(2008) Brides of year 2008

jolene428

okok.. hmmm i thk i buying frm bengawang solo.. haha those marble cake.. damn authentic.. my brother ordered buttercake tt time but no more liao...

can anyon check out my multiply and tell me if ya seen the wine before? I tried it and thk its pretty good quality wor.. abt $28nett after gst etc per bottle from Rasa.. i heard its from Aussie..

jolene428

ehh i thk 2 barrels of beer is common leh... my brother that time is 2 barrels of beer and 1.5 bottles per table...

i thk its normal ba...my HB was telling me must be prepared to pay alot for the alcohol.. but hopefully sunday ppl dont drink too much...

jolene428

haha no wonder :p

keke.. i thk i m the few idealistic ones who choose venue with a story to tell abt the marriage ;P heehee...

jialat.. i forgot to include the theme in the cards, if i tell them in my sms-reminder 1 wk prior to the wedding together with the bus pickup points.. do u thk will be too late?

lilacbliss07

keke the beer just 1 of the tins to look for le.. mainly is the ballroom.. if i like the place but ballroom not nice den i nv choose.. keke... happen to i like my hotel's ballroom and package is superb.. hehe...

hmmm wat theme is urs? must wear special clothes or bring special item?

jolene428

heehee.. actually hor, i thk my other choices of hotel will burn my pocket oso LOL i like intercon ballroom lor...... haha.. but i love the sea more ^^ If can have beach wedding is perfect.. but cant.. upset.. anyway better than dun have...

theme ah... keke enchanted wedding by the sea. so everyone can come looking like a princess or wearing flowing dresses ^^ haha...

i m still worried some stupid guests think its a beach wedding and wear t-shirt and shorts 0__0

vernwyen

happiness:
tat's sweet of you! i tot of singing a song for my hubby but in the end no guts.. haha!

crown:
saw the news ytd tat the typhoon is pretty bad... better stay indoors for your own safety. Hopefully it will pass soon.

msbean:
your AD tomorrow right? All the best ya! Keep smiling
Anyway, until the BQ day still got ppl fly kite wan... my ex-colleagues only half table filled up -_-" take it easy ya....

ahnet:
very lucky of you to earn so much profit!

green:
add mi!
03 Nov (Mon) Outing - Green, Rach, Crown, spoiltbabe

lilacbliss07

hmmm i tin quite hard le.. den guys wear wat?? i feel even if u tell them abt the theme.. not everyone will follow the theme.. and the theme quite vague.. cant really tell wat's the theme abt... like wat u say pple will tin it's beach wedding and wear beach wear.. keke... personally i also tot it's beach wedding.. haha..

so i just give suggestions le.. based on the magazines.. dun restrict any dress code.. but concentrate more on the ballroom decorations.. and also the invitation cards/wedding favours dat u give out make it related to the theme..

jolene428

keke.. no la.. i just tot as long as my good frens dress up can already.. the rest i dont care.. a princess wedding = just wear jacket for men and gowns for ladies lor

keke. and not like in corporate wear or wat can liao :p but like u said hard to standardised.. but i got a fren she chose oriental theme and most of her guests come in cheongsum! So nice...

sighh... anyway i just pray ppl dun thk its beach wedding...or i will be v upset..

jolene428

but i thk if they thk is beach wedding oso understandable la.. coz its at sentosa and they knw we love a beach wedding.. sianz...

haha.. ok la.. nw i abit turned off.. from alot of thgs i see..

lilacbliss07

haha oriental easier to understand le..

maybe u can state the dress code lor.. better than not stating den end up feeling unhappy coz ur guests wear the wrong attire...

jolene428

who has engaged Angel before for MUA?

she damn attitude lor! She said she is not free to do MUA for me coz i replied her late.. and she got to specially find someone else to take up the job.. but tis person has no portfolio to show me... and said if i not happy with it then find someone else la..

wah lau.. i only asked if he doesnt have website, but has photos to show me or nt lor.. then she gives me tis type of attitude.. angry... make it sound like i cannot do without her.. *fuming*

sigh.. how can i engage a MUA without knwing the standard? i wil kena frm my mother if i get a lousy MUA for her lor..i was even worried to the extent, i thk i only get the MUA for my MIL but nt for my mother.. but worried my mother jealous..coz my SIL got a MUA for her mother but nt my mother... duhz.. family politics.. hate it..

Are u getting MUA for ur mothers?

jolene428

hehe.. i told angel i gg to give bad feedbacks about her on the forum then she becomes very nice like that.. duhz.. not gg to engage her already.. spoilt my mood... such a happy occasion she seems so unhappy.. how to work with such a MUA?

everyone having lunch nw?

lynnqi

Jane: no lah. total need 2 barrels of beer, each table the guests all drunk liao. hehe. Booked my package during their show, tied up with UOB credit card, thus got drinks in total: 1 barrel beer + 1 beer/13wine + 1beer/13wine. Ya choose 1 barrel of beer or 13 bottles of wine.

Jolene: My dinner on sat, thus hub say best 2 bottles wine per table. Maybe you can send a casual SMS to friends, reminding the date and state the dress code. Bengawan solo: any idea how many days in advance we have to order?

jolene428

yaa i thk Sat is 2 bottles per table better.. my brother's wedding was on a Thurs lor.. and already 1.5 bottles a table.. but depends if ur relatives and frens are drinking...

my fren got free 1 bottle a table oso cannot finish lor... even tho its a saturday...

ya i thk when i send reminder sms then maybe just add in the dress code lor
in case la.. but i knw still got ppl will never read sms properly..

Bengawan solo... my brother said 2 wks in advance.. so i thk shld be ok la.. coz i only need 30+ boxes.. unless u are looking at more than 50 boxes... And the cakes are $6.80-$8.80 a box... a whole cake... got fruit cake, chocolate cake, marble cake and banana cake...

lost_in_space

jolene.. i getting MUA for my mum, mil, 2 sil, my emcee, my bf's gf (cos i close to her)..

will have 2 MUAs for the wedding dinner..

for cakes i ordered from choz..

i'm abt 85% complete with the invitation cards.. left a few more names to write.. :D

jolene428

great to hear that! U all still got time la.. i m so tensed up lately
Haizz... lucky my HB less busy nw and can do his guests' portion for me

ehhh anyone's has MUA who charges nt more than $60 for hair and makeup? And maybe $30-$40 for hairdo? Coz i getting MUA to do the hair for my jiemeis and male emcee and makeup and hair for my two mothers and female emcee.. Haiz... worried cannot find anyone nw

Sianz lor.. if my da sao not preggy, she will do for me for free de.. coz she quite a pro MUA
The other pro MUA i know also preggy... wat a year! But i m happy birth rate gona increase!!! :X Waiting for my da sao to intro her MUA frens to me but nt sure if they gd or nt.. coz there was once she and her MUA fren came to do my performance makeup then my dancemates who were makeup by my da sao fren all complained.. haizz.. how ah?

Are u paying for ur jiemeis' MUA?

rayrachel

okok.. we are having more people for outing liaoz.. who else can make it!!

Gals.. we promised to stay in touch even after AD yah?? hehehe.. come come come!

jolene428

so everyone seems busy today...

Lost jiayou with the cards.. i hope we can give all the cards out by this week also.. haizz...

and book the cakes..

dodolet

pin, not really fast liao. We plan according to our work schedules as I am supppose to be more biz at work in late oct to mid dec. Something are easy enough to be diy or done, I will do first. Anyway bf had to go back to work for afew weekends for standby so he asked if anything he can do meanwhile, and the only thing i can think of that is "male" friendly is printing and cutting. ^^

ebride

ok..Mrs Chiew. Tks for the explanation. Better ask mum 1st. Wat do u mean "no more extra angbao end of day"? So yr jie mei getting only gatecrash ang pow only? Btw I was wondering who actually came out wif this gatecrash "custom"? Well jiemei are mostly very close frds or own sister, Im sure they wont juz becoz of the ang pow then agree to be jie mei in the 1st plc. The amt is juz a figure but friendship means even more..Agree a-not..heheh

jo_vin

Jolene, oh, lian ai pin lu.. Ya, nice song! I think i will sing wrongly most probably. Cos everytime practise, everytime also forget lyrics. Haha.. Stress ah!! But hubby says nvm la, at most guests laugh lor. He can even say its even better!! OMG!!
Saw the pics of ur food tasting in Multiply. Glad for u that it turned out great!
Yup yup, guestbook is given by hotel n BS. U c which one nicer than use which one lor. Can customise ur pens also if u want. Actually if u were early, u could have found Lovely Lacey to do for u. But i think she cant take in anymore orders all the way till dec le. Her pens are really lovely.. My ABB also customised de. Cost me $80 for everything. Btw, u can go to IDEAR collection at far east plaza. They do have some ready made ones, quite nice and i think they selling ard $40.

Jane, so that means dowry goT include towels? That means parents must buy for me right? Need to buy for groom also? The boy i ask is my nephew. He's only ard 5yrs old leh.. How ah? Haha.. Jialat... No other males liao le.. All older than me.

Jojo!!!! Thanks!!!! I hope there's really 'A'!!! K, i will go down tonite n take a look. Thanks alot babe!!!

TanLee, haha.. double sided tape. Ur hubby so cute.

Jolene, u alrdy start to give out ur invitation cards! So fast.. Ur AD is beginning of Nov isit? Actually, i think its ok to invite some from this group, n not inviting some from the same grp. Afterall, its ur wedding! I got a fren, initially i was thinking if i should invite her, then she came to me and ask me y i nvr invite her. Hehe.. Paisey, but of cos in the end i got invite her la. So those that really wan to come, they will thick skin ask u de. U have the last say as to who to invite.

My BS will also be providing me with the accessories, so no need to headache over that. Hehe..

I have 6 brothers and 7 jiemeis (maybe 6, cos 1 last min cant cfm). I think its ok de.. wont feel awkward la.

Jane, my guest list also havent finish. Cos of my hubby ah ma. She say i just give her 4 tables can liao. Then the rest she go arrange. Sigh. Headache, dont know how to explain to her. N to make it worse, must wait for my hubby to b back then can confirm things. Sian..

Post the rest when im back. Haha.. rushing off le..

kailing

http://www.coralsearesort.com/

3 nights accomodation in a luxury Coral Sea Suite, including daily tropical braekfast. Dinner for 2 pax in Oceanfront Gazebo and 2 x 1 hour massages.

If you are travelling from Brisbane to Cairns or vice versa, this will make a good stop along the way. Contact me at kaikai19 at yahoo dot com if you are interested. Valid till Dec 10 2008.

kailing

by the way ladies, my wedding is over too! went on almost perfectly but we enjoyed ourselves. That was the most important. seems like there's this talk of angpow money and yes we made a profit too! mother in law was kind enough to give me money for bride's relatives so it kind of upped the angpow money by a fair bit.

lilacbliss07

jo_vin.. dowry got include 1 face towel.. if u go the shop dat i recommend for GDL... the package got include one.. dun have for groom.. den have to get for the groom's parents, grandparents & siblings... by rite uncles and aunites also need.. but i heck care le.. hahaha...

my BS also gt provide the accessories.. but i scared i dun like so buy my own one.. coz those they provide for my PS nt nice le..
haha so young i tin cant le.. how to follow u to ur hubby's hse.. cousins dun have ar?? all older than u?? haha den u just set aside 4 tables for her lor.. den give her 40 invitation cards to fill in the names.. dats wat i did too... den u see u wanna discuss the seating arrangement with her or just plan urself le..

necrosis

nelle,
i like the way you think. more sensible than most in the money chase who later regret not having family time or watching their children grow up.

cynthia,
what job do you do? i also want a job with lots of free time!!! lol..

sotong,
acid in the lab is tightly regulated, i dowan to waste my stock on the %$!@#$!#!

y'day had local PS.
Just for abt 5-6hrs.
Went to Little India and Labrador park.
the day before, weather was so fine and sunset was gorgeous, as expected, on my PS day, was cloudy and no nice sunset. :p
*poof*

babyjj

jane, but if my reno will be half half, den after the 1st half i'll be sort of "moved in" for the wedding day le right? will go back new place to change into Kua before gg back niang jia.. so how ar, when should i do the ru huo thing.. by right should be after the 1st phase reno right? then if reno continues during my honeymoon, just take it as move in liao norm reno? haha i duno also..I only saw 1-sized rhinestones wor..

i need help with DIY-ing guestbook... how to start ar? Hotel and BS guestbook all nt very nice..

jolene, ya i getting MUA for my mum.. my MUA will get her frens to do.. $70 for hair and make-up..

2 bottles of wine per table?? so much ar.. my hotel only giving 1 per table.. and we having 60 tables... omg need to buy so much later cant finish how..

today i distributed invites to my colleagues le.. FH will distribute to his this wk too.. our frens invites ready le, this wkend will buy stamp paste and mail out.. table seating arrangements we agar agar plan finish for our guests le.. parents tables they'll settle the invites themselves..

the open car door boy i intend to ask my cousin.. he's 16 but i tink taller than my FH.. how ar? weird not.. but my cousins all teenagers already..

i cant decide on colour theme for jiemeis lei.. duno wan pink or off-white.. initially din wan white coz dun wan them to b same as me.. haha..

santhogk

This thread is going very fast, can hardly catch up...haha..wow, u ladies sending out cards?? i just start writing..plan to finish by this week and send out next week...worry too early, people will forget..
Manage to take out all the wording on the photos layout...will review it again this thurs.. :))
Jolene, your outdoor photos are very natural...nice...which is your BS??

santhogk

Jojo, better to get consignment for wine, not finish can return..my hotel recommend 1.5 bottle per table for weekend dinner.

Not to worry abt your cousin height, i don't think it looks weird for him to be taller..

flora_bliss

Cynthia> I guess everyone one of us has their down days. Maybe next time when you feel like flaring up, you try and calm yourself 1st (e.g. breathe deeply, drink a cool drink etc...). Like wat the other gals said, this is just a temporary phase. His busy days will be over after the exhibition. After tat he'll be able to give you his attention again.

I've been really busy this year with work, biz trips and study so din have much time to spend with FH. Fortunately he is very understanding. So I keep reminding myself that I'll have to do the same when it's his turn to be busy.

jo_vin

Jane, yaya! I also looked at the ballroom! N i super like Sheraton's ballroom. Even thou its L-shaped, but it has very high ceiling and also intelligent lights. I think very nice. Hehe.. Another reason i signed up also because of their wedding favor. Hehe..

Jolene, wah, i like ur fren's wedding! Oriental theme and the guests come in cheongsam. Really so nice... Yaya, u should state ur dress code, else later ppl really turn up in bermudas and t-shirts how?

Jane, haha, i also intend to give to groom's parents, grandparents and siblings only. Walau, if must buy for uncles and aunties must buy how many!! Haha.. Ok, so that means dowry got the towel for bride from mum. Then do i have to get for the groom? Sorry huh, i really very blur leh..
Ya lor, no choice. Anyway, wait till my hubby comes back then we'll see how. Cos we'll be gg to his ah ma's house to discuss the details. Really very sian. I getting quite bek cheg recently le. Why isit that when we're getting married, he is away? Why isit that when we're getting married, he just go overseas to work and all the things let me do? Argh!!

U gals all so nice. Help ur mum get MUA. But i dont have to do that, cos i think my mum is 'heow' enuf, n she will find for herself. Else she will makeup herself also. Haha..

Jolene, maybe u can set as light purple? I think thats a very nice colour too! Ur AD is 2nd Nov right? Tats y u sending out invites now?

Sandy, i also havent done my invites yet. Also worried send too early ppl will forget. I will only start sending out after my hubby comes back n settle his tables then we'll all send out together.

jojo, really thanks alot for telling me stocks have come for the alphabet!!! When i went down today, there was only 1 last piece left!! Thanks!!!

pinky81

Jolene^^ (jolene428): Actually hor, I don't mind if they turn up in Bikinis! *Whistle* If they dress casually, it would mean you are the prettiest on that day! No one to fight with you. I wouldnt mind what they dress lah... Since it is hard to change their mindset to go according to the theme, especially the older people. Mine is held on a Wednesday. Maybe I put in a "Office wear" Theme? LOL. Sure wont go wrong.

FOr me, I have engaged tin who happens to stay in the western part of Singapore too. Not too bad, according to mom, but I expect more hair designs from her. I have yet to see her, only mom did, during her trial make up.

For MIL, I engaged Jace. MIL insisted that she does not need a trial because she finds it too wasteful. Sigh... Hope it turn out bad. Worse come to worse, ask my MUA to help to rectify since she will be with me till the second change.

pinky81

Jane: I just need a necklace to wear on my neck only. Not too sure if the flowers I wear in the day can match my Kua. Shall discuss with my Florist. Thank god you asked! Or else, I would not have thought about this.

fruittea80

Hello ladies, haven't been logging in for awhile and you people are really fast in all your preps! I must say I'm quite stress now after reading all your posts...most of you almost done with your invites liao. My AD on 2 Nov and I haven't started writing leh! I better be more discipline and start doing so on the PH this Wed, otherwise I don't think I can find time to meet up with my different groups of friends to hand them the invites personally. =p

Btw, I went to OG to get bedsheets, quilt cover, pillows and towels last Sat cos they having the annual member application now. For the GDL towels for PIL, the saleslady told my mum only need to get 1 bath towel each when my mum originally wanted to get a set with another face towel. The lady said now modern style most people get 1 only, she had seen many BTBs do so. Most of you only getting 1 towel for each family member? I heard we need to buy a pair of new pants/bermudas for our HTB, true?

I probably going Chinatown area to get my tea set, yuan(2) qian(2) and bedside lamps this week. Not likely to get the basins, potty etc but hope I won't get psycho'ed to buy like some of you. Have also settled my bridesmaid dresses rental arrangement last Sun, brought them down to try and take measurements. Many more things to catch up for my new flat and wedding preps but I'm enjoying the process, so mao(2) dun(4) haha =p

vivaliciousviv

<font color="aa00aa">wah.....so many pple here made profits...so envious!! mine made a great loss but well...forget it....haaaa</font>

<font color="ff0000">sadly i doubt (3/11/08)i can make it....tt day gt work...haiz....</font>

<font color="0000ff">i only uploaded some pix in Multiply taken by myself (hp) or by my sis in law...haaa....</font> - ID = <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">crayonv</font></font>

babyjj

heehee.. glad u managed to get ur alphabet, jo_vin.. :p

sandy, u know much abt getting consigned wine? What's the norm terms/price/package like?

what colour themes are you gals having for jiemei attire? i haven settled their attire yet lei... this part very headache.. duno what colour i wan them to be in also..

~sblbee~

cheryl,
heheheh....it was horrible cos i had to travel frm 1 side of sg to another side....den had to go to 9 different places.....wif more than 20+ boxes of cakes to deliver :p
thanks for ur booklet again!

~sblbee~

nec,
i saw d pics frm multiply n u look gorgeous, i simply love those shots taken at little india, it's sth dat i always wanted....but den not enuff time for me
i love ur coffeeshop n road n walking along d shops pics....they r simply fantastic

providencia

Nelle, loved the way you described how the relationship should be, makes me stop to think and not take anything for granted.

Nec, photos are out? Ha ha, will go and see in multiply, esp after how Mei describes them.

Weather's not too good today, hope no one is having PS.

pinjie8275

sotonglet,
hahaha....
I also have a schedule to follow but bcos of the change of honeymoon plans (we too concentrate leh), many actions such as room reno/painting are being delayed... Hence now have to rush to finish up... -_-!!

Btw, any ladies know which bridal magazines have more gowns photos? Style Wedding? W&amp;T? Her World Brides?

hello pin&amp;jie
for gowns pic, i prefer those magazines from US, can't remember what is the name of the magazine.. =D

hello florabliss..
shame on myself... sob sob..i am not so understanding and react so negatively...have lernt a lesson.. hmmmm

thanks gals for your listening "ear"...

hi nec
my job is very seasonal, drastic change between peak and off peak...when i am in my peak, i can work non stop for more than 12 hours a day..but when i am having down time like now...i am practically siting here and catch flies.

flora_bliss

Cynthia> Nothing to be shame about. We all had our weak moments and requires support from our partners. Perhaps you wanna explore getting a new interesting hobby? Tat should get your mind off for a while.