(2008) Brides of year 2008

lilacbliss07

Jo_vin.. i also like perfect moment.. but my fren used it in their wedding le.. u tin can i use the same song?? wait they say i copy.. LOL...

destiny is by jim brickman and a lady cant rem the name.. keke... quite nice le.. btw the hens party is paid by individual lor.. not by the bride le.. of coz if u wanna pay for them they will be happier.. keke...

jazzy_chimes

Jane ... hee .... I'm sure your friend will understand if u use the same song ... I'm also using the Perfect Moment as my 2nd march-in ... when I first heard the song a few years ago, I have already decided that if I get married, that has to be my march-in song. Last year when I attended my colleague's wedding, she also used the same song as her first march-in. So in order to avoid so-called "copying", I switched the order lor, used as 2nd march-in

nelle

Just to check the following still going?

1) Cynthia Tan
2) florabliss
3) fionachua
4) MeiLinG
5) msclaire (probably)
6) nec
7) nelle
8) providencia (probably)

Did I miss out anyone?

fionachua83

Wao finally all of us finish our PS liao rite? Anyone still haven take?

Flora, glad tat ur PS went well the weather was great yesterday saw ur pic liao love ur black gown.

nelle, i am going today.

lilacbliss07

hmmm icic.. i like the song my valentine.. but i used it during my ROM.. so dun wanna use it again le.. keke.. ya perfect moment very romantic.. keke...

flora_bliss

Ya, was telling meiling, I was very lucky yesterday. Actually the black gown was only my 2nd choice. But fortunately it turn out to be nice, if not I'll cry.

Nelle, I'll be there tdy but will have to leave early to go back to office to settle some wk.

this morning, the rain is very heavy...all my clothes wet..the floor was flooded with muddy water. shoes also wet.. I look very messy now...

i am still thinking shall i go home and change? haiz...

lynnqi

Just want to check with you all. My mum has been mentioning some traditions, which me and hub has never heard b4.

My mum insists on this:
After tea ceremony at Bride's side, there will be an ang bao giving time to all my relative's kids (my nephew and nieces, include cousin's kids). Even if the kid not there, must still give ang bao to the parent. Is there really such a thing???

Mum unhappy but say dont have then dont have:
Bride's relatives (not 1, but whoever willing to send me over) will accompany bride over to groom's place for tea ceremony.
Thought usually only our jiemeis and bros only, plus the 'matchmaker'?

bedazzle

xtrogal,

depends on the demographics of your guests leh. I had a friend who had her wedding dinner on sat. 45 tables. By the end of the 2nd course, they already consumed over 70 bottles of red wine. But i think it slowed down after tt.

Mine is sunday, so cannot compare. Only drank 1 bottle per table.

Also nowadays pple drive, so they seldom drink too much, maybe only 1 glass.

btw, try not to serve wine during cocktail reception. that's to save you money. cos cocktail is when pple drink most. n they always waste by drinking a bit then put down.

pinjie8275

Hi erlina

I thought is normal for the selected edited photos to be returned to us? I think is a common practice in the industry leh? -_-?

Any one got a different experience other than Erlina?

fionachua83

wao today gathering only 6 persons become lesser n lesser.

Cynthia, u enough time to rush hm to change? Ur work place near ur house if so then should not be a problem unless veri far.

ermmm

Pin&Jie : I also dunno why, but he said he doesn't.. then no choice already lar.. too late..
At least he does give us the softcopy by next wk..

baobei123

hmm.. ya need to give ang bao for relatives' kids but i am not sure those not ard need to pass to their parent anot...

i think ur bro need to follow u over to ur hubby's hse.

kellyduffy

just pop in to say hi... very busy recently in office so no time to write and post on multiply..

just had food tasting on Wed nite.. food okay.. mainly is want to change the way the sauce that is with the fish.. too spicy le.. other than that quite okay..

still have many things to be done.. did painting the room last sunday, but need to do the touch up tmr.. GDL stuff still not yet buy.. inserts collected but not yet write..

oh.. i am going to be early bride also.. hubby leave his place at 6am.. haha.. i need to wake up at 3 plus..

i am using "a whole new world " for 1st march in.
the other songs not confirm yet..any songs to recommend..?

vernwyen

wow... very long din come in to check this thread out liao... still so active ya

green:
hmm, 27 is a PH eh... Deepavali is brought forward to 27 instead of 28. But hor i also cant attend coz still in egypt
enjoy yourselves ya!

xtrogal:
yup yup, tat very much depends on your guests. Ours was a sunday lunch, had 240pax and consumed 25 red wine, 2 barrel of beer (20litre) and half bottle of liquor (it was a damn big bottle dunno where my FIL got it from).

happiness:
VIP tables are usually for father's side relatives, it's quite a standard tradition bah coz father's side is considered 'more important'. Your relatives on your mum's side will understand

lilacbliss07

tanlee.. i noe muz give the kids ang bao.. bt nv hear before if the kids not there muz pass to parents wor.. i tin dun need le.. like dat u save also..

relatives dun need accompany u to groom's hse coz they muz stay at ur hse to prepare for ur returning ma.. den u must get a male cousin if u dun have brother to open the car door for ur hubby.. and also before u return hm there's some stuffs he needs to bring to u.. so someone muz go fetch him to the groom's hse..

jolene428

yoz! back frm my event... wow.. everytime i disappear come back then the thread already super long :p

hehe! my food tasting is great!!!!! pinky81: did u take the cod fish or red guropa? In the end we chose the red guropa coz the codfish got the frozen feeling! :p tho ALOT of meat lorrr... thick slices of cod fish! And the chef promise the AD food will be as good portion as yest! Wahhh eat until cannot finish lor! I think each had at least 2 prawns and still got 6-7 prawns left 0__0 everyone too full liao.... the food all in big portions!!! yummy.. gg to upload the photos tonite in multiply then u all see ^^

i tot my hotel coordinator said she went off le but thk she is nice enough to stay till i reached and we chatted abit and my in-laws thought me and her are good frens! So funii.. i thk exchanges of emails works! We even have free singer and musicians to sing us 2 songs! Nice... thinking of engaging them for my cocktail session

jane = i thk hor it's common to reuse songs for wedding march in.. keke coz there arent many suitable songs too :p Few of the songs I am considering for my march in also used by my frens before..like: a whole new world and i think i... i even have frens who sang collin raye - love me for the bride during the thank u speech. But hor, we still cant think of wat songs to use... but do u thk i sing a chinese song for 2nd march in is weird? Actually my salsa instructor was asking if i wan a salsa march in.. but then my train is SOOOOOOOO long... 2-3metres.. hw to dance?! haizz.. wait for her to be back in sg and check with her ba :p maybe she knws waltz or smthg...i thk waltz is very nice...princessy too!!!

jo_vin: Think will be find to have mega hens' nite but just nt sure where the others are opened abt it ^^ But of coz ur frens may have thought of smthg for u already ^^ How do u want to learn ur exotic dances? At a pte function room or at a workshop? ERmm i personally learnt it before so if u wan to have a exotic dance workshop (or anyone else here), i can recommend a studio lor...

As for who pay for the hens' nite ah, i thk its up to individual.. that time me and my frens brought a bride out for fish spa and high tea and she secretly went to pay for it... when it meant for us to give her a treat.. aiyoh..But i thk will be nice if bride treats but i knw frens will nt wan the bride to pay for everythg too
So best is if ur frens pay for the hens' nite then give thm a bigger angbao at the AD lah ^^

jolene428

give the kids angbao tt one is a must i thk. I heard my frens said before.. parents nt sure.. tot they giving u angbao instead during tea ceremony?

and i thk if u have a YOUNGER brother, he has to bring somethg with him ( a basket of thgs... i thk i saw baby powder or smthg to do with babies ) and follow u ard.. esp if u have a new hse ^^ my frens younger brother did tt and he put the basket at her new hse before he goes home..

and open door that one, i thk any youngest male kid in the hsehold can liao...
dont have male cousins or brothers then oso no choice..ask ur fren's child lor :p Aiyoh.. my HB there the youngest cousin so notti so he said rather get the older one to open door.. so funi.. already gg JC liao still open door... i heard i got a fren the youngest male in the family is 20s... lagi funi... my household the youngest cousin oso v notti..i duno who my mum will choose.. haha..

and also 1 male kid to jump ur bed..HAHAHA...

~sblbee~

so is it on or off???? now left wif 5 of us....florabliss gtg off earlier due to her conference call....so it's nelle, fionachua, florabliss, sotonglet n myself?

jolene428

oops.one more thg.. i realised the wok fried prawns also with the shells but we kept that coz the chef said if want to de-shelled will cook in gong bao style and using frozen prawns.. sounds bad.. so we decided to keep the prawns as it is... its butter wok fried... yummy...

lilacbliss07

jolene.. open door one dun have to be kid le.. by rite is ur brother.. if no brother den male cousin lor... 20+ also can le.. y will be funny??

and it's the same brother who bring u the stuffs to ur new hse/hubby's hse.. go those GDL shops they will tell u wat tins to buy..

~sblbee~

fionachua,
i think for her, it depends on whether she can complete her experiment ba....so cannot confirm now oso :p

jac,
im gona apply for hdb flats....y?

of cos on lar...
majority still can make it mah...

i really looks very shabby now...shoes stink like hell..

i will rush home and update meiling..

ahnetsan

im back!!! my AD is over!!!!!! phew!!!!!!!!

hmm, i must say tat i'm very proud of myself and my hubby.. heehee. also must thank my jiemeis and his xiongdis. without them, our wedding wont be so smooth...

surprisingly, we made a profit from our banquet dinner. a few k.
my vip and relatives tables we din chip in. plus my hubby's frens ap we din use to chip in too. but in the end, our banquet dinner still got make profit. and we paid it all in cash the next day.

a few aunties gave 1k ap for the banquet dinner. the biggest ap from my side (frens/colleagues) i had was $500. the least i received is $80. the average both me and my hubby received (from frens and colleagues) are $250-300. luckily there were no big sweep tickets or tissue papers in our ap.

as for the wine control, we had very super good xiongdi to be in charge. in the end, we only paid for extra 7 bottles of red wine. as for hard liquor, we din use up all too. still got balance.

as for tea ceremony, we also made a profit, cos my father's side relatives gave me 'personal' ap and plus the tea ceremony, we actually made profit. after deducting the money used for gatecrashing, and jiemeis and xiongdis, we still made profit. dat's very good and surprising for us.

rayrachel

crown> how was hokkaido?? fun?? hehe... really regret gg to Korea.. should have gone to Japan instead.. hahah.. :p

viv> i think as long as both side parents are fine and happy with it.. its good loh...
my side.. my parents kept the relatives AP..coz they paid for all the relatives table + we give them 7 tables.. so they kept all those AP..
relatives passed to them direct anyway... they dun throw into the AP box.. haha....
For IL side...they didnt pay for the tables.. so we just keep all the rest of the AP... everything ours... still not enough to cover the tables...
so... my dad gave me another $30k to pay for everything loh....then we breakeven.. siao hor?? we spent about $60K in total for the whole wedding..

ahnetsan

i will upload the video highlights in multiply for all to see.haha.

im glad everything is over. everything went so smoothly to my surprise.

jolene428

orhh..

i thk is the perspection i had from the weddings i went to.. always the youngest male to open the door... and normally very young de.. nt more than 15 yrs old... and then its the first time i knw a brother must follow the car to ur hse with the thgs.. i thk normally my other frens dun have younger brothers tts why they nv do tt part..

ahnetsan

i must really thank my jiemeis and xiongdis...

i actually had no 'feel' throughout the wedding day... i only had the chills and excitement feeling just before the 1st march in.... gosh, the feeling is indescribable. but somehow, i couldnt hear the march in songs at all. guess my mind was blank liao.

and during the solemnisation, i was nervous and keep wanting to laugh, but must control, cos scare the JP will scold me.

when it comes to phototaking at every table, really must thank the xiongdis. they do everything swee swee for us.

in short, everything was smooth-sailing and great!!!

btw, after the whole dinner was over, when we and xiongdis and jiemeis were in my bridal suite, i actually cried. and i cried for a super super long time. guess i finally released all emotions out... too emo too... all cry out.

also very tipsy, cos frens made me drink a few glasses, all with mixed things. sucks lor.

but everything was ok. super nice.

no loss, made profit. JMs and XDs are all very onz. and my hubby also very good host. he was alone entertaining all the guests while me and a JM stayed in the room all the way until it was time for 1st march in den only i came down.

rayrachel

Happiness> come la... after work just join us loh.. hehe..

for the VIP tables..doesnt matter that ur mum & dad side sit together... its okay de..

For ours, we had:

Bridal Table: MIL, FIL, SIL, BIL, his godma, my dad, my mum, and us! only 9 people.. but we leave it as it is.

VIP Table: My Godma, 2 of my dad's side relatives, 2 of my mum's bro, my dad's brother, and i forgot who liaoz.. but we had 10 la.. mixture of my dad & mum's relatives..

i didnt put whole family..only the guy will sit at the table..those no guy then their wife..the children sit elsewhere with all the rest of the cousins la..

xtrogal> i had 70 tables.. we opened 69 bottles of red wine.. we didnt cater for white.
If you go to ur supplier..he should be able to advise how many you need.. we had a lot of compliments on our red wine..
many commented its really nice..
$17.12 ($16+) from Parkers Wine at Clarke Quay area..opposite Hong Lim Park..

if you have 23 tables.. how many of ur guests are wine drinker? I would think you would need at least 35 bottles.. since its sat.. mine was a Monday..
and because of our poor service rendered by BQ, many guests would have drunk more...if the drinks were really filled on time.

Viv> ooh. u mean ur mum didnt get to keep the no. of tables of AP from their side issit? u mean u had intended to pay for 15 tables for them?? thats alot!!
if it was..then yah... they should get back 15 tables worth of AP.

6 cartons meaning 12 bottles each?thats a lot wor.. we only consumed 6 cartons for 71 tables.. hahaha.. but then again..
we had poor service staff who didnt bother to pour drinks.. sigh....

crown> hahaha... ^5! I also got it on the day of departure.. so sianz... so uncomfortable on the way back in the plane.. sianz...
but its a good thing for us..coz we dun want yet.. 2 more years.. hehehe.. :p

dor> ya loh.. we didnt serve wine and beer during cocktail.. starts only after 1st course.. hehe.

oh... we had 50l of beer consumed...
1 30l barrel and 1 20l barrel...

we bought hard liquor but nobody knows where it was left..and it was all left untouched! hahaha...

spoiltbabe> how do u know when is deepavali ah? hehe..can change de ah?? wah.. okay.. so that monday is a hols??
then i might not be able to leh.. PH wanna spend time with family.. heheh...

i beg to differ.... the brother of mum is a very high rank leh... they should be sitted at the VIP table also wor...
at least for my mum side.. brother of mum is very ""BIG" one.. hehe...
and its younger bro.. not older somemore.... but be it older or younger...its "BIG"..

Ah Net> tats a very good news!! hehee.. so nice to have such big AP... well.. i was told coz of my venue.. the amt of AP is relatively low..
but then.. its not that cheap also ma.. hahaha... people tot its only $400-$500 per table... faint loh.. if its the restaurant maybe la.. but we are holding it at the ballroom loh..
sianz.. but well.. its over..and glad that its all over la.. hehe..

Happy for u then..u complain so much.but u are the most fortunate among us here.. hahaha..

Congrats!

So envious that everyone has cleared the big event!
Now only got me still left on the shelf...

I don't have anything to do now for wedding. What things can I do this month? In Oct, then I send out E-invitation to friends.

When should I let both sides' parents meet up? 2 months before AD to discuss GDL?

lilacbliss07

ic.. it all depends how old is ur brother or male cousin le.. tis one cannot say one ma.. its quite norm for the brother to bring the basket to the new hse/groom's hse.. only diff is some is ask the brother to follow along.. others is only before the bride go back to her hse den ask someone to fetch the brother...

bedazzle

Net,
congrats!! where was your venue? you lucky gal, your friends and relatives are really good to you. they treat u as someone important, tt's why willing to splurge on ang bao to you...

rach,
wah... spend so much... I only spend 30k after deducting all the angbaos... better than I expected liao. heng ah...

dodolet

Hm..so far pretty good bah.. I think i have too much time at hand that i have diy my own wrist corsages, ring pillow and unity candle. Not to mention diy printing of my own cards (church and dinner inserts). Bought most of the diy stuff from textile center and at pretty cheap price too.

Good thing about having small banquet hall, though..It makes my confirmation list ezier, as i need about 20 tables to hit the min...^^". Rest of the people i cannot squeeze into my dinner goes to my church.. so i got excuse saying dinner for relatives and helpers and current team mates at work, and church is for everyone else...

I think i be abit more ks and just book my rom date online by this month bah...LOL

lilacbliss07

haha its ok la.. just for your info.. and the one whom open the car door muz be a guy from the bride's side one... so cannot ask ur hubby's cousin.. only ur brother/cousin/nephews..

jolene428

hahaha this one I know.. i dont thk the male side wana go female side to open door oso...haha crossing of territory..

i tot of smthg funi to comment on the relative following the female to the male's hse :p I know normally there is a matchmaker but the relative i am nt sure la.. but of coz some matchmakers are relatives... but maybe the mother want to give the impression 'i m watching over u' whn ask the relatives to follow to male side to ensure the ceremony is done nicelY :p or to show tt 'we have ppl here, dont ask the bride to do funi rituals'.. coz hor.. ermm... due to teochew traditions.. my grandaunt told my sis in law to do smthg ermmm.... unglam