(2008) Brides of year 2008

uksportgal,
thanks for sharing d useful tips wif us again! btw, u look v pretty in d pic

hey sorry may need u to keep d paper cuttings for me temp as i'll b busy these few weeks...will get my fh to collect frm u if necessary :P

Hi aple_gal,

Date of departure to Hokkaido is 14 Jun. It is a 7-day package ($2,098 excluding airport taxes). Thereafter i am extending my stay in tokyo for another 3-5 days. The extension will be subjected to confirmation of airline. So the total cost is not finalised yet.

shybride,
i got my wedding bands frm lee hwa too...^5, but they r collecting dust in my drawer since last jul/aug :P hope dat i can still fit d my wedding band n dat my fingers didnt grow too fat :P
wah, it's so ex, i got it when they r having their sale plus my membership, so my wedding bands r 30% off, if not it'll b more ex...hehe :P did u get frm d destinee series?

annette,
ok sure we'll keep dat in mind n try to organise a gathering on a fri...regarding d wedding bands, i think urs is alrdy q cheap, i bought mine at $2.2+K at 30% off...hmm, actually it really depends on individual, if u like it n really think it's worth it, den pay for it

equinox is a nice place....dat's where my fh proposed to me

Hi, Selina

Thank you so much for your valuable information. Is the fair still on? I'm planning to go on Oct, i wonder if i able to book during the fair, will it be too early?

not solitaire.. solitaire is my proposal ring mah.. oh man, i also dunno why so expensive.. think we too reckless.. yeah it's destinee series..
meiling, we more bagus.. our rings are collecting dust at lee hwa lor.. my htb says it's 'safer' to leave them there.. he's just lazy to go and collect!! hahahaha

hey sportgal,
Your tips are useful. some i tok of it but some just casually slip my mind.. anyway .. to all ladies who face parent's issue.. never get angry with your parents for too long. Try and understd they are brought up in a generation diff from us.. and also it not easy to bring us up. even though we can pay them but to made the payment in a single nite event is tough for the couple.. however slowly let the idea sink in for their brains.. parents love their kids but communication is always a issue.

Sue,
Jesl worry about mix up of AP is bcos sometime guest or relative end up passing the AP to the parent so when the parent got it it very hard to ask them n take out as see which Ap belong to "their rightful table" ..anyway.. Jesl thing will somehow work out.. dont worry too much...

my banquet is on 28sep and hotel is park royal at beach road. my hotel banquet manager told me the road wont be affected. I intend to put on my wedding card " road will not be closed to hotel "

Hee hee hope that ppl will come....

Cassie,
Think that's abt it for new flats...oh, there's the BTO still but for that, you gotta wait for 3-5 yrs for the flats to be built.

Annette,
Thankfully, my mum is very flexible. So think mine is gonna be something like this: groom pick bride - tea ceremony at groom place - maybe go new house (if got house), otherwise, go straight to hotel. Then tea ceremony for my family at hotel. I think I won't be styling my hair and doing make-up at hotel. Will just stick to what I have in the morning cos I'm not changing out of my WG. I'm not having an EG.
So yep, that's my plan.

shybride,
wah, so envy leh...actually wanted to get a destinee series wedding band too but it's really ex even after 20% discount...it costs me $2.9K for a pair so i decided to drop d idea

aiyoh, nvm, lee hwa can safeguard for u for foc, better still :P i havent even go n engrave our names on d wedding bands...think have to do it soon

Hee Hee Thanks.. actually I got to wear spec that day.. coz can't wear contact lens due to eyes prob.. lucky when take pic I take off the glasses hahahhaa... :P

No prob. Anyway stock is here
and color won't fade dun worry I will keep it safe and sound hee hee... Just see when free then meet up lor

jes,
as for d AP, y dun u do it tis way? u can suggest to ur parents dat they pay u d balance for d extra tables, let's say 6 tables * $900 so u can settle all d payment for ur family's side...no need to have such a headache

ey meiling, actually when we bought the bands we asked about engraving names, the sales guy said better to engrave just before the wedding.. in case need to change size.. he said it's on the spot engrave.. so can collect same day.. unless you want to engrave chinese words, then it takes longer.

koyoyo,
I got one method to avoid parents taking the AP... on the AD get 2 AP box... one for the Bride's relative only... the rest go to the groom (this one is for the couple only ma right) Then tell the parents.. dun keep the AP.. pass to the jie mei.. so they will help to write down names on the AP and is easy for reference if need to "return gift- hui li) I guess your parents will be ok with it..

This is what I learn this time as jie mei reception... the parents got to help at the reception coz only they know who is who hahaha and so they help the jie mei also to tick who already here.. which family.. so at the same time note down the AP are from who.... Maybe can try this method.. ANYWAY!! hahahha both parents wear so nice also no wear to take so many AP... ask them put in that box so when reception close all lock in room better... :P try try la not bad this method!

i will tok to my dad c how he is gg to arrange on this...act my dad quite stubborn..watever i suggest he always say tis cannot tat no workable...realli *headache*

anw, uksportsgal, ur suggestions to the photoshoot are realli gd! thanks for sharing the tips to us!

hey uksportsgal, act i oso feel this is a veri gd idea...i ever tried to mention tis idea to my parents b4...but my dad dun agree to this...

he told me he will hold on to all e angbaos till wen we cum back frm our wedding...haiz...

Oct will be more cooling.. nice weather.. I am going in mid jun as i want my HM not to be too far away from my AD..

hmmm.. the travel fair which i went was a pre-natas fair and it was a one-day affair.

You can try other travel agencies. Some are having pre-natas fair this weekend. Can check the details in the newspaper or their website. Good luck in your search!

jeslyn,
I also think that UKspotgal method of 2 AP box is the best. At least no worries but then tt will mean all 13 table AP goes to ur parents.. U are thinking of only 6 table right? How about convince your parent to take 6 table worth of Pinjin and forget about the AP.. slowly discuss w your parent . if ur dad still angry over your lsat discussion with him.. You need to wait for him to cool down no point talking when he so crossed.. normally take 1 mth let him cool off now if u keep rush him to made a decision, he cant think stri will think u are agianst him instead...

Hi, Selina

Ya, I'll check it out.
Oct will be autumn, so it will be cooling.
This sat will be my outdoor PS, hope everything went smoothly.

pink btb> i think putting "road will not be closed to hotel" dun look nice.. will it be better if u provide a map, highlighting which route to take to the hotel, or which route is closed.

i think i will have 4 jiemeis too..

haha...Annette, you are too kind. We are even thinking of going to those chinese goldsmiths! Cos we want plain pure gold and platinum rings, not the nice nice design ones.

apple_gal << Good luck for ur PS!!!! It have been good weather these days.. and the day of ur PS will be even better! =)

gal..Wanna ask you... did the BS let u try chong sum?? i sudden realised that i never try it before... hmm.. wonder if they have wide selections?

jes,
wah...ur dad dun agree to d idea? den how? i think dun bring it up so soon if he's still angry over tis...actually 13 tables is really a lot, smtimes some ppl will think dat it refects badly on d bride's side like selling off their daughter...any way of negotiating? if not, den ask for a loan frm ur in-laws side n den pay them back
will ur dad return u d APs? if so, den u can issue a cheque for PJ dated after ur wedding n den get back d APs to deposit into d bank :P

yaya.. he meeting your FH right? see how it goes.. if still can't compromise.. wait awhile 1st lor.. then slowly talk to mom hahahah ask mom for help :P usually mom will understand more one hee hee.. dun worry ya.. is a happy occasion so will be fine!

Seriously.. afterall is just money matter... maybe cut down other things lor.. or like what other suggest give more ping jin and dun take table AP actually is the same one :P hee hee AP even less sometimes.. coz relative side come one big family also give abit only.. can't be cover the whole table one..

shybride,
ok, thanks for ur advice! den i'll wait till aug or sep to engrave my wedding bands....any idea how long it'll take? getting so nervous now as i've not done any wedding prep for d past few weeks :P

Hi, Moments

Thanks! Erm.. Actually I did request for it before arranging for my 1st gown fittings. But Meishi say the chongsum don't suit me, hence i never try. When is your PS?

hi jesl.. dun worry... just see how it goes.. maybe it will be fine afterall..
remember if you need anyone to pour your woes too.. we are here to support you
jia you.. cheers

Meiling: Hi hi, nope, haven't got his mandarin collared shirt yet. We've been busy looking for some wardrobes. We don't have a place yet but intend to get a new wardrobe for our room in his parents' place lor. Headache ah. In the end, my MIL suggest custom-make. Oh, yeah, we settled on our BS quite early in October last year coz' we are actually living overseas so need to settle all these early lor. By the way, just to give you some details to update:

ROM Venue &amp; Date: 8th May 07 @ ROM office
Banquet Venue: Orchard Parade Hotel
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings
PS: Plush Photography (Pre-wedding) Haven't decided for AD yet, most probably will go for Tommy Leong
VG: None

uksportgal: Whoa ... thanks for your tips. My photoshoot is this Saturday. I like the shorts idea.

Hi apple_gal, hope your PS will go well

Ade and shybride, i'm oso looking forward to my PS in Mar....so excited! Hav called my florist already...but need to do down to discuss. Anything to really take note of?

Selina, envy u all to be able to hav your HM so close with your AD. I'm gg to Hokkaido too but in dec as i wish to see plenty of snow...hee

Apple_gal, all the best for outdoor PS this sat. Yup hopefully it would be good weather all the way til end of the week!!

Kittyng, no need to envy... i'm sure your honeymoon will be a romantic one with snow everywhere

wow...this thread is moving so fast...

Jac >> thanks ya...guess you are right, more significant to move in after the wedding.
hehe
don't worry about the flat, just keep trying in the balloting. and keep praying. keep options open.
guess at this time when the flats pricing keep increasing many couples are staying with In-laws for time being until the balloon burst.
another way worth trying to get a MP letter to write in to HDB to appeal, giving your banquet contract as proof that you really need the flat urgently. not sure if it works, but mine works for appeal to defer the marriage cert proof.

Annette >> think for banquet booking, Dec weekends slots should be mostly packed for most hotels already. perhaps has to opt for weekday
another option is to lookout in sgbrides see if anyone is giving up their hotel banquet packages for particular date, sometimes it happens due to some unforeseen reason. otherwise wedding lunch is another option. wedding lunch is getting more popular nowadays. can do the tea ceremony at the hotel - wedding lunch actually can save some $$ too, as the pricing is generally cheaper than dinner already.

for wedding bands, so far the advices i gather from goldheart and sookee is that they will send our request for example this ring design but with some minor modification - this is consider as custom made - and the request has to be sent in at least 3 mths before. so we must plan proper, must make it before the photoshoot. and must take into alteration leadtime as well just in case, so now we should be sourcing around already...
my photoshoot is in sep, so we are planning to purchase in May, during GSS...

Annette: Have you tried Suntec? Or those more famous restaurants? Or must be hotel? And yeah, I think probably easier to get a weekday, if they're ok with it...But in the meantime, press on! Hope relationships will progress well too...

plasterbride: Wahh, so good, can get during GSS!! Mine is in June, so have to go get it soooooon!! No GSS...Sobsob! :P

Plasticbride: I aldy tried lunch banquet, its full too. Lunch banquet only available for a few hotels such are hyatt,swissotel stamford and oriental but hubby dun wannnnnnnnnn
he wants high ceiling, no pillar, foyer tts not shared wo. Lunch banquet in town now mostly 700 n above,those 650-700 range menu all cant make it, no suckling pig not even on cold dish. Swissotel stamford worst, their lunch menu 650++ per table dun even have shark fin soup their only hot n sour soup aiyo, change to shark fin need add 80per table,vegie not with chinese mushroom nor sea cucumber but with normal straw mushroom if change another 20-30 bucks per table wo

Eunice: Must be hotel! N must be 5stars and above(coz of his folks) yet have budget constraint(for our part)

Wow, this thread moves really fast, hope you gals dun mind that i join in too.

Hi Jac, I'm going ala-carte. So far I have booked hotel, bridal, pre-wedding PG,ROM PG,AD PG. Still got a lot of nitty gritty (flowers, MUA, seamtress, kua, JP etc etc) not settled yet.

Hi Annette, think your rings are not too expensive.My first date with htb was at equinox,so that place holds special memories for us, esp since we found a snail in our salad. Ha ha.. so never went back, lol. One of my ex colleague had his wedding there and he only had praises for it, so u should be alright.

As for wedding band, have kind-of decided what to get, but htb's waiting for DBS black card promotion at Taka, so that we can get 10% off. Anyone knows when this will be? Er, for the wedding band, is it I buy for him and he buy for me, or he pays for it all?

Hi ladies!

Chan brothers is also having the pre-NATAS fair. Can pop by its office at Fook Hai Building to take a look.

shybride, my flowers will be provided by my BS, so i do not have any florist le.

Kittyng, when's your PS? Have you decided on the places to go? Things to take note of ah? I think probably need the advice of the BTBs here who have gone through their PS. Hehe.

apple_gal, have fun during your PS!

Hi Shermie, have you decided on a hotel or are you still looking ard? Some hotels can negotiate, some cannot. Some things you can negotiate will be waiver of corkage, helpers room, more invitation cards, parking cards, I think.

cacky,
where r u located now? when will u b coming back? at least u r not so kiasu as me, i settled my BS in may last yr...ok, i'll update ur details again when i got back to my office :P

gals, when you look for wedding bands, check whether you have any allergies.
I get a rash on my ring finger. haven't determined whether it is due to an allergy to white gold, or because my ring traps water. The latter means i have to remove my ring every time I wash my hands or something.

Platinum rings are supposed to be ok as they are not really known to cause allergies.

hi gals (flora bliss, shybride, nelle, ryu n doca),
im back at home!!! really happy to have met up wif u gals, had a great time chatting away, hope to cya gals real soon wif d rest of d brides who couldnt make it tis time round

providencia,
i duno when's dbs black card promo, perhaps u can chk d catalogue or clal dbs to find out, if not d sames at taka may b able to advise u
for wedding bands, i paid for my fh n he pais for mine
haha...i get to gain cos his is cheaper than mine :P

providencia: But i heard from my jeweller frd Taka diamond quality is inferior to those from goldheart and lee hwa among commonman brands, not too sure. As for my wedding band,partly is the slim design that i like&amp; to match my proposal ring so i can wear together. My htb spent ard $5000for my proposal ring aldy hence wont wanna to squeeze him dry, ultimately his $ also mine lor ehheh

As for whose paying, its really up to u. For me or rather my whole family line, its always the guy whom need to pay for the wedding band and house howevre for his family practise, is ger buy for guy n guy buy for ger for the ring. Ultimately, mine is still he pay for everything which is my minimum requirement hehe:p
As for house, we share lor