Jolene: I took the red gouropa. Duno how to spell the name of the fish. Because they want to see head and tail so took the whole fish instead of cod fish. The food very nice hor? They also promised that the standard and quality will be the same as well. I lovveee their Or nee. =) I find the chef has a very cheery personality. A nice person too.

jolene.. OMG really very unglam.. if my IL as me to do dat.. i sure fan lian one.. LOL..

Tanlee.. ya find cousin or nephews lor.. keke.. our parents also.. initially meet dat time say simple can le.. now also coming up with more and more traditions to follow.. but still acceptable le.. not very complicated type.. keke...

jo_vin.. ur mum so good.. keke.. den u can save ur money le.. for me my side no small kids.. so ok le.. but my IL there got and they specifically say we need to give ang baos to the small kids.. so irritating.. haiya dun care give them $2 each.. =P

and abt the brother following u one.. u can go to the GDL shops to ask when u buying ur GDL stuffs.. they will advise u.. keke.. i just noe must carry a basket of tins.. the tins in the basket the GDL shop pple will include for u like powder, oil etc.. den u add in ur shampoo, shower foam, facial wash etc.. u go my multiply see.. i got take pic of it.. =D

hi there just to add on to the list of dec brides.
mine 13th dec
bridal studio:bridal veil
AD photographer:Kim (Studio d'fia) & Bernard teo (ave 8)
Hotel:Raffles Hotel (the ballroom)
AD VG: christopher tay from ichiro films

multiply id:sherylmei

dor> $60k includes the BQ la...excluding BQ is about $20k loh..

And i still loss... best rite???

to all getting married today!! Congrats!!!

yoyo!

anyone online on wkends? heehee..

my multiply is fariesinn.multiply.com!!! i got my bridal photos there too!! havent upload the food la.. over wkend then do..

jane = yeah lor! i oso think i will fan lian leh if ask me do unglam thgs.. someone keeps toking abt the gg under the pants one! sorry lah.. cannot accept it.. whether who get married or nt is abt fate one lor.. if ur sibling until 50s then still unmarried, u gona wait til then meh?

pinky81: yeahhh the food v yummy!!!! codfish is nice oso but i thk the red gouropa will taste nicer!!! my mother oso said must have head and tail! So funi!! my IL are the ones who said easy to eat can already! They even wanted the gong bao prawns that would be de-shelled but my mother said whole big prawns then presentable.. my IL listen already oso diam diam.. thk they knw her pattern liao...

sometimes feel abit paiseh giving my IL all the trouble coz my HB's cousin whose AD is tmr hor, the bride can make all the decisions coz her mum hospitalised lah... haizz...just overheard my IL said that bride so simple and easy de... upset sia...

sandy: wats ur multiply? add me k? can msn me at [email protected] or email me at [email protected] for more speedy replies :P esp over wkends ;) we shld help each other thr

but hor, i thk u are more or less done le mah
Montage can wake til 1-2 wks prior then do.. unless u are doing animation etc... most grooms did it 1 nite before the wedding..eg. my brother.. i remembered he asked me to dig out his childhood 'best' looking pictures!!! hahaha of coz i chose those with my 'best' look in there at the same time!! Hahaha...

my GDL thgs not bought yet.. when's ur GDL? i intend to order the cakes maybe next wk lor..my mum hasnt decided hw many boxes she wants.

songs.. nt that difficult unless u doing some special performance.. like me dance and sing lor...i thk the other brides shared alot of songs here ^^. What will u be doing for ur ROM? outside or in ROM? angbox box can buy frm cards and such, some came with deco but of coz abit more ex..unless u wan ownself deco..tis one 1-2wks prior can do.

Are u getting ur jiemeis to wear the same? I only told them to wear white or ivory...coz my WG is ivory..

Thinking abt the hand corsages tho..u settled tt one? Wat else to do ah? Now main thg is settle guestlist lor...

jo_vin: haha wat dance u doing and wat song u using ahh? hahaha ur mum is like my MIL!! She also said why so ma fan :P hahaha...

thk i prepare the angbao wor.. maybe $2 per pax lor..nt many small kids oso la..

heehee.. think after our weddings, we still can chat together on this thread coz my fren who was a june bride still chatting with her forum frens
haha..

pinky81:

hihi jolene.. im still hm.. keke going out later.. aiya dun tin too much le.. wedding once in a lifetime.. just be happy.. sure got some unhappy stuffs but dun tin abt it can le...

btw gals.. can help me see if i put this necklace on my head.. will it look nice?? like across the forehead...

776377.jpg

~~net
<font color="0000ff">wah!!! ur relatives n frenz n colleagues really nice!! n happy for you to made a profit!!! talk n think abt mine really sucks but well, as long it's over n done, no point dwelling over it...today is sat....then sun, then MONDAY work liao....haa..sianz, stress levels piling up...oh ya, net, then u can use the extra $$$ to buy LV in Paris liao!! wah!!! =)</font>

<font color="119911">gg out soon.....my man's army bestie passed away on 11th Sep 2008....gota go pay respects to him.....</font>

Hi sandy, we cant comment much if there's no picture to see leh.. What do u think? If u feel really cheena, then better ask them to change. Else later after they print cannot change le. Faster upload ur photos!! Cant wait to c! Must be pretty pretty!

Jane, haha, ya lor, my mum really very chin cai until i find her too chin cai liao. Haha.. Erm.. but i wil stil b staying at my own house after marriage then still must bring those things over to groom's place? Aiya, if i ask my mum, she sure say no need again. *bang head*

Oh Jolene, i know who! Fairiesinn. U are also very pretty pretty de! Hehe.. I will be dancing a simple ballroom dance to the song ÄãÊÇÎÒÐÄÄÚµÄÒ»Ê׸è. Keke.. Dont know still can rem dance steps or not, jialat.. What about u? Singing what song? U must be able to sing very well lor? Maybe one day we can go ktv 2gthr! Haha..

Jane, i think its nice! Not too messy and simple!

Shag, I will say...ha.

Hey transformer, your website is so well done! Nice!

Thanks gals. I just stay put with 8 pax for the VIp table lor, cos his relatives are really not close to his parents.

For the gatecrashing, i have 5 sisters, and intend to give $68 per pax. Normally during the gatecrashing, the groom will give 1 ang bao first, and when the gals ask for more, he will give a second one. But how much should put inside each ang bao to total up to a nice figure for the gals to divide?

For the MUA, PG, VG, car boy, children etc, we intend to give $8 per pax. Is it very stingy? What should be the market rate?

My hotel don't provide the flowers to throw during the march in. Normally, is use petals or flowers? is fake or real? How many days in advance should i get it? And what about rockets?

mrs.chiew : im sure u feel excited, ur wedding just next week right ... hahaha jia yo

melody : i dunno bout d angbao for d gatecrashing coz none of my sisters understand bout this chinese tradition .. lucky for my FH n his brothers
but for d MUA, PG n VG i think i will give 20 each ... i dunno d market rate leh ...

btw, r u brides do some meni pedi before d wedding ? where r u going to do it n usually how much will it cost ? doing on d wedding day or before d wedding day ? a bit blur bout this ..
need help, thanks

i tink its ok to use songs used by frens before.. coz most of the time other than the couple themselves, the guests will nt rmb what march-in song was used after the wedding..

haha jo_vin, my mum also like urs... everything say dun need, keep it simple.. whereas im the one reading up and ensuring certain traditional stuff we get.. haha..

if i got no younger bro, only have elder sis, get who to open door? cousins or nephews ar? also, my elder sis not married, she got to leave the hse before FH come fetch me? At night can she site at the red cloth table with my parents?

anyone knows what to do the 1st time opening the door to new house? gonna get my house keys soon and duno what to do... need to pick good day to open? just check calendar for "ji" ri can le?

today went to spotlight to check out the materials for DIY ang pao box and guestbook.. waa the materials all very exp lei.. like the rhinestone alphabets $5 each. lidat the 2 items will end up being very exp wor.. how are u gals gonna settle your ang pao box and guestbook?

sandy, dun worry i also alot of things haven do.. jiemei stuff totally haven touch.. haven meet up to plan also.. cham..

jane, i had something like that on my head for my PS.. u can take a look on my multiply.. it's not bad, like a flowery hairband..

btw, on GDL day, any timing for FH to arrive at my hse? can i be ard or need to hide in room? Return gifts includes the 2 bottles of syrup thingy, oranges, phoenix candles.. what else? my dowry need to go over same day or can later on? coz my hse nt ready yet, if move all my dowry stuff like bed sheets, pails, suitcase of clothes over i tink my FH house will b very messy.. haha..

Jojo, yup, can get younger cousins or nephew.. Hey jojo, did u manage to see the alpahbet 'A'? I'm still short of it and now dont know what to do le. So sad.. Haiz.. So did u end up buying anything? As for the other qns, i also dont know.. Haha.. Must ask Jane to come n explain. Think she super expert liao.. Haha..

Jane Jane, where are u! We need help!

hey gals, the unglam thing for teochews is the MIL will put a flower on the bride's hair during tea ceremony.. meaning is I on top of ur head lah.. u next time must listen to me..

aiya.. my point of view is dun bother to fang lian with MIL during tea ceremony.. if so.. it will show that u DIL never respect her and give her face... in front of all relatives somemore... just let them (MILs) do whatever they want.. does it matter that she put flower on ur head, u confirm will listen to her next time? haha.. this is taught by my colleague who let her MIL put the flowers and now still heck care of MIL.. sometimes listen to those experienced married ones.. always got not bad advice.. hehhe..

just settled my jiemeis' dresses.. got them from the BS.. hehehe.. 4 of them confirmed their dresses.. very nice..
will review the album layout again next weekend.. and 2 more weeks.. GDL.. all done.. :D only left oranges haven't buy yet.. :D

hi all BTBs..

my wedding is on 24th Dec..
bridal studio: Jazz B
venue: Peony Jade
AD photographer: CK

multiply id: amberkoh

happy to see so many dec brides here.. hmm.. but none on xmas eve ...

YO FREN
didnt came in for quite sometime. Jeslyn and mrs chiew we are all on the same day so let all be a happy bride and take care ok!!!