(2008) Brides of year 2008

been inactive for a while. school work keeping me away. so many assignments n tests! but having my term break now. =)

talkin abt houses, i'm also hoping to get my own soon. but MIL says now prices too high. paying higher instalments. so might as well stay with them first n wait for price to drop.. so do't think i'll be balloting anytime soon. though FH n i were aiming for the DBSS in simei..

was talking to sue and asking for opinions.
gg for 2nd fitting on coming fri. to try WG, EG n outfits for photoshoot. at first i planned to get my mum, sis n best pal to go with us. but was thinking if it's too many ppl. but then again whenever i try gown, FH always say ok lor, quite nice. kinda not very helpful.. so i'm at a lost. dunno what to do.

sue suggested i just go with FH to avoid too many conflicting views from so mny ppl. i agree with her. but on second thought, worrying that FH will not be able to help give constructive comments. how?

and anyone has nice PS location to recommend?

Hi Truff,

You just have to go to any shop & tell them you want to purchase the wedding invitation card. It will just take them max 1 hour to prepare the cards. The price range is from $10 to $15 dollars if I remember correctly.

koyoyo,
i may b interested in d montage...let me discuss wif my fh cos cant do solemnisation as it's on d same day...

btw, do u think there's a need to have a pre-wedding video to capture ur PS moments? i was keen but hoe, it means another $400 more

boon keng is gd wat? go for it

lex,
my multiply id is sblbee...u can add me ok?

sue,
i want d file...send me pls...

cacky,
wah....v fast but at least it gives u more time to plan other stuff when d major things r settled...im so scared of my gown fitting on tis coming sunday...hehehe :P
oh, i love tung lok food...dun worry, im sure ur guests will b pleased wif d food stds, most frens n colleagues rave abt d food frm d tung lok grp...

mrs kel,
i understand....it's getting busier by d day...same here
i hope to get d dbss in amk...heard it's gona b released soon....i'll have more chance cos it's near my fh's parents

oh for d fitting, i was told not ask so many ppl to go as it'll crowd d place, had asked 3 frens, my mum n my fh's mum to go along wif us, guz have to change my plans liao
same here, my fh everything oso say nice which i cant make up my mind :P
u can go to changi broadwalk, botanic gdn, punggol, sentosa, fullerton, esplanade etc

Hi Mrs Kel, have fun with ur fitting this fri n rem to take some pics n share with us okay.... n like what Sue's suggested, gg with ur FH is safer cos others' comment u might nt wanan have... that is what i personally thought...

Cacky, TL food are nice and the standard is always there so dun stress urself alrite... i believe ur guests will like it...

Koyoyo, what dream thingy u went to??? i also wanna see ley...

Sue, how's ur fitting on sat??
Girls, i am going for fitting later this afternoon so really praying hard that i can find something suitable... else dunno what to do le...

not yet...seem like very hard to fix on certain dates...not much response wor...
any suggestions?

wat abt setting for sat bfast? on 15th mar?

lex,
i suppose u're hunting for videographers now...
i guess it's true that TWP is kinda pricey but i like their style and i felt i could trust the girls with my AD... i also checked with forest productions ,fabian lim (& dawn) photography, brilliant pic and aterlier X and the 1st 3 were already booked for my date.

i don't have that many quotes to compare but Aterlier X is not that much cheaper than TWP. which place did u shortlist on your side? i think the popular ones will be booked very quickly so better hurry ok~
i believe prices have gone up quite abit since last year too...that's what some of the videographers told me... everything is getting more exp! sigh...

if you're willing to consider TWP maybe you could set up an appointment to view their works. i wasn't prepared to spend alot either but after seeing their works i was quite impressed and thinking about going through another round of searching/getting quotes and etc i just decided we should go with them and get it out of the way~ =P

my photographer strongly recommended Substance films(with Yang) but i didn't managed to get in touch with them, perhaps u could check? (no biz affiliation btw them by the way) =P

oh yes, and one of my good friends had Vocare Media at her wedding and Sam Tan was really friendly and nice to work with. Her video clips came out very well done too! Maybe u can consider them as well! I would have gotten them if not for the fact that our wedding venues are at the same place (her wedding was only 3 months ago)and we have some common friends and i want to differentiate our weddings as much as possible.

my package with TWP includes Live Music Journal, AD 10hrs videography, and express highlights (extended version)
if you sign up for 2 presentations (like i did) you get 10% off, and apparently there's another 10% discount you could get if you could hook up with another couple. Someone from this forum actually contacted me and we are trying to get the additional discount from TWP.

keep me updated ok!

Hi Truff, for the traditional wedding cake, you can get it from this shop near maxwell hawker. It's along the row of shophouses nearer to ann siang hill, facing south bridge road. They sell traditional cantonese pastries for wedding. Think name is Tong Heng.

hi cacky i just noticed u're using Plush photography!
i just saw eadwine's photos and they're beautiful!!!

i spent like 2 hrs on sat night going through his blog looking at his photos!

Finally adding mine...

axeljes - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Gate - Bliss Bridal
feilinc - 1/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - Di Gio
Missyheng - 1/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Venus Bridal
piggytinky - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Phoenix - J & M Design
dreamymi - 1/3/2008 - The Cathay Resturant - Thomson wedding
janyen - 1/3/2008 - St Mary of the Angels church & Grand Hyatt Singapore - Venus Bridal
moomooland - 4/3/2008 - Orchard Hotel - French Bridal
caramel980 - 8/3/2008 - Wesley Methodist Church & One Rochester - Dang Bridal
Mary - 8/3/2008 - Yan Qing Shanghai Restaurant @ Chijmes - Bridal ZOne
muffin - 8/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - French Bridal
poopy - 8/3/2008 - Oriental - Sattine Bridal
purpleclouds - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Bliss Bridal
tummykitten - 8/3/2008 - Raffles Town Club -SeletarBraodway
vysweetapple - 8/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel- Graceful Image
dopeydodo - 8/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - TED WU
durianpuff - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - D'sire
small_bun - 8/3/2008 - S'pore Expo - L@ Belle Couture
090308bride - 9/3/2008 AD - 10/3/2008 - Intercon - Ala carte
bedime_bear - 9/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Santiago Bridal
Jesteress - 9/03/2008 - Traders Hotel - Golden Horse Awards
laura_yaya- 9/03/2008 - Carlton Hotel - French Bridal
sylvia - 9/03/2008 - The Laguna
Violet - 9/3/2008 - Club Chinos - Digio
PP - 13/3/2008 - Sheraton Towers - Zweddings
dolphin25 - 15/3/08 - Carlton Hotel (lunch) - Ala carte
elmo - 15/3/2008 - Hilton - Sophia Weddings
Snow - 16/3/2008 - Orential - My Bridal Room
Meepley - 22/3/2008 - Club Chinois - ala carte for gowns
sealy me - 22/03/08 - S'pore Expo - Bridal concept
yu83 - 22/3/08 - peony jade restaurant - z-weddings
spacebar - 22/3/2008 - shangri la rasa sentosa - The Weding Present
Fsling - 23/03/2008 - Holiday Inn Park View - Zz wedding
Yoko - 23/03/2008 - Oriental - Bridal Veil
JV_moments - 23/03/2008 - Hilltop @ CSC - Bridal Concept
KLCC - 23/03/2008 - Grand Copthorne - Bridal Concept
jo82 - 26/03/2008 -Orchard Hotel - Bridal Concept
Junjun - 29/3/2008 - Carlton - White Link
Minolta01 - 29/03/2008 Church Wedding, Lunch Reception
Anabelle - 30/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Whitelink
Jen - 30/3/2008 - The Regent - J& M Design
minolta01 - 30/3/2008 - Holiday Inn Atrium - Di Gio
serlz - 30/3/2008 - Intercontinental - Silverlining
Strawberryangels - 30/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel - Seletar Bway
mscorby - 30/3/2008 - Hua Song Mesuem - D'sire

hey mrs kel,
Sharing with you on my fren experience. She get her best fren to tag along on ps guess wat that fren just stand behind the pg n take photo everytime there is a pose. in the end she get a lot of photo n not at the mercy of BS for photo so i think it a good thg.. anyone wanna help me???
Meiling,
I am charging super low only $48 for montage.. for close fren i consider doing coffeebook (not include in $48) .. but u know i am gettin hitch on same monnth so i prefer u gers gave me the material early...
tinkybell,
the alittledream is a grp of friendly ppl that perform by singing . w either only volin n guitar or grp of 4 w organ too. they voice not bad but their charges i cant afford...Boonkeng is exp so now everytg must budget..

hey girls...just curious, did u gals do any bargaining for the AD PG/VG package? coz like nothing much to neg rite???
and where can i see the portfolio for daniel bah? seems like quite a no. of u have signed up with him!

btw have made slight changes to my dates as well

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

list_of_Dec_brides-.xls (28.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Thanks Meiling for your information. I will take note of it and remind my coordinator at MM.

Thanks shybride for sharing the info. I can work out my budget based on your info.

Hi all, i know this is a little late but my ROM and dinner's gonna be on 29 Feb and I have yet to settle on my walkin music. Any suggestions?

In any case, I realized that there're a few brides getting married on this day. Just out of curiosity, is there any special significance to this date for you gals?

boon keng is really close to town i heard! and close to MRT...
according to a friend the morning traffic is kinda bad but that's usually the case for most places in SG perhaps u could go down one of the mornings to take a look.
gd luck with that and keep us posted ok! ;)

koyoyo..

meh sorry .. misread... Lol... hmm if near suntec then why isn't it good? I think near city quite cool le.. so accessible...

mrs_kel..
I think good idea about good pal and mother/MIL to go for fitting. Cu in case got anything the old folks not happy about, they can point out. Best pal - well, hopefully they can be brutually honest, I mean you might think you look good in a certain outfit cuz it's what you dreamt of but in reality - sometimes it can be quite sobering la.. I mean I always thought I look ok in some outfits then somone points out that another cutting is actually much better.. FH - unless he's really fussy, I find, usually not very constructive in picking out stuff. LoL But really, your choice la.. and what you feel about it.

bluebananas
thanks fot the recommendations, i'm going to take a look and ask for quotations from the rest now
Th problem with me is that I'm really a very impulsive kinda person. I see something that I like - and I just want to get it and get it done.. loL

uksportgal
gah I didn't know pink was second wife loL... but anyway I'm not too traditional la... I see if he dare take second wife! Also because our theme is pink and gold so.. I think nvm la... heheh

meiling
yah a little dream is as koyoyo said, they're basically a sort of like "jazz band" that does quite a fair number of weddings. They're really very very nice and friendly people, and I was really taken by Hsin Yeow's singing. you can relly tell he's very passionate about the songs he sings and there's this really incredible "love" atmosphere that I get from watching them so I think they will do an amazing job for me

hi lex,
yeah same as me! i liked what i saw and tht was it... hahaha... thankfully only 50% deposit... only full payment upon delivery...not so painful for the pocket.

good luck!!! im currently looking for cupcakes to put at my reception...another round of searching and getting quotes =\

lex.
no prob i know the pl well . relative stay there.. reason for not buying.. $$$ super exp cos it say to have view of IR plus flyer plus firework .. u know best view for everytg in sg.. but best view come w best price.. 700k for a flat... wat do u guys think

So many post after one lunch time hahaha..

Hi Mrs Kel,
for the selection of gowns..maybe get one of your friend/ sister who u think she knows u well to go with you lor.. beside your FH.. not more than that.. really too many ppl u will be just keep changing gowns and ppl keep saying alot of things..the BS also dun have so much space... sometimes u might look nice with certain gowns but does it suit your character.. if it does not match you will also find it "uncomfortable" to wear it... that's how I feel...

tinkybell,
wah...so happy for u, im so scared of my fitting leh...getting cold feet now...im so scared dat i'll look fat n ugly

koyoyo,
wah...it's cheap leh...but i must see when can i get my pics n see dat if my fh can do d job for me...thanks for d offer!

cacky,
i agree wif bluebananas dat plush is super nice but it's super ex

lex,
hehehe....i bet they must b really gd to impress u so much....it'll b a wonderful treat for all ur guests....as my wedding alrdy spent q abit of $ so i think i'll pass it on though im a music lover
how much do they charge?

apple gal,
oh i saw their advert in d bridal magazines, seems dat their packages r v reasonable

do share wif us ur pics when they r ready ok? thanks!

nelle,
no wonder i didnt see u online for d past few days...tot u struck TOTO n gone off to enjoy liao...hehe, didnt know dat u r in jakarta, hope u'll enjoy ur biz trip!

mary poppins,
no prob...glad dat it'll b helpful to u cos smtimes it's sad to see a lot of prep n $ go to waste bcos of certain planning

Hheh,
yah ome back from lunch and suddenly forum flooded with new ports

Bluebananas,
had a look at Vocare and their quotations, price is so much more reasnable but it's not as nice as TWP. Now really have to think hard cuz it's hard to justify the costs Heh

Now I'm trying to get Substance Films, the extracts from the videos look really amazing.. the problem with Vocare is that the quality didn't seem very good to me so I'm a bit dubious.

You looking for cupcakes also? :D I've got a few links - wanted to do a cupcake tier cake for my wedding reception so here

http://lydiaoven.multiply.com/
http://www.pink-vanilla.com/

I've got to dig out the rest....

koyoyo
woah 700k! Howe much do you have to pay above valuation or is that all inclusive?

Finally adding mine too...

axeljes - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Gate - Bliss Bridal
feilinc - 1/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - Di Gio
Missyheng - 1/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Venus Bridal
piggytinky - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Phoenix - J &amp; M Design
dreamymi - 1/3/2008 - The Cathay Resturant - Thomson wedding
janyen - 1/3/2008 - St Mary of the Angels church &amp; Grand Hyatt Singapore - Venus Bridal
moomooland - 4/3/2008 - Orchard Hotel - French Bridal
caramel980 - 8/3/2008 - Wesley Methodist Church &amp; One Rochester - Dang Bridal
Mary - 8/3/2008 - Yan Qing Shanghai Restaurant @ Chijmes - Bridal ZOne
muffin - 8/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - French Bridal
poopy - 8/3/2008 - Oriental - Sattine Bridal
purpleclouds - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Bliss Bridal
tummykitten - 8/3/2008 - Raffles Town Club -SeletarBraodway
vysweetapple - 8/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel- Graceful Image
dopeydodo - 8/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - TED WU
durianpuff - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - D'sire
small_bun - 8/3/2008 - S'pore Expo - L@ Belle Couture
090308bride - 9/3/2008 AD - 10/3/2008 - Intercon - Ala carte
bedime_bear - 9/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Santiago Bridal
Jesteress - 9/03/2008 - Traders Hotel - Golden Horse Awards
laura_yaya- 9/03/2008 - Carlton Hotel - French Bridal
sylvia - 9/03/2008 - The Laguna
Violet - 9/3/2008 - Club Chinos - Digio
PP - 13/3/2008 - Sheraton Towers - Zweddings
dolphin25 - 15/3/08 - Carlton Hotel (lunch) - Ala carte
elmo - 15/3/2008 - Hilton - Sophia Weddings
Snow - 16/3/2008 - Orential - My Bridal Room
Meepley - 22/3/2008 - Club Chinois - ala carte for gowns
sealy me - 22/03/08 - S'pore Expo - Bridal concept
yu83 - 22/3/08 - peony jade restaurant - z-weddings
spacebar - 22/3/2008 - shangri la rasa sentosa - The Weding Present
Fsling - 23/03/2008 - Holiday Inn Park View - Zz wedding
Yoko - 23/03/2008 - Oriental - Bridal Veil
JV_moments - 23/03/2008 - Hilltop @ CSC - Bridal Concept
KLCC - 23/03/2008 - Grand Copthorne - Bridal Concept
Breakfast - 23/03/2008 - Grand Plaza Park Hotel, City Hall
jo82 - 26/03/2008 -Orchard Hotel - Bridal Concept
Junjun - 29/3/2008 - Carlton - White Link
Minolta01 - 29/03/2008 Church Wedding, Lunch Reception
Anabelle - 30/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Whitelink
Jen - 30/3/2008 - The Regent - J&amp; M Design
minolta01 - 30/3/2008 - Holiday Inn Atrium - Di Gio
serlz - 30/3/2008 - Intercontinental - Silverlining
Strawberryangels - 30/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel - Seletar Bway
mscorby - 30/3/2008 - Hua Song Mesuem - D'sire

hahahah lex!! we kinda like the same stuff yeah? hehe =P
thanks for the links i'll check them out!! i heard this
http://www.c-cup.biz/ >> is quite nice too...

I've seen my friends wedding clips with Vocare and they were quite nice. but their style is different from TWP bah. =)

bluebananas

c-cup's full until nov :S and at $3 for one I'm a bit.. *coughing blood* LoL Yah we got same tastes in some stuff LoL

Are you going to give all your guests cupcakes or is it just a tier cake that you guys are going to give to some people and save the rest to eat? hehhe

what!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
oh my gosh.
tht's amazing!!!
(>_<) win already lor...like that ah.

yeah coughing blood here too. i don't intend to get that many, just put at reception whoever is hungry could help themselves... was intending to get like 300.
my hotel will provide the normal wedding cake bah...

Cecilia,

The jian dui is the big round dough balls thingy right? Still got ppl give those meh? There used to be a shop near Haji Lane that does it...but I think the old man retired already.

Maybe you can go there and ask around. =)

hihi.. wah.. suddenly so many posts.. hard to catch up hehe.

hey tinky, dun worry, sure mei mei.

hey koyoyo, hehe.. i want to book you for montage .. hehehe

lex,
fyi , vocare is my VG . both HB &amp; i like Sam find his service n attiude super good tt y willing to part the $ ask meilnig they all how sad i was at first parting the cash.. hee hee

meilng,
just read ur question. i dun think it necessary for video montage for PS.. remember try not to spend too much on ur wedding preparation...

lex,
i like d idea of d cupcakes tower by pink-vanilla, have u chked out d price on d cupcakes? d packaging is pretty too...

bluebananas,
i think d cupcakes frm c-cup r nice but abit steep on d price :P *cough blood*, for me, i intend to order abt 100-150 pcs for d early birds cos no pt ordering so many as they'll serve dinner for d latecomers

wah...u getting so many? how many guests r u expecting?

koyoyo,
hehehe....u b she de on d video...for me, i guz for my character, im those play alrdy den chuck in my cupboard to collect dust one n i cant tell d difference b/w gd n bad...haha...so i leave it lor :P i think if i add my pre-wedding video to my original package still not as ex as ur whole package leh :P

hey koyoyo
yah.. sam's price is already a lot more reasonable than a lot of other VGs.. I can imagine how sad you are parting with the $$ cuz now I also $$-pain LoL...

I guess I didn't find Sam's video "funny" enough but I think I'll make an appintment then see how from there. Chemistry is important

Heh I see you're going into the montage business! :D

bluebananas,
yah I had the same idea also. I wanted ot stack cupcakes at the reception area, together with my candy table.. but now the cupcakes is really a cost-factor, so I'm having second thoughts. I think they're at least $2 a piece, so it's like $600 le...

PS location to intro:

* Punggol lalang field at the ferry terminal--Nature/beach
* Old Turf City/ Stabble club --Nature (with horse)
* Labodor park -- Nature
* Changi board work/ changi park -- Nature/beach
* Bontanic garden -- Nature
* Sentosa -- Beach (might have alot of ppl)
* Your own sch campus/ place where u get to know each other
* Esplande/fulleton/ merlion -- Urban City View (nite view nice)
* Tian Fu Gong -- Culture...If you wear Kua/CS is nice can also take nearby CBD Area for the urban feel too..
* Seletar camp site -- Old Singapore style v nice (w air plane if u are lucky) can also go Yishun dam to take just beside the camp.
* Club place/ Hotel place.. those golf course... nice lobby.. Raffles hotel.. those kind of feeling
* Katong area -- culture feel (old Singapore baba feel)
* CHIMJS/ Church -- culture (esp you are christian...)
* Reservior -- nature
* Terminal 3 -- airport new place alot of glass and indoor plant

I guess that's all about now.. can't think of more at the moment

lex,
wat candy table u having? i was thinking of putting chocolates wif my cupcakes...i saw some ppl having a martini bar during reception n it's really cool...if only my budget allows :P

lex,
I dun feel sam's video are funny too.. share with you what i went through. HB &amp; i went down to view many VG alot claim they are good but u can see the shakey when couple walk down their flat etc.. for sam video they angle he portray seems to be wat HB &amp; I looking for.. personal view only. Lastly his sincerity. we view his partner PG but think he is kinda of pride in his own work so we didnt sign him for PG..

Ms Corby

do u have their contact number of the traditional wedding cake?
my monster in law wants us to buy "wu chen gao". i've no idea where to find this stupid cake. my GDL is this sun and i have no clue where it is. so angry.

i am lucky,
I have canapies (not sure of spelling ) for my reception. uksportgal basically us ladies want somethg special other then plain peanuts during receptions.. before entering to ballroom for wedding to start at 8.

gals, have any of you bought the bedside lamps? the ones to keep on after the an chuang? any idea where can find those battery operated?

oic reception time.. actually candy is good... cupcake is too full .. no?? and cup cake is not cheap also le.. meaning u got to spend more... got try ask the Hotel can change the nuts to other things like fruits?? or pay abit more to have chocolate fondue? or u get your own fondue?? hee hee not that ex :P NTUC also got sell those set... just get 1 or 2 set.. but then... one thing.. must rem... avoid to have too many tings that you need to DIY that day.. if you have you got to give clear instruction to your jiemei or brothers.. so they do for you... coz you won't be free ya...