(2008) Brides of year 2008

meiling, now i juz wait and see wat's my queue no, then decide wat to do next. I really hope I dun need to get resale loh. And wat?! Sengkang oso asking for 40K-60K cash? Situation is really getting out of hand.

rovidencia, dun say tat. I'm being forced by circumstances so got no choice but to plan for everything at the same time. But fortunately, I started my wedding preparation in Feb 2007. Otherwise, I'll be suffering from panic attack now.

Meiling: Ah, okay, I'll try Chameleon as well. Will go G2000 to take a look at mandarin collars. Think a bit too late to tailor-make coz' photoshoot is this coming week.

lex: Yeah, I will go browse around for eye creams this week and try it out and share with you the results, k?

melody: I ask him to wear ma gua. He's game for it but doesn't know where to get it. Hhahaha.

Jac(gingerbread_gal), where will you be holding your wedding banquet? Mine planning for 28dec2008 too but most hotels' banquet are fully booked goodness

I still think it's admirable that one can manage so many "projects" at one time, given the horrenous state of the current property market.
Wow flora bliss,u started preps so early?
Read that you gals are meeting up tonight, enjoy urselves.

Hi Annette!
Your wedding banquet will be just the day after mine!
So that means it's a Sunday and I think weekends are all very packed...Usually people book 1 to 1.5 years in advance...Maybe you can check with smaller hotels, or if you don't mind, check out restaurants, or places like Suntec City...

hi ladies.

haven't been posting much these days. busy with school.. sigh..

welcome bluebananas. i'm also using di gio as BS. i guess your gowns from them are MTM?

cacky, your photoshoot is this week right? where u decided to go for outdoors shots? excited? enjoy n smile for the cam! =) tell us abt it after it.

i'm planning to go polished divas on 13 mar after school. anyone interested to join me?

have a great wk ahead !!!!

hi meiling,
me fine.... was busy on sat.... went on bed frame searching.... hahhaa.... finally got my bed frame....

hi tinkybell,
thanks.... btw, ur cough ok liao ??? got my bed frame last sat.... so my bed r settled.... next thing will be making my shoes n ordering my wedding bands....

hi gals i m back.

hi mei/ tinky haha.. ya .. my boss is not bad to me ( as of now ... haha) sorry no pics leh.. coz we nv take any pictures. :P well.. its was not that bad.. i slept early on friday coz i was super tired.. i made my FH sleep also .. coz i dun dare to sleep alone so well. then on sat, i went for the gym session and they had an instructor to teach haha.. so luckily i was there at the right timing, i attended his lesson which lasted half hr then went to jacquizzi.. hahah.. but i can tell you my legs is aching the hell out of me i cant get down the stairs its so achey... aiyo.. i must have overstrain it.. until now.. went to steam bath and then took a good shower before heading for bbq dinner there. haha..

well the trip was ok .. just that went i was back ytd.. i kind got gastric.. which i am wondering why.. coz i ate so much at the cruise its quite impossible to get gastric.. wonder if its coz i slept late and skip my bkfast or wat.. sigh..

oh i didnt know chameleon has tiara.. i must go and check it out liao. hehehe. paradoz shoes at 400++? my god! i wont buy ... its so ex!

hi cacky, yup...i already sign up with my PG which is Ustyle.. hehe.. they are nice people.. i like them... seen their works and its rather impressive too

hey melody,, oh you are also using kim mun's pdts.. they are quite good ya..? haha

the clinic address.. i need to go and find out and post it here again when i get it.

Hi Cassie, My Date is also 5 Dec.
I just confirmed my dinner last night. Intended to have lunch, but ended up with dinner..now wiill start to source for BS...one thing at a time...

Hi Shermie, I don't really bargain on the banquet items. Don't want staff to whisper/talk behind us that we 'ai chi you ai pee' (want cheap and good).

princessxiaomei: Dun worry abt that too much. Send out the invitations earlier and RSVP earlier. like that u have more time on the planning of tables.

ah net> My EG is halter and WG should be tube with long long train

Hi Annette,
I'm having mine at Four Seasons...When I started looking for locations last Sept, some hotels were booked for dinner already for 28th Dec. But since I'm doing lunch, I had more choices. But even then, Four Seasons was fully booked for dinner already. And yes, I would expect you to encounter more difficulty cos 28th Dec is an auspicious date and a lot of the hotels would be booked already.
Don't fret just yet; call up other hotels, restaurants or venues like the arts museum ASAP. Good luck!

Eunice,
Where do u intend to go look rings at?

hi all beautiful BTBs here, my FH's parents had finally meet up wif my parents last nite...they went over to my hse...phew...*finally man*

however, i tink there is a communication breakdwn btw me & my FH and my parents & his parents. Last nite thr the discussion, my FH's parents asked my parents what are their requests. My dad acutally asked for 10 tables. Me & my FH were shocked as initially my dad alr told me he'll pass all the ang baos to me to pay off the banquet but now....

wen my FH's parents heard tis, they oso nv mention anything. My FH assumed this 10 tables of money is to be paid by him since thr is no communication btw him & his parents that his parents are willing to pay for him. As such, he is kinda stress up on this and asked me to speak to my dad on this issue.

we are both veri financially tight and i oso hope tat my parents will pass the ang baos to us to clear the cost of the banquet. Tis mornin, i juz casually mentioned to my dad tat my FH is kinda tight on our wedding and asked him will he still pass the ang baos to us as intially promised by him. He then asked me if my FH's parents gg to pay for the 10 tables or is my FH the one gg to pay for it. I told him is most probably my FH cos his parents did not mention anything tat they are willing to pay for him.

My dad told me in this case they are at a losing ends. I was tinkin y cant they help their daughter on this. Im juz requesting them to pass the ang baos to us and any loss we will pay. Im not asking my parents to pay a single cent on my wedding and juz happily attend my weddning ceremony. But im tinking it seems they wan to make $$ out of my wedding....

Now im so vexed on this....

Jac,
did you eventually apply for bi-mthly? I went to see the showflat, was really disappointed.. The house is so small. Barely have enough place to put anything..

Yes, as for those sourcing for wedding bands, the safest time is to allow 3 mths period. They may need to get from HQ (overseas) if they do not have your size. But if the design and sizes are available, you can even get them n 1 week time. Take your time to source for the rings that both u and FH like.

Hi Shermie, my AD is also on 7th Nov... finally got someone same date as mine... keke...

which venue have you booked? mine is at Holiday Inn park view..

Princessxiaomei,
My best friend, who was my main jiemei in-charge backed off. I put the main role on another friend now. How many jiemeis do u have? Actually for day, 2 jiemeis are sufficient. For night, need at least 4 helpers.

hi jes... dun be upset.. i can understand how hard it is esp when it is financially tight.

i guess you will need to still talk to your parents on this issue and have their understanding on this. its gonna be tough though but dun worry everthing is gonna be alright.

i am sure your parents wont want to see you financially tough .

My parents will be keeping the AP too.. but they didnt ask for tables.. they just told me.. whatever i have planned they will work within it.. so at least i must be thankful for that.

They told me try not to spend too much on the banquet.. its gonna be tough financially.. they would rather i just have a honeymoon wedding.. haha. but i just didnt wan to settle for that.

so dun worry... i am sure everything will work out just fine for you too.. have a good talk with you mum and dad and let them know of your current situation and how they can help you with it. I am sure as parents.. they wont want you to end up in financial difficulties as well.

cheers. *hug hug*

green> is 2 enough for the gate crashing. coz i have friends telling me that cannot have odd numbers and cannot have number 4.. so i'm still thinking on how many helpers i need. I also have last min changes. once of my cousin who i wanted her to be my helper is pregnant now. abit headache

hey jeslyn.

my FILs and my mom have not met each other yet. but mom n i talked abt her requests. just casual talk. but she made it sound like she was trying to make money outta my wedding too. (but she didn't mean it. was just joking but i didn't realised it) i talked to my FH abt mom's request, we ended up arguing and me crying. (long story)

a few days later then i found out my mom was just kidding abt her requests. i felt so bad to think that my mom actually wanna make money outta my wedding.

maybe your parents didn't maen to sound like they wanna make money outta your wedding too.

maybe you can talk to them again. =) hope all goes well

Mentos,
2 is enough. They just need to carry things on your behalf and help you with changing clothes. My 2 friends only had 2 and they said it was enough.

Erm I'm having 4 jiemeis haha. My bf is having 2 brothers. For banquet, I'm using my 4 jiemeis + 1 guy friend as helpers. That is enough for me.

I also have a friend who got pregnant so she can't help out now. I lack 1 male mc-ee.

hi Jeslyn,
Welcome to my world ..having parent asking for 10 table plus AP is indeed a headache . however trust me i have been there.. the guy's parent wouldnt help out.. what you can do is to see if u n FH can work out on paying the 10 table of cse dun let ur dad know u are helping out . anyway the truth is female parent tend to keep the custom view of must ask for 10 tables .. often they tend to neglect tt the expense of givin the 10 tables is very high on the young counple however as the children we cant really say much even if we show them our financial status it wouldnt help.. try and see if u can work it out..

hi sue & mrs kel, thanks for your concern...

i feel so upset abt this matter that i couldnt sleep the whole nite last nite...

my parents are veri traditional and they feel it the guy's side who should pay for everything and they dun understand y my FH's parents are not willing to fork out a single cent.

I can understand my FH cos his parents feel that since their son wans to get married, he should be financially independent to settle his own wedding stuffs. Wen his elder bro got married a few yrs back, his bro oso settle himself...

Anw, i spoke to my dad tis mornin and he wans to hv a tok wif my FH this evening again...my dad told me if tat's e case, since there's no tables given, the pingjin should give a sustaintial amt...
either ways, they juz wan some $$!!

Hi ladies... finally I am more free now :P Feb is so happening.. hope everyone enjoy the holiday, V-day ....

hi Jes, ya dun worry so much 1st... sometimes is just communication issue .. your are one family sure can talk it out... if u are closer to mom talk more to your mom tell her your plan and status... then she sure tell your dad.. me also got argue with them before one ar but ok la.. sometimes argue also a form of commnication ma hee hee... I even write a letter to them.. hahahaha coz I know sometimes face to face talk will get heated up ar.. will talk without much thinking then will just end up get things worst... and the letter works! hahaha lucky man... hee hee so they understand why I plan that way and why their request can not be meet... and clear out misunderstanding...

You and your FH will be the one paying for everything right? His parents are not supporting right?? maybe your paretns dun know... if they know is your and his money only.. maybe they will be more understanding? And also... alot of the older ppl don't know getting married now is so ex one.. tell them one table in hotel about 1K plus they say huh? so ex meh... they dun know the price of coz will think how come small money also dun wanna give.. they are sometimes using their old standard to judge what we planning.... hee hee good luck & jia you

thanks for all your valuable advises...i will c how tonite how my dad is gg to tok to my FH and c how it goes...hopefully things will turn out well

Hi jes

maybe its good to let your dad have a talk with your FH.. maybe he wants to understand more also. I guess your parents wants to ensure that you are in good hands when you are married.. they wan to ensure that his parents dun ' ill treat' or you are being provided for all you need. i am sure they have your interest at heart no matter what.. so dun worry ok..

i can definitely understand how it feels like and cant sleep when such issue takes place.. so its best to settle once and for all then things will be ok. Talk to your parents about why his parents dun wan to fork our money and let them understand the reasoning behind it.. maybe with that they will feel better and be more understanding about the situation.

Jes, maybe u try talk to mom hee hee usually mom will sayang more.. Dad will feel wa I support my daughter .. so precious.. then how come the guy side like that...(traditional thinking will be like not sincer... no action) hmm is just diff generation gap thing... not all family are that rich to support their kids..wedding stuff can be really ex... and new gen. ppl will want to be independant also... just diff concept now... got to explain to them lor.. Show them your plan and make them understand end up is you and your hubby used up more money not their Parents.. even pin jing also....(hmm for me I the pin jing also from our pool of money)

[seriously... I rather be independant.. in a way.. if they pay.. they have a say ... then everything become so messy.. don't u think so?]

mrs kel: Hi hi ... yeah, pretty nervous about the photoshoot. Coz' I'm really not photogenic. I only have those few angles which I look good in so ... I have to depend on the environment ... hahaha. We're going back to school to take coz' that's where we met, holds deep meaning and fond memories for us.

sue: Good to know that, it's very important that you feel comfortable with your photographer coz' you will be facing him the whole shoot and need to look natural.

jes: Such things do happen and sometimes, it's not that our parents want to make money out of us. If you think back, they also put in a lot of effort in raising us. When I think back when I was a child, my dad would give us the best as long as his finances permitted. To me, letting him have the ang pow in return is really our way of showing him that we appreciated all his efforts. If 10 tables really is a lot ... how about compromising and coming to a number of tables where you are comfortable in? Whatever it is, never let such matters impact your r/s with your FH. I know it's easier said than done coz' when both of you are high on your emotions, there's bound to be quarreling. From what I see, this can be overcomed somehow, at least your dad said that if no tables given, give more pinjing. I think he's still a bit more flexible. Meanwhile, always try to maintain things in a cheery note. It's after all a joyous occasion, eh? Do share with us if you feel frustrated, we'll be ready to listen to you anytime.

yes of course...i juz wan my parents and my FILs to attend our wedding happily and we will settle the wedding all by ourselves...

my dad is those type wif veri short tempered...little things he will get agitated... haiz..

juz hope everything will settle smoothly...

Luvz17,
Yep, eventually applied for the bi-monthly...though I think the chances of getting a flat is very very small...esp after taking the ethnic quota into consideration.
I didn't go see the showflat...but I rem a year or 2 ago, I went to Toa Payoh to see the 40-storey showflat...is that the one u saw? I felt so claustrophobic when I was in that Toa payoh flat...so small! It appears that after placing a double bed in the master bedroom, there's barely space to walk, let alone space for wardrobe and vanity top.

Mingming,
I see. I had thought that u were talking abt the custom made ones. alright then, better start ring shopping.

hi jeslyn,
I do agree with Cacky when i first heard my parents want 10 tables i think they want to make $$ but the thing is they arent just that the family values they are brought up./... sometime they failed to meet the reality it almost impossible for the young couple to cough out 10 table $4 within a night.. that wat i face too,.... currently afer month of quarrel this is my final conclusion.. my mama agree to reduce to 6 tables AP she still keep .. i will secretly help out on the tables n if everythg still fail we will pay by instalments that my last resort. U see to parents of both side they are thinking marriage is the couply thing. so both side wouldnt fork out cash yet they still wan to practise the traddition (which can kil the couples) i tried in month to made them understand but to no avial .. see if u and your FH can work out a finacial plan n get ur parent to reduce table a bit.. if ur parents are like mine "strong tradditional view' i dun think it possible to tell them to drop all the tables alother.. are u getting flat? try n re-work ur budget... dun blame ur parents or his parents it diff in thinking .. they still love you.. slowly engage more talk .. they will realise the finanical as time pass. dun rush them to accept reality in a blink...

jes: Hhehehe, yes, can understand ... but I think it's still better than my indecisive mom. One moment don't want, next moment want. Damn pek cek. But she's still my mom who raised me up and no matter what, I still love her.

Thread has been so quiet these two days! Hehe. How are the preps so far? I'm so looking forward to my PS in early March!

hi koyoyo, can i ask another question...if let's say my side is inviting ard 13 tables of relatives but my parents are willing to keep to 6 tables (ie. they will keep the APs for 6 tables but will invite up to 13 tables as my relatives are quite alot) how are we gg to divide the APs?

Isnt it gg to be veri messy?

Hi jeslyn,
I can confirm with you it going to be messy that way. Firstly tt day you will be very busy and if you draw a very clear-cut it will lead your parent to think why are u so clear-cut it will casue them heartache.. unless u can discuss w 6 table to my parent only bcos the 6 tables is my mama relative so all ap goes to her as for my papa i will get all the ap from his side. So in actual fact i gave my parents a total of 14 tables but they help me by returning me the AP from my father's side relatives.. so if ur dad is short-tempted maybe convince him the AP on father side he kept as for mama side she will get a token "pinjin" Ap from ur hubby during GDL...

yes we are meeting today!! this is so exciting lor.. like a blind date!!! except that it's all gals haha :P

shermie, i think it depends on which hotel you go to. some are very 'atas' very 'dao' the arrogant type. mine is at fullerton, the coordinator is nice and friendly but quite firm that there will be no bargaining. but at least i feel quite assured that the service will be good
but i do have heard of some pple getting really good packages at other hotels!! which ones you considering?

hey meiling & florabliss, how long will it take for the toa payoh flats to be ready? the location real good! *envious*

nec i love your ideas! but the 'little' boy is 8 years.. i doubt he will wanna kiss the girl hahahaha.. :P

Hi Jac & Eunice
Jac: Four season lunch banquet is booked by you haha, dinner banquet is taken too. Din expect it to be so packed. To-date, if to stick my AD on 28dec,only option lunch banquet and most hotels lunch banquet also full. MY GOD!

Eunice: Where you holding yours? My AD might be on28dec and dinner banquet on 29dec BUTTTTTTT most hotels 29th dec dinner banquet also BOOKEDDDDD, i cant believe that. Initially i still plan to sart my banquet booking ard june!!

Jac>>> Haven't much of an idea, will probably go to those normal shops like GoldHeart and SooKee...Have seen GoldHeart's website, don't think I will have difficulty finding one I'll like!
So just see which one the FH likes too lor!

Anyway, with regard to housing...I'm just wondering...When all these flats are all taken up, then what!? No more flats in that area?? BLEAH! Might want to apply in future, but in future no more for me to apply liao...Haha!

hi jes
technically speaking, if your parents already agree to keep only the ap for the 6 tables then the rest should be going to you and your FH since your FH family not going to pay for any thing. which means all the ap will be going to the both of you right?

Hi Jeslyn, hope u are coping well.... i understand ur frustration abt the banquet thingy and AP $$... hope the discussion this evening works out fine.. it is good that both parties are coming together to sort things out, at least both parties will know the other's stand and should there be any miscommunication, can also be clear. dun be sad and look on the positive aspect of it. parents being parents, will have their unique ways of looking at things and wanting it to be done a certain manner, just let them understand your stand and tell them your situation...

i am in the same situation whereby my parents want a substantial amount of pinjin for all the hardship n effort in raising me... but me being bad on one hand, have already make it known that hubby n I are footing the bill for our banquet and we dont expect both side of the parents to chip in, so have to be less demanding..

hi u all gals are so helpful in giving me advices...i realli appreciate them! thanks so much!!

anw, i will kepp u gals updated on tonite's discussions...hopefully will turn out well...

Hi Shermie

You might want shortlist a few and arrange to meet up w their coordinators/event mgr.. They shld be able to tell u wat's included in their package and from there u can ask more questions and also compare.