(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi Valerie, hv u chosen the date?
Ya lor...very headachy hor...

Maybe ask your parents wat to do. Hmm...or get ur male cousin?

Oh, why cant get a female person to do the opening of bridal car ah? I'm getting my cousin girl to open the bridal car wor.

Hi Piyo & S'rene,

the gown fitting went fine, except that i shouldn't bring two ladies with me next time who just nagged at me continuously to lose fats, detox, etc etc. arggghhhh Felt really happy to try on the gowns especially the gown fits and u look good in the mirror.
My PS would be in early April too. don't know how to lose the fats.

By the way, other than pine gardens where else can i look for Guo Da Li pastry? Good and Tasty ones of cos.

Hi Kittyng

You are having your wedding at Hyatt too right?... who is your coordinator... did they ask you to pick up the wedding cards or did you request for it? cos my coordinator has not called me abt the food tasting nor wedding cards yet so wondering if i should give her a call

Hi Girls, so many posts... took me a long time to slow catch up...

Mrs Kel, enjoy ur upcoming fitting. as for getting ur mum n sis involve in ur wedding preparation, i tink they muz be happy to know that u want their involvement..

Koyoyo, $700k for a flat? which are the area u are talking about... if the flat is well renovated with gd view, proximity to amenities, town n good schools, then i believe the price is pretty reasonable... the prices of ppty market shooting real high up at this present quarter, so unbelieveable...

MEiling, u really putting in great effort to make ur wedding a different n memorable one... not like me follow the flow only..

hi s'rene, the cupcake girl is actually my close friend!!! What a small world. I tried some (without the frosting) before she went to meet you hee hee.

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z80/nfongkua/cupcakes.jpg

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z80/nfongkua/cupcake3.jpg

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z80/nfongkua/cupcake2.jpg

here are some photos taken at the wedding of another customer of hers. for your viewing pleasure =)

praisey, saw the wedding gowns photos that you posted on multiply. veri nice & sexy!!! think you carried it off very well.

Hi love xlb...onli can see e version in Mid Apr...patience k...if can get hold of e soft copy, will upload on my flickr website.

Thanz Queenie 4 e reply...may seek my mom's opinion n see if this wld clash w e AD (moi end May)
Never thot of it...

As 4 wiwim cute q frm u...travel fair sell packages like lelong ah...this i not sure? Mayb u can ask frienz who work in travel agencies?! Thot their prices r std? Mebe only vary in e perks? B careful of too good 2 b true deals; usually u end up receiving a poorer deal.

Jus my 2 cents thots...

Oh btw, who do u approach 4 ur evening makan emcee(s)? Someone whoz eloquent or bubbly personality? Hmmm...thot of doing it in a spontaneous manner rather than asking them to read lines frm pre-arranged scripts...

Oso, ani1 doing a photo montage? Wat ideas do u all hav?

hi lex,
nah i am not into montage business.. aqt the rate i am charging i only end up killing myslf working too hard.. the thing is i dun like my job and rather i love viewing foto seeing ppl happy faces.. so it kinda of the reward i get seeing my video help make ppl smile..
tinybell the 700k is hdb flat at boonkeng w mimal reno only.what do u think ? sucide to buy?

I'm still snacking on chocos, cakes etc. Haha need to exercise to control my weight.

How many of u interested in badminton sessions at Woodlands on Sunday afternoon? I can book badminton court for free with my office pass.

lex,
it looks great n it's a wonderful idea!!! i like chocolates so mayb will have a chocolate station :P

mrs kel,
so envy....my mum wasnt too excited abt my fitting....she prefers to do her own stuff than to spend so much time wif me for my fitting
i'll see how again...

tinkybell,
actually i've got more ideas e.g posters, signature cards, additional wedding favours, munchies etc but all requires more $ so must plan carefully 1st...mayb do a small scaled one :P

koyoyo,
yah...my fren told me dat her co. is in charge of tis project...

flora bliss,
omg...so sad to hear dat but how come u r not eligible for d $30K as well as d $40K grant? is it bcos it exceed $8K? scary...hope dat i can get my flat b4 we hit d ceiling nxt yr :P

hi mrs kel,
enjoy your comming fitting and remember to show us some pics too

hi tinky, same here, i am just going with the routine.. with a bit of customisation here and there. Not exactly really looking into splurging big time on the wedding.. muz budget budget.. otherwise, after a nice wedding, later on financial crisis.. die man.

Hi koyoyo,
you can take this as a stepping stone for you to build up this line . Once you more exprience in doing up montages... etc.. and by word of mouth, you may heva your own clientele soon..
with that, you can then resign and start this biz ..
hehehe... or you can start joining some co. as a freelance, You may end up feeling very satisfied.

meiling, ya lor. Becoz if hit $8K, will not be eligible for all these perks. It's so unfair, since we only exceed $8k marginally and it's an extremely detrimental effect on us.

flora bliss,
wah...they really tot $8K is alot meh? cant do many things wif dat, unless they decided to raise d ceiling to $10K, it's really horrible due to d inflation but such things nv inflat

morning gals..

thias, hehe. i think that design is simple and gives off a sweet feeling..

You gals are pretty fast to settle on food tasting.. my banquet coordinator said wont be so fast for mine.. maybe around 2 mths before AD.

Good morning all,
Sue,
Thanks for the encouraging words you have for me.. Seriously i thought of venture in this line but wasnt confident at all as i had super high expectation on things.. therefore give me tremendous stress .. it better this way helping friends out.. but hor u all must contribute honest comments on all the flaws i made..
Meiling ,
I think perhap your mama isnt the usual type tt fussy around daughter . Guess it the new age thingy dun worry that not a sign tt she didnt care. Mine like tt too.. like wat some of the gers say once u get married things will change.. so look on the bright side... cheers!
Candy bar sound a good idea.. dear all a gentle reminder.. try not to order too many cupcake for reception as some ppl tend to avoid reception n arrive during only when dinner about to start. therefore food maybe wasted.. HOpe u guys have a nice reception...

hi praisey.. u are not the last jul bride to do PS in Apr.. me too.. mine even later than yours, my PS is on 24 Apr.. My HB so busy thus got to drag till so late..

the cupcakes look so nice.. makes me hungry again.. but need to lose weight.. haiz..

Good morning, Ladies!

Hi, Ade
Thanks for your well wishes..

Hi,thias
So envy.. you going switerland for HM.. I wish i can go too, too bad is out of my burget..

Hi,kittyng
Haha, actually thinking back we only left less than 3 months, if we not get the things done quickly, everything will be in a mess...

Hi Kel, when is ur actual date? I am also sourcing for PG&VG with abt the same budget as you. Maybe we can source together and share info. And if we managed to shortlist the same ones, we might be able to negotiate for a better price together.... Increase our bargaining power.... hehehe.... Anyway, I have added u in my MSN.

Hi all, my msn is [email protected].

thks PSH,i tried to ask in another forum and another frd who went to last yr NATAS. both advise me to go on the first day leh cos they will raise the price according to the demand!

Anyone booked your honeymoon?where you ppl intend to go?

PSH, you top up quite alot.i going to select my photos in mid mar....so excited wonder how the pics will turn out...

Abt the clashes, for what I know..when you choose your wedding date, first of all you must avoid clashes with parents from both sides.. Then, try to avoid any clashes with participating jiemeis/ xiongdis as well. Any other relatives, it is okay as long as they hide in a room & dun see when the couple go into the house. Also, those younger, not married also cannot see when couple enter.

I din know that no grant entitlement if you have hit $8k ceiling. Maybe try writing to HDB? Not sure if it works, but no harm trying? I personally dun think they will increase the ceiling anytime sooner. Coz if they did that, the demand for 4rm & bigger flats will be even higher. They just increase 3 rm ceiling so that they can diversify some of applicants to apply for 3 rm, instead of 4 rm. If they really increase ceiling of 4 rm, then the more they should build more of 4 rm & bigger to cater to the needs.

Hi gals, just went for my first fitting and trial makeup. Only the overall fit of the gown but the finer details on the gown still not finished.

I doing my PS end March, not very early too.. still headache where to go..

koyoyo
yah i say go for it girl
i'm looking forward to seeing ur montages for the rest of the girls! (sorry i can't get u to do it though - cuz thinking DIY more meaningful :P cost-wise very attractive tho!)

btw koyoyo are u guys rushing for flat? Cuz my agent was telling me that 2008 ppty market might slump a bit cuz US seems to be going into recession plus all the recent inflation.. I don't know la.. but we're adopting a wait-and-see attitude atm.

700k I find a bit steep, I assume you're going to be doing some reno by yourself. Is there any additional charges like ERP in living so near town? I see the extra ERP gantry come up - I faint Lol.

bluebananas,
if u really getting the cupcakes, let me know la.. maybe can trash out a better deal LoL.. but yah, better ceck with the hotel about "corkage" charge for outside food first.

mrs_kel
yah I know what you mean. the FH didn't even think of live bands but so happen I wanted to surprise him - maybe sing him a song or something.. any suggestions on what song?
Remember to show us some pics of the gowns! Bring your camera ok :D

meiling
don't be upset la.. my mom also has an "immune" face to my wedding. like she's not interested in GDL shopping.. but quite insistent on what she want or don't want from my FH.. then say "my wedding you decide" and don't anna interfer... suddenly tell me she don't like the colour theme I pick. I really -.-"

Koyoyo,

no worries, we will give you our honest opinion.

Mei,

perhaps your mum is thinking that it is your big day, you need to be the one who like the dress. imnagine isnt it worse if your mum goes there and start giving negative comments on all the gowns you try..
I have never even thought of asking my mum along hahaha.. i didnt want too many opinions. I only show her the photos which i took and show her the gowns which i feel is nice from magz the last time. And she give some comments. Other than that, i think we have different taste la.. that is why .. haha

so dun worry, it is not a bad thing, and i m very super sure that your mum is very happy for you , coz you are her precious daughter ok. *hugxz hugx*

Jes,

how is the discussion ? Everything going well so far?

hi kittyng, i am getting my coordinator to arrange the printing of inserts for me as the printing company is recommended by my hotel. I have arranged food tasting on 15 Mar and will be collecting invitation cards & inserts on the same day.

Hi ade, where are you going for your HM? I'm giving out the invites one month before my AD.

Hi thias, when are you going for HM? I wanted to go switzerland initially but the period coincides with Euro 2008. Will be very crowded in Switzerland.

Hi apple_gal, yeah... now we can really count down.. left only about 3 months to go. I will be going to view my album layout in another 2-3 weeks.

Sue, high five... we have the same idea in mind huh... i totally agree with u.. wun wanna spend and incur unnecessary cost n then face crsis later...

Hi Meiling, i am also looking at poster too.. would be nice to have it at the entrance of the ballrm, but my concern now, apart from the cost incurred in printing, would be how to deal with the poster after the wedding. I definitely wun want it inside the store rm, while hubby dun fancy the idea of having it as a wallpaper in our bedroom. hmm... how ley? need to tink of more ideas now...

and one more thing i forget to post in my previous entry was... u can rest assure about looking good in ur fitting so dun have to worry, i am sure u will find ur ideal gowns in no time... just to share something with u, my hubby took me so fat n short in the pics in last afternoon fitting, so sad when i look at myself... hope this wun be the case for my PS n AD. need to work hard in dieting now...

as for ur mama, dun be too affected by her alrite... cos u will be shock to hear my story, my mama is no only not interested, but i am taking things positive to lessen the miseries.. so cheer up okay...

Lex, ERP is a major killing and i doubt many ppl have factor that in when sourcing for a flat near to town... so the indirect expenses would be much more...

Koyoyo, u may wanna give it a shot n go into it part-time or take assignment for leisure, try out and see if u enjoy it before going into it full-time n giving up ur career completely.

Mrs Kel, looking forward to see your fitting pics..

hi lex,
See that wat worries me.. i spent whole of last night reading about the flat. No i am not eager for a flat... i worry that i bought the flat at it peak n if value drop later or we hit recession earrlier then expect or even BB i think both of us will slog to death..

Valeria: u mean we even need to check to see whether the pax open teh cardoor crashes with us on tt day!! goodness. is tt necessary n how do u check which yr ppl crashes with u?

hi mich, thanks! This helps to cut down the area to find!

valerie: from what i know when i see the geomacer, he mentioned best not to let the people whose clashes to see the couple face to face (opening the car door, entering the hse etc). Probably you want to get someone else in the family?

Kel, no problem. Alvin is very nice & friendly. Showed me many samples of his work & i am impressed. Have choosen them to do PG& VG for my AD too. =)

Jane, Karen n Shermie, i'll let Shuba know u're interested n will get her to contact u gals.

Glad to see updates to the chart galz, cuz that means.... we have been workin on our preps!

Dear providencia,
pls kindly add my details:
Church - St Anthony's

PG & VG - Nozza.net (low profile but pretty impressive for the price they r offering as we got them thru a recomendation)

Deco & Flowers - SMR Wedding (got a great deal, thru recommendation n a heck of a bargaining session):p

Favors - DIYing
Wedding cake - pending quotes
cupcakes( to give guests) - sourcing

Sound/ MC- HELP plz!!!

Meiling: Don't worry about gown fitting too much. Most importantly, gotta make sure you didn't gain weight after you went for your measurements lor. And you must also be able to trust the designer who did it for you. Plush Photography is indeed on the higher end of pricing but I feel, is totally worth it. You can read my comments to bluebananas.

tinkybell: Yeah, Tung Lok is about the best I find so far already. That's why we were willing to forsake the grand hotel ballroom concept for good food. Our guests are mostly relatives, so we really want them to enjoy the meal. I feel somehow that the older generation don't really know how to appreciate decor etc.

bluebananas: Hahhaha, you spent 2 hours viewing his blog? Did you go to his webbie too? www.plushphotography.com.sg I picked Ead coz to my hubby and I, we believe that pre-wedding shots are impt to us, it's gonna stay with us for life and for generations to come, and we love Ead's works. Yes, I agree he's not cheap but with him, you can be assured that it's good quality stuff. You really pay for the value of his works. We had a lot of fun with him. You know, after the photoshoot, my hubby said to me, "I'm glad we did this." Previously, my hubby always felt that in pre-wedding shots, the guy is always the vase and the bride is the focus. But during the pre-wedding shots with Ead, my hubby was never just the vase, he too got his fair share of photos. Ead made the couple the focus, and let the love in us show. It was really fun and a great experience. So ... it really depends on how much you gals prioritize wedding photos. You gals can really consider him for the Actual Day photos if you find that it's really important.

lex: You can consider pink vanilla for your cupcakes. My galfriend did it for her wedding and it was gorgeous.

tinky,

you're so not.. fat... I think your hubby photography a bit fail la.. LoL. I've seen what a friend with excellent photography make someone look tonnes thinner and taller.

tinky/meiling,
what kinda posters you guys looking at? Like the kind that "stand" or the "movie poster" style? I had a friend who did the "standing" one which was ok on the wedding day but now it sits in their spare bedroom.... taking up space and collecting dust LoL. If you want to do movie poster style, might be easier to keep in future I think. you can frame it up and hang on the wall I suppose, or if u have glass coffee table, nail it under the glass? Or worst case scenairo, roll it up heh hehe.

Or maybe you can make smaller ones and string them in a line? Those might be easier to store after wedding and can be used for other stuff... I dunno.. maybe laminate and make coasters or something.. just my $0.02 la.

koyoyo
Lol don't be stressed lol.. sleepless nights no good for u.. I think the flat is a little out of your budget atm isnt it... or slightly above it since you're so stressed..

Hi Ladies... work like crazy these few days... tired... everything in a mess just becoz of a new proces go live...sigh

Anyway...so sad that the VG I want already booked!... see la.. lazy la... hahahaha got to get one asap liao... all so ex some more.. sian...

hiye... ladies...

Woah... all going Switzerland + europe countries? For me is going to Taiwan... more to our budgets... keke.. i got them from the in-house pre-natas fair from CTC...

Apple_gal>> Glad to hear that you've finished with ur PS... keke.. so eager to see your photo... keke.. =) My PS is schedule only @ the end of March...

Hi, good morning ladies. Sorry I've MIA for quite some time due to busy with work & new flat. Hope I'm not forgotten. Hehe...

Well, kinda free now cos need to wait for 2 months for HDB to rectify the defects in my flat. It seems like a waiting game... Had been waiting since the day we booked the flat.

18 Oct is really a HOT date, one of my friend had got 3 wedding invitations for that day, not sure whether she can still make it to mine.

Not really much preparation had been done for AD but will be going for gown selection end of March.

Lex, thanks for your console... i am rather on the big bone scale actually and no doubt look abit "off" the proportion.. .but guess my hubby's PG skill make me look worst... hahaha... was advise by other brides to take pics in a certain way but my hubby couldn't very much bother.. so bad of him... kekeke...

Cacky, food is all that matters to the generation, their main aim of banquet is also to enjoy a wonderful dinner n i do agree with u that they dun really pay much attention to decor n favours... now that u have make your choice, just wait for the big day to come and for all of them to enjoy the good food n give u a thumbs up...

Koyoyo, no stress no stress... i believe the right flat at the right price will come but need abit of waiting definitely... if can wait, then perhaps u wait till the wedding is over, everything settle then start looking for a flat, the prices now aren't too rite for newly wed to get a house.

Moments,
Em, end March is a bit late for PS lor.. Can ask for earliest date?

Hi, Selina
So fast leh, once you got your photos show us hor...

Since HDB recognize that the income of those 3rm applicant has increased, don't they realise that the same goes for 4rm (and above) applicants?

It's been 14yrs since HDB last revised the ceiling from $7000 to $8000. Just like what Meiling has said, prices of everything and especially for property have been rising due to inflation. However, our salary can't match the speed of that increase. $8000 in YR1994 can buy you a lot of things. But due to inflation, $8000 now can only get peanuts.

In addition, nowadays it's very common for young couples to hit the household income of $8K. However, being young, they will not be able to accumulate enough cash to pay for resale flats. Now even resale flats in Sengkang area command a COV of $20K. And renovation and furnishing would need at least another $40K. So to own a resale flat, basically need around $60K. How to afford???

Isn't it HDB's mission to ensure affordability of public housing to Sporeans? Is this the case now? I very much doubt so. HDB should continue to revise their policy in response to changing economic and social factors.